Meath V Longford

Really baffles me that for all the debate about players not being available for one reason or another which is not helping we have to take stock and realise where we are at and yesterday's performance was a microcosm of meath football over last few years. We are terribly inconsistent in games and seem devoid of any real tactics. Leaving one inside forward isolated for large parts of the game was shocking, conceding kick-outs over and over again was mind boggling. It was plain to hear Donal Lenehan telling the team to push up on Longford's kick-outs and out some pressure on them but it never happened. They kicked the ball to the right wing on umpteen occasions and were unchallenged. All well and good but we needed to pressurise them to an extent that they were made uncomfortable. The only time we really started to go at them was when we were down a man an had inside forwards playing close to goals with speed, The two Wallaces were extremely dangerous and longford were threatened. Bryan McMahon was played away from goals throughout the game and this is not his strength. He has one position and that is close to goals. Positives were mcgill, keoghan, brennan, biggy and kennelly. Now for all this talk about getting a good team in the back door being good for the team to me is absolute bull. If we really wanted to play the cream, we would have Dublin in two weeks time and no better place to learn than playing them. We have a chance against tyrone but there can't be any real confidence that the team can get a result. My advice to the management would be go man on man, play traditional with forwards in position and take them on. They are definitely ahead of us quality wise but might not be as good as people think. The last thing we need is to get dragged into a game of chess with blanket defences etc. as they will win but when you take them on like Dublin did last year they can be hurt.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 28/05/2018 11:46:11    2104660

Honestly I taught we would struggle against Longford giving the dire performance in the League. Longford seemed to better prepared team than we us. They won the rode there luck at times, but deserved the win all the same, fair play to them. I agree that we have management issues at the moment. We tend finish strong in games like yesterday but yet guys that come in and play tend not to get a starting place. Ie yesterday Joey Wallace arguable did more in the 15 or 20 mins that he was on the pitch and other the for 50 60 mins they where on the pitch. Will Joey start the next probably not. IMO Joey is one or best forwards. Is he injured ? He probably the best forward a part from Biggy Leinhan ( For the frees) then Joey for me. I honestly cant understated how our management team cant see it. And just to end with a rant I taught once again the referring was terrible. Colgan got a shoulder in the chest in the square and ref played on and they for a 45 which there goalkeeper scored both Biggy and Menton where hit late while trying to score which the ref waved on. Biggy one was the worst one it was arguable a yellow never mind a free. I honestly have other things to doing that spending my Sunday watching such bad refereeing its almost a regular occurrence. I might go the Navan the next day depending if it suits or not. But if it was away no chance I go to Tyrone to see and watch what will inevitable be more on the same.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 28/05/2018 11:49:00    2104662

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Honestly I taught we would struggle against Longford giving the dire performance in the League. Longford seemed to better prepared team than we us. They won the rode there luck at times, but deserved the win all the same, fair play to them. I agree that we have management issues at the moment. We tend finish strong in games like yesterday but yet guys that come in and play tend not to get a starting place. Ie yesterday Joey Wallace arguable did more in the 15 or 20 mins that he was on the pitch and other the for 50 60 mins they where on the pitch. Will Joey start the next probably not. IMO Joey is one or best forwards. Is he injured ? He probably the best forward a part from Biggy Leinhan ( For the frees) then Joey for me. I honestly cant understated how our management team cant see it. And just to end with a rant I taught once again the referring was terrible. Colgan got a shoulder in the chest in the square and ref played on and they for a 45 which there goalkeeper scored both Biggy and Menton where hit late while trying to score which the ref waved on. Biggy one was the worst one it was arguable a yellow never mind a free. I honestly have other things to doing that spending my Sunday watching such bad refereeing its almost a regular occurrence. I might go the Navan the next day depending if it suits or not. But if it was away no chance I go to Tyrone to see and watch what will inevitable be more on the same."
Add to that the point that wasn't. But that been said longford were deserving of their win.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/05/2018 12:07:17    2104671

