All Ireland U20 Football Championship 2018

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "No surprises for me here, Mayo lose another final, same old, same old, well done to Kildare, fantastic achievement."
Mayo won 2 years ago so not so much same old, same old. Getting to finals underage is good going, get a few players from the team.

Delighted for Kildare.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 07/08/2018 16:10:02    2130493

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "No surprises for me here, Mayo lose another final, same old, same old, well done to Kildare, fantastic achievement."
If Mayo losing was same old, same old then the second part of your comment looks just a bit stupid - hardly a fantastic achievement really is it.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 07/08/2018 16:58:40    2130517

I don't think our own recent record underage outside of Ulster is anything too special to be critical of other counties TirC........congrats to Kildare on winning the inaugural U-20 championship. Very well deserved for the amount of work put in in the county at underage level in recent years. Unfortunately I did not get to see any of the game. I had seen the 2 previous games and was struck by the conditioning of the Kildare players. Some of the younger players on the Donegal senior panel would even be a bit behind most of ur guys. Apologies to be repeating myself but when I heard the result on Sunday when in Ballybofey it made me think of our own U-20's who were a decent bunch who under performed against Derry. Realistically it could have been them playing Kildare at the weekend and if that was the case it would have been a curtain raiser to the Dubs game in Croker. This while the Donegal seniors were playing in Ballybofey. What a shambles that would have been and just goes further to prove the shambolic approach the GAA had to this competition.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 07/08/2018 20:05:45    2130584

It was an enjoyable game of football with little between the sides-congrats to both teams. Good to see the competition run at this time of year and there has been good games all thru the competition.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 07/08/2018 20:14:26    2130585

Replying To if_in_doubt:  "White power

White power"
Even though it might be just a poor choice of words on your behalf but please show a crumb of cop-on

One player that shone out for me in Kildare's run to the AI title is the most natural of footballers Aron O'Neill our goalkeeper What a Championship he had definitely one for the future and IMO he is only behind Rory Beggan this year on his performances

For the first time since Christy Byrne Kildare has a goalkeeper with presence and a great positioning sense I can see this lad leading Kildare to a bright future as this team has a little of the X factor

Spiritof28 (Kildare) - Posts: 4 - 07/08/2018 22:01:33    2130629

Replying To browncows:  "It was an enjoyable game of football with little between the sides-congrats to both teams. Good to see the competition run at this time of year and there has been good games all thru the competition."
Completely disagree regarding timing of competition esp when the U-21 competition added so much to the time of year when it was run when senior teams were in prep mode for the championship.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 07/08/2018 22:29:53    2130637

Replying To panamasam:  "I don't think our own recent record underage outside of Ulster is anything too special to be critical of other counties TirC........congrats to Kildare on winning the inaugural U-20 championship. Very well deserved for the amount of work put in in the county at underage level in recent years. Unfortunately I did not get to see any of the game. I had seen the 2 previous games and was struck by the conditioning of the Kildare players. Some of the younger players on the Donegal senior panel would even be a bit behind most of ur guys. Apologies to be repeating myself but when I heard the result on Sunday when in Ballybofey it made me think of our own U-20's who were a decent bunch who under performed against Derry. Realistically it could have been them playing Kildare at the weekend and if that was the case it would have been a curtain raiser to the Dubs game in Croker. This while the Donegal seniors were playing in Ballybofey. What a shambles that would have been and just goes further to prove the shambolic approach the GAA had to this competition."
Ah Jaysus....what is it with Kildare's conditioning ? Such a cliche. Did it look like it was it was conditioning that helped Jimmy Hyland kick 10 points from all angles ? I don't want to have a go as generally your posts are well informed but that's just terrible lazy stuff.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 07/08/2018 23:04:01    2130648

Replying To KildareKelly:  "Ah Jaysus....what is it with Kildare's conditioning ? Such a cliche. Did it look like it was it was conditioning that helped Jimmy Hyland kick 10 points from all angles ? I don't want to have a go as generally your posts are well informed but that's just terrible lazy stuff."
Yeah the Kildare lads are great athletes, at under age and senior level, hope ye can push on now at senior level and challenge the Dubs in Leinster.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2738 - 07/08/2018 23:21:52    2130651

Replying To KildareKelly:  "Ah Jaysus....what is it with Kildare's conditioning ? Such a cliche. Did it look like it was it was conditioning that helped Jimmy Hyland kick 10 points from all angles ? I don't want to have a go as generally your posts are well informed but that's just terrible lazy stuff."
Lazy how? It was not a criticism at all it was something I was very impressed with and will make the step up to senior very fluid. I do think this team had the skills to match their impressive physical presence. Don't take it so personal if you look at alot of the posts from Donegal people post the Tyrone game it was something that we felt let us down.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 07/08/2018 23:28:15    2130653

Replying To panamasam:  "Lazy how? It was not a criticism at all it was something I was very impressed with and will make the step up to senior very fluid. I do think this team had the skills to match their impressive physical presence. Don't take it so personal if you look at alot of the posts from Donegal people post the Tyrone game it was something that we felt let us down."
I just think it's a total cliche that's been going around since McGeeney was in charge. 'Kildare are great athletes'...it's a compliment when they win....and then used as a stick to beat them with when they lose...'football wins over fitness every time,'...(you only have to look at some of the Galway posters after they beat us in Super 8s to see that it's still happening) .....that sort of stuff just really annoys me.
I just don't think conditioning was the main reason this team won an All Ireland - I don't think they particularly looked fitter than Kerry or Mayo for example....you could argue that if anything they ran out of steam at the end in both games when both of those teams finished strongly & nearly dragged out results they didn't deserve at all on the balance of play.
The Kildare lads won it cos they played some quite brilliant attacking football.

