2018 Club Championships

Not many forecast that Ratoath would cave in to St Pats. Fair play to the Pats maybe they should have a pile of players on the Meath panel as well.

Fed up with listening to Ratoath this and Ratoath that, chokers is my guess is all they are, finalists my a...e!

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 06/04/2018 21:41:26    2091480

no wonder the position meath are in the league, have an abundance of county players and cant beat a poor st.pats team who were far better couple years ago ! a club with two starting county players should be winning championship games on their in these sort of games and these county players cant even hold onto a ten point lead my god no wonder meath are in this position !

dunganny96 (Meath) - Posts: 3 - 06/04/2018 22:13:42    2091483

Replying To MillerX:  "Not many forecast that Ratoath would cave in to St Pats. Fair play to the Pats maybe they should have a pile of players on the Meath panel as well.

Fed up with listening to Ratoath this and Ratoath that, chokers is my guess is all they are, finalists my a...e!"
Fair play to pats who impressed?

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 06/04/2018 22:24:36    2091486

Replying To MillerX:  "Not many forecast that Ratoath would cave in to St Pats. Fair play to the Pats maybe they should have a pile of players on the Meath panel as well.

Fed up with listening to Ratoath this and Ratoath that, chokers is my guess is all they are, finalists my a...e!"
Ratoath this ratoath that???? Are you serious ?? maybe you were on a different county forum or something cause all that's been on here for last 5 years is total negativity towards ratoath.....moaning about their county representation and general ratoath bashing. Clubs don't actually get mentioned that much on here compared to county but ratoath are constantly singled out for criticism. I'm not a ratoath man by the way

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 07/04/2018 07:47:12    2091507

Replying To southmeathgael:  "Ratoath this ratoath that???? Are you serious ?? maybe you were on a different county forum or something cause all that's been on here for last 5 years is total negativity towards ratoath.....moaning about their county representation and general ratoath bashing. Clubs don't actually get mentioned that much on here compared to county but ratoath are constantly singled out for criticism. I'm not a ratoath man by the way"
Agree I don't know how a good high scoring game for the first round of the club championship can be turned into a bashing of the county team. The fact is there's no stand out players in meath the only ones in recent years imo are nash and o Rourke and neither can play. Ratoath get a hard time over their county men but they all easily deserve to be on the panel their problem is without these players they'd be battling relegation

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 07/04/2018 08:42:07    2091510

Replying To Northsidegaels:  "Fair play to pats who impressed?"
Nobody Pats just wanted it more than Ratoath when it came down to it, draw a very good result for them. It won't be the last shock of the weekend.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 07/04/2018 08:50:43    2091514

what Ratoath have in the favour is a number of athletic players and they often get off to a fast start, these guys deserve to be on County panel. What goes against them is that a number of their forwards are light and small, they tend to struggle against more physical players and again when the weather is bad. I'd say their 2nd half stats in most key games are worst than their first half stats. Ratoath have a further good crop of young players at u17, u18 and u19 coming through, they need a few leaders to emerge from that group. Until then most teams will look to bully them, they can by mouthy, lose discipline and turn refs against them. Pats had a great 2nd half, they did something similar to Dunboyne two years ago and won by a point. Just an unbiased view.

Count (Meath) - Posts: 93 - 07/04/2018 09:44:35    2091516

Always find it hilarious when people say Ratoath are "chokers" when a lot of the team have won Meath minor championships, Meath u21 championships, a Meath junior championship, a Meath Intermediate championship and a Leinster Intermediate championship. A good chunk won a Meath Intermediate hurling championship too. Surely if they were chokers, they wouldn't have won half of what they won.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 07/04/2018 11:07:53    2091522

Pats no 8 Shane Dowling was the stand out player throughout. Joey Wallace looked like he dod beat pats on his own until he went off injured after 20 mins

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 07/04/2018 11:31:20    2091528

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Always find it hilarious when people say Ratoath are "chokers" when a lot of the team have won Meath minor championships, Meath u21 championships, a Meath junior championship, a Meath Intermediate championship and a Leinster Intermediate championship. A good chunk won a Meath Intermediate hurling championship too. Surely if they were chokers, they wouldn't have won half of what they won."
Of course they're not chokers. A silly comment to make by Miller. Ratoath must've busted his accumulator!

