Kerry V Dublin

watch it again...first half when the first melee broke out...but of course no comment by media

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 11/03/2018 23:28:16    2083749

Replying To TheHermit:  "And what about the "hill" going waaasyyhhhee every time a Dub got the ball for the last 15min????, can we dispense with the whole let's get along and try and be popular on a website and call it like it is, any fans who would do anything bar be silent or clap at those kids passing is not worth mentioning. Judge behaviour by the hosting at Clifford for pointing a legitimate free he won or as I said, the last 10 mins. The Hill today and the one I used be in occasionally 10-15 years ago seem very different"
What are you talking about? "hosting of Clifford"? TheClifford who dived like Ronaldo to win a free in the first half? Or who was not shy in dragging Cian O'Sullivan to the ground as he tried to get free for a kick out? He may be baby-faced but he's no innocent.

Kerry, as Fitzmaurice has sent them out to do to Dublin in the past, were employing a wind-up tactic throughout the first half, off the ball stuff, grabbing and dragging players, initiating schmozzles, late hits. All of which the officials did not see or chose to ignore. John Small given a black card on the word of the linesman and at the end of the very next passage of play, 10 seconds later, Johnny Cooper dragged to the ground: textbook black card, a free given, no card. Come the seocnd half those tactics had been brushed aside by Dublin.

Kerry came to win, by fair means or foul. So why the hell should Dublin supporters do anything other than revel in defeating them?

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 11/03/2018 23:28:20    2083750

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "nobody commenting on the eye gouging today?"
Didn't see or hear of an eye gouge?

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 11/03/2018 23:50:53    2083758

just watch it back..first half

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 12/03/2018 00:03:58    2083762

Replying To TheHermit:  "And what about the "hill" going waaasyyhhhee every time a Dub got the ball for the last 15min????, can we dispense with the whole let's get along and try and be popular on a website and call it like it is, any fans who would do anything bar be silent or clap at those kids passing is not worth mentioning. Judge behaviour by the hosting at Clifford for pointing a legitimate free he won or as I said, the last 10 mins. The Hill today and the one I used be in occasionally 10-15 years ago seem very different"
The Hill today and the one I used be in occasionally 10-15 years ago seem very different"'

Yeah, it's a lot happier place to be these days.....if you're a Dub!:-)

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 12/03/2018 07:32:40    2083774

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "watch it again...first half when the first melee broke out...but of course no comment by media"
Or you for that matter.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 12/03/2018 08:31:38    2083785

were kerry ever as humiliated? and humiliated they were, how they got out of there with only a 12 point ill never know, it was a joy to watch

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2840 - 12/03/2018 08:58:31    2083791

Replying To Gavvygavgav:  "What are you talking about? "hosting of Clifford"? TheClifford who dived like Ronaldo to win a free in the first half? Or who was not shy in dragging Cian O'Sullivan to the ground as he tried to get free for a kick out? He may be baby-faced but he's no innocent.

Kerry, as Fitzmaurice has sent them out to do to Dublin in the past, were employing a wind-up tactic throughout the first half, off the ball stuff, grabbing and dragging players, initiating schmozzles, late hits. All of which the officials did not see or chose to ignore. John Small given a black card on the word of the linesman and at the end of the very next passage of play, 10 seconds later, Johnny Cooper dragged to the ground: textbook black card, a free given, no card. Come the seocnd half those tactics had been brushed aside by Dublin.

Kerry came to win, by fair means or foul. So why the hell should Dublin supporters do anything other than revel in defeating them?"
Both teams were pulling and dragging and blocking runs.

I didn't see the eye gouging but I saw Costello With his hands around o'beaglaoich throat late in the second half and that's not the first time.

While I'm at it how many times did McCauley and Kilkenny take about 10 steps without a hop or a solo? I lost count also Jonny cooper picked the ball straight off the ground in front of the goal in the first half but brannigan didn't seem to see any of these things also someone should tell brannigan that advantage lasts for 5 seconds not 10 seconds and that you should play advantage for both teams not just the home team.

