Leinster Hurling Championship

Assuming there is a winner in the Kilkenny - Wexford game the loser of that match will end up on 4 points. If Dublin beat Galway they will also have 4 points and likely to have a better scoring difference and becoming the 3rd qualifying Leinster team.

Dublin have put it up to Wexford and Kilkenny, they a physically the best match for Galway and with Galway already qualified is there a chance they mightn't be going full throttle .. I am not seeing it mentioned in too many quarters but is there chance of a twist in the tail of the Leinster championship here??

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 337 - 05/06/2018 10:57:15    2107599

Replying To dahayeser:  "Assuming there is a winner in the Kilkenny - Wexford game the loser of that match will end up on 4 points. If Dublin beat Galway they will also have 4 points and likely to have a better scoring difference and becoming the 3rd qualifying Leinster team.

Dublin have put it up to Wexford and Kilkenny, they a physically the best match for Galway and with Galway already qualified is there a chance they mightn't be going full throttle .. I am not seeing it mentioned in too many quarters but is there chance of a twist in the tail of the Leinster championship here??"
It comes down to head to head and as Dublin have lost to both Kilkenny and Wexford they will be outside the top 3.

Lionman (Galway) - Posts: 52 - 05/06/2018 15:50:32    2107750

Replying To dahayeser:  "Assuming there is a winner in the Kilkenny - Wexford game the loser of that match will end up on 4 points. If Dublin beat Galway they will also have 4 points and likely to have a better scoring difference and becoming the 3rd qualifying Leinster team.

Dublin have put it up to Wexford and Kilkenny, they a physically the best match for Galway and with Galway already qualified is there a chance they mightn't be going full throttle .. I am not seeing it mentioned in too many quarters but is there chance of a twist in the tail of the Leinster championship here??"
Best thing for Galway to do is to throttle Dublin and that will make everything clear and leave Dublin in no man's land.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 05/06/2018 16:30:39    2107758

It goes on head to head unfortunately for Dublin. If we were to beat a 2nd string Galway and Wexford were to beat KK then Dublin would lose out on head to head despite our score difference being better than KK's.

It's an argument for another day maybe that using scoring difference as opposed to head to head would lessen the chances of dead rubber games on the final weekend but Dublin can have no complaints as the rules were clear at the beginning.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 06/06/2018 08:27:50    2107935

Woeful performance at Parnell Park on Sunday. Offaly can have no complaints about relegation.

PortInFaithful (Offaly) - Posts: 472 - 06/06/2018 11:31:20    2107986

Replying To MesAmis:  "It goes on head to head unfortunately for Dublin. If we were to beat a 2nd string Galway and Wexford were to beat KK then Dublin would lose out on head to head despite our score difference being better than KK's.

It's an argument for another day maybe that using scoring difference as opposed to head to head would lessen the chances of dead rubber games on the final weekend but Dublin can have no complaints as the rules were clear at the beginning."
Both have their advantages, the big advantage of head to head is a victory against a top team matters more than with scoring difference

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 06/06/2018 19:34:59    2108180

Replying To Pinkie:  "Both have their advantages, the big advantage of head to head is a victory against a top team matters more than with scoring difference"
Yes. The head to head is the better option in my view, particularly in the Leinster championship. It adds an extra bite to clashes between the top teams because winning is important. If it wasn't head to head you would have a lot of shadow boxing going on in the group games. For instance, if Galway and KK felt they were likely to meet in the Leinster final it's likely they wouldn't show their full hand in the group game. Also the weakest team would be targeted by all the others for a hiding and whichever of the top teams was playing them in the 3rd or 4th round would have a distinct advantage.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 06/06/2018 20:47:58    2108195

Lads, maybe some of ye can shine a light for me on the relegation/promotion between the Liam MacCarthy & Joe McDonagh competitions please?

How is it that Offaly are 100% confirmed as having been relegated - is it not the case that if Kerry win the Joe McDonagh Cup they will face a relegation/promotion playoff against the bottom placed Munster team (currently Waterford).

If they were to win that (highly unlikely I know), then they would be promoted and, in the example above, Waterford relegated. Would this not save Offaly from relegation to the second tier competition?

Do Kerry still have a chance of making the final (with a victory against Antrim, coupled with a Westmeath defeat of Carlow) or does head-to-head count before scoring difference?

So even if Kerry were to finish level on points with Carlow and have a significant scoring advantage over Carlow, they would loose out based on having been defeated by Carlow earlier in the competition? I think I may have answered my own question as I typed this post haha........

If someone knows the rule please throw it up here. Cheers!