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Honestly I taught we would struggle against Longford giving the dire performance in the League. Longford seemed to better prepared team than we us. They won the rode there luck at times, but deserved the win all the same, fair play to them. I agree that we have management issues at the moment. We tend finish strong in games like yesterday but yet guys that come in and play tend not to get a starting place. Ie yesterday Joey Wallace arguable did more in the 15 or 20 mins that he was on the pitch and other the for 50 60 mins they where on the pitch. Will Joey start the next probably not. IMO Joey is one or best forwards. Is he injured ? He probably the best forward a part from Biggy Leinhan ( For the frees) then Joey for me. I honestly cant understated how our management team cant see it. And just to end with a rant I taught once again the referring was terrible. Colgan got a shoulder in the chest in the square and ref played on and they for a 45 which there goalkeeper scored both Biggy and Menton where hit late while trying to score which the ref waved on. Biggy one was the worst one it was arguable a yellow never mind a free. I honestly have other things to doing that spending my Sunday watching such bad refereeing its almost a regular occurrence. I might go the Navan the next day depending if it suits or not. But if it was away no chance I go to Tyrone to see and watch what will inevitable be more on the same."
The ref yesterday was one of the worst ive seen. Biggy getting flattened infront of him and he penalises us for him throwing the ball. Keeper getting tackled with ref watching and took him about 2 mins to do anything only when the umpire put his hand up. Just two of about 12 instances. Its gone now lads are afraid to go in for a tackle cos the famous yellow card is shown. All these off the ball instances occur out of frustration and end with bad consequences for players. Refs a law onto themselves, getting worse by the game. Player welfare my h**e.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 28/05/2018 12:12:37    2104677

Replying To Longfordbaz:  "Why??....we'd fancy a crack at them in pearse park. There's nothing between the two sides yesterday realistically. You have them in navan???....theyre not what they were either...have a good cut at them, with the right attitude and the supporters making navan a cauldron??!!!....why not....look at carlow yesterday, look at we did to Mayo, derry x2, down monaghan and but for poor refereeing, we could've taken donegal in ballybofey last year. Ask Bernard Flynn, he was livid over the decisions against longford. Tyrone will be expecting a divided meath. Should them different. And if they do win, make sure they earn it!........"
Would you be so optimistic if it were Longford in the draw this morning?? Given our recent history with Tyrone, we will struggle badly throughout this game. Our big players haven't shown up for quite some time and absolutely no disrespect to Longford, you played a fine game yesterday, if they choose to go hiding again then it'll all be over inside the first 20 minutes. As I have already said, the pluses, although few in number, amount to Peter Harte being sidelined and Bradley and Brennan ruled out through injury. Rumblings about McCurry being brought back into the fold however I doubt there will be s shortage of volunteers in that department.

Our experienced heads need to stand up. Stand toe to toe with Tyrone and revert to good old fashioned football.

ClonardGael (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 28/05/2018 12:37:53    2104695

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "The ref yesterday was one of the worst ive seen. Biggy getting flattened infront of him and he penalises us for him throwing the ball. Keeper getting tackled with ref watching and took him about 2 mins to do anything only when the umpire put his hand up. Just two of about 12 instances. Its gone now lads are afraid to go in for a tackle cos the famous yellow card is shown. All these off the ball instances occur out of frustration and end with bad consequences for players. Refs a law onto themselves, getting worse by the game. Player welfare my h**e."
Yep, Its beyond frustrating at this stage as a supporter to watching the shocking refereeing on a regular bases. I am not Biggy biggest fan, But the treatment he had to from the ref yesterday was terrible no wonder players are leaving the panel. And who blame them, having to put up with that. Put your life on hold for the likes of the awful refereeing that was severed up yesterday. But sure its just Meath....

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 28/05/2018 13:03:21    2104713

If truth be told Longford did not deserve to win. Even though Meath were not up to expectations which remain high and why not? The referee handed everything to home team. As well as above mentioned instances when Longford players were on advantage and kicked wide ball was brought back, But not so for Meath players clearly fouled but trying to carry on anyway.

When Meath played Tyrone in Omagh under MOD not so long ago Referee handed home team a penalty for Mc Cann diving and within minutes denied Meath an obvious penalty when Joey Wallace brought down. Meath outplayed them that Day but were robbed.

