Meath U20s

Replying To ziggy320001:  "Hmm....

Think a lot of that was Farrell covering his tracks.
The main issue with the Dublin display was naive tactics. He tried to play a traditional 15 man game. There was no defensive plan and we were wide open in the middle. For a lot if the game we had a 20 yard gap between the half back line and full back line.
This meant two things...
Dublin could pop simply passes into that space were their forwards were 1v1. Given them simple scores, or when they ran at us and hit by midfield and the half back line they had acres to run into too and therefore we were outnumbered.
We had the players, but we have a lot of talent coming through, it's vital that we get managers who understand the modern game for U20s in the next few years.
As a former county board chairman said, the display against Dublin was deplorable and Brian needs to look at himself."
Oh, fair enough, i didn't have that insight...

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 07/07/2018 16:06:02    2119351

Replying To cuttothebone:  "Oh, fair enough, i didn't have that insight..."
That's fair enough. I think Barry Callagha was a huge loss to this group tbh. Brought them on from minor.
I wouldn't put all the blame on Farrell, it seemed a rushed appointment. Not sure anyone expected Barry to go. But he left for personal reasons.
But in Meath we need managers coaches to grasp the modern style of football. To be fair Andy is trying to that with seniors, but needs to start at U14 tbh

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 07/07/2018 16:16:21    2119354

Replying To ziggy320001:  "Hmm....

Think a lot of that was Farrell covering his tracks.
The main issue with the Dublin display was naive tactics. He tried to play a traditional 15 man game. There was no defensive plan and we were wide open in the middle. For a lot if the game we had a 20 yard gap between the half back line and full back line.
This meant two things...
Dublin could pop simply passes into that space were their forwards were 1v1. Given them simple scores, or when they ran at us and hit by midfield and the half back line they had acres to run into too and therefore we were outnumbered.
We had the players, but we have a lot of talent coming through, it's vital that we get managers who understand the modern game for U20s in the next few years.
As a former county board chairman said, the display against Dublin was deplorable and Brian needs to look at himself."
Agreed.....

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 07/07/2018 16:39:59    2119360

Replying To cuttothebone:  "Oh, fair enough, i didn't have that insight..."
I'm not sure that the issue here was the traditional 15 vs 15 game , And as for it been traditional , I don't remember defenders or midfielders standing 10-15 m off their opposite number on kick outs with the traditional system .
We conceded the kick out from the start ( was that a tactic, boy did it fail badly ) . A number of Meath Forwards were 10 m off their men at the kick out ( all the time) .Additionally the Meath midfielders seemed to be allowing their opposite number find space at ease . Dublin won most of the primary possession . because we made it easy for them to do so . Scully wearing 5 but operating between the 45s carried the ball from deep and caused Dublin mayhem anytime he done so .And when that happened Meath moved the ball well , Issues only occurred when the ball got to their 45 , and generally that was because the Meath MF pair gained possession and slowed it all down .
Morris , Conlon had the beating of the Dublin backs on most occasions but the supply of ball into the forward line was not of a required standard . Once the Meath MF got involved they slowed everything down ,and took the ball into contact too much , been turned over on too many occasions . with the consequences that they ( Dublin) broke at speed and put Meath's defence under pressure straight away , (with 2 very mobile midfielders that could move the ball) .
I'm not sure who is doing the speed work with Dublin , but Meath need to find out very soon , because they were phenomenal . They attacked with speed , only slowed things down when there was no other option ,and broke tackles at ease.

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 09/07/2018 09:45:15    2119880

Replying To ziggy320001:  "That's fair enough. I think Barry Callagha was a huge loss to this group tbh. Brought them on from minor.
I wouldn't put all the blame on Farrell, it seemed a rushed appointment. Not sure anyone expected Barry to go. But he left for personal reasons.
But in Meath we need managers coaches to grasp the modern style of football. To be fair Andy is trying to that with seniors, but needs to start at U14 tbh"
Does the modern game include no full forward line

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 09/07/2018 12:49:08    2119971

Replying To ziggy320001:  "That's fair enough. I think Barry Callagha was a huge loss to this group tbh. Brought them on from minor.
But in Meath we need managers coaches to grasp the modern style of football. To be fair Andy is trying to that with seniors, but needs to start at U14 tbh"
Not sure what you have been watching. For starters our seniors have not improved and results prove that. You go into a lot of detail in your previous post, however when you have players marking space (modern football!) you are going nowhere as nobody takes responsibility. You do need defenders who can man-mark and when in possession move forward with pace (or move the ball forward with accuracy) as all the top teams do. Your only going to improve young footballers when you allow them to develop their skills with a high degree of work rate.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 09/07/2018 13:18:30    2119982

So any of these lads looking like a good shout for the senior squad next year?

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 452 - 11/07/2018 23:28:29    2120851

And mcentee is getting slated for it.
I think it's a mindset in Meath circles that needs to change. The one on one and let it in is gone forever, it will never return there is no place for it anymore. We need to be coaching a defensive running game from u14 up.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 12/07/2018 07:55:27    2120874

Replying To royaldunne:  "And mcentee is getting slated for it.
I think it's a mindset in Meath circles that needs to change. The one on one and let it in is gone forever, it will never return there is no place for it anymore. We need to be coaching a defensive running game from u14 up."
RD , Andy is not getting slated for the defensive game , he is getting slated because we have underperformed in the Championship , and Qualifiers .
The defensive system has not bedded in otherwise , Tyrone would not have beaten us, and please take into account that Tyrone waltzed thru the team anytime they wished , and could have scored 3-4 goals in the first half , so there's something wrong with things , if we're coaching and training the system . And still cant defend. how can that be ......

