Championship draws 2018

Replying To David:  "Yeah i get that. Definitely the draw would always be to play for the "senior" club with prospects of success and if your good enough playing senior club championship. Also the possibility of getting recognised (if good enough) for county development squads and/or senior county panel, is probably greater, with Dunboyne rather than St. Pauls in this instance. However, I would have thought that the county board would have a clear divide between the 2 clubs in the parish. Thus aiding St. Pauls development.

For example, and I'm open to correction here, but did an (imaginary) divide not be drawn in Navan, to separate O'Mahonys (town centre & Brews hill side) and Simonstown (east of m2, racecourse road) and then Bective out the Balreask Old side of the town. And sure look how well the three clubs are developing, granted at differing rates and degrees.

If this was the case their club (St. Pauls) could evolve under correct structures and guidance from their members."
No there's no barriers in place in navan whatsoever some of the o mahonys best players are from north navan aswell as bectives too actually. In general simonstown will attract most footballers north of the river though aswell as the athlumney area which is probably a shorter walk into brews hill but players from both clubs will have went to school together and could live next door to each other. Then there is large areas of the Johnstown area where players have to play for walterstown. Now Johnstown is an area of 10000 people in the navan parish where young lads have no identity with walterstown or probably even the other clubs so they end up playing soccer instead. For the good of meath football I would love to see a club set up in Johnstown.

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 10/03/2018 09:38:22    2083112

Johnstown is in the Walterstown parish not Navan. A parish is not divided in terms of rules but areas tend to be divided by schools and most of the primary schools in Navan are in the north side of the town. St Pauls appear to be suffering from the fact that Dunboyne are senior and most players like to play at a higher grade and most of the primary pupils are in the town . As I have said many times football inside the county would be improved by allowing junior teams to combine (and intermediate) to compete in the championship. Junior teams do tend to be at a dis-advantage when it comes to county football.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 10/03/2018 10:25:00    2083124

Replying To browncows:  "Johnstown is in the Walterstown parish not Navan. A parish is not divided in terms of rules but areas tend to be divided by schools and most of the primary schools in Navan are in the north side of the town. St Pauls appear to be suffering from the fact that Dunboyne are senior and most players like to play at a higher grade and most of the primary pupils are in the town . As I have said many times football inside the county would be improved by allowing junior teams to combine (and intermediate) to compete in the championship. Junior teams do tend to be at a dis-advantage when it comes to county football."
Old Johnstown may be in walterstown but that has maybe a 10th of the population of new Johnstown which is is in the navan parish yet parts of it aren't allowed play for the navan clubs. Agree with the idea of merging junior teams it would work well

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 10/03/2018 11:39:57    2083139

Replying To Northsidegaels:  "No there's no barriers in place in navan whatsoever some of the o mahonys best players are from north navan aswell as bectives too actually. In general simonstown will attract most footballers north of the river though aswell as the athlumney area which is probably a shorter walk into brews hill but players from both clubs will have went to school together and could live next door to each other. Then there is large areas of the Johnstown area where players have to play for walterstown. Now Johnstown is an area of 10000 people in the navan parish where young lads have no identity with walterstown or probably even the other clubs so they end up playing soccer instead. For the good of meath football I would love to see a club set up in Johnstown."
I know what your saying that there is no actual definite boundaries but sure generalisations. I think the county board could be stronger implementing these boundaries, which granted are generally national school based.

