Roscommon Vs Cavan

As a neutral I thought it was an excellent game, as was the division 1 final afterwards. There was some poor defending in it but the attacking play from both sides was top drawer stuff. The finishing for a few of the goals was as clinical as you will see, and Smith and Murtagh knocked over some great scores.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 03/04/2018 13:05:09    2090648

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hzLzoFwXsZA

3.56 mins. Please explain where you see him catch the ball and throw it into the goal. Penaulty looked very harsh there too."
Well the tg4 commentators immediately questioned that Kilroy threw the ball so it's not as clearcut as you suggest. He controls it in his hands. You can see Faulkner protest it. I asked what the rule is specifically cos I'm not sure.

The penalty was obviously the right call, a lazy tackle that prevented a goal scoring opportunity.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12119 - 03/04/2018 14:28:41    2090675

Defo on the replay looked like the Ros player nearly caught the ball rather than punch/slapped the ball into the net. Grey area I think.

Impossible for the ref to see it though.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 03/04/2018 15:31:53    2090706

Have to say having watched it a few times, I think it's a legitimate goal. More a case of soft hands than an actual catch - if a player was to do the same in midfield from a kickout, the mark wouldn't be given. Same principle applies.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 03/04/2018 15:43:45    2090710

An entertaining game for sure. I would be amazed if Cavan play as openly against us in a few weeks though. If they do I can only see one winner.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9135 - 03/04/2018 15:46:59    2090711

Its pretty clear cut goal to me, If he catches the ball as some are saying where is the throw movement? Look at his arms the stay straight the whole way never bend in a throwing motion and it literally cant be done to throw the ball with the power still on it with his arms like that.

Peno- Roscommon player tackles the ball, Looks a peno and is probably a peno but fairly harsh when you actually see the only contact is with the ball over McVeetys shoulder. Only the replay of incident shows this

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 03/04/2018 16:19:33    2090722

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Its pretty clear cut goal to me, If he catches the ball as some are saying where is the throw movement? Look at his arms the stay straight the whole way never bend in a throwing motion and it literally cant be done to throw the ball with the power still on it with his arms like that.

Peno- Roscommon player tackles the ball, Looks a peno and is probably a peno but fairly harsh when you actually see the only contact is with the ball over McVeetys shoulder. Only the replay of incident shows this"
Getting into real technicalities here, but there is a split second where he's in control of the ball in both hands. Yeah no "throwing" action as you describe I suppose, but technically if he catches it, he can't just drop it in either. It's only a split second but it makes it significantly easier to direct it on target. All the neutrals agree it's not clearcut :) This has come up before for certain goals so I'm not raising it for biased or bitter reasons. Just questioning it.

On the penalty, from the clip you posted, he's nowhere near the ball. Maybe there's a better angle.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12119 - 03/04/2018 17:07:49    2090744

Replying To cavanman47:  "Have to say having watched it a few times, I think it's a legitimate goal. More a case of soft hands than an actual catch - if a player was to do the same in midfield from a kickout, the mark wouldn't be given. Same principle applies."
Not a valid comparison at all. Completely different context and intention.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12119 - 03/04/2018 17:10:02    2090746

Replying To Breffni39:  "Not a valid comparison at all. Completely different context and intention."
If the same thing happened from a kickout and it was palmed to a teammate like that, the validity of the pass would be questioned

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12119 - 03/04/2018 17:22:45    2090751

Replying To Lockjaw:  "An entertaining game for sure. I would be amazed if Cavan play as openly against us in a few weeks though. If they do I can only see one winner."
I think yis will get a good run in the qualifiers though Lockjaw

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12119 - 03/04/2018 17:25:11    2090753

Replying To Breffni39:  "Not a valid comparison at all. Completely different context and intention."
The game was more like an exhibition game than a competitive fixture. (Maybe all League finals should be) As for the two points raised, you could argue over them for ever. Kilroy seemed to pause before flicking the ball to the net but, with both hands behind the ball I don't see how he could have caught it. On the penalty I think Daly knocked the ball away but caught McVeety's legs with some part of his body bringing him down.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 03/04/2018 17:33:10    2090760

Replying To Breffni39:  "If the same thing happened from a kickout and it was palmed to a teammate like that, the validity of the pass would be questioned"
If you want to go back over every decision then cavan last goal should have been a free out as the cavan full forward was holding back the ros full back from clearing the ball. Anyways I think cavan have a great chance of getting to an ulster final and I hope the do.

