Kerry V Dublin

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Fair play to you username it is an advantage of course as we see ourselves down here that we haven't lost a championship game at home in 23 years, like I said to Damo it's not Dublins fault that crokepark happens to be in Dublin and of course ye fans would love more away trips, so why can't the GAA organise more away games it might give teams that little bit of hope that they can beat ye on a tight muddy pitch with a big home crowd.

Also in the super 8s each team is supposed to have 1 home game 1 game in a neutral venue and 1 game in crokepark how many games will dublin get in crokepark ?"
I think it's a home, away and Croke Park games mate rather then neutral mate.

I think Croke Park and the super 8s is interesting on a couple of facets! If Dublin do play their home game there which is pretty likely I think it's a general ascent by the GAA that it is Dublin home ground. Which it has essentially been for a long time now, it's our home and any team that play us there are strangers or rather playing away in Dublin 1. I know there is a bit mud slinging going on about fine margins and advantages, I couldn't care less, we should own it and use it to our adavantage. The GAA use it for a vehicle for financial purposes, fine, why not use it to our advantage, like the Munster final being in Killarney over the last little while. When does Dublin team is remembered I'm any of the issues people get worked up about for or against won't be remembered. You can go through a few counties and look at natural advantages like the strength of the province etc. Atbthe end of the day and 100 years time your name is in the cup or it wasn't that's all that all the legacy that matters and is remembered, not excuses or arguements.

On the super 8s, I don't think it was well thought out particularly with Croke Park in mind, I would say as always Dublin playing in Croke Park in the quarters isnt fair. But I don't think we will be alone say as,seems very likely Kildare get to a Leinster final and Kerry win Munster. If Kildare beat Dublin in the Leinster final, Kerry would get to play in Croke Park twice as well, once against us and once as their Croke Park game. If Dublin beat Kildare and Kerry win Munster, then I'm pretty sure there won't be an all Ireland quarter final in newbridhe so you could again conceivably have two games in Croke Park in the super 8s.

Personally I have a suspicion that the super 8s and the draw have been Gerrymandered a bit to get the Dubs down to PUC or at least give it a fair wind of a chance. I'd like that personally to be honest.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/03/2018 20:21:32    2083236

Replying To Damothedub:  "Normally Gavin throws a spanner , particularly in first couple of league games , funny enough this time I reckon that will pretty much be the line up"
Sound man I have a fair idea how we'll Go about it tomorrow how we'll setup what's ye'r Subs bench like? We have Moran on our bench but I was informed yesterday he wasn't to be ready for this game, maybe an injury happened to another player that means they had to rush him back.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/03/2018 20:44:28    2083242

Replying To TheUsername:  "I think it's a home, away and Croke Park games mate rather then neutral mate.

I think Croke Park and the super 8s is interesting on a couple of facets! If Dublin do play their home game there which is pretty likely I think it's a general ascent by the GAA that it is Dublin home ground. Which it has essentially been for a long time now, it's our home and any team that play us there are strangers or rather playing away in Dublin 1. I know there is a bit mud slinging going on about fine margins and advantages, I couldn't care less, we should own it and use it to our adavantage. The GAA use it for a vehicle for financial purposes, fine, why not use it to our advantage, like the Munster final being in Killarney over the last little while. When does Dublin team is remembered I'm any of the issues people get worked up about for or against won't be remembered. You can go through a few counties and look at natural advantages like the strength of the province etc. Atbthe end of the day and 100 years time your name is in the cup or it wasn't that's all that all the legacy that matters and is remembered, not excuses or arguements.

On the super 8s, I don't think it was well thought out particularly with Croke Park in mind, I would say as always Dublin playing in Croke Park in the quarters isnt fair. But I don't think we will be alone say as,seems very likely Kildare get to a Leinster final and Kerry win Munster. If Kildare beat Dublin in the Leinster final, Kerry would get to play in Croke Park twice as well, once against us and once as their Croke Park game. If Dublin beat Kildare and Kerry win Munster, then I'm pretty sure there won't be an all Ireland quarter final in newbridhe so you could again conceivably have two games in Croke Park in the super 8s.

Personally I have a suspicion that the super 8s and the draw have been Gerrymandered a bit to get the Dubs down to PUC or at least give it a fair wind of a chance. I'd like that personally to be honest."
You're right username it's 1 home 1 away and 1 in crokepark/ neutral venue. Jays I'd love to see ye in Killarney in the super 8s it would be some craic in the middle of summer although like you say the GAA will have It in away that the provincial winners will meet in neutral venue game.

I think conleth park could probably hold a Kerry Kildare game and if not maybe move it to cusack park in mulingar.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/03/2018 20:59:13    2083246

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Sound man I have a fair idea how we'll Go about it tomorrow how we'll setup what's ye'r Subs bench like? We have Moran on our bench but I was informed yesterday he wasn't to be ready for this game, maybe an injury happened to another player that means they had to rush him back."
Likely to just be short of lads injured only , bench will be strong

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 10/03/2018 21:04:10    2083248

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "You're right username it's 1 home 1 away and 1 in crokepark/ neutral venue. Jays I'd love to see ye in Killarney in the super 8s it would be some craic in the middle of summer although like you say the GAA will have It in away that the provincial winners will meet in neutral venue game.

I think conleth park could probably hold a Kerry Kildare game and if not maybe move it to cusack park in mulingar."
I doubht Newbridge could facilitate it mate, the Kildare lads will know more, but their and meathd bigger championship games tend to move to Croke Park. This is why I think is practically impossible to implement the location of fixtures in Croke Park, if Kildare did move to Mullingar they would loose their home game, if they play in a Croke Park then they have the same advantage as people are saying Dublin have. The opposing team will also have the opportunity to play in Croke Park twice which in nice prep and expierence if you were progressing toward Semi and a final. I'm a fan of the concept but not the execution.

