Galway Vs Monaghan

Really looking forward to this game next Sunday - should be an intriguing contest. Hope there will be lots of support out for both teams.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 26/02/2018 11:17:49    2080400

Replying To greysoil:  "Really looking forward to this game next Sunday - should be an intriguing contest. Hope there will be lots of support out for both teams."
Hopefully the 'Beast from the East' doesn't intervene. I'd say both teams will use their squads to rest the weary (3 weeks out in succession in Monagha's case) and give fringe players a run. Galway should be favourities on home patch but don't rule out Monaghan. Kieran Hughes to start first league game hopefully and at Full Forward. Rest up Conor !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 26/02/2018 12:58:42    2080449

This should be a cracker, Galway looking a very good outfit, motoring well and with a bit of momentum, Monaghan have built up a head of steam over the last few fixtures and with some very nice players breaking through themselves, Monaghan are one of the toughest and most experienced teams to best in this league and a trip to Salthill wont make them blink.

This one could crack the league wide open, i think with either side coming out on top with it all to play for and a real chance of making the final.

Hard one to call this, but i am going to go for Monaghan. I fancy them to have a great year overall.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 26/02/2018 13:30:25    2080470

Monaghan will be favourites, caught on the hop by a struggling Mayo team at the start but have been excellent since, very physical and have probably one of the top 3 forwards in the country at the moment. Galway will be happy now with 8 points and i think they will start resting up a few lads now with the main focus on May 13th.

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 26/02/2018 14:26:10    2080522

With a Galway Limerick shoot out for Div 1 hurling at stake afterwards there will be a big crowd in Salthill on Sunday. Limerick themselves will bring big support and our footballers are making people sit up and taking notice.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 26/02/2018 18:36:20    2080686

Replying To Belclare1:  "Monaghan will be favourites, caught on the hop by a struggling Mayo team at the start but have been excellent since, very physical and have probably one of the top 3 forwards in the country at the moment. Galway will be happy now with 8 points and i think they will start resting up a few lads now with the main focus on May 13th."
I respectfully disagree: with the game at home, a double-header, and possibly a large crowd in attendance, now would be a terrible time to take the foot off the pedal. The damage it would do to the travelling support base alone could be significant; if the team management decide to ease up at home, why would anyone travel to watch them till May? This is arguably the first championship-like game we've had with Monaghan really on the rise, and we're past the league midpoint so teams are shaping up and playing better football than they were a month ago. And with a game against Dublin coming up, where we'd really be looking to see where we are, lowering the intensity on the squad would be daft.

I think Big Kev will be looking to keep up the momentum, and will count on the injection of the Corofin lads to the panel after March 17, to freshen up the panel and allow for a little more swopping and changing.

I think this game could be tight. I too think Monaghan, despite being the visitors, would be the bookies favourites, but I doubt there'll be much in it. Could go either way by a point or two.

Gaillimh abu!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 26/02/2018 20:57:28    2080737

Replying To Belclare1:  "Monaghan will be favourites, caught on the hop by a struggling Mayo team at the start but have been excellent since, very physical and have probably one of the top 3 forwards in the country at the moment. Galway will be happy now with 8 points and i think they will start resting up a few lads now with the main focus on May 13th."
Nice try but no way ..........Galway are favourites .......Monaghan content on 6 points...McManus won't even start against Galway. From now on it's all about giving the squad a run and preparing for Tyrone in Ulster...reaching League Final of no real interest.

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 26/02/2018 21:18:07    2080750

Replying To Shelbourne:  "Nice try but no way ..........Galway are favourites .......Monaghan content on 6 points...McManus won't even start against Galway. From now on it's all about giving the squad a run and preparing for Tyrone in Ulster...reaching League Final of no real interest."
Galway have not been favourites in the league yet to win any game. Monaghan content with 6 points? You speak for the entire county? You decided to bench McManus? lol

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 26