Meath V Tyrone

Would any retirements be expected? Probably not many near that age, Mickey Burke maybe but I'd say he'll keep going

leftandwide (Meath) - Posts: 91 - 11/06/2018 19:23:49    2110195

Replying To Barney123:  "Jones most likely won't be back as another poster said unless something changes and Harnan won't be back either. I though Alan Forde would be back playing club football by now but it is hard to come back from such a long term injury.

I hope if Andy stays on that he can try to get the players the left back in, if our bench was stronger on Saturday we could have won the game, players coming off the bench are so important and some of the players we brought in on Saturday just aren't up to inter county standard in my opinion.

Players like D.Tobin, S Tobin, P McKeever, b.Conlon, M Newman, Alan Forde and R O'Coilean would add serious strength to our squad and will be needed if we are to improve next year."
Which of the subs are not up to it in your opinion ??

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 11/06/2018 19:29:20    2110198

have to laugh at people who say regards the players that left the panel oh there must be a reason why they left (blaming the manger) not considering it was just the players choice and the fact they just didn't want to put in the hard work which is a shame the jersey didn't mean more then that. I hope Andy does say on but I get a feeling he may now not too many men has the same passion that man has for Meath. did any one here that banty slating some of the older Meath players on the radio Saturday saying that they have no bottle fight and they go missing when the heat comes on in games he could not say one good thing about Meath

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 11/06/2018 20:12:26    2110211

Real pity that we won't see a Meath game for another 6 months !! Hopefully if we don't lose to many find another few stars and maybe 1 or 2 returning players we can have a good year next time out with Andy at the helm !! Up the Royal

Build a team around

1.Colgan
2.Lavin
3.McGill
5.J McEntee
6.Keoghan
8.Menton
10.O'Sullivan
11.Brennan
13.G Reilly
15.Lenihan

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 11/06/2018 20:14:30    2110212

It's not a case of enticing players back. the players that left know the commitment required to be a part of this Meath team, There is no grey area either you commit or you don't which is the way it shoud be.

royal69er (Meath) - Posts: 96 - 11/06/2018 20:43:29    2110222

Replying To Barney123:  "Jones most likely won't be back as another poster said unless something changes and Harnan won't be back either. I though Alan Forde would be back playing club football by now but it is hard to come back from such a long term injury.

I hope if Andy stays on that he can try to get the players the left back in, if our bench was stronger on Saturday we could have won the game, players coming off the bench are so important and some of the players we brought in on Saturday just aren't up to inter county standard in my opinion.

Players like D.Tobin, S Tobin, P McKeever, b.Conlon, M Newman, Alan Forde and R O'Coilean would add serious strength to our squad and will be needed if we are to improve next year."
Who from the panel of 26 the last day would you drop. ? You named those who u want to return but not those you want rid of.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 20:55:01    2110228

Replying To meath1977:  "have to laugh at people who say regards the players that left the panel oh there must be a reason why they left (blaming the manger) not considering it was just the players choice and the fact they just didn't want to put in the hard work which is a shame the jersey didn't mean more then that. I hope Andy does say on but I get a feeling he may now not too many men has the same passion that man has for Meath. did any one here that banty slating some of the older Meath players on the radio Saturday saying that they have no bottle fight and they go missing when the heat comes on in games he could not say one good thing about Meath"
Talking to someone quite in the know in Meath gaa, and there is absolutely no doubt in his mind that Andy will be asked to see out his 3 years. He said that most of them are delighted with him and what way he is trying to build a modern Meath team. However his worry is that Andy will walk, as he has family, job etc to think of. And the sort of bs that goes with Meath might not be worth it.
He is so passionate about Meath Football and trying to get us back to the top, what a loss he would be. We must do everything we can to accommodate him. We can't keep chopping and change management. We need consistency. I am at a loss to think of anyone within county at moment who could take over, there is no one, gg is not ready yet. And perhaps should be brought in as a back room member but not head man.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 21:02:29    2110231

Replying To royal69er:  "It's not a case of enticing players back. the players that left know the commitment required to be a part of this Meath team, There is no grey area either you commit or you don't which is the way it shoud be."
Yes but unfortunately some feel they can say no I'm not doing that and Still be on team because of what club they play for or who the related to, or whatever. And they were allowed to cause of nice /soft/weak management. This has been the common thread up to Andy apart from eob.
Either you put in the effort or thanks don't let the door hit you in way out.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 21:06:24    2110234

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Real pity that we won't see a Meath game for another 6 months !! Hopefully if we don't lose to many find another few stars and maybe 1 or 2 returning players we can have a good year next time out with Andy at the helm !! Up the Royal

