Meath V Tyrone

Enjoy the summer lads.

sandyBeach (Louth) - Posts: 269 - 10/06/2018 15:53:07    2109435

Replying To Young_gael:  "With the benefit of hindsight, it is what it is. The dissapointing aspect of the championship was the loss to Longford. Had Meath have played to 90% of the intensity of what they did vs. Tyrone, they'd have won that match in Pearse Park, and we'd be in for a hiding today vs. Dublin as a result. So we're in a pickle, have been for years, but last night there was a fire and fight about Meath I havent seen in a long time. Their passion was undeniable, and fair play to them and their management, their spirit was admirable. Couple that with the results in U17 and U20 so far this year and there is cause for optimism, the heart of Meath football was alive and well last night."
Well said, they showed great honesty and endeavor and restored a bit of pride to the jersey.

Where to now though? Unfortunately we have 26 lads flying fit, primed to the max but no games now until Jan 2019 now at inter county level. Only thing for it is for these lads to get stuck into the club championship and bring up the standard with them.

As for next year, if McEntee stays on we need improvements in certain areas:
- if we're going to play defensively, we may do it properly, when we needed to hold leads yesterday, we just couldn't as the one time you'd actually want all 15 behind the ball they weren't. Probably some outside help required here and it doesn't have to come from Ulster
- man management- not going to knock the man when he is down but obviously this could be worked on. I'll agree some of the lads who dropped off don't have what it takes and I wouldn't select the Simonstown lads who dropped off in April after taking the place of lads who could've gotten valuable experience in the league and carried us over the line yesterday. Dropping out in April when you've had decent enough playing time in league and took place of likes of Dardis and others is not acceptable
- get some lads back and integrate the u20s. Harnan, O Caoilean, Douglas and Newman would've made a difference yesterday, we need these kind of lads back. Some nice footballers on u20 team too to be brought in. We need momentum and we can't keep starting again with massive drop offs and changes. Hopefully yesterday's performance and injustice will re-ignite something in the county
- consistency. Where was yesterday's performance against Longford? Is there a psychological issue within the group that can be worked on? How do you explain the massive inconsistencies- we've put it up to Galway, Donegal and Tyrone in last two years in powerful performances with energetic and drive yet we lose to likes of Longford and a ramshackle Cork team.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 10/06/2018 16:06:00    2109439

Replying To sandyBeach:  "Enjoy the summer lads."
lol do you seriously think Louths summer will last longer then another two weeks after their next game

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 10/06/2018 16:19:45    2109449

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "If we played like we did last night all the time we would be planning for life in division 1 next February ...we need to just have that consistent performance all the time.

I would probably be happy enough to give Andy Mcentee another year as manger! Maybe freashing things up a bit in his backroom with new faces a Graham Geraghty or John Mcdermott ...also a new couching staff to take the pressure of Andy and different ideas always helps."
Do you honestly believe that last nights performance against an average Tyrone side (when at full strength) with the players they were missing is div 1 standard. The lads gave everything last night and fair play to them but we are still a long way off anywhere near a div 1 side.

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 10/06/2018 16:26:57    2109451

Replying To Analyst:  "Do you honestly believe that last nights performance against an average Tyrone side (when at full strength) with the players they were missing is div 1 standard. The lads gave everything last night and fair play to them but we are still a long way off anywhere near a div 1 side."
look don't get to upset about what i say.....what i honestly believe i rather keep to myself :)

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 10/06/2018 16:54:37    2109460

Ahh we will for sure, 20's 2/2 with a win over Kildare, 17's 3/3 with a win over Dublin. Might yet be an exciting Summer for Meath people

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1454 - 10/06/2018 17:48:35    2109485

To be honest I thought were going to be beaten out the gate but we should have won and to be honest we threw it away ! Robbed at the end ..special mention to Brennan yesterday he had a great game.. I was very critical of him bit he proved me wrong !! Give mcentee another year and I feel we will be stronger and better next year ! Roll on January!!