LetterkennyMan (Donegal) - Posts: 393 - 07/06/2018 16:16:35    2108433

Replying To LetterkennyMan:  "Lads, maybe some of ye can shine a light for me on the relegation/promotion between the Liam MacCarthy & Joe McDonagh competitions please?

How is it that Offaly are 100% confirmed as having been relegated - is it not the case that if Kerry win the Joe McDonagh Cup they will face a relegation/promotion playoff against the bottom placed Munster team (currently Waterford).

If they were to win that (highly unlikely I know), then they would be promoted and, in the example above, Waterford relegated. Would this not save Offaly from relegation to the second tier competition?

Do Kerry still have a chance of making the final (with a victory against Antrim, coupled with a Westmeath defeat of Carlow) or does head-to-head count before scoring difference?

So even if Kerry were to finish level on points with Carlow and have a significant scoring advantage over Carlow, they would loose out based on having been defeated by Carlow earlier in the competition? I think I may have answered my own question as I typed this post haha........

If someone knows the rule please throw it up here. Cheers!"
you did answer your own question. spot on.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 07/06/2018 16:50:09    2108442

Dublin putting in a serious performance in Pearse Park. If they don't win and go through on points differential over Wexford or KK they'll be very unlucky.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 09/06/2018 20:22:20    2109061

Once again another fine Dublin performance

Very happy

Pity to lose another close one but there's many positives to take

Things are looking good for Dublin under Gilroy and by jaysus if they had Con I think we'd be looking at close to 4 out of 4 wins

Dublin hurling is not far off and these performances and battles will bring on the young lads.. serious stuff on the way

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 09/06/2018 20:55:34    2109088

Replying To BliainanÁir:  "Dublin putting in a serious performance in Pearse Park. If they don't win and go through on points differential over Wexford or KK they'll be very unlucky."
Not possible even if they did win! Obviously you're not following the hurling structure too closely!

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 09/06/2018 20:59:11    2109090

Jaysus what do Dub hurlers have to do to secure a win!!

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 09/06/2018 21:01:10    2109092

Replying To arock:  "Jaysus what do Dub hurlers have to do to secure a win!!"
Very unlucky cship for Dublin. On the plus side tho they've played 5 games and look to be building a good side under a good management team. They're certainly a team that should take the positives from the season

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 09/06/2018 22:03:11    2109138

Replying To arock:  "Jaysus what do Dub hurlers have to do to secure a win!!"
Finishing the game with a higher score than the opponent is generally accepted as the standard approach. :)

Great game from ye today, and what a second half.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 09/06/2018 23:07:43    2109185

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Not possible even if they did win! Obviously you're not following the hurling structure too closely!"
No obviously not! I was applying common sense to the situation and what happens in most sports when teams are level on points, scoring difference is looked at. Dare i mention rugby!! Ireland wouldn't have won the 2014 6 Nations Championship going by GAA logic. We were level on points with England however won on scoring differential. We lost to England in Twickenham that year so GAA common sense would have them champions.

GAA common sense will probably rejig the Leinster championship to accommodate Offaly in next year's Liam McCarthy and deny Carlow and Westmeath their opportunity in the top tier.Common sense dictates that Offaly are a 'traditional' hurling power and Westmeath and Carlow really don't belong in the top tier.

This is not a diatribe against Offaly, a county who have overachieved in both codes.Just weird gaa thinking. Counties should be in a competitions on their current merits. Not nostalgia for the past.

BliainanÁir (Laois) - Posts: 598 - 10/06/2018 00:13:12    2109212

This has been a great championship season for Dublin.

I hope they build on this. They had a very good minor team in 2012 and have blooded some very good players over the last 2 years.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 10/06/2018 01:05:32    2109227

Davy mustn't have been joking when he said he had bet his house on a Kilkenny win cod some of the things Wexford did in the 2nd half were baffling.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 10/06/2018 01:51:22    2109234

2 great games of hurling,and a fraction of the fawning and hyperbole that there was after the cork limerick game last week

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 10/06/2018 08:08:05    2109249

Replying To jimbodub:  "Once again another fine Dublin performance

Very happy

Pity to lose another close one but there's many positives to take

Things are looking good for Dublin under Gilroy and by jaysus if they had Con I think we'd be looking at close to 4 out of 4 wins

Dublin hurling is not far off and these performances and battles will bring on the young lads.. serious stuff on the way"
Galway poor on the night .

The positives for me were
We were able to secure the win in the end .
Plenty of freng players got a chance to impress.
David Burke had a good game and is coming back to form.

Negative
Shocking to let in 2 soft goals

heartbroken (Galway) - Posts: 370 - 10/06/2018 09:20:27    2109265