Donegal V Mayo

Replying To centerfield:  "is it confirmed as collarbone yew tree"
Can't say for sure but that's what I heard last nught.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 19/03/2018 11:31:23    2085732

I don't see relegation being that big a disaster for Mayo. A drop down to division 2 where they can take things a bit easier and try out a couple of new players could be just the thing for them. What use is it to have lads like Boyle Keegan and O'Shea slogging all spring trying to stay in division 1 and taking big hits when they could be just easing themselves into the season in division 2. It's important for developing teams like Galway and maybe even Donegal to be getting vital experience in division 1 but Mayo are probably better off out of it.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 19/03/2018 11:31:57    2085733

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Have ye any lads to come back in yewtree maybe Keith Higgins?"
Keith was always coming back for championship...great win for or hurlers in the league final yesterday. We may need him back sooner though.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 19/03/2018 11:32:30    2085735

Replying To yew_tree:  "Keith was always coming back for championship...great win for or hurlers in the league final yesterday. We may need him back sooner though."
Is that 100%? I see he is really enjoying his time with the hurlers, he maybe better off staying with them , owes the footballers nothing. In fairness, doesnt say much for Mayos future if they are relying so much on a 33 yr old to come back.

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 19/03/2018 11:59:32    2085750

Another dreadful performance at home, and one would have to say that relegation is more likely than not given the team's current trajectory.

As regards championship, a lot now hinges on injuries and suspensions. Certainly, if CoC and Lee Keegan are long-term absentees now, in addition to the likes of Barrett, Vaughan, Higgins, Harrison etc. it's difficult to see us having a long summer, given the relative lack of talent emerging from the youth system.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 19/03/2018 13:11:02    2085789

After that pathetic performance it's plain to see that our main 6 defenders have been carrying this team for years, with only 2 starting in this league our weakness all over the field is clear to see, Donegal to win by 2 points or more and Mayo relegated for the 1st time since mid 1990s, a great way for Rochford and co to end their last League campaign with Mayo

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 19/03/2018 13:37:03    2085803

Replying To jimbodub:  "Whatever way you look at it..

That was done hammering dished out to Mayo once again in front of their home fans

You can't just switch on form and now with injuries to key men.. they are in a spot of bother here

It won't say much for Rochford's managerial record if Mayo go down.

Has won zero silverware, really poor home record in front of large support and now possibly facing relegation (that's simply not good enough for the supposed 2nd best team in the country)

To think Mayo players revolted against Managers who actually brought more to the table that Rochford has yet to achieve across a longer time frame..

If I was a Mayo supporter I'd be starting to get fairly pee'd off watching such performances"
Connelly and Holmes, after all their talk about improving Mayo football walked out on Mayo football. They hadn't the balls to listen to or stand up to opposition from players. It was a fluke that we drew with ye the first semi final in 2015 our real level shown in the replay, our defending was shocking. Connelly and Holmes gave us same old same old, try and score more, forget about defensive structures, pick roughly the same 15 every match. A regression since James Horan.

They won Connacht but very few Mayo people care about the league or winning Connacht. He picks championship teams game by game. Inexplicably Cafferkey is still there, played too much championship football last year. Our defence is so much better without him. We do look unimpressive so far but we were same in 2016 and 2017. Even if we have everyone available we need to get more scores from play from other forwards other than Cillian and more freetaking options besides Cillian. With injuries and suspensions it's time for some young players to make their mark.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 19/03/2018 15:37:52    2085854

Difficult game to call.

We are very exposed without McBrearty.
We also are wide open at the back against running counter attacking teams.
Our kick out strategy is well meaning but doesn't work due to a sometimes indifferent mid field.
We are definitely experimenting with younger players, so this is the risk that is involved in doing this.
Murphy is not getting where he needs to be at in terms of form.

There could be a longer list of woes here but I also think we have some redeeming qualities too. I wont write the lads off as Mayo are in some state of disarray.

Playing up their chances would be a gombeen strategy so I wont go down that road.

I call a Donegal victory by a slender margin. If Mayo win, so be it. It will neither be totally unexpected nor the end of the world.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 19/03/2018 15:45:11    2085857

Hopefully this one live on TG4. Anyone know when their live games are announced?

sean og (Armagh) - Posts: 1053 - 19/03/2018 17:05:20    2085894

On yesterdays showing Mayo are in total disarray - no structure, not fit enough and lacking commitment. The loss of Keegan and O'Connor (can't see Moran being suspended) will add to their problems. Unless there is a huge turn-around in their performance, I can't see them troubling Donegal

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 19/03/2018 17:39:53    2085909

Replying To Soma:  "I don't see relegation being that big a disaster for Mayo. A drop down to division 2 where they can take things a bit easier and try out a couple of new players could be just the thing for them. What use is it to have lads like Boyle Keegan and O'Shea slogging all spring trying to stay in division 1 and taking big hits when they could be just easing themselves into the season in division 2. It's important for developing teams like Galway and maybe even Donegal to be getting vital experience in division 1 but Mayo are probably better off out of it."
I agree with you, a drop down to division 2 wouldn't be a disaster for Mayo. Regardless of how the championship goes this year for Mayo they need to start building a younger team next year and that is easier in division 2. I would say the same for Donegal, we have a lot of young players and a year in division 2 would be no harm. It is more important for Donegal to be getting to the Super 8s.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 19/03/2018 19:30:26    2085960