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 10/06/2018 18:27:23    2109497

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Where can I find this ?"
Here. Hope it works.
https://amp.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/football/reilly-points-the-finger-at-meath-defectors-471598.html?__twitter_impression=true

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/06/2018 18:59:34    2109512

Watched this game on Sky last night from the comfort of my armchair in Bristol, so easy to criticise. However, we had 14 men in our own half for a huge amount of the game and thus nobody to attack. The other issue I have why were we letting Tyrone take easy short kick outs without marking them - this allowed Tyrone deep into our territory, really easily. It was only in the second half of extra time that we started to man mark them from their kick out and it nearly paid off as we scored 4 points on the trot and should have had a free at the end. Having said that, we allowed Tyrone so many scoring chances that, if their finishing wasn't so awful, they should have beaten us by 10 points. Fair play to the lads for the effort, but there is not enough guile about them which is a failing on the coaches' part.
As an aside, took some English friends too their first GAA match - Louth v London - very good advert for the sport, very open match which Louth ran out winners (unfortunately ;-)

Bris_Meathman (Meath) - Posts: 1 - 10/06/2018 19:01:56    2109515

Replying To grahamc9897:  "To be honest I thought were going to be beaten out the gate but we should have won and to be honest we threw it away ! Robbed at the end ..special mention to Brennan yesterday he had a great game.. I was very critical of him bit he proved me wrong !! Give mcentee another year and I feel we will be stronger and better next year ! Roll on January!!"
Takes a bigger man to admit he is wrong. So fair play. Myself and particularly loyaltoyal17 had been saying that Ben is that bit special . Yesterday he showed that. I knew he had it in him. Unfortunately we won't get to see it in county jersey again this year. But this guy could be the next big player we have.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/06/2018 19:05:21    2109516

Replying To royaldunne:  "Read Kevin Reilly article. Where he totally took apart those who left. With special mention for por"
Took apart? he shed no light on why they left, just trotted out party line on how proud the should be to wear jearsey. How is this something new?

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2136 - 10/06/2018 19:12:23    2109523

Replying To seadog54:  "Took apart? he shed no light on why they left, just trotted out party line on how proud the should be to wear jearsey. How is this something new?"
Ahh Jesus can you not see he actually questioned them , each and every single one of them.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/06/2018 19:42:31    2109530

So 24 hours after the game I suppose you begin to get a calmer reflection on things on I thought I would just comment on some common themes that have been aired.

On Andy I would say the following.

I would imagine he will stay on another year and I do not have a huge issue with that. I still say that progress has been limited and I think he will have to change some things and freshen things up, but I suppose its a learning curve for him as well and I would hope that he will reflect on how things might need to be changed.

On his performance after the final whistle, I think his passion was obvious and to a certain extent his reaction understandable, but some of the pictures of him verbally abusing the referee were not very flattering. The comparison between his reaction and that of Derek McGrath last week was striking despite the injustice being even greater in Waterford's case.
I did notice over the last two years that in some of his interviews after games, he comes across as a very angry man and I think a cooler head in these circumstances is advisable.

I was frustrated last night that we failed to hold on to our lead in the last minute of the game and bemoaned the fact that we do not know how to win games at the moment and I think I need to explain that.

I have no doubt that if Tyrone were in the same position at the end of normal time and Meath were kicking the ball out, that they would have employed every trick in the book to slow the game up, from feigning injury to starting a row or kicking the ball away, indeed similar to Dublin against Mayo last year.

I am not advocating that because in my opinion that goes against the spirit of sportsmanship and this needs to be stamped out by the GAA.

However with a one man advantage I think the players should have been told from the sideline to push up on the kick out and not to give Tyrone easy possession. That's where a cool calm head is needed and that's where we need real leaders on the pitch to identify those instances where we need to do certain things.

We do need some of the missing players back to strenghten the team but only if they commit, and are prepared to show the intensity and courage that the team showed last night.

Finally I think we just need a little luck to go our way. I do think that when a team is in a downward spiral like we are at the moment, that everything seems to go against you. But I cannot get away from the fact that you really do make your own luck and in that regard we have to try and be more positive on the field. Instead of blaming the referee for not giving us that free last night, we needed to hold on in the last minute of normal time so that the need for that decision did not arise.

Anyway, whilst I am a bit calmer today, our failure to win still hurts like hell but life goes on and lets all hope that lessons are learned, taken aboard and changes made to ensure we are in a better place this time next year.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 10/06/2018 20:30:46    2109556

As an aside from my previous post I forgot to mention that one direct result from the game last night was that I seen the video footage of the Tyrone supporter being arrested and dragged away in handcuffs for having the Palestinian flag and I thought it a little over the top.