Build a team around

1.Colgan
2.Lavin
3.McGill
5.J McEntee
6.Keoghan
8.Menton
10.O'Sullivan
11.Brennan
13.G Reilly
15.Lenihan"
Forde has to be included once he gets fit. Also Gallagher and Glynn impressed me in navan. Curran ? I still think he has something to offer, as does Shane mcentee. Although I heard on Sunday that he might not be around next year. (That will probably be blamed on Andy too lol) .
And while it kills me to say this , there is roumour that we may have seen the last of biggie in a Meath team. What a absolute shame if that is the case. It might explain his devastation at end of game, I never seen him like that before, even after club all ire . And I think Andy and a few others knew this before game. Hopefully he will take time reflect and give it one more year. But either way, he owes Meath nothing.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 21:13:52    2110237

Replying To royal69er:  "It's not a case of enticing players back. the players that left know the commitment required to be a part of this Meath team, There is no grey area either you commit or you don't which is the way it shoud be."
yes dead right the ones that left were not fully committed and that was one of the main problems before Andy took over lads thinking they had a right for the jersey at least the players we have now are fully committed

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 11/06/2018 21:18:18    2110242

Replying To royaldunne:  "Talking to someone quite in the know in Meath gaa, and there is absolutely no doubt in his mind that Andy will be asked to see out his 3 years. He said that most of them are delighted with him and what way he is trying to build a modern Meath team. However his worry is that Andy will walk, as he has family, job etc to think of. And the sort of bs that goes with Meath might not be worth it.
He is so passionate about Meath Football and trying to get us back to the top, what a loss he would be. We must do everything we can to accommodate him. We can't keep chopping and change management. We need consistency. I am at a loss to think of anyone within county at moment who could take over, there is no one, gg is not ready yet. And perhaps should be brought in as a back room member but not head man."
I want Andy to stay and I think most people do but I have a feeling that the fact of work commitments and the fact so many players that left this year and let Meath and him down might make him feel fed up of the whole lot and the fact he has not got the rub of the green or luck eg bad referees

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 11/06/2018 21:23:03    2110246

Replying To royaldunne:  "Forde has to be included once he gets fit. Also Gallagher and Glynn impressed me in navan. Curran ? I still think he has something to offer, as does Shane mcentee. Although I heard on Sunday that he might not be around next year. (That will probably be blamed on Andy too lol) .
And while it kills me to say this , there is roumour that we may have seen the last of biggie in a Meath team. What a absolute shame if that is the case. It might explain his devastation at end of game, I never seen him like that before, even after club all ire . And I think Andy and a few others knew this before game. Hopefully he will take time reflect and give it one more year. But either way, he owes Meath nothing."
biggy has still a lot to offer maybe starting him next year would be asking too much of him as the way we play but what a player to bring on with twenty minutes to go and Mickey bruke should stay too and he should get a gold medal for what he has put into Meath football since 2005 he missed out on the successful years but it does not stop him enjoying playing for Meath and giving everything

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 11/06/2018 21:29:59    2110248

Replying To meath1977:  "biggy has still a lot to offer maybe starting him next year would be asking too much of him as the way we play but what a player to bring on with twenty minutes to go and Mickey bruke should stay too and he should get a gold medal for what he has put into Meath football since 2005 he missed out on the successful years but it does not stop him enjoying playing for Meath and giving everything"
people who would put a thumps down on a positive comment about Mickey bruke and biggy are not really Meath supporters . sad.com

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 11/06/2018 21:53:35    2110261

Replying To royaldunne:  "Forde has to be included once he gets fit. Also Gallagher and Glynn impressed me in navan. Curran ? I still think he has something to offer, as does Shane mcentee. Although I heard on Sunday that he might not be around next year. (That will probably be blamed on Andy too lol) .
And while it kills me to say this , there is roumour that we may have seen the last of biggie in a Meath team. What a absolute shame if that is the case. It might explain his devastation at end of game, I never seen him like that before, even after club all ire . And I think Andy and a few others knew this before game. Hopefully he will take time reflect and give it one more year. But either way, he owes Meath nothing."
No would be terrible to see him go !! But if he does then he was been a great Meath player !! A guy I have gone to watch in club games..when he bursts onto the ball from deep a joy to behold !! Would love to see conlan back !! Huge ability !! Maybe Rooney and Newman !! Forde for sure but he's been around a good while too.