Saying that Dublin still would have won this game pulling up, we're just not good enough at the moment and I'd have no hope for us doing anything later in the summer.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/03/2018 09:13:46    2083796

Replying To mayotyroneman:  "watch it again...first half when the first melee broke out...but of course no comment by media"
In fairness you can hardly blame the media for not talking about it when you yourself seem very reluctant to state what you saw happen.

Out with it or don't bother.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 12/03/2018 09:42:53    2083810

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Both teams were pulling and dragging and blocking runs.

I didn't see the eye gouging but I saw Costello With his hands around o'beaglaoich throat late in the second half and that's not the first time.

While I'm at it how many times did McCauley and Kilkenny take about 10 steps without a hop or a solo? I lost count also Jonny cooper picked the ball straight off the ground in front of the goal in the first half but brannigan didn't seem to see any of these things also someone should tell brannigan that advantage lasts for 5 seconds not 10 seconds and that you should play advantage for both teams not just the home team.

Saying that Dublin still would have won this game pulling up, we're just not good enough at the moment and I'd have no hope for us doing anything later in the summer."
As Clerkin says in the Times today. Kerry were giving Dublin 'plenty of it in the first half with endless niggling'. Just like Tralee last year they focused on trying to wind Dublin up, start rows and pulling jersies. If they had expended as much energy trying to play football they could have caused Dublin more problems, even Clifford was dragged down to that level of trying to rough up the Dubs. Alas with energy depleted Dublin just completely overran them in the second half. Kerry couldn't even muster the energy to grab fellas jersies anymore. Clearly some good talent in that Kerry team but they should use it to play football not rugby.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 12/03/2018 09:43:49    2083812

Poor enough game, Dublin look far more advanced in terms of their preparation than Kerry. That's not the worst thing in the world for Kerry at this time but Kerry are still shipping soft goals and look fairly weak once you break through that middle third. That being said, Kerry gave a fairly limp performance against Dublin in the league in 2013, losing by 10 in Killarney and went on to only lose to Dublin in that semi final in the dying minutes so I don't think they will be losing too much sleep about the result. I thought the first 15 / 20 minutes from Kerry was excellent. When their forwards were in one on ones with their Dublin defenders they really showed their class, they spurned 2 glorious goal chances too that could have had a big bearing on the game.

Being at Croker gives you a view on a lot of things going on off the ball. Dublin lads love to get in the faces of their opposite numbers after they take a score. They don't back down and they never don't let up. Not the nicest aspect of their game if I'm being honest but, look, it goes with the territory of the game.

Kerry on the other hand are desperate for the pulling and dragging off the ball. I lost count of the number of times that they pulled their opposite number back before the ball went in and went unpunished. Eventually Brannigan started giving out cards for this but it took him a long time to start. Kerry were testing the ref early on with a lot of these challenges. Kerry targeted John Small early on and Small's temperament was proven to be fairly weak once again when he got a needless black card. However, one day, Kerry will get a ref that won't stand for this carry on in games and will start dishing out cards far more willy nilly, so as a tactic, Kerry really need to move away from this.

As I said earlier, this won't do Kerry too much harm. They have their homework to do and I think they'll be better equipped with this current panel to do it later in the year.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 12/03/2018 10:00:26    2083821

Replying To keithlemon:  "Poor enough game, Dublin look far more advanced in terms of their preparation than Kerry. That's not the worst thing in the world for Kerry at this time but Kerry are still shipping soft goals and look fairly weak once you break through that middle third. That being said, Kerry gave a fairly limp performance against Dublin in the league in 2013, losing by 10 in Killarney and went on to only lose to Dublin in that semi final in the dying minutes so I don't think they will be losing too much sleep about the result. I thought the first 15 / 20 minutes from Kerry was excellent. When their forwards were in one on ones with their Dublin defenders they really showed their class, they spurned 2 glorious goal chances too that could have had a big bearing on the game.

