All-Ireland Club Finals On St. Patrick's Day

was it not always the situation that the finals alternated,with hurling first one year and football firs the next, i know the football has been the second game in the last few tears but can anyone tell me when this changed

lonelylad (Leitrim) - Posts: 22 - 03/03/2018 13:31:52    2081693

Replying To cavanman47:  "Have they not said that this is the last year that the club finals will be held on Paddys Day?

I have no doubt the attendance figures will suffer as a result of the rugby (regardless of the Scotland result).

I'm not even sure the football and hurling should be held on the same day. Would playing the junior intermediate and senior final of each as 2 triple headers not be a better option?"
It.s ridiculous carrying the later stages of club competitions into the following year. Clubs/players involved have to cope with a long break over Christmas and the new-year period - trying to keep some degree of fitness and then trying to pick up a bit of momentum again. It does not make any sense. As for the finals on Patrick's day, interest is limited, in the main, to the four parishes/clubs involved.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 03/03/2018 15:10:30    2081707

Why are people complaining about this? The players are honoured to represent their clubs in HQ on St. Patricks's Day. I think it is a great tradition now in the post Railway Cup era. Only a few clubs are impacted each year anyway. Playing the football first is the correct decision as it is a slower game. GAA got it right.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 03/03/2018 16:56:32    2081724

Why are people complaining about this? The players are honoured to represent their clubs in HQ on St. Patricks's Day. I think it is a great tradition now in the post Railway Cup era. Only a few clubs are impacted each year anyway. Playing the football first is the correct decision as it is a slower game. GAA got it right.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 931 - 03/03/2018 16:56:32
People are making an issue as it needlessly drags out the season unnecessarily for 3 extra games per sport. There should be a clear season ending in the calendar year with only school and college/university competitions being played over 2 calendar years for obvious reasons

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 03/03/2018 19:44:24    2081753

have seen a lot of na piarsaigh games over the last few years love watching them

think myself should be calendar year as
- detrimental to county team to have so many players missing for league, really affected us in limerick
- the finalists do be back in county action soon enough after and winners really dont get time to enjoy the achievement

remember na piarsaigh lost to kilmallock and doon in first two county games after winning in 2016 , was at the doon game (it was a brilliant game) but really felt they could have done with an extra few weeks break

youngmunstersman (Limerick) - Posts: 80 - 06/03/2018 22:27:10    2082344

sure the month in april,the bringing forward of the all-irelands,etc surely mean this could now be played in november since all counties are going to look after their club players in april and so on,right....????

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 07/03/2018 09:13:14    2082380

The reason the attendance will be low is because there is a Limerick team. Limerick is more rugby playing. There will be large crowds from Dublin, and probably Cork, i don't know about Galway also. But as I said, Ireland England is in Twickenham. Not the Aviva. As stated I also think GAA should try and get some of the people and tourists from the parade up to the matches.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 07/03/2018 09:43:06    2082389

The reason the attendance will be low is because there is a Limerick team.

Limerick is more rugby playing.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 1118 - 07/03/2018 09:43:06 2082389

Really
at the 21s semi final there was way more limerick fans than galway , same in 2015,
same nearly anytime we play galway, 12000 fans at munster under 21 final , 15k at final , yeah we bring low support alright.

68 gaa clubs compared to around 14 rugby in limerick .........yeah limerick really more rugby playing

keep them facts coming!!!

youngmunstersman (Limerick) - Posts: 80 - 07/03/2018 11:13:29    2082410

Replying To youngmunstersman:  "The reason the attendance will be low is because there is a Limerick team.

Limerick is more rugby playing.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 1118 - 07/03/2018 09:43:06 2082389

Really
at the 21s semi final there was way more limerick fans than galway , same in 2015,
same nearly anytime we play galway, 12000 fans at munster under 21 final , 15k at final , yeah we bring low support alright.

68 gaa clubs compared to around 14 rugby in limerick .........yeah limerick really more rugby playing

keep them facts coming!!!"
and last year in the league,wexford supporters nearly outnumbered galway in salthill!!!!!!!