Fair enough if you didn't mean it as a criticism...but plenty do mean it that way.

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 08/08/2018 09:40:38    2130731

Its nice to win these titles but underage success means nothing. Its all about bringing players through. Kildare should be looking to introduce 2 or 3 of these guys into the senior ranks in the next year or 2. I am not sure how many of the Mayo lads can make the step. The jury is out in my opinion. The step up in physicality cannot be understated and not many of the 30 odd lads on show last sunday are anywhere near the physical shape to make the step up straight away. Underage competitions are like a different sport altogether with the amount time and space allowed. Dont get me wrong, they are enjoyable games to watch but are not a true predictor of future success. What it indicates is that counties have the raw materials to work with only.

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 08/08/2018 10:12:09    2130743

Replying To KildareKelly:  "I just think it's a total cliche that's been going around since McGeeney was in charge. 'Kildare are great athletes'...it's a compliment when they win....and then used as a stick to beat them with when they lose...'football wins over fitness every time,'...(you only have to look at some of the Galway posters after they beat us in Super 8s to see that it's still happening) .....that sort of stuff just really annoys me.
I just don't think conditioning was the main reason this team won an All Ireland - I don't think they particularly looked fitter than Kerry or Mayo for example....you could argue that if anything they ran out of steam at the end in both games when both of those teams finished strongly & nearly dragged out results they didn't deserve at all on the balance of play.
The Kildare lads won it cos they played some quite brilliant attacking football.

Fair enough if you didn't mean it as a criticism...but plenty do mean it that way."
No not what I meant. Scroll up through thread to where I commented on the semi final against Kerry. In that I also commented on the conditioning of both sides in comparison to Donegal.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2779 - 08/08/2018 16:07:20    2130882

In fairness to Panasam he was being complimentary, but I can totally understand Kildarekelly's response. The amount of times Kildare teams were insulted for being well conditioned is lazy and sad.
The best conditioned team in the country at the moment is the Dublin senior team, and if you ever see the Kerry 4 in a row team they were certainly ahead of their counterparts in physical conditioning.
This Kildare team were not physically 'big men' as the lazy pundits on RTÉ spout out every time Kildare play.
Well organized and well conditioned yes, skillful and talented absolutely.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 09/08/2018 08:42:41    2131112

Replying To unclegerry:  "Its nice to win these titles but underage success means nothing. Its all about bringing players through. Kildare should be looking to introduce 2 or 3 of these guys into the senior ranks in the next year or 2. I am not sure how many of the Mayo lads can make the step. The jury is out in my opinion. The step up in physicality cannot be understated and not many of the 30 odd lads on show last sunday are anywhere near the physical shape to make the step up straight away. Underage competitions are like a different sport altogether with the amount time and space allowed. Dont get me wrong, they are enjoyable games to watch but are not a true predictor of future success. What it indicates is that counties have the raw materials to work with only."
Winning underage titles mean you have the best at that age group which is something to celebrate but debatable this year as U20s team couldn't or chose not to play their best players. If the structures at senior level in a county are good then players at U20 level should have no problem stepping up to senior so long as those players are tall,strong and physical as the day for the small,nippy,light footballer at senior level is becoming a thing of the past especially for any of the top 8 sides.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3337 - 09/08/2018 20:54:31    2131338

Replying To panamasam:  "
Replying To DonaldDuck:  "Well it seems some managers are now learning what a ridiculous rule this is not allowing players eligible for the U-20's play in that grade if named in the senior squad. Colin Kelly spoke out about it and I imagine the Derry U-20 management will be ruing the rule too next weekend. Like who does it really benefit? Bar the cash cow on the east. At the time we heard about protecting player welfare yet the evidence points to the complete opposite plus does the welfare of the hurlers not matter? Hmmmm. For example Donegal will most likely have to play 3 weeks in a row. Tell me who in the Ulster Council was thinking of player welfare when they decided the prelim match at the weekend should be played after 2 quarter finals? Go figure. The same Ulster Council who ensured with their fixture programming last year that Donegal were at a disadvantage to their provincial counterparts outside of Ulster having played more games over a shorter period. On a slightly different tangent but also in relation to their fixture planning Donegal will play Derry in their quarter final as curtain raiser to the senior semi final. Meaning anybody who wants to see them will have to pay out for more over priced tickets.....a complete joke.
panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 1254 - 29/05/2018 01:52:27
Why is under 20s not playing under 20 if in senior squad ridiculous? They will be training enough/playing with seniors. That is completely related to player welfare and isnt the opposite of that at all.
Playing 3 weeks in a row isnt a disregard to player welfare."
Of course it is especially in the middle of exams. The under 21 championship was just fine and if u argue it that way why has the hurling not been changed?"
Instead of changing from U21 to U20 the GAA should have just put a limit on the amount of matches or part of players played regardless of weather it was U21 or senior. Same this year U20 players should have been able to play senior with a similar approach. Sometimes I think it's the amount of training sessions that cause problems. Limit U20 players to either the senior training sessions or U20 training sessions .

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 10/08/2018 10:28:18    2131469