Kerry V Dublin

Back to the game guys , Croke Park hasn't suddenly changed postal codes it's in the same place it was when we were getting our ar7e handed to us , it's exactly where it was for last years final in the league, and when we were shit and two non capital teams played guess what it was still on Jones road , it's a trek and a half from Nowlan Park funny enough Kilkenny seem to travel well , certainly alot better than the feel sorry for themselves merchants on here. Dublin's success has brought out the Velcro defense throw enough shi7 and somethings bound to stick , I'd like to think that I handled myself with a bit more class when we were humiliated time and again previously, I certainly shook hands congratulated fans and wished them all the best , on the other that seems to be the norm after a game ,just not on hogan stand what does that tell youyou

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 09/03/2018 22:11:44    2083057

Replying To Damothedub:  "Back to the game guys , Croke Park hasn't suddenly changed postal codes it's in the same place it was when we were getting our ar7e handed to us , it's exactly where it was for last years final in the league, and when we were shit and two non capital teams played guess what it was still on Jones road , it's a trek and a half from Nowlan Park funny enough Kilkenny seem to travel well , certainly alot better than the feel sorry for themselves merchants on here. Dublin's success has brought out the Velcro defense throw enough shi7 and somethings bound to stick , I'd like to think that I handled myself with a bit more class when we were humiliated time and again previously, I certainly shook hands congratulated fans and wished them all the best , on the other that seems to be the norm after a game ,just not on hogan stand what does that tell youyou"
Damo even username admits dubs playing all their games in crokepark gives ye an advantage, and ya every now and then a team might surprise ye and beat ye but those surprises will be few and far between.

Look I don't blame ye dubs, if the GAA would lavish every known advantage onto Kerry I wouldn't be complaining either and I'd probably be making excuses for those advantages too.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/03/2018 22:37:31    2083061

Replying To Damothedub:  "Back to the game guys , Croke Park hasn't suddenly changed postal codes it's in the same place it was when we were getting our ar7e handed to us , it's exactly where it was for last years final in the league, and when we were shit and two non capital teams played guess what it was still on Jones road , it's a trek and a half from Nowlan Park funny enough Kilkenny seem to travel well , certainly alot better than the feel sorry for themselves merchants on here. Dublin's success has brought out the Velcro defense throw enough shi7 and somethings bound to stick , I'd like to think that I handled myself with a bit more class when we were humiliated time and again previously, I certainly shook hands congratulated fans and wished them all the best , on the other that seems to be the norm after a game ,just not on hogan stand what does that tell youyou"
Are you suggesting that home field advantage does not exist? I would have though that it was almost universally accepted that it is a very real factor in sport?

The fact that Dublin weren't in a position to take advantage of it in the past is really neither here nor there.

Not having a go btw, we are lucky to have one of the finest stadiums on the planet to play our national game in and it's a very fortunate coincidence for Dublin that its in their back yard. I can't see how anyone would think it's not a bit of an advantage though.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 09/03/2018 22:40:14    2083063

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Very very very very deep I'd say realdub :-)

Kerry team to play Dublin
Murphy.
Enright, Foley, Shanahan.
Murphy, P Crowley, O'Beaglaoich.
Jack Barry, Barry O'Sullivan.
M Burns, O'Shea , A Spillane.
Clifford, geaney, McCarthy."
Why is David Moran not getting a starting spot? Has he been injured or is he just out of form?

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 09/03/2018 22:57:33    2083065

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Very very very very deep I'd say realdub :-)

Kerry team to play Dublin
Murphy.
Enright, Foley, Shanahan.
Murphy, P Crowley, O'Beaglaoich.
Jack Barry, Barry O'Sullivan.
M Burns, O'Shea , A Spillane.
Clifford, geaney, McCarthy."
That's a young side alright. But interesting.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8589 - 09/03/2018 22:57:34    2083066

