Leinster Hurling Championship

Replying To MesAmis:  "Too raw right now to properly discuss it. Keaney going off was a hammer blow. He was playing great stuff. Dwyer on was a bad call too for me.

Discipline at the back cost us big time. Nolans attempts at clever puc outs cost us 4/5 points too.

Aaah just gut wrenching stuff but to be fair I think KK just about deserved the win on the day but they're a long way off Tipp/Galway imo."
They were much better than anything they did under Ger Cunningham. I think Gilroy and Anthony Cunningham will make a proper team out of them over the coming years.

Staying in Liam McCarthy for 2019 is the main goal. Anything beyond that is a bonus. Hopefully, a couple more Cuala lads will come back next year.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 13/05/2018 18:20:34    2100076

Replying To MesAmis:  "Awful awful awful awful.

No one to blame but ourselves.

KK will win nothing this year."
Famous last words, everyone said the same in the league after the first two games! Kilkenny will only get better and have a few experienced players only getting back to full game time. They will have two from two after next week

ke40 (Kildare) - Posts: 209 - 13/05/2018 18:20:43    2100077

Replying To Killarney.87:  "Keaney going off was the turning poInt, O'Dwyer was poor when he came on in his place.

If Dublin can maintain that level of intensity in their next 3 games they have an outside chance of making the top 3.

Fair play to Gilroy and Cunningham they prepared the team really well for today. It's some step up from the shambolic effort under the other Cunningham."
Ah Killarney give Dublin proper credit! You insulted them before the game...
people completed over estimated how good kk were in the league. Tipp were extremely poor and off the pace in the final.
Dublin were extremely unlucky with missed frees and goal chances.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 13/05/2018 18:21:42    2100078

Replying To MesAmis:  "Awful awful awful awful.

No one to blame but ourselves.

KK will win nothing this year."
They've already won the league. But I know what you mean. Still they aren't going to make it easy for anyone. (They never do.) Michael Ryan highlighted this during the week when he said that Kilkenny always keep going for the 70 minutes plus. That was what won them the game.

Missed chances were very costly for Dublin. Kilkenny were more clinical. So many high balls pumped in on top of an outnumbered full-forward line didn't help Dublin, either.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 13/05/2018 18:26:23    2100080

Replying To tiobraid:  "Ah Killarney give Dublin proper credit! You insulted them before the game...
people completed over estimated how good kk were in the league. Tipp were extremely poor and off the pace in the final.
Dublin were extremely unlucky with missed frees and goal chances."
Yeah, I was well off the mark with my prediction. I thought Dublin were bluffing when talking big before the game. It was great to see them backing up their talk with a very strong performance.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 13/05/2018 18:45:28    2100092

Replying To tiobraid:  "Ah Killarney give Dublin proper credit! You insulted them before the game...
Dublin were extremely unlucky with missed frees and goal chances."
There were a couple of comments about bullish talk and how it would be better to keep quiet about our chances.
I can understand these comments to some degree but I don't think Dublin were making any daft statements other than expressing an ambition to get back in contention with the top sides and to compete favourably and maybe just surprise a few people after the dross that we played for the last few years.
Looking at them today I'm happy and bloody annoyed that we lost because they showed what you need at this level and that's skill determination and fight.
Too many wides though and what appeared to be a couple of dubious calls were the difference.
At least we have some hope now and that's more than under previous management.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 13/05/2018 18:48:40    2100095

Replying To Midleton:  "They've already won the league. But I know what you mean. Still they aren't going to make it easy for anyone. (They never do.) Michael Ryan highlighted this during the week when he said that Kilkenny always keep going for the 70 minutes plus. That was what won them the game.

Missed chances were very costly for Dublin. Kilkenny were more clinical. So many high balls pumped in on top of an outnumbered full-forward line didn't help Dublin, either."
Yeah we missed some very good chances, as did KK though to be fair.

A lot of aimless ball as well.

Best team won on the day though so we can have no complaints.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 13/05/2018 18:55:30    2100100

Replying To MesAmis:  "Yeah we missed some very good chances, as did KK though to be fair.

A lot of aimless ball as well.

Best team won on the day though so we can have no complaints."
Disagree.