Toney (Meath) - Posts: 298 - 07/04/2018 12:00:38    2091533

Replying To dunganny96:  "no wonder the position meath are in the league, have an abundance of county players and cant beat a poor st.pats team who were far better couple years ago ! a club with two starting county players should be winning championship games on their in these sort of games and these county players cant even hold onto a ten point lead my god no wonder meath are in this position !"
What have our senior county champions done in Leinster lately? What underage success have we had outside of the U17 last year in recent years? Are these not the real elements of Meath football?? But no blame Ratoath it's obviously all their fault

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 07/04/2018 14:20:14    2091551

Replying To Richieq:  "What have our senior county champions done in Leinster lately? What underage success have we had outside of the U17 last year in recent years? Are these not the real elements of Meath football?? But no blame Ratoath it's obviously all their fault"
Absolutely agree

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/04/2018 15:34:35    2091556

Replying To Richieq:  "What have our senior county champions done in Leinster lately? What underage success have we had outside of the U17 last year in recent years? Are these not the real elements of Meath football?? But no blame Ratoath it's obviously all their fault"
Obviously Richie! If we hadn't produced some of the best young players in the county over the last 5-10 years, Meath would be winning All Irelands.
If some posters channeled some of their obsession with Ratoath into actually doing something for Meath football, we may actually get somewhere.

Overall, we were always going to find it tough without Eamonn and even tougher once Joey went off. Pat's are no slouches. They were unlucky not to make the knockout stages last year. You'd swear we just got relegated the way some posters are going on.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 07/04/2018 18:02:05    2091564

Ratoath lost a huge last night. All the predictions here had Ratoath down to win. They did not win, fact. Since long before they even won the Junior Championship every year they were among the early favorites but it took them a long time trying to win it. And when at times they were beaten some posters blamed square balls etc for losses...in other words all somebody else's fault except theirs. In fairness they did win the intermediate championship and we were all told it is only a matter of time until they win the Senior and maybe they will but coughing up an eight point lead does not exactly point at success being just round the corner.

I did not say that Ratoath should not have players on the county panel, I mearly stated that maybe St Pats should have a few on the county panel as well and in the past St Pats players have contributed very well indeed to county teams.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 07/04/2018 18:45:41    2091567

Replying To MillerX:  "Ratoath lost a huge last night. All the predictions here had Ratoath down to win. They did not win, fact. Since long before they even won the Junior Championship every year they were among the early favorites but it took them a long time trying to win it. And when at times they were beaten some posters blamed square balls etc for losses...in other words all somebody else's fault except theirs. In fairness they did win the intermediate championship and we were all told it is only a matter of time until they win the Senior and maybe they will but coughing up an eight point lead does not exactly point at success being just round the corner.

I did not say that Ratoath should not have players on the county panel, I mearly stated that maybe St Pats should have a few on the county panel as well and in the past St Pats players have contributed very well indeed to county teams."
Ahh I wouldn't say you are anti rathoath, actually I find you one of the more agreeable posters on here.
Did pats send anyone to the trials? Not been smart , I'm genuinely interested. Also who would maybe play a part in Meath set up? Btw you are right pats players over the years contributed a lot to county.
See my issue is I don't really care where a player is from once they do it for Meath , if it was 15 from one club, once they successful is all that matters to me, I'm very much a county ahead of club man, (I know that's a unpopular stance) now don't get me wrong if either bracks (particularly) or cilles were to win inter or senior I'd have a ball.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/04/2018 19:32:20    2091568

Did Pats send players to County trials? I don't know but it was my opinion that we held trials for underage teams and that it was up to the senior management to have 'their fingers on the pulse sufficiently' to identify potential Senior county players by observing the local scene particularly our championships, Intermediate and Junior as well as Senior.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 07/04/2018 19:54:17    2091570

Replying To MillerX:  "Ratoath lost a huge last night. All the predictions here had Ratoath down to win. They did not win, fact. Since long before they even won the Junior Championship every year they were among the early favorites but it took them a long time trying to win it. And when at times they were beaten some posters blamed square balls etc for losses...in other words all somebody else's fault except theirs. In fairness they did win the intermediate championship and we were all told it is only a matter of time until they win the Senior and maybe they will but coughing up an eight point lead does not exactly point at success being just round the corner.