Interesting to see Meath at last get a home match. This is very winnable for Meath. Colm Cooper said Home advantage was worth 5 points with influence on referee. He was actually conservative in his calculations.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 28/05/2018 13:33:51    2104732

Fact 1 : Meath Not Good enough to beat any Div 1 team
Fact 2 : Longford are a Div 3 team that could not get promoted.
Fact 3 : Meath are outside the top 16 team in Ireland .
Fact 4: Yesterday is the last time I will pay money to watch the dung football that Meath tried to play yesterday. 13 players behind the ball and still a Div 3 team scored 16 points. What are the management at ? Good job we wre beaten yesterday as Dublin would make a show of us in croke park

gardentree (Meath) - Posts: 194 - 28/05/2018 13:34:17    2104733

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "I asked that before. Nobody offered an answer, they just procrastinated or passed the buck. I'm as disappointed as any Meath fan today but bulleting the manager, especially with zero plan of anyone to potentially replace him would be pointless."
Ye were all happy to bullet MOD......i have said for past 4 years here that majority of Meath supporters live in the past and are deluded as to how poor foitball is in Meath. The issue with management here is the type of unwatchable garbage being played with players treated like robots. Would have no complaints if we gave it everything ti win a match. I wouldn't be surprised if the tactic for Tyrone is 18 men behind the ball and try and keep margin of defeat as low as we can....

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 28/05/2018 13:40:28    2104738

Replying To Analyst:  "Ye were all happy to bullet MOD......i have said for past 4 years here that majority of Meath supporters live in the past and are deluded as to how poor foitball is in Meath. The issue with management here is the type of unwatchable garbage being played with players treated like robots. Would have no complaints if we gave it everything ti win a match. I wouldn't be surprised if the tactic for Tyrone is 18 men behind the ball and try and keep margin of defeat as low as we can...."
No worse than mod. Same results so far. But u were happy to give him 4 years. ? So ur problem is that mod was fired. Actually he left. And left a hell of a mess behind him. And u want to crucify the man trying to clean up that mess. Yeah I got ur logic now.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/05/2018 14:19:17    2104771

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Firstly in 2008 Meath players were not leaving the panel but in 2008 Wexford Cork Down Derry Armagh Kildare laois Offaly Westmeath players were not leaving panels. Ten years later In 2018 Meath players and Down Derry Wexford Cork Armagh Laois Offaly players are leaving panels , players are leaving county panels across the country in 2018, they didnt in 2008.

Secondly yes we did well in late 00s..But we had much better players then we had now..After kerry and Tyrone we possibly had the best forward line in the country. In the late 00s we probaly had as good if not better forward line then the Dubs. Thats why we defeated them by 5 goals. in the lates 90s we had Graham Geraghty Stephen Bray Shane O Rourke Graham Reilly Peadar Byrne David Bray and a young Joe Sheridan Brian Farrell and Cian Ward. Compare that today's forward line of Mickey Burke Ben Brennan Byran McMahon Graham Reilly Cillian sullivan Donal lenihan Joey Wallace. Today forward line is a division 2 forward line. The forward line in late 00s was a top division 1 forward line. Very few counties had a better forward line in 00s. We had a problem in the backs and midfield.

Anyway lets look at the players we had in late 00s Graham Geraghty Stephen Bray David Bray Shane O Rourke Joe Sheridan Brian Farrell Cian Ward Graham Reilly Paedar Byrne Seamus kenny Nigel Crawford Brian Meade Anthony Moyles Cormac McGuiness Chris O Connor Niall Mcloughlin Niall mckegue Darren Fay Kevin Reilly Brendan Murphy. That group of players is much stronger then our current group.

Actually that team underachieved. In 2010 we could have won the All Ireland we had better forwards then kildare or down..And Cork were beatable. Dublin were shakey at the end of 00s..With the group of players we had in late 00s we should have won more leinsters in 2008 and 2009 and at least should have reached a final in 2010. Why didnt we?. because we kept changing the manager. Players like Joe Sheridan Cian Ward had 5 managers in 7 years. Changing the manager halted the development of that team the development of tactics, the whole development of everything .. a new manager, new ideas new players dropped players brought in. Even players from that era have said changing the namager every year in late 00s effected the team. In the last 12 years we have had 7 managers , 8 if McEntee goes. In the last 12 years Dublin have had 3 managers.