Dublin were the better team in most measures and should have won the game. Ref was slightly biased towards Dublin I felt, but even still the Dubs should have won that game.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2475 - 14/05/2018 05:17:39    2100319

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "desperate,the all ireland champions [Galway
make their championship bow and not a dicky bird about it.
but for the fact that i was following wexford football match,i would not have known it was on.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 2328 - 13/05/2018 10:28:54 2099931

Not a dicky bird about it? Do you follow hurling? The fixtures were well known weeks ago.

Here's one for you diary, in case you're unaware. Next week, Sunday 20th - Leinster SHC round 2 - Wexford v Dublin, Innovate Wexford Park, 3pm."]jesus i wasnt aware of that,thanks.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 14/05/2018 09:01:20    2100348

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Disagree.

Dublin were the better team in most measures and should have won the game. Ref was slightly biased towards Dublin I felt, but even still the Dubs should have won that game."
I don't know about that Lohan I felt KK were probably slightly better overall but not by much. Dublin completely out of the game for the last 10/12 minutes, and like it or not that's the most important part of a close match.

Don't know about the ref, I thought he gave some strange decisions all day against both sides. Dublin's first goal certainly shouldn't have counted in anyways but I think KK got a couple of soft enough frees as well as ourselves.

I don't think he was a factor in the loss at all but he'll have better days with the whistle.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 14/05/2018 10:31:22    2100399

As a neutral, I felt the referee did a largely good job.

I was gutted for Dublin though, they had done so well, but KK are KK and that is that.

Personally, I felt number 21 should have came across much quicker and hauled Blanchfield down before he got near the goal, or the square. You can bet your life it would have happened at the other end!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 14/05/2018 11:04:32    2100431

Replying To Pinkie:  "As a neutral, I felt the referee did a largely good job.

I was gutted for Dublin though, they had done so well, but KK are KK and that is that.

Personally, I felt number 21 should have came across much quicker and hauled Blanchfield down before he got near the goal, or the square. You can bet your life it would have happened at the other end!"
Ah yeah he was fine overall. Nit picking really is all we're doing, it's a tight pitch and impossible to call everything right.

Agree on the goal. Blanchfield travelled a long way for it! Naivety perhaps from our lads. Looking forward to the trip south now in anyways and I think we can be a bit more hopeful of a decent performance against Wexford.

We've a free shot in the next 2 games of getting something before the big one against Offaly, our 2 big games were always gonna be the 2 home games.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 14/05/2018 11:10:28    2100441

I meant to add that I feel Brian Cody and Michael Duignan complaining about the championship structure now is like locking the door when the horse has bolted.
Why weren't the screaming the lights out before congress? No point complaining now......

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 14/05/2018 11:24:46    2100451

Replying To MesAmis:  "Ah yeah he was fine overall. Nit picking really is all we're doing, it's a tight pitch and impossible to call everything right.

Agree on the goal. Blanchfield travelled a long way for it! Naivety perhaps from our lads. Looking forward to the trip south now in anyways and I think we can be a bit more hopeful of a decent performance against Wexford.

We've a free shot in the next 2 games of getting something before the big one against Offaly, our 2 big games were always gonna be the 2 home games."
Yeah it was naive but sure you live and learn. It is good to see Dublin back competitive after a few terrible years, Wexford will need to be on their game at the weekend to beat them, that is for sure.
Isn't it great to see Leinster hurling so competitive.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 14/05/2018 11:26:17    2100454

Gutted for Dublin, they had KK yesterday if they had taken half their scores. It's not nice to see wides but it is worrying to see the ball dropping short when struck from 45-60 yards out and the wind behind you. Dublin players need to work on striking the ball sweetly, far too much forcing the strike and slow motion shows that they are not striking it with the centre of the bas. Compare that to the less forceful striking of the KK men and the ball coming straight out of the centre of the bas, travelling much further. Dublin also tried to defend a five point lead, they should have kept their shape and kept on trying to put scores on the board.

It would be great to see Dublin doing well but yesterday they showed that they could only compete with a KK team that had five or six first choice players missing, when KK brought on their first team players they moved up a gear, that's the level Dublin need to be operating. Hopefully the capital are going in the right direction but they need to improve their stick work, awareness, get a steady free taker, and find a referee that is fair to both teams. TJ always is rising for the ball with his hurl arm resting on the defenders catching arm and how a ref doesn't see that as a foul I will never know. KK also charge with the head down wriggling as if they are being held and once past their marker they strike the ball off their weak side (striking from the shoulder) to avoid being hooked.

