Kerry V Dublin

Well, this should be interesting, it always is!
Kerry were flying but the cancellation of the Monaghan game seemed to upset the apple cart.
We were muck against Galway and a lot of the old failings of Fitzmaurice's tenure cropped up again.
It will be interesting to see where Kerry are really at on Sunday, are they as good as they looked in the first two games or as bad as they looked last Sunday?
How they fair against Dublin will tell an awful lot.

A League final place looks out of reach for Kerry at the moment, but I'm hopeful we will see a much improved Kerry display on Sunday and hopefully it will be enough to get a result.

Hon D kingdom!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 06/03/2018 21:36:12    2082328

Ah yes, always great to play Kerry. But I honestly believe the result, either way, will hold importance for around 24 hours. The way we're playing, which is solid enough, points towards a home victory, but I know Kerry, and it would be no surprise to me if ye turned us over.
Exuberance of youth, and the need for more points may be enough for you.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8584 - 06/03/2018 22:51:55    2082351

I really hope jim Galvin puts out his strongest team against us on Sunday so we might have some idea where we are, I'm not expecting much from our gang as the ineptitude of our management is just mind boggling at this stage, saying that I wouldn't be surprised if we win or if we got hammered what I can be sure of is we'll be inconsistent.

It's the battle of the champions (league and allireland) so should be interesting at least.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/03/2018 00:23:58    2082365

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "I really hope jim Galvin puts out his strongest team against us on Sunday so we might have some idea where we are, I'm not expecting much from our gang as the ineptitude of our management is just mind boggling at this stage, saying that I wouldn't be surprised if we win or if we got hammered what I can be sure of is we'll be inconsistent.

It's the battle of the champions (league and allireland) so should be interesting at least."
You can take it whatever team takes to the pitch will be capable and expecting to win , should the result go against us there is allways the old he was missing this fella was missing etc I don't buy it this isn't the O Byrne cup , as said if Kerry win FairPlay because you will be facing a strong side regardless

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 07/03/2018 09:01:42    2082374

Replying To Damothedub:  "You can take it whatever team takes to the pitch will be capable and expecting to win , should the result go against us there is allways the old he was missing this fella was missing etc I don't buy it this isn't the O Byrne cup , as said if Kerry win FairPlay because you will be facing a strong side regardless"
No doubt we'll be up against a strong Dublin team but I'm just hoping he'l start the Connollys and Kevin macs and McCauleys and Flynn's, fellas that'll be starting in August. To be the best we gotta play and beat the best. And if we get beat we might at least learn something we didn't know before. Something that might come in handy down the road should we meet.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/03/2018 09:52:39    2082391

Im not to pushed on the result of this if im honest, we have a cushion there given the points we have accumulated so far and im really not overly pushed whether we are in a league final or not. More interested in the rest of the league being a vehicle for development of the young players and lads coming back from injury.

Dublin playing within themselves for much of the league and only breaking a sweat when needed and practicing particularly their game management and a couple of systems seems to be the priority. If that gets us to the league final, fine, but i doubt any meaningful conclusion can be drawn after the league of how things are going to fare in the summer.

My hopes for this game is that it will be a better game of ball then Tralee last year, hopefully no cynical stuff from either side.

Dublin will go with their four staples, Cluxton, McCarthy, Fenton and Kilkenny, pick any couple of other big players that will be rotated in to get a stretch in the legs.

My hope is Jim continues to blood and develop the young players in Howard, Scully, Paddy Small, Redden, Basquel, O Shea and O' Conghaile all getting mins this league, be a good game for additional minutes and development for the young lads given the Kerry team are relatively young as well.

Id like to see a few of the lads returning from injury get minutes particularly Costello.

Looking forward to having a look at Kerry, Sean o Shea has looked the gem to me in the Kerry lads breaking through despite all the (probably justified) hype around young David so looking forward to seeing o Shea live.

Could be a draw or a marginal win for either side in my opinion, with the focus more on development then outcome in for both teams in my opinion .

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/03/2018 10:20:19    2082392

Replying To TheUsername:  "Im not to pushed on the result of this if im honest, we have a cushion there given the points we have accumulated so far and im really not overly pushed whether we are in a league final or not. More interested in the rest of the league being a vehicle for development of the young players and lads coming back from injury.

Dublin playing within themselves for much of the league and only breaking a sweat when needed and practicing particularly their game management and a couple of systems seems to be the priority. If that gets us to the league final, fine, but i doubt any meaningful conclusion can be drawn after the league of how things are going to fare in the summer.

My hopes for this game is that it will be a better game of ball then Tralee last year, hopefully no cynical stuff from either side.

Dublin will go with their four staples, Cluxton, McCarthy, Fenton and Kilkenny, pick any couple of other big players that will be rotated in to get a stretch in the legs.

My hope is Jim continues to blood and develop the young players in Howard, Scully, Paddy Small, Redden, Basquel, O Shea and O' Conghaile all getting mins this league, be a good game for additional minutes and development for the young lads given the Kerry team are relatively young as well.

Id like to see a few of the lads returning from injury get minutes particularly Costello.

Looking forward to having a look at Kerry, Sean o Shea has looked the gem to me in the Kerry lads breaking through despite all the (probably justified) hype around young David so looking forward to seeing o Shea live.

Could be a draw or a marginal win for either side in my opinion, with the focus more on development then outcome in for both teams in my opinion ."
Yerra ya, it's only shadow boxing at this stage.
At the start of the League I said I would be content if we retained our Division 1 status and we used the League to uncover and bed in some of the young lads into field position's we have had a deficiency with over the last few years, like in goal, the FB line and the half-forward line.
We are doing that, though problems remain in our defense.