So it's 'back to the game', but you actually start a tirade about some legitimate comments made by Kerry posters?
Right.
As for the content of your posts, did you seriously just say that Kilkenny fans traveled in numbers to Croker (for anything other than AI finals)?! By the way, quick geography lesson - Kilkenny is a hell of a lot closer to Dublin than Kerry.
In my experience Kerry fans always shake hands and congratulate and commiserate with rival county supporters, the same as anyone else.
I also can't think of too many Kerry posters on here that haven't come on after Dublin beat us in the Championship in the last few years and congratulated them and said fair play. I know I've posted these sentiments both on here and on the Dublin forum following our defeats in the likes of 2015/16.
And I'm sure you weren't one of the many Dublin posters on here in the months after our title in 2014 claiming we had won another handy title, that it was a disgrace Kerry 'stole' Sam from its rightful destination that summer, that we didn't deserve it etc etc.
I'd been conscious of the behavior and antics of several well marked Dublin posters on here, before I'd start casting aspersions about posters from any other county. Just a thought, like...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/03/2018 23:12:00    2083070

Replying To neverright:  "Why is David Moran not getting a starting spot? Has he been injured or is he just out of form?"
David took an extended break at the start of the year. No injuries that I know of.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 10/03/2018 08:24:02    2083093

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Damo even username admits dubs playing all their games in crokepark gives ye an advantage, and ya every now and then a team might surprise ye and beat ye but those surprises will be few and far between.

Look I don't blame ye dubs, if the GAA would lavish every known advantage onto Kerry I wouldn't be complaining either and I'd probably be making excuses for those advantages too."
I think it is an advantage mate, i think Croke Park had become defacto a home venue for Dublin, i also think teams feel like the away team playing Dublin there. I think it definitely gives Dublin an edge psychologically.

I would qualify that by saying that the amount of games Dublin play there isnt "all their games", they play the same home and away in the league as everyone else and one away in the championship. To be honest in the Provincials most teams get one home and one away, before they head to Croker unless they are in the back door. Kerry themselves have been very lucky with games in the provincial at home with PUC being redeveloped.

I do acknowledge the edge Croke Park gives Dublin but its a natural advantage of being in Dublin, but just one other point, Leinster was a particular diverse time in terms of success in 90's and 00's, we had strong Kildare, Loais, Westmeath and Loais sides during the period. To be fair to the GAA these successful sides played most if not all of their championship games in Croke park as well. I think its if we say had a successful Meath and Kildare teams and the crowds came back i think both would be laying most of thier games in Croke Park. It just happens to be Dublin at the moment, but i acknowledge Croke part in intertwined naturally with Dublin GAA, it always will be.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 10/03/2018 08:42:39    2083099

Replying To TheUsername:  "I think it is an advantage mate, i think Croke Park had become defacto a home venue for Dublin, i also think teams feel like the away team playing Dublin there. I think it definitely gives Dublin an edge psychologically.

I would qualify that by saying that the amount of games Dublin play there isnt "all their games", they play the same home and away in the league as everyone else and one away in the championship. To be honest in the Provincials most teams get one home and one away, before they head to Croker unless they are in the back door. Kerry themselves have been very lucky with games in the provincial at home with PUC being redeveloped.

I do acknowledge the edge Croke Park gives Dublin but its a natural advantage of being in Dublin, but just one other point, Leinster was a particular diverse time in terms of success in 90's and 00's, we had strong Kildare, Loais, Westmeath and Loais sides during the period. To be fair to the GAA these successful sides played most if not all of their championship games in Croke park as well. I think its if we say had a successful Meath and Kildare teams and the crowds came back i think both would be laying most of thier games in Croke Park. It just happens to be Dublin at the moment, but i acknowledge Croke part in intertwined naturally with Dublin GAA, it always will be."
Fair play to you username it is an advantage of course as we see ourselves down here that we haven't lost a championship game at home in 23 years, like I said to Damo it's not Dublins fault that crokepark happens to be in Dublin and of course ye fans would love more away trips, so why can't the GAA organise more away games it might give teams that little bit of hope that they can beat ye on a tight muddy pitch with a big home crowd.