Agreed i think amalgamated junior & inter clubs would be benefical alright.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 10/03/2018 13:17:58    2083159

As my user name says this is my first and last post as I just want to put northsidegael in his place by explaining a few facts.
ALL of Johnstown is in walterstown parish and the reason people in "new Johnstown " can not play for clubs in Navan parish is because they are in walterstown parish I repeat NONE of Johnstown is in Navan parish that's why people in Johnstown can not play for Navan clubs. This is not soccer where you can play for who you like. ALL of Johnstown "old" " new" or whatever you want to call it is in walterstown parish. Not one inch is in Navan parish and if Mick O Brien was still involved in walterstown there wouldn't be one person let play for a navan club as much as they cry, your parish is your parish my friend as this is the bedrock of what the GAA is based on.
For your information the boundary is the double ditch behind supervalue straight across to the cemetery on the Boyne road . This double ditch and stream actually cuts through tubberclaire meadow estate on the back road in athlumney. So the 50 odd houses on the right are in walterstown parish . Does not matter what school you are in or who your teacher played for.
So never ever ever ever say most or any of Johnstown is in Navan parish.

Firstandlastpost (Meath) - Posts: 1 - 10/03/2018 23:25:45    2083273

Replying To Firstandlastpost:  "As my user name says this is my first and last post as I just want to put northsidegael in his place by explaining a few facts.
ALL of Johnstown is in walterstown parish and the reason people in "new Johnstown " can not play for clubs in Navan parish is because they are in walterstown parish I repeat NONE of Johnstown is in Navan parish that's why people in Johnstown can not play for Navan clubs. This is not soccer where you can play for who you like. ALL of Johnstown "old" " new" or whatever you want to call it is in walterstown parish. Not one inch is in Navan parish and if Mick O Brien was still involved in walterstown there wouldn't be one person let play for a navan club as much as they cry, your parish is your parish my friend as this is the bedrock of what the GAA is based on.
For your information the boundary is the double ditch behind supervalue straight across to the cemetery on the Boyne road . This double ditch and stream actually cuts through tubberclaire meadow estate on the back road in athlumney. So the 50 odd houses on the right are in walterstown parish . Does not matter what school you are in or who your teacher played for.
So never ever ever ever say most or any of Johnstown is in Navan parish."
There's always ways around it. If they want to play for the Navan Clubs they will.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 11/03/2018 12:34:11    2083337

Replying To Firstandlastpost:  "As my user name says this is my first and last post as I just want to put northsidegael in his place by explaining a few facts.
parish rule is not consistently applied

showforit (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 11/03/2018 15:20:13    2083377

Haha jaysus lad relax I know walterstown are in an absolute shambles at the minute and might never get back to senior but no need to come on ranting and raving. All I took from that is that walterstown is essentially another navan club and makes your current record even worse! Johnstown is as clear a part of navan as anywhere any population census of navan includes Johnstown and if the 10000 people out there have to play forf walterstown it improves o mahonys and simonstowns reputation while showing up the likes of yourselves and ashbourne.

Northsidegaels (Meath) - Posts: 237 - 11/03/2018 16:26:01    2083398

Whats the double ditch boundary between Navan Parish and Walterstown Parish got to do with the Championship draw for this year?

Few interesting club results over the weekend, are they Yellow Furze men struggling? beaten by Syddan less Daire Rowe for 3/4 of the game. Meath Hill going well again, more games played than I thought would be, our place is like a bog at the minute....

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 325 - 12/03/2018 11:14:47    2083864

Yeah it looks like Seneschalstown are on a bit of a downward spiral not the force they once where. Was at there game against Syddan and most people would have thought that they would have beaten Syddan well but they tried to bully them physically and it wasn't really working for them as they were against a much faster and fitter team that were running the ball at pace in particular the second half which was the difference in the end. This was all without there star man Daire rowe after he came off 15 minutes into the first half. Seneschalstown weren't missing anyone apart from Joe Sheridan and they struggled to create scoring chances and were shooting from impossible positions for a senior team. They were set up well in defence but might struggle in this years championship. Another surprising result was duleeks hammering of a nobber team that is tipped by most for the inter this year and from the report nobber weren't missing many from what would be regarded as there strongest team??