Being at Croker gives you a view on a lot of things going on off the ball. Dublin lads love to get in the faces of their opposite numbers after they take a score. They don't back down and they never don't let up. Not the nicest aspect of their game if I'm being honest but, look, it goes with the territory of the game.

Kerry on the other hand are desperate for the pulling and dragging off the ball. I lost count of the number of times that they pulled their opposite number back before the ball went in and went unpunished. Eventually Brannigan started giving out cards for this but it took him a long time to start. Kerry were testing the ref early on with a lot of these challenges. Kerry targeted John Small early on and Small's temperament was proven to be fairly weak once again when he got a needless black card. However, one day, Kerry will get a ref that won't stand for this carry on in games and will start dishing out cards far more willy nilly, so as a tactic, Kerry really need to move away from this.

As I said earlier, this won't do Kerry too much harm. They have their homework to do and I think they'll be better equipped with this current panel to do it later in the year."
I don't know about you KL

But when I was getting lip and pulled and dragged off the ball by my marker I enjoyed nothing more than getting a score and getting back into their face and making it known..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 12/03/2018 10:32:20    2083839

Fair point jimbo, all teams do it and its not as if Dublin are the worst for it either and if your opposite number is giving it to you, you kinda have to respond in kind. I did think a few Dublin lads instigated it when they didn't have to is all I'm saying.
To be fair, Cooper was getting lashed on social media in previous games for rolling around on the ground, acting like he was shot when he took a hit somewhere else on the body. Yesterday, he got an awful bang from McCarthy (I think) and he was up straight away. I reckon the lads in the dressing room do have words about this. In an old school way, I do think when lads get up like that, it shows their mettle more than a lad lying down.

On a different note, Paddy Andrews point in the second half......I don't care if this is only league that was a peach

Got to ask, what does Kieran Reddin have to do to get a shot at midfield. Everytime I've seen this lad he's been excellent. He has some range of passing on him.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 12/03/2018 10:53:55    2083851

I said earlier this result will have little bearing come the summer and i would stand by that, it was a convincing win from Dublin and as a Dub you have to be happy with that this stage of development.

On Kerry, for me they look like they unearthed three players have maybe three players that will crack the championship 15 in Cliffard, O Shea and Barry. Some cracking early scores and for a bit of nativity they could have done some serious damage and changed the complextion of the first half. Kerry looked a really unbalanced side for all the star quality in the forwards i thought they were cleaned out everywhere else, midfield, half and in the back line. The defense has to be a particular worry, i dont think they are blessed with quality there and over compensate by being cynical and fouling, I dont think they are as good at it as others if im honest, it really is a bit of an eye sore. They will bully some smaller counties but when you are playing the top counties other teams will just shrug them of like yesterday. I think it crossed a line yesterday at a point in the second half when Kerry started square punching lads, i heard the crack from a punch on Fenton on the hogan side from the Cusack stand, but i will let others sling the mud. Im all for a bit of needling and gamesmanship, we have our own culperates but there is a line and it was crossed at times yesterday. Kerry look just fed up, and exasperated trying to get to best of Dublin. someone mentioned the "wahhyy"" by the dubs in possession, i think their was a real edge int he crowd yesterday and with the niggling, punching and fouling, i think when dublin became dominant i think it was in response the atmosphere that gamesmanship brought, i suppose if your going down that route you have to be prepared for the consequences of reaction and humiliation if it doesnt come of. Its never nice to see and i dont like myself though and hopefulyl it will motivate the Kerry lads not to made fools of in Croke Park again. But it was the least of the crimes on view yesterday and probably a reaction to a few.

On Fitzmaurice i think he tried everything fair play to him, he went man for man which worked well for ten minutes before Dublin implemented a game plan around it, then the high press that worked so well in the second half in the league final last year, thankfully Dublin had learned that lesson and just swatted it away

I thought Kerry were really motivated and emptied the tank in the first 30 mins and dint have the strength or conditioning to match the Dubs after 30 mins. Dublin played rope a dope and made them chase shadows of course by holding position and making the Kerry exhausting themselves making the Kerry lads chase which worked a treat. They were out on their feet int he second half when Dublin went up a gear.