Also in the super 8s each team is supposed to have 1 home game 1 game in a neutral venue and 1 game in crokepark how many games will dublin get in crokepark ?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/03/2018 09:45:40    2083117

Replying To neverright:  "Why is David Moran not getting a starting spot? Has he been injured or is he just out of form?"
Just given an extended rest, he's not suited for the soft ground.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/03/2018 09:50:10    2083119

Good man Damo

Well said

No one said a thing when we were losing over and over again

And as far as I'm aware CP was still in Dublin and the Dub players were able to sleep in their home beds across those years to boot...

This current Dublin side have an exceptional home and away stats to their credit.. 5 Div 1 finals is evident enough of that and even the one we lost we still finished well ahead on points before the final

Of bleedin course home games are an advantage.. one that every team enjoys but if you're not good enough that matters littl when you're playing against a superior team on form.

The level of whinging on here is gas and it's so blatantly self serving.. the clutching for straw brigade

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/03/2018 11:54:55    2083142

Interesting on the one hand, we constantly here that elite sport is a matter of those tiny percentages between winning and losing, but certain Dubs on here can't concede that getting to play so many Championship games at home is the definition of one of those factors which sways these tiny percentages towards them.
Anyway let them at it - in a decades time when we look back, all of these things will be taken properly into account when judging where this Dublin team ranks in the pantheon of Gaelic football history.

As for Sunday, great to see so much youth being trusted. It makes it a really exciting prospect for Kerry fans. A win against what will probably be a close to full strength Dublin is a tough ask for the young lads. But let's go at them, play our own game and see how close or far away that leaves us come 6pm!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 10/03/2018 13:42:00    2083163

Replying To TheHermit:  "Interesting on the one hand, we constantly here that elite sport is a matter of those tiny percentages between winning and losing, but certain Dubs on here can't concede that getting to play so many Championship games at home is the definition of one of those factors which sways these tiny percentages towards them.
Anyway let them at it - in a decades time when we look back, all of these things will be taken properly into account when judging where this Dublin team ranks in the pantheon of Gaelic football history.

As for Sunday, great to see so much youth being trusted. It makes it a really exciting prospect for Kerry fans. A win against what will probably be a close to full strength Dublin is a tough ask for the young lads. But let's go at them, play our own game and see how close or far away that leaves us come 6pm!!"
You're right about tiny percentages thehermit

Now apply that same logic to playing in a small hurling province for 125 odd years with one foot in an AI seminal for 95% of that time...

If small margins = success

Imagine what such a large margin has brought Kerry

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/03/2018 13:45:34    2083164

Replying To jimbodub:  "You're right about tiny percentages thehermit

Now apply that same logic to playing in a small hurling province for 125 odd years with one foot in an AI seminal for 95% of that time...

If small margins = success

Imagine what such a large margin has brought Kerry"
A 'small hurling province' - as much as I enjoy seeing you constantly show up your utter lack of knowledge about anything outside the M50. It does become tiresome.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 10/03/2018 13:56:20    2083166

Replying To TheHermit:  "A 'small hurling province' - as much as I enjoy seeing you constantly show up your utter lack of knowledge about anything outside the M50. It does become tiresome."
How many teams play in Munster?

Hahaha did you think I meant geographical mass?

It must be tiresome being shown up so often alright

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/03/2018 14:19:35    2083168

Small margins how are we performing recently away from home ??? anybody???

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 10/03/2018 14:57:21    2083172

Replying To Damothedub:  "Small margins how are we performing recently away from home ??? anybody???"
I think ye beat Carlow a few years ago, other then that the last game of significance i can remember ye playing was against us in Thurles almost 20 years ago.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 10/03/2018 16:59:50    2083199

Strong Dublin team named , no excuses , team named good enough to do the Biz , O Sullivan back which is good to see , pit Mannion misses out

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 10/03/2018 17:03:12    2083200

Replying To Damothedub:  "Strong Dublin team named , no excuses , team named good enough to do the Biz , O Sullivan back which is good to see , pit Mannion misses out"
Will that team start tomorrow do you think Damo?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 10/03/2018 17:10:42    2083202

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Will that team start tomorrow do you think Damo?"
Normally Gavin throws a spanner , particularly in first couple of league games , funny enough this time I reckon that will pretty much be the line up

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 10/03/2018 18:13:37    2083218