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 07/03/2018 12:33:26    2082428

Replying To perfect10:  "and last year in the league,wexford supporters nearly outnumbered galway in salthill!!!!!!!"
Perfect10
In 2001 Wexford and Limerick played each other in Thurles in the All Ireland U21 Final and over 32,000 attended the game and the following year Limerick played Galway at the stage and were hugely supported as they were going for three in a row that day. There was an attendence of barely 20,000 and the Sports Writer Martin Brehony, a Galwegian, said the Limerick supporters outnumbered the their Galway counterparts by as much as 20 to one.
Otherwise what will also contribute to a smaller crowd on St Patricks Day is the fact that three of the four clubs involved are city based and rural teams always attract a bigger following.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4316 - 07/03/2018 15:23:59    2082472

Presumably those GAA fans who were conflicted over the clash of fixtures with the rugby next weekend had the conflict resolved for them yesterday. Ireland have won the Six Nations Championship. The competition is won. Grand Slams are rare and wonderful but really they are the icing on the cake...kinda like if your team were guaranteed to win the All Ireland but you want to see if they can keep the opposition scoreless in the final. If some would still pick the rugby over the club finals in that situation, it suggests that they have made the switch over and are more rugby people than GAA people at heart.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 11/03/2018 10:03:18    2083307

I seen the cuala hurlers yesterday getting ready to take to the crokepark pitch for a training session after the Dublin Kerry game, they're going for 2 In a row now on Saturday that's some achievement considering no Dublin club hurling team had even won one before last year .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 12/03/2018 14:12:59    2083953

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Presumably those GAA fans who were conflicted over the clash of fixtures with the rugby next weekend had the conflict resolved for them yesterday. Ireland have won the Six Nations Championship. The competition is won. Grand Slams are rare and wonderful but really they are the icing on the cake...kinda like if your team were guaranteed to win the All Ireland but you want to see if they can keep the opposition scoreless in the final. If some would still pick the rugby over the club finals in that situation, it suggests that they have made the switch over and are more rugby people than GAA people at heart."
It's a lot more than icing on the cake, it rarelh happens and even rarer for Ireland to win a grand slam. What difference does it make if they're GAA, Rugby, Soccer or PBR people?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7336 - 12/03/2018 16:17:42    2083994

So you're somehow less of a GAA person if you decide to watch the rugby instead of the club finals, no offence that's rubbish as your country should always come first unless of course your club happen to be playing in the final. I would generally watch the club finals (particularly the hurling) on Paddy's Day, but this year I intend on been in a pub glued to the rugby, and bar checking the score I will have little or no interest in the club finals.
Actually in relation to the club hurling final, I though Danny Sutcliffe was somewhat disingenuous with his comment, where he stated "It's not every year you get the two best club teams in the final. Sometimes you get a lucky run, especially teams coming from Galway with two games".
It's hardly Galway's fault that there is no club championship in Connacht, not to mention that the Galway club championship is arguably the most difficult in the country. At the end of the day if you're good enough you should get through to the final with or without a Provincial Championship, and with Galway champions having won the Club All Ireland 13 times, it's hardly luck. I doubt the any of the great Portumna teams got a 'lucky run' down through the years or if you want to go back further Athenry or Sarsfields, however maybe it's time to put all Galway teams into Leinster, and end this silly argument for once and for all.

gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 15/03/2018 16:19:07    2084764

Good luck to Corofin tomorrow...hope ye take the cup west of the Shannon.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 16/03/2018 18:57:41    2084964

Happy St Patrick's day one and all

All the years I've been going to the club finals and this is the first with a chance of snow! It's snowing a little here now in Drumcondra so wrap up feckin warm folks and get some bovril in a hip flask to go with the hang n cheese sandwiches (you might want to lob a bit of mustard on them to warm the pallet)

We should have two cracking games in store and both could go either way

In my book there's no better way to spend Paddy's Day

Have a good one

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/03/2018 09:11:03    2085027

Today could be the best ever clubs final day. Both games so hard to call. I'll take a stab now at corofin/cuala. Best of luck to all involved, a hugely proud day for all clubs involved.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 17/03/2018 09:33:54    2085032

Can't remember a year when the bookies had the odds so close for both games. I'm surprised that Nemo and Na Piarsaigh both go in as favourites, I would have a slight fancy for the opposition in both. Best of luck to all 4 sides and hopefully we get 2 great games.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 17/03/2018 11:04:33    2085044

Champagne stuff by corofin

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 129 - 17/03/2018 14:22:27    2085067

Sad to see TOS struggle so badly. Not a fitting end to a legends career.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 17/03/2018 14:32:39    2085070