Be a great trip Killarney, to be honest I wouldn't be intimataded of it to be honest with the quality and depth of this Dublin team in peak championship condition I'd be confident in being competitive and scvhirving a result against anyone anywhere, hopefully that's doesnt come across as arrogant, I'd just be confident of the broad qualities in the set up.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/03/2018 21:35:25    2083255

Replying To Damothedub:  "Likely to just be short of lads injured only , bench will be strong"
I'm looking forward to it come what may.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/03/2018 21:55:08    2083261

Replying To TheUsername:  "I doubht Newbridge could facilitate it mate, the Kildare lads will know more, but their and meathd bigger championship games tend to move to Croke Park. This is why I think is practically impossible to implement the location of fixtures in Croke Park, if Kildare did move to Mullingar they would loose their home game, if they play in a Croke Park then they have the same advantage as people are saying Dublin have. The opposing team will also have the opportunity to play in Croke Park twice which in nice prep and expierence if you were progressing toward Semi and a final. I'm a fan of the concept but not the execution.

Be a great trip Killarney, to be honest I wouldn't be intimataded of it to be honest with the quality and depth of this Dublin team in peak championship condition I'd be confident in being competitive and scvhirving a result against anyone anywhere, hopefully that's doesnt come across as arrogant, I'd just be confident of the broad qualities in the set up."
It would be hard for you not to be confident when ye have only been beat once in something like 45 league and championship games but you would be a lot more nervous I'd say?

I would also be pretty confident of our lads beating anyone in Killarney in the championship, iv seen our boys when games looked dead and buried against cork when cork were a force to reckoned with and we'd find that bit of magic needed to get the draw or the win.

So hopefully we get a chance to meet in Killarney at some stage in a future super 8 game, it should be interesting I'd say.

Anyway I must hit the road now as it's a good 5 hour spin now to croker and we'l trash the game out after with gods help , enjoy the game.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/03/2018 08:58:12    2083293

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It would be hard for you not to be confident when ye have only been beat once in something like 45 league and championship games but you would be a lot more nervous I'd say?

I would also be pretty confident of our lads beating anyone in Killarney in the championship, iv seen our boys when games looked dead and buried against cork when cork were a force to reckoned with and we'd find that bit of magic needed to get the draw or the win.

So hopefully we get a chance to meet in Killarney at some stage in a future super 8 game, it should be interesting I'd say.

Anyway I must hit the road now as it's a good 5 hour spin now to croker and we'l trash the game out after with gods help , enjoy the game."
Safe Journey mate and and all traveling.

Enjoy the game.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 11/03/2018 11:46:32    2083325

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It would be hard for you not to be confident when ye have only been beat once in something like 45 league and championship games but you would be a lot more nervous I'd say?

Anyway I must hit the road now as it's a good 5 hour spin now to croker and we'l trash the game out after with gods help , enjoy the game."
Safe travels dude. Hope you don't enjoy the game though, or, at least the result. :)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 11/03/2018 12:18:26    2083332

Kerry by 10.dubs have peaked too early

BartMcQueen (Cork) - Posts: 196 - 11/03/2018 15:50:32    2083386

That'll be thanks to us sleeping in our own beds last night!

Fine margins...

Now for a nice pint. Safe home to the Kerry fans

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 11/03/2018 17:38:37    2083439

Satisfying, very satisfying.
Kerry were average at best and never really looked like they were a threat.
Galway will be bigger challenge and look like finalists.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 11/03/2018 17:58:42    2083455

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "Satisfying, very satisfying.
Kerry were average at best and never really looked like they were a threat.
Galway will be bigger challenge and look like finalists."
We are the finalists no one can catch us now only monaghan and because we beat them we'll qualify on the head to head rule

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 11/03/2018 18:02:23    2083462

Both sides unlucky with a few goal chances. Don't think Dublin were ever going to loose this one but Kerry misses in the first half would've made it a much closer game. We got out of jail in the first half. Cluxton up the far end of the pitch was a bitta craic :)

evad6832 (Dublin) - Posts: 3 - 11/03/2018 18:07:53    2083469

Surely there will be a huge crowd in galway next week? Attractive away fixture for the dubs on paddy's weekend between by far the 2 best teams in the league so far. Have to say I'm looking forward to watching it.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 11/03/2018 18:13:41    2083476

Fake news Kerry are All Ireland contenders, in a few years with those lads maybe , but butchered by an adult team at the height of their powers today, scary who didn't play for Dublin

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 11/03/2018 18:39:00    2083501

Replying To galwayfball:  "We are the finalists no one can catch us now only monaghan and because we beat them we'll qualify on the head to head rule"
We"ll have our hands full with ye next week.
I'm looking forward to it big time.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 11/03/2018 18:39:24    2083504

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "We"ll have our hands full with ye next week.
I'm looking forward to it big time."
Looking forward to welcoming the all Ireland champs to Galway. Wed have to have all our forwards in form (which hasnt happened yet in the same game) and a bit of luck to put it up to ye.5 from 5 from our boys in our first year back in div1. Thrilled with our boys but dont think we'll trouble ye too much

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 11/03/2018 18:55:40    2083517

Congratulations to Dublin by far the best team today, and considering the players ye were missing that's unreal and best of luck in the final.

I hope cian o'sullivan Isn't too badly injured and did anyone see what happened him?

As for ourselves, we have a lot of problems and we need something to change fast.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 11/03/2018 19:00:48    2083522

We were very good today but Kerry are young. Great fixture to look forward to next week.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 11/03/2018 19:13:00    2083530