So just in case anyone notices a Palestinian flag flying outside a house just off the N3 outside Navan you will know you are passing Royaloptimist's house!!

FREE THE TYRONE ONE

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 10/06/2018 20:43:26    2109561

Replying To royaldunne:  "Read Kevin Reilly article. Where he totally took apart those who left. With special mention for por"
Sorry Royaldunne, I just read the article and I am at more of a loss than I was before.

Kevin's response is simply about how it is and should be an honour to represent Meath if you are able to. As a former captain and much appreciated servant to Meath football this is the response I would expect.

All Meath supporters are of this opinion too.

That arcticle doesn't respond to my initial query that if so many players weren't put off the panel, We may have had several players on the bench to look to to bring into the game in extra time.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 10/06/2018 20:48:09    2109562

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh Jesus can you not see he actually questioned them , each and every single one of them."
a few weeks ago I tried to understand their reasons for walking away from our Meath team but now I am very angry with them and when you see the effort the lads put in last night it hits home and yes we could have done with them but they can stay on their holidays now and let Andy work again for next year and hopefully he will bring in 5or 6 of the u20s team and take it from there

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 10/06/2018 21:05:12    2109571

I'm sure if we played London we would enjoy the summer. Maybe we might meet in u20 if you's manage to get out of your own group. Things are looking up for you's though, some good players on your u17 team that we bet 14 points in Drogheda.

And if yous hold on to the great Pete McGrath I can see Louth in the super 8's in the next 3 years.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 10/06/2018 21:21:01    2109580

Replying To Crinigan:  "Well said, they showed great honesty and endeavor and restored a bit of pride to the jersey.

Where to now though? Unfortunately we have 26 lads flying fit, primed to the max but no games now until Jan 2019 now at inter county level. Only thing for it is for these lads to get stuck into the club championship and bring up the standard with them.

As for next year, if McEntee stays on we need improvements in certain areas:
- if we're going to play defensively, we may do it properly, when we needed to hold leads yesterday, we just couldn't as the one time you'd actually want all 15 behind the ball they weren't. Probably some outside help required here and it doesn't have to come from Ulster
- man management- not going to knock the man when he is down but obviously this could be worked on. I'll agree some of the lads who dropped off don't have what it takes and I wouldn't select the Simonstown lads who dropped off in April after taking the place of lads who could've gotten valuable experience in the league and carried us over the line yesterday. Dropping out in April when you've had decent enough playing time in league and took place of likes of Dardis and others is not acceptable
- get some lads back and integrate the u20s. Harnan, O Caoilean, Douglas and Newman would've made a difference yesterday, we need these kind of lads back. Some nice footballers on u20 team too to be brought in. We need momentum and we can't keep starting again with massive drop offs and changes. Hopefully yesterday's performance and injustice will re-ignite something in the county
- consistency. Where was yesterday's performance against Longford? Is there a psychological issue within the group that can be worked on? How do you explain the massive inconsistencies- we've put it up to Galway, Donegal and Tyrone in last two years in powerful performances with energetic and drive yet we lose to likes of Longford and a ramshackle Cork team."
The footballers need Tougher back from the hurlers. He is a proper warrior!

In_da_ditch (UK) - Posts: 165 - 10/06/2018 21:24:14    2109584

Will Rooney or Ronan Jones be back next year. Was Rooney dropped or did he leave?

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 452 - 10/06/2018 22:03:51    2109605

Replying To Royalio11:  "Sorry Royaldunne, I just read the article and I am at more of a loss than I was before.

Kevin's response is simply about how it is and should be an honour to represent Meath if you are able to. As a former captain and much appreciated servant to Meath football this is the response I would expect.

All Meath supporters are of this opinion too.

That arcticle doesn't respond to my initial query that if so many players weren't put off the panel, We may have had several players on the bench to look to to bring into the game in extra time."
Barring those who could not commit due to studies or work. I think the rest shouldn't even be looked at next year. Look at the effort those players put in yesterday. I'm sorry this may sound harsh, but I'd be extremely annoyed with Andy if he allowed any bad influence back into panel.
Look to the u20s for possible inclusion. Those who were indifferent to our cause this year, who may now think , actually we might be better than I thought, I'll get myself back in there . No sorry not for me. You made your bed, you can now lay in it

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 10/06/2018 22:22:24    2109618