All in all as many would say some useful experience for the Kerry lads in their development, i think they would have learned a lot. What will be worring for management is they didnt score between something like the 25th minute and 55th (approx). I dont like any of the lads in any of the back three arguably six positions but i am sure its the best there in Kerry, the midifleld is competent but you cant be on top there in every game and getting at Kerry needs to be more problematic.

Early days for Kerry, im sure they will kick on, learn lessons and develop, They have some wonderful marquee forwards, but at the top end so does everyone. Some huge work to be done across the lines form midfield backwards and they really should get some system in place. Much work to be done on game management, discipline and strength and conditioning. But its still early in the year.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/03/2018 10:56:09    2083852

On Dublin, i was really pleased to see the young lads all get game time its easy to forget with the Kerry young lads that Dublin had a lot of young players breaking through yesterday to, so nice to see Howard, Scully, Carthy, Basquel, P. Small, Redden, McGowen and big Emmet all get minutes and for me all performed really well. Its fierce competition for a squad berth.

Stand out performances for me were Kilkenny, Cooper, Super Brian and MDM rolling back the year, looking lean mean and fit.

Also great to see Cormac Costello back from injury and ready for the corner forward fight with Bernard out.

It was some craic watching Cluxton run the length of the field when Kerry went man for man, really old school and havent seen him do it in years. His kicking yesterday was the best of the league so far and he is looking like he is cracking the 20 minute rule.

i thought we played within our selves or rather were playing rope a dope in the first half, once we worked out what way Kerry would play we opened up a bit. Game management for me has been a priority this year, we wore Kerry out int he first half making them chase shadows and they were out on their feet in the second. It must be horrible playing Dublin.

I think we specifically targeted the third quarter yesterday, it was the quarter that Kerry did damage in the league final last year and i think we were always going to go for the throat. It was utter domination in the second half. The last quarter we pulled up with loads left in the tank, which is the clever ploy given we a game in salthill.

Disappointing was Small getting a black card he will be lining up behind Dermo to be wound up if he doesn't cop on, i though Cian struggled on Clifford early doors. I can see why Dermo didnt get any minutes yesterday. :) I think we could do with a trawl for a big 3 if we come against big grock forwards in the championship, what Rory O Carroll up to these days. :)

All in all the league has been good for Dublin, more young players breaking through showing they can contribute and the overall squad quality increases. Game management is coming on leaps and bounds and its getting harder and harder to employ a tactic to try and beat the Dubs. looks like another league final may be on a horizon.

Looking forward to coming up against Galways defensive tactic now, its another great challenge.

Always nice to beat Kerry, but lets not read to much into the result both teams will likely kick on in for the summer.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 12/03/2018 11:12:07    2083862

Replying To TheUsername:  "I said earlier this result will have little bearing come the summer and i would stand by that, it was a convincing win from Dublin and as a Dub you have to be happy with that this stage of development.

On Kerry, for me they look like they unearthed three players have maybe three players that will crack the championship 15 in Cliffard, O Shea and Barry. Some cracking early scores and for a bit of nativity they could have done some serious damage and changed the complextion of the first half. Kerry looked a really unbalanced side for all the star quality in the forwards i thought they were cleaned out everywhere else, midfield, half and in the back line. The defense has to be a particular worry, i dont think they are blessed with quality there and over compensate by being cynical and fouling, I dont think they are as good at it as others if im honest, it really is a bit of an eye sore. They will bully some smaller counties but when you are playing the top counties other teams will just shrug them of like yesterday. I think it crossed a line yesterday at a point in the second half when Kerry started square punching lads, i heard the crack from a punch on Fenton on the hogan side from the Cusack stand, but i will let others sling the mud. Im all for a bit of needling and gamesmanship, we have our own culperates but there is a line and it was crossed at times yesterday. Kerry look just fed up, and exasperated trying to get to best of Dublin. someone mentioned the "wahhyy"" by the dubs in possession, i think their was a real edge int he crowd yesterday and with the niggling, punching and fouling, i think when dublin became dominant i think it was in response the atmosphere that gamesmanship brought, i suppose if your going down that route you have to be prepared for the consequences of reaction and humiliation if it doesnt come of. Its never nice to see and i dont like myself though and hopefulyl it will motivate the Kerry lads not to made fools of in Croke Park again. But it was the least of the crimes on view yesterday and probably a reaction to a few.

