All Ireland U20 Football Championship 2018

Agree really going back to U21 and timing. The biggest issue before was lads playing national league between championship matches, championship of their own age should take precedence

lillyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 429 - 31/07/2018 15:31:11    2127906

Replying To The_analyser:  "The grey haired men in suits replaced a good U21 championship with this now diluted and poorly ran U20 championship. If supporters,players and management had a vote they would have kept on the U21 championship no question.

This new U20 championship would handle the myth of burn out we were told. Yet from our own point of view we had to play 3 games in 3 weeks, conditioned seniors find it though to do that never mind U20s as was the case for this years Connacht final. In that final it was still in the balance with 15 mins to play 1-8 to 1-5 but we had no kick left in. From then on it was one way traffic as a fresher Mayo powered home.

Scheduling the Connacht championship during exams was a total farce also. Unlike others we put education first and lads sat their exams instead of playing football and on top of the many injuries we had It meant we were left with a threadbare panel.

Hopefully the powers to be see that changes need to made next year and any competition should not be played without its best players as was the case with Kerry without O Shea,Clifford. Common sense scheduling would be playing games March,April instead of clash with exams in June and AI series played the height of summer where senior hurling and football totally overshadows everything else. GAA HQ scheduling the senior hurling replay for 2pm while knowing the U21 football final is on at 1:15 shows how important they think of the latter competition is..

Lastly i'd like to wish my Connacht neighbours all the best in the All Ireland final this Sunday. It should be interesting to see how many Kildare and Mayo players make the step up and become established seniors in the years ahead."
Excellent post and completely agree with you. I have been banging this drum since the rule came in and could not believe there was little or no attention given to it. Like I have already said it was a sore one for Donegal supporters too as our U-21 team this year could have done something. The likes Stephen McMenamin, Daire O'Baoill and Michael Langan have all made a mark at senior level this year were all eligible plus the likes of Michael Carroll, Jason McGee and Niall O'Donnell plus some very talented young players yet to make it a senior level would have been in that squad. As it was our U-20's had to play 2 weeks in a row in searing heat. Including our first game in Celtic Park meaning our opponents Derry had a first hand view of what they faced the following week. This game played before the Monaghan Fermanagh games sandwiched between Donegal senior games meaning it was not affordable for supporters to go 3 weeks in a row given the scandalous ticket pricing adopted by the Ulster council this year. Added to this the same squad was down 2 of their best players would apparently would not commit because of exams. It has been an absolute shambles and the reasons it was brought in hold little credence as u pointed out. Now given the scheduling the final will get little attention outside of the counties involved which is a shame for all the players involved given what a big day in their life it will be.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 31/07/2018 15:51:35    2127912

Replying To lillyboy:  "Agree really going back to U21 and timing. The biggest issue before was lads playing national league between championship matches, championship of their own age should take precedence"
Yeah as shown by Donegal last year when our U-21's were fleeced by previous manager. All that was needed was to make rule that U-21's could not play in the league the same week as a championship game. Plus ensure fixtures in all provinces ran concurrently.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 31/07/2018 19:01:00    2127986

I think the atmosphere will be very flat sadly for this final. Mayo and Kildare fans will be lost in the vastness. Can't see many from Roscommon going and the dubs attendance will be way down for what is a dead rubber game.

A crowd of around 5,000 from Mayo would be decent. If this game was in Mullingar or Hyde Park you would get 20,000.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 31/07/2018 22:22:05    2128046

Replying To yew_tree:  "I think the atmosphere will be very flat sadly for this final. Mayo and Kildare fans will be lost in the vastness. Can't see many from Roscommon going and the dubs attendance will be way down for what is a dead rubber game.

A crowd of around 5,000 from Mayo would be decent. If this game was in Mullingar or Hyde Park you would get 20,000."
You will never get 20,000 to an underage game. I'd say 10k is the max that would go.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 01/08/2018 11:27:41    2128176

Replying To yew_tree:  "I think the atmosphere will be very flat sadly for this final. Mayo and Kildare fans will be lost in the vastness. Can't see many from Roscommon going and the dubs attendance will be way down for what is a dead rubber game.