When we got off to such a good start I was hoping we might make a tilt at another League final, but I don't think that's a runner now. Anyway after winning it last year I don't think many Kerry fans will be too pushed again about it. Sam is all that matters.
As long as we put in three good performances now in the last games and the young lads show continued improvement I'll be happy.
If we finish the League with a somewhat settled side, having uncovered 3 or 4 new players we should be able to give the summer a rattle, PROVIDED Fitzy sticks with youth this time and does not go back to relying on the old guard like last year!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/03/2018 11:52:52    2082416

I think Dublin will win it by 5 or 6 but I'm not too bothered. I just hope that Fitzmaurice sticks with all the young lads. The experience of playing Dublin in Croker will stand to them.

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 07/03/2018 13:33:36    2082444

Replying To aidan64:  "I think Dublin will win it by 5 or 6 but I'm not too bothered. I just hope that Fitzmaurice sticks with all the young lads. The experience of playing Dublin in Croker will stand to them."
100% Aidan this game will be the equivalent of 10 training sessions for the young lads.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/03/2018 13:58:34    2082451

I can see Dublin wanting to make a statement in this game,I predict Dublin by at least 5 or 6 points coasting to a win with ease.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2733 - 07/03/2018 14:09:13    2082454

The motivation factor of playing Dublin will hopefully give us the kick we need. We have a number of players yet to receive game time so the matchday panel will be interesting.

Of course this game wont matter when the championship starts but either team wont want to lose.

When these more experienced players come back it will be interesting to see what the management does with all the young players who have impressed so far.

I hope they will be trusted but with this management team I wouldn't be surprised to see a similar team to last year once the big games come.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 07/03/2018 17:15:49    2082507

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "The motivation factor of playing Dublin will hopefully give us the kick we need. We have a number of players yet to receive game time so the matchday panel will be interesting.

Of course this game wont matter when the championship starts but either team wont want to lose.

When these more experienced players come back it will be interesting to see what the management does with all the young players who have impressed so far.

I hope they will be trusted but with this management team I wouldn't be surprised to see a similar team to last year once the big games come."
It's going to happen Ky, a leopard can't change his spots and fitzmaurice is so consumed by fear he won't be able to help himself but to revert to type.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 07/03/2018 19:20:01    2082531

Normally I'd agree with the result doesn't matter line , on this occasion I think the result/performance really will matter , Kerry win that's another win against Dublin having gone through a drought over last few years , Dublin win by a point or two not the end of the world , Dublin give Kerry aa hiding and the result could drag Kerry backwards , result also will have a bearing on how teams line up tactically wise in the summer should they meet , could be wrong but I wouldn't be dismissing game as any type of dress rehearsal, days of thinking like that went out the window long time ago .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 07/03/2018 19:40:15    2082537

Dublin by +5 minimum.

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 07/03/2018 20:32:19    2082549

Replying To Damothedub:  "Normally I'd agree with the result doesn't matter line , on this occasion I think the result/performance really will matter , Kerry win that's another win against Dublin having gone through a drought over last few years , Dublin win by a point or two not the end of the world , Dublin give Kerry aa hiding and the result could drag Kerry backwards , result also will have a bearing on how teams line up tactically wise in the summer should they meet , could be wrong but I wouldn't be dismissing game as any type of dress rehearsal, days of thinking like that went out the window long time ago ."
I dont think a hiding from Dublin will do too much damage. In fact it could be seen as what standard the young lads need to reach so it might spur them on

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 07/03/2018 20:39:33    2082553

The Dubs are very confident I see, I suppose given how Kerry were against Galway it's hard to argue against that.
Hopefully the Kerry young lads will show their potential on Sunday and give them pause for thought.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 07/03/2018 20:57:46    2082557

Replying To Damothedub:  "Normally I'd agree with the result doesn't matter line , on this occasion I think the result/performance really will matter , Kerry win that's another win against Dublin having gone through a drought over last few years , Dublin win by a point or two not the end of the world , Dublin give Kerry aa hiding and the result could drag Kerry backwards , result also will have a bearing on how teams line up tactically wise in the summer should they meet , could be wrong but I wouldn't be dismissing game as any type of dress rehearsal, days of thinking like that went out the window long time ago ."
Not quite sure I agree mate, but I take your point, a counter point though, I don't think winning the league or beating Dublin in the final last year did Kerry any favors in developing or progressing in the championship.

Like that I could be wrong also.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/03/2018 21:44:03    2082571

We're under no pressure as there are zero expectations with this game both within Kerry and the country in general.

It's the all conquering invincible Blue Juggernaut against a bunch of kids in their own Coliseum so there is only one outcome, hopefully we give it our best shot and move on towards a game which is much more important and relevant in terms of preserving our league status at home to the Lilywhites on Paddy's Day.

37thHeaven (Kerry) - Posts: 102 - 07/03/2018 22:07:58    2082577

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "We're under no pressure as there are zero expectations with this game both within Kerry and the country in general.

It's the all conquering invincible Blue Juggernaut against a bunch of kids in their own Coliseum so there is only one outcome, hopefully we give it our best shot and move on towards a game which is much more important and relevant in terms of preserving our league status at home to the Lilywhites on Paddy's Day."
Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeerah!

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 08/03/2018 10:43:57    2082642

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "We're under no pressure as there are zero expectations with this game both within Kerry and the country in general.

It's the all conquering invincible Blue Juggernaut against a bunch of kids in their own Coliseum so there is only one outcome, hopefully we give it our best shot and move on towards a game which is much more important and relevant in terms of preserving our league status at home to the Lilywhites on Paddy's Day."
There was no talk of Croke Park being Dublin's collosseum when Kerry were lording it over everybody. As I remember it Kerry loved coming up to Croke Park to give the Dubs their spanking and head home with Sam.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 08/03/2018 10:52:57    2082646