On Fitzmaurice i think he tried everything fair play to him, he went man for man which worked well for ten minutes before Dublin implemented a game plan around it, then the high press that worked so well in the second half in the league final last year, thankfully Dublin had learned that lesson and just swatted it away

I thought Kerry were really motivated and emptied the tank in the first 30 mins and dint have the strength or conditioning to match the Dubs after 30 mins. Dublin played rope a dope and made them chase shadows of course by holding position and making the Kerry exhausting themselves making the Kerry lads chase which worked a treat. They were out on their feet int he second half when Dublin went up a gear.

All in all as many would say some useful experience for the Kerry lads in their development, i think they would have learned a lot. What will be worring for management is they didnt score between something like the 25th minute and 55th (approx). I dont like any of the lads in any of the back three arguably six positions but i am sure its the best there in Kerry, the midifleld is competent but you cant be on top there in every game and getting at Kerry needs to be more problematic.

Early days for Kerry, im sure they will kick on, learn lessons and develop, They have some wonderful marquee forwards, but at the top end so does everyone. Some huge work to be done across the lines form midfield backwards and they really should get some system in place. Much work to be done on game management, discipline and strength and conditioning. But its still early in the year."
"someone mentioned the "wahhyy"" by the dubs in possession, i think their was a real edge int he crowd yesterday and with the niggling, punching and fouling, i think when dublin became dominant i think it was in response the atmosphere that gamesmanship brought, i suppose if your going down that route you have to be prepared for the consequences of reaction and humiliation if it doesnt come of. Its never nice to see and i dont like myself though and hopefulyl it will motivate the Kerry lads not to made fools of in Croke Park again. But it was the least of the crimes on view yesterday and probably a reaction to a few. "

You said it better than I did, Username.

Gavvygavgav (Dublin) - Posts: 382 - 12/03/2018 12:11:42    2083893

It's clear Kerry have an abundance of talent coming through but it's still a bit early for them in my opinion.

They will win an All Ireland but it could be 2 years away. Maybe they will stop Dublin doing the 5 in a row...

On another note, a nice win for us in Newbridge yesterday. One more win should see us safe for another year in division 1.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 12/03/2018 12:41:20    2083909

Replying To yew_tree:  "It's clear Kerry have an abundance of talent coming through but it's still a bit early for them in my opinion.

They will win an All Ireland but it could be 2 years away. Maybe they will stop Dublin doing the 5 in a row...

On another note, a nice win for us in Newbridge yesterday. One more win should see us safe for another year in division 1."
Who have ye left to play yewtree? We have Kildare at home and Tyrone away.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/03/2018 13:09:52    2083925

Well that's about as close to rock bottom as I've seen from Kerry.
Great performance from Dublin, fair play and they'll take some stopping.
I stand by my comments about the antics from the Hill, leave that s*ite to soccer please no need for it in our games.
Long year ahead for Kerry :(

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/03/2018 13:09:53    2083926

Replying To TheHermit:  "Well that's about as close to rock bottom as I've seen from Kerry.
Great performance from Dublin, fair play and they'll take some stopping.
I stand by my comments about the antics from the Hill, leave that s*ite to soccer please no need for it in our games.
Long year ahead for Kerry :("
It happens unfortunately but it is nothing new I seem to Remember Meath doing it in 2001 to pretend it's a Dublin thing is wrong

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 12/03/2018 14:00:38    2083944