Brian_Coyote (Antrim) - Posts: 346 - 14/05/2018 11:58:40    2100474

Replying To Pinkie:  "Yeah it was naive but sure you live and learn. It is good to see Dublin back competitive after a few terrible years, Wexford will need to be on their game at the weekend to beat them, that is for sure.
Isn't it great to see Leinster hurling so competitive."
Yeah on a side note, I know it's only the first weekend of it but I like the new format.

Standing on the terrace in a packed PP yesterday watching competitive championship hurling in the sunshine was brilliant.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 14/05/2018 12:07:56    2100481

Replying To MesAmis:  "Yeah on a side note, I know it's only the first weekend of it but I like the new format.

Standing on the terrace in a packed PP yesterday watching competitive championship hurling in the sunshine was brilliant."
Looking forward to welcoming yaz to Wexford Park, and hopefully sending ye packing with a bag of new season potatoes, a punnet of Wexford strawberries and yer tail between your legs :)

Joking aside, huge game for both teams, either the game on Sunday will stand to Dublin or will have taken so much out of them that it'll play in to Wexford's hands. Either way, I am sure it'll be a cracker.

Can't wait for it. Good luck to both teams.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 14/05/2018 14:42:46    2100585

Replying To Brian_Coyote:  "Gutted for Dublin, they had KK yesterday if they had taken half their scores. It's not nice to see wides but it is worrying to see the ball dropping short when struck from 45-60 yards out and the wind behind you. Dublin players need to work on striking the ball sweetly, far too much forcing the strike and slow motion shows that they are not striking it with the centre of the bas. Compare that to the less forceful striking of the KK men and the ball coming straight out of the centre of the bas, travelling much further. Dublin also tried to defend a five point lead, they should have kept their shape and kept on trying to put scores on the board.

It would be great to see Dublin doing well but yesterday they showed that they could only compete with a KK team that had five or six first choice players missing, when KK brought on their first team players they moved up a gear, that's the level Dublin need to be operating. Hopefully the capital are going in the right direction but they need to improve their stick work, awareness, get a steady free taker, and find a referee that is fair to both teams. TJ always is rising for the ball with his hurl arm resting on the defenders catching arm and how a ref doesn't see that as a foul I will never know. KK also charge with the head down wriggling as if they are being held and once past their marker they strike the ball off their weak side (striking from the shoulder) to avoid being hooked."
Some good points made. The free takers may have been the difference on the day. There was certainly one catch from Reid where it was a blatant free yesterday. I cant say I noticed it as obvious before though.
I'd say though that Dublin didnt complete with KK but they out hurled KK before them players came on. They physically bullied KK almost everywhere to that point.
If Keaney hadnt went off KK may not have won. I thought Buckley only hurled from then on.
Rushe was brillaint at full forward too
Anyone know who got man of the match? Personally I'd have given it to any of the Dublin half backline, Rushe or O'Donnell.

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 14/05/2018 15:25:04    2100606

Blasphemy warning. Is it time to only allow free takers to score from within the 65 meter line.

Or at least prevent hurl swapping in order to score from a free. Is it within the spirit of the rules that the penalty for a foul within a 100 yards of your own goal is a point to the opposition.

Fair play to the Kilkenny goalkeeper scoring 4 from 100 yards out. But this is going to mean kk start every match with a 3 or 4 point advantage.

shaneShankill (Dublin) - Posts: 42 - 14/05/2018 15:54:20    2100626

Replying To Pinkie:  "Looking forward to welcoming yaz to Wexford Park, and hopefully sending ye packing with a bag of new season potatoes, a punnet of Wexford strawberries and yer tail between your legs :)

Joking aside, huge game for both teams, either the game on Sunday will stand to Dublin or will have taken so much out of them that it'll play in to Wexford's hands. Either way, I am sure it'll be a cracker.

Can't wait for it. Good luck to both teams."
Some strawberries in the boot and an ice cream in Courtown on the way down and the day won't be too bad no matter the result.

Haven't been to Wexford in a few years so looking forward to the trip.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 14/05/2018 16:36:19    2100660