Boylan wanted a 3 year contract in 2006..he knew there was talent there. But no the supporters wanted him gone. If Sean boylan stayed in 2006 2007 2008 I believe he would have won leinster and went on to win his fifth All Ireland in 2010. We will never know. But one thing for certain having 5 managers in 7 years did not help that 2007 to 2010 team it halted its development and titles were lost.
And by the end of our fifth manager in 7 years in 2012 2013 where were we in Division 3 heading to div 4.

Finally please name this top class manager in or outside county that wil deliver us sucess. This is the 8th time I have asked this. Still no names. 1 name a credible name with the CV to show how good he is . You keep saying there's a manager in the county that would get us to do better in the league. Well under 7 managers in 12 years we have spent 1 year in division 1 in 12 years. It really helped us to obtain div 1 status changing the manager. And only Barry could get us into div 1.

So there are managers in the county that are better then our last 7 managers who failed to get us into div 1. Can you name these managers who won leinster club titles ( Barry) managed a county team.to beat all Ireland champions ( Coyle) was an All Ireland winning Selector and reached all Ireland semi final won leinster and beat Dublin by 5 goals ( O Brien) and a manager who brought an inter county team.from div 4 to div 1 ( Banty) and a manager who won club all ireland and reached minor All Ireland ( McEntee)..Can you name these managers with better CVs in the county then the above last few managers. Managers who couldnt get us into div 1. Yet an inexperienced manager with little experience we be the one to get us into div 1 when none of the above could .

We have lost longford today we have also lost in the championship in the last 15 years to Fermanagh in 03 04 Cavan 05 Wexford 06 08 limerick 08 Armagh 14 Westmeath 15 Derry 16 and longford 18. I would say limerick Wexford Westmeath were worse losts. We have also had dreadful loses in the league in thjs decade to Monaghan Fermanagh Wexford and of course the worst performance ever in Navan v louth in 2012 which relegated us to div 3. One of our worst defeats ever which came after we had 5 managers in 7 years.

Many losess keep changing the manager..What do they say the sign of madness is keep doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different outcome. 7 and if McEntee goes 8 managers in 12 years and 1 year of those 12 years spent in divsion 1. Says allot. Even Cooper and Cavanagh mentioned n the Sunday game tonight Meaths changing and chopping managers is efecting and halting the counties growth. Thats what two of the greatest players of the modern era..think..I dont think they are to far wrong."
I have no problem keeping Andy in charge!! I'm just saying its been dreadful this year under him ! And the question needs to be asked... Is he good enough!! Because the results have been shocking ! You can ask 100 times about names If you want but the fact is until the job was free there is no point in throwing out random names ! It depends on avalibilty and interest levels !! That's for another day ,clearly he will finish out the year at the very least

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 28/05/2018 14:22:39    2104772

Replying To grahamc9897:  "I have no problem keeping Andy in charge!! I'm just saying its been dreadful this year under him ! And the question needs to be asked... Is he good enough!! Because the results have been shocking ! You can ask 100 times about names If you want but the fact is until the job was free there is no point in throwing out random names ! It depends on avalibilty and interest levels !! That's for another day ,clearly he will finish out the year at the very least"
Andy will be around next year too, hes not going anywhere. Players respect him & he respects them. Slowly he will get us there. Patience is what we need, no body can come in and wave a magic wand and all is perfect. He is doing a good job with what was handed over to him.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 28/05/2018 14:34:05    2104779

Replying To royaldunne:  "No worse than mod. Same results so far. But u were happy to give him 4 years. ? So ur problem is that mod was fired. Actually he left. And left a hell of a mess behind him. And u want to crucify the man trying to clean up that mess. Yeah I got ur logic now."
Not sure what way your logic works but are you trying to tell us that the style of play is acceptable? Only 5500 attended yesterday. The 10 lads i spoke to who were there were pale innthe face from the garbage they had to witness. And my money is on same again for tyrone

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 28/05/2018 15:11:22    2104812

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Andy will be around next year too, hes not going anywhere. Players respect him & he respects them. Slowly he will get us there. Patience is what we need, no body can come in and wave a magic wand and all is perfect. He is doing a good job with what was handed over to him."
Deluded, " he is doing a good job with was handed to him" ......this is not soccer where he inherits a panel of someone elses choosing. He has the same pick available to him as anyone who takes the job. What exactly is this mess that was handed over