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 03/04/2018 17:37:51    2090763

Ye had a 7 point headstart will ye ever stop whinging it was only a bloody division 2 league final.
I know ye are desperate for a cupeen, but come on focus on Ulster, I know roscommon management were thinking about connacht about 10 minutes into 2nd half, both need 30 and 40% improvements so get down to it and forget Sunday.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 03/04/2018 18:18:13    2090775

Replying To Breffni39:  "If the same thing happened from a kickout and it was palmed to a teammate like that, the validity of the pass would be questioned"
Well look at the Cavan team warm up before every game this year and you'll see them palm the ball down to a teammate - every time, there's significant forward movement of the arms, which there isn't here.
On the other hand, there is also a solid palming or slapping of the ball which wasn't the case for the goal on Sunday.

I'd obviously have preferred to see the goal disallowed but it would have been ridiculously harsh IMO.

How many goals could have been disallowed for a player taking too many steps somewhere in the build up?

With all the negativity surrounding the state of Gaelic football, I've no problem with two attacking teams having a good cut off each other and the referee letting them do so.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 03/04/2018 18:29:03    2090779

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "Ye had a 7 point headstart will ye ever stop whinging it was only a bloody division 2 league final.
I know ye are desperate for a cupeen, but come on focus on Ulster, I know roscommon management were thinking about connacht about 10 minutes into 2nd half, both need 30 and 40% improvements so get down to it and forget Sunday."
Another lad who needs to calm down. I haven't seen one of the Cavan lads here say that Roscommon didn't to deserve to win that, none of what has been said by Cavan lads is "whinging" in my view. Why would people on the internet forget about it? You do reaslise that the whole point of internent discussion forums is to, ya know, discuss things? That's all lads are doing. I'm not sure what you expect them to "get down to"? Unless the Cavan lads on here are members of the Cavan panel then what do you expect them to do, go out and take part in training with the team? Lads talking or not talking about specific incidents in this game on an internent discussion forum will have absolutely no bearing on the performance of wither team in their next games.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 04/04/2018 08:49:42    2090902

Replying To the_walls:  "Another lad who needs to calm down. I haven't seen one of the Cavan lads here say that Roscommon didn't to deserve to win that, none of what has been said by Cavan lads is "whinging" in my view. Why would people on the internet forget about it? You do reaslise that the whole point of internent discussion forums is to, ya know, discuss things? That's all lads are doing. I'm not sure what you expect them to "get down to"? Unless the Cavan lads on here are members of the Cavan panel then what do you expect them to do, go out and take part in training with the team? Lads talking or not talking about specific incidents in this game on an internent discussion forum will have absolutely no bearing on the performance of wither team in their next games."
was just about to reply in a similar way, no cavan person has any issue with the result. they're a lot more critical of the performance of the team than a few refereeing decisions. i was sitting across from both incidents in regards to the penalty and palmed goals. My first reaction was that the roscommon defender got the ball first and i seen no problem with the palmed goal. But that was just my opinion at the time. Overall i thought the referee had a decent game and all in all Roscommon were 3-4 points the better team. the above Cavan posters have no issue saying that, No whinging whatsoever

theweanling (Cavan) - Posts: 414 - 04/04/2018 09:35:33    2090914

Replying To Breffni39:  "I think yis will get a good run in the qualifiers though Lockjaw"
Haha good man Breffni. We'll see.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9135 - 04/04/2018 10:01:50    2090925

Look I'm sorry I asked the question about the specific rule regarding fisted/palmed goals. I might bring it up in future when it happens against a team other than Cavan.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12119 - 04/04/2018 10:41:01    2090940

To be honest it was exciting and all but genuinely would prefer to forget it, as we had more poor performances than good, we were ok for large spells and anything but for about 15 minutes of first half and 10 of second half in fact we were absolutely dire in them 2 spells.
As for the goal I don't think he threw it but I'm not convinced it was 50 50, the penalty I thought was a penalty.
We both need far better performances going forward.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 04/04/2018 12:09:03    2090980