Meath4Sam2020 (Meath) - Posts: 132 - 12/03/2018 14:56:45    2083966

Replying To Meath4Sam2020:  "Yeah it looks like Seneschalstown are on a bit of a downward spiral not the force they once where. Was at there game against Syddan and most people would have thought that they would have beaten Syddan well but they tried to bully them physically and it wasn't really working for them as they were against a much faster and fitter team that were running the ball at pace in particular the second half which was the difference in the end. This was all without there star man Daire rowe after he came off 15 minutes into the first half. Seneschalstown weren't missing anyone apart from Joe Sheridan and they struggled to create scoring chances and were shooting from impossible positions for a senior team. They were set up well in defence but might struggle in this years championship. Another surprising result was duleeks hammering of a nobber team that is tipped by most for the inter this year and from the report nobber weren't missing many from what would be regarded as there strongest team??"
Duleek have 4/5 lads that would get on most senior teams. Will be a force in intermediate this year as will nobber

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 12/03/2018 18:26:59    2084050

Replying To Analyst:  "Duleek have 4/5 lads that would get on most senior teams. Will be a force in intermediate this year as will nobber"
Really? Where were these 4/5 lads last year then?

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 13/03/2018 07:20:27    2084164

Replying To Crinigan:  "Really? Where were these 4/5 lads last year then?"
Playing with their club. There is a significant gap between Intermediate and Senior. Eg St Colmcilles. 4/5 quality players against a senior side with 12/ 13 quality players is never going yo be enough hence they got relegated and i woukd say were happy enough to go down knowing that they would be competitive in intermediate

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 13/03/2018 09:29:57    2084180

Replying To Analyst:  "Playing with their club. There is a significant gap between Intermediate and Senior. Eg St Colmcilles. 4/5 quality players against a senior side with 12/ 13 quality players is never going yo be enough hence they got relegated and i woukd say were happy enough to go down knowing that they would be competitive in intermediate"
I would say that any half decent club team have 4 or 5 that could play Senior Championship, put agree from talking to some lads in Duleek getting relegated was almost a relief to them, they will be strong in the intermediate although its tough to challenge straight after a relegation as recent history has shown

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 325 - 13/03/2018 11:44:01    2084225

I see a few draws saying the top 3 from each group qualify.........thats fine but in the Q-Final pairings there is no mention of team 'C3'. Is it fair to assume that there will be a preliminary Q-Final as per other years. The official structure for championships sent to clubs shows as above too.

Can someone clarify.

I_Play_County (Meath) - Posts: 7 - 15/03/2018 08:50:57    2084680

Replying To I_Play_County:  "I see a few draws saying the top 3 from each group qualify.........thats fine but in the Q-Final pairings there is no mention of team 'C3'. Is it fair to assume that there will be a preliminary Q-Final as per other years. The official structure for championships sent to clubs shows as above too.

Can someone clarify."
The preliminary Q final is between B3 and C3. The winner of this is now becomes B3 for the purpose of Qfinal pairings. So in effect it should say A1 v B3/C3 for first Q final

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 15/03/2018 09:32:54    2084688

Almost all east meath senior teams play at same time on same day the big curraha v Skryne game clashes with Donaghmore v seneschalstown and cilles v rathkenny

That's a pity for supporters but also for county board gates

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 17/03/2018 00:52:54    2085009

Was trying to get your Championship draw listing on the Meath gaa website but its not loading - neither are any of the league tables or fixtures beyond the current week. Last year it was brilliantly updated by comparison to some of the other websites including our own in Monaghan. What's the story? Is there a gremlin in the works?

GerryD (Monaghan) - Posts: 335 - 23/03/2018 08:51:21    2087165

Yes the new format seems to be giving a lot of trouble everything was there a few days ago but now no dice

numberedjerseys (USA) - Posts: 348 - 23/03/2018 10:03:23    2087186

Will today's result have an impact on the club championship fixtures. Surely it will be put back a week. Clubs will have to get a chance to have their county lads training for a few sessions with them!

aces (Meath) - Posts: 162 - 25/03/2018 18:12:31    2087803