I did not say that Ratoath should not have players on the county panel, I mearly stated that maybe St Pats should have a few on the county panel as well and in the past St Pats players have contributed very well indeed to county teams."
Don't start trying to row back now, you labelled Ratoath players as chokers which is a damndable comment to make about any player who sacrifices for club or county let alone one that has no basis or justification, everyone thought the last Meath management was the reason so many Ratoath players got onto the county squad, well the present Meath management team kept them on and why?? Because as I've stated over and over again the current Meath squad is the best of what's available at present, end of, and the Ratoath players are part of that. To have the simplistic notion of picking the outcome of one match in the SFC to swipe at the Meath panel and insult Ratoath players at the same time takes some doing, if Ratoath go out the next day and kick the shite out of some team by 14, 16 maybe 20 points, like they did against Simonstown in the A league, will you come on here and look for more Ratoath players to be put in Meath jersies??? Like hell you will so please stop disguising your intent and be a man and just admit you don't like Ratoath, you won't be alone you'll have good company and maybe ye can all gather together and set up a little forum of your own to entertain yourselves.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 07/04/2018 21:07:29    2091578

Replying To MillerX:  "Did Pats send players to County trials? I don't know but it was my opinion that we held trials for underage teams and that it was up to the senior management to have 'their fingers on the pulse sufficiently' to identify potential Senior county players by observing the local scene particularly our championships, Intermediate and Junior as well as Senior."
I would say that's what's happening. But 90 players tried out. Surely some were from pats ?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/04/2018 21:38:19    2091581

Seriously I'm not sure if you're remembering incorrectly or just making stuff up but none of what you say happened. I remember being to games that we lost throughout the years and we deserved to lose them. Whether it was against Dunsany in the JFC when we couldn't hit a barn door, Kells in the IFC when Brian Hanlon tore us to shreds or Ballinabrackey the following when we played against 14 men for the majority of the game but still managed to lose. So please stop spreading false information and not expecting to be called up on it.
When we won the JFC, by the way, most of our main players these days were still teenagers. Hardly chokers.

And I'm not sure if you left out a word in your first sentence but Ratoath didn't lose anything last night.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 07/04/2018 21:57:22    2091582

Replying To Richieq:  "Don't start trying to row back now, you labelled Ratoath players as chokers which is a damndable comment to make about any player who sacrifices for club or county let alone one that has no basis or justification, everyone thought the last Meath management was the reason so many Ratoath players got onto the county squad, well the present Meath management team kept them on and why?? Because as I've stated over and over again the current Meath squad is the best of what's available at present, end of, and the Ratoath players are part of that. To have the simplistic notion of picking the outcome of one match in the SFC to swipe at the Meath panel and insult Ratoath players at the same time takes some doing, if Ratoath go out the next day and kick the shite out of some team by 14, 16 maybe 20 points, like they did against Simonstown in the A league, will you come on here and look for more Ratoath players to be put in Meath jersies??? Like hell you will so please stop disguising your intent and be a man and just admit you don't like Ratoath, you won't be alone you'll have good company and maybe ye can all gather together and set up a little forum of your own to entertain yourselves."
When a team leads by 8 pts and draw something went wrong, they had no players sent off or did not loose a significant player to injury then on the night they must have (1) pulled up, (2) got over confident or (3) ran out of steam. If it's (1 or 2) then some people will use the term "choker" if (3) applies then look at your training methods. And don't forget that this was the opening round in the championship and a thread about championship predictions, all of the predictions had Ratoath to win and th3y did not so my comments were directed at the great predictors. Get over it and concentrate on the next game, maybe I inadvertently managed to give your team the proverbial kick up the you know what!

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1061 - 07/04/2018 22:52:22    2091587