Meath_True (Meath) - Posts: 285 - 12/07/2018 17:19:38    2121078

Replying To Meath_True:  "RD , Andy is not getting slated for the defensive game , he is getting slated because we have underperformed in the Championship , and Qualifiers .
The defensive system has not bedded in otherwise , Tyrone would not have beaten us, and please take into account that Tyrone waltzed thru the team anytime they wished , and could have scored 3-4 goals in the first half , so there's something wrong with things , if we're coaching and training the system . And still cant defend. how can that be ......"
Our defensive system seems to revolve around getting everyone behind the ball, even then runners are not picked up and our players are time and time again too far off their man. As you say Tyrone just ran through us and should have scored a few goals. Present system is not and will not work.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2135 - 12/07/2018 19:01:20    2121101

So any of these lads looking like a good shout for the senior squad next year?

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 452 - 18/07/2018 13:32:19    2123492

I mention it on the minor thread but the 2019 20's squad have a real chance of winning Leinster. It is made up of the 1999's who lost to Leinster champs and AI semifinalists Dublin having been 10 up. 00's who were Leinster champs and 01's who are Leinster champs. Bit early to be doing it but just want to throw a team out there and see what people think.
1.Sean Brennan (Dunderry)
2.Robbie Clarke (Skryne)
3.Dan Devine (Na Fianna)
4. James O'Hare (Rathkenny)
5. Sean Ryan (Dunboyne)
6. Liam Byrne (Dunboyne)
7. Adam Murphy (Moynalvey)
8. Cian McBride (Ultans)
9. Daithi McGowan (Ratoath) or Jack Donnelly (Dunboyne). Neither of these lads played minor with Meath but both now start senior with their club and are both worthy.
10. Sean Martin (Na Fianna)
11. Matthew Costello (Dunshaughlin)
12. Connell Ahern (Ratoath)
13. Jordan Morris (Nobber)
14. Shane Walsh (Na Fianna)
15. Luke Mitchell (Dunshaughlin)

That would be my time with a bench that has lads like Conor Frayne, Saran O'Fionnagain, Ciaran Slavin, Sean Bannon, MIcheal Gavin, Paddy Matthews, Cian Rodgers, Harry O'Higgins, Cathal Hickey, Sean Coffey, Adam Reilly, Luke Kelly.

A really good and deep squad

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1454 - 12/08/2018 13:53:42    2132217

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "I mention it on the minor thread but the 2019 20's squad have a real chance of winning Leinster. It is made up of the 1999's who lost to Leinster champs and AI semifinalists Dublin having been 10 up. 00's who were Leinster champs and 01's who are Leinster champs. Bit early to be doing it but just want to throw a team out there and see what people think.
1.Sean Brennan (Dunderry)
2.Robbie Clarke (Skryne)
3.Dan Devine (Na Fianna)
4. James O'Hare (Rathkenny)
5. Sean Ryan (Dunboyne)
6. Liam Byrne (Dunboyne)
7. Adam Murphy (Moynalvey)
8. Cian McBride (Ultans)
9. Daithi McGowan (Ratoath) or Jack Donnelly (Dunboyne). Neither of these lads played minor with Meath but both now start senior with their club and are both worthy.
10. Sean Martin (Na Fianna)
11. Matthew Costello (Dunshaughlin)
12. Connell Ahern (Ratoath)
13. Jordan Morris (Nobber)
14. Shane Walsh (Na Fianna)
15. Luke Mitchell (Dunshaughlin)

That would be my time with a bench that has lads like Conor Frayne, Saran O'Fionnagain, Ciaran Slavin, Sean Bannon, MIcheal Gavin, Paddy Matthews, Cian Rodgers, Harry O'Higgins, Cathal Hickey, Sean Coffey, Adam Reilly, Luke Kelly.

A really good and deep squad"
If any under 17 can make our under 20s we will win nothing
The likes of Luke Mitchell would get killed at that level

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 12/08/2018 17:17:27    2132296

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "If any under 17 can make our under 20s we will win nothing
The likes of Luke Mitchell would get killed at that level"
The minors did gret this year it let's not lose the run of ourselves. It is a big step up from under 17 to under 20 and the physicality is at a different level. There are plenty of lads from 1999 and 2000 already playing at senior level and I think the 2001 lads should be allowed time to develop. If a couple of them come through it will be great! Don't rush them though!

ASaminthehand (Meath) - Posts: 422 - 12/08/2018 17:37:00    2132312

Replying To head4dblackspot:  "If any under 17 can make our under 20s we will win nothing
The likes of Luke Mitchell would get killed at that level"
Except they'd be under 18. Playing two ages above isn't what you are making it out to be. If they are good enough they are old enough. Did Jordan Morris look overmatched as an under 18 last year with 1-1 from play against Dublin and Kildare? That was an under 18 playing against under 20's. Last year we had 4 lads starting who weren't full age. Dublin had 7 and beat us handy. I am taking the quality over the age

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1454 - 12/08/2018 20:14:00    2132398