A crowd of around 5,000 from Mayo would be decent. If this game was in Mullingar or Hyde Park you would get 20,000."
What was the attendance for Mayo v Derry game in Carrick? i watched the Munster and Leinster U20 finals live on TG4 and the crowds was poor compared to what use to be at the U21 finals the same interest is not there it seems. Its nice for U20s to get a run out in Croke park but Underage finals should be played in provincial grounds that will provide a better atmosphere plus supporters wouldn't be charged 25 euro to sit down and watch the game. Our game dead rubber v Dublin BTW should have been played in Parnell park and leave Croke park free for the Hurling replay on Sunday.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 01/08/2018 18:18:03    2128335

the local council in west mayo have refused the flying of a banner in the town supporting the 6 members of westport gaa club. i'm a native of the area now living in tyrone, but this isn't the first time the local council have not acted in the interests of the local community..they are more concerned with attracting tourists into the area than they are with supporting grass roots local community groups

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 01/08/2018 21:28:19    2128370

Don't want to dog the Kildare keeper he's only young but Kildare are way better than mayo and killing them in midfield and he's going short for no reason and Mayo get a goal, kick the ball long man.

Kildare forwards outstanding ref keeping mayo in it and bad kick outs.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/08/2018 13:43:42    2129340

13 for Kildare hyland I think his name is wow what a player.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/08/2018 13:45:23    2129344

I expect the Mayo number 9 to banned for at least a year fo what he did. Disgusting stuff.....don't care if you are losing.....no excuse for it. Mayo should not pick him in future.

galwayfan (None) - Posts: 764 - 05/08/2018 14:38:06    2129358

Well done Kildare, great achievement. Together with the strides the senior team have made makes for an interesting few years ahead.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 05/08/2018 14:39:48    2129360

All Ireland Champions for the first time in 53 years and beat all the favorites to do it.
Great stuff!
I'm abroad so I couldn't even watch it, but am delighted and will have a little celebratory drink this evening.
Well done Kildare U20s All Ireland champions:-)

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 05/08/2018 14:45:08    2129363

Congratulations to Kildare, deserving winners. Ye played superb football, nice and direct with some beautiful points kicked today. Enjoy the celebrations.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7342 - 05/08/2018 14:50:42    2129367

Replying To galwayfan:  "I expect the Mayo number 9 to banned for at least a year fo what he did. Disgusting stuff.....don't care if you are losing.....no excuse for it. Mayo should not pick him in future."
Did he strike the ref as well as push him on his way off? Couldn't see it that clear on TV. The red mist descended in a big way even when teammates tried calming him down. Absolutely no excuse for it alright. He's very young, hopefully he'll learn from his mistake.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7342 - 05/08/2018 14:55:17    2129371

HUGE congrats to Kildare

Happy for yiz!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/08/2018 16:00:40    2129407

Well done Kildare savage team and goal keeper made a great save to redeem himself .

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 05/08/2018 16:02:36    2129409

Brilliant stuff lads!! Great to have All Ireland Champions in the county. Great display by everyone involved. Brilliant to see there is great talent in the pipeline. Jimmy Hyland will be some addition to the senior panel next year along with a few more. Enjoy the celebrations lads, you have it well earned!!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 05/08/2018 16:44:00    2129430

Congratulations to Kildare team and fans. Well deserved

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 05/08/2018 17:55:56    2129494

I've never played football and am from South Galway so I'm not too familiar with the foot block rule. But when the ball struck the Kildare keeper's foot to stop a goal was that not a foul? Can someone please clarify where the line is between a foot block and a fair foot save out of interest?

eoghan6688 (Galway) - Posts: 154 - 05/08/2018 18:07:26    2129511

Replying To eoghan6688:  "I've never played football and am from South Galway so I'm not too familiar with the foot block rule. But when the ball struck the Kildare keeper's foot to stop a goal was that not a foul? Can someone please clarify where the line is between a foot block and a fair foot save out of interest?"
No, not even close. For a footblock to be called as a foul it has to be foot to foot. If I'm standing a meter away from you I can block the ball with my foot but if I were to come into contact with you/your foot with mine it becomes dangerous and is then a foul. (Hope I phrased this well enough)

Side note, UP THE LILIES!!!!

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 05/08/2018 18:37:26    2129548