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 28/05/2018 15:14:19    2104815

There is something deeply ironic about a Meath manager (Andy McEntee) complaining about a Tyrone referee (Hurson) and his unjust behaviour. In 2010 when a Tyrone referee (Sludden) allowed a Leinster Title to be stolen from Louth, the Meath management at the time had the chance to be honourable but they opted for deceit and dishonour. They are still paying for that, I believe. The only Leinster they "won" in the last 17 years is a thing of embarassment and shame and not recognised by the GAA family as a whole.
And now they face Tyrone who will surely put them out of their agony for this year and in their beloved Páirc Tailteann as well. I'll be there with my red flag - red for Tyrone, red for Louth - to cheer on the latest demise and defeat of a county of bad sports.

PedOGog (Louth) - Posts: 54 - 28/05/2018 15:15:20    2104819

Replying To royaldunne:  "No worse than mod. Same results so far. But u were happy to give him 4 years. ? So ur problem is that mod was fired. Actually he left. And left a hell of a mess behind him. And u want to crucify the man trying to clean up that mess. Yeah I got ur logic now."
If it was as big as mess as you claim that MOD left why is it that Andy was able to do better in year 1 than year 2? To me it looks like team is getting worse. Meath nearly got promotion last year and won 1 out of 3 championship games and this year avoided relagation on the last day and barring a major upset will lose 2 out of 2 league games. I habe no doubt MOD stayed too long but why make the same mistake twice when its clearly evident Meath are regressing under current regime and lads opting out

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 28/05/2018 15:20:59    2104823

Replying To Analyst:  "Deluded, " he is doing a good job with was handed to him" ......this is not soccer where he inherits a panel of someone elses choosing. He has the same pick available to him as anyone who takes the job. What exactly is this mess that was handed over"
I'm not one bit deluded. The lads...that's the mess he was handed down, a team of lads who couldn't catch their breath after 15 minutes, some overweight, no nutritional guidance, no self belief & zero confidence. What he has done for these lads mentally is not to be sneezed at.
Granted we are not seeing the great changes yet we hoped to have seen on the field by now but i believe he will get us there.
Just to state for an argument, this is my opinion.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 28/05/2018 15:30:15    2104832

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Andy will be around next year too, hes not going anywhere. Players respect him & he respects them. Slowly he will get us there. Patience is what we need, no body can come in and wave a magic wand and all is perfect. He is doing a good job with what was handed over to him."
Can you explain what you mean by doing a good job?

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2141 - 28/05/2018 15:32:52    2104835

Replying To PedOGog:  "There is something deeply ironic about a Meath manager (Andy McEntee) complaining about a Tyrone referee (Hurson) and his unjust behaviour. In 2010 when a Tyrone referee (Sludden) allowed a Leinster Title to be stolen from Louth, the Meath management at the time had the chance to be honourable but they opted for deceit and dishonour. They are still paying for that, I believe. The only Leinster they "won" in the last 17 years is a thing of embarassment and shame and not recognised by the GAA family as a whole.
And now they face Tyrone who will surely put them out of their agony for this year and in their beloved Páirc Tailteann as well. I'll be there with my red flag - red for Tyrone, red for Louth - to cheer on the latest demise and defeat of a county of bad sports."
See that bridge hasn't been built in Louth yet....get back in your box. Im not embarrassed or ashamed of our winning title. I'm quite proud of how our team & supporters held themselves that day unlike your supporters, management and team, if they had any respect for the GAA and what it stands for maybe you would have got your replay. End of.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 28/05/2018 15:35:21    2104837

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "See that bridge hasn't been built in Louth yet....get back in your box. Im not embarrassed or ashamed of our winning title. I'm quite proud of how our team & supporters held themselves that day unlike your supporters, management and team, if they had any respect for the GAA and what it stands for maybe you would have got your replay. End of."
All the old arrogance still there, still thinking you're a top team when you have slipped right out of contention - even in Leinster. And the final irony I hope for - young Sludden of Tyrone to get more scores that the whole Meath team put together.

PedOGog (Louth) - Posts: 54 - 28/05/2018 15:47:41    2104847