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 11/06/2018 22:00:54    2110266

Replying To meath1977:  "people who would put a thumps down on a positive comment about Mickey bruke and biggy are not really Meath supporters . sad.com"
Totally agree.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 22:16:51    2110277

Royal Dunne
How can you be so blind. I believe that Mcentee should see out his tenure but he would need to take a good hard look at himself in light of his carry on towards the Referee on saturday. Passion my backside, Sean Boylan never confronted any official. He is also supposed to be a leader and a disciplinarian. Ignoring the fact that a heap of lads walked away in April after the bulk of the heavy work was done just dosent add up. In his first league campaign we were close to promotion but since then with the exception of Donegal last year and Tyrone this year we were dreadful. Awful to watch. Could have been relegated except for Down and Louth were a complete shambles. We do not have a decent defensive system, Tyrone should have bagged 4 or 5 goals in the first half despite the f act we had 14 men in our own half. Give him his final year, I sincerely hope he can make decent progress next spring and summer. For now the project has not ignited and all his targets set by himself have been missed. Failed to get promoted either season and no where near the super eights.

atta (Meath) - Posts: 698 - 11/06/2018 22:26:01    2110284

Replying To grahamc9897:  "No would be terrible to see him go !! But if he does then he was been a great Meath player !! A guy I have gone to watch in club games..when he bursts onto the ball from deep a joy to behold !! Would love to see conlan back !! Huge ability !! Maybe Rooney and Newman !! Forde for sure but he's been around a good while too."
While I was annoyed and actually giving out at the way match had ended, my older daughter asked what happened to biggie. Players coming over and putting arm around him, at the time I didn't think anything more than it was just consoling him. But I've heard the rounour doin the rounds and things started to stick in my mind. I just hope there is no rash announcement, and this is where I ask Andy to come in. Forget about the game. Get in his car drive to bettystown and call into graham, talk to him and tell him he needs him, the players coming in need him, the fans need him. His county needs him .
I'd ask that he did the same thing for micky burke.
These are the players that the young lads can look up to.
Look maybe It's all wrong. But I can't help the feeling that it may all be true. But I hope not.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/06/2018 22:29:01    2110288

Replying To leftandwide:  "Would any retirements be expected? Probably not many near that age, Mickey Burke maybe but I'd say he'll keep going"
Heard Mickey interviewed on LMFM after the game and while he didn't 100% commit I'd be fairly confident he will be around next year, I hope they all are as we can't afford to loose any more players and having to constantly revolve the squad in such a big way, keep what we have and hopefully add a few succesful U20 players and I'd be happy enough.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 11/06/2018 22:39:03    2110300

Replying To atta:  "Royal Dunne
How can you be so blind. I believe that Mcentee should see out his tenure but he would need to take a good hard look at himself in light of his carry on towards the Referee on saturday. Passion my backside, Sean Boylan never confronted any official. He is also supposed to be a leader and a disciplinarian. Ignoring the fact that a heap of lads walked away in April after the bulk of the heavy work was done just dosent add up. In his first league campaign we were close to promotion but since then with the exception of Donegal last year and Tyrone this year we were dreadful. Awful to watch. Could have been relegated except for Down and Louth were a complete shambles. We do not have a decent defensive system, Tyrone should have bagged 4 or 5 goals in the first half despite the f act we had 14 men in our own half. Give him his final year, I sincerely hope he can make decent progress next spring and summer. For now the project has not ignited and all his targets set by himself have been missed. Failed to get promoted either season and no where near the super eights."
he had a few words with him what a about it it proves what it means to him could you blame him we all felt like having words with the ref Saturday evening, he missed a foul that would have got us level and had the fitness on them at that stage and a win would have been massive for Meath football. giving a man a hard time for been real

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 11/06/2018 22:50:20    2110308

Replying To royaldunne:  "While I was annoyed and actually giving out at the way match had ended, my older daughter asked what happened to biggie. Players coming over and putting arm around him, at the time I didn't think anything more than it was just consoling him. But I've heard the rounour doin the rounds and things started to stick in my mind. I just hope there is no rash announcement, and this is where I ask Andy to come in. Forget about the game. Get in his car drive to bettystown and call into graham, talk to him and tell him he needs him, the players coming in need him, the fans need him. His county needs him .
I'd ask that he did the same thing for micky burke.
These are the players that the young lads can look up to.
Look maybe It's all wrong. But I can't help the feeling that it may all be true. But I hope not."
Lads, I'm pretty sure he was being consoled because he gave away the possession that led to Tyrone's equalizer at the end of normal time. He was probably blaming himself for Meath not sealing the deal. He has been a great servant and owes us nothing but i think even he would accept that he is not the player he once was - the old burst of speed is gone. There is still a role for him though because he can spot opportunities and has the skill to exploit them. It just depends whether management need all of the forwards to be mobile and capable of funnelling back to defend.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 12/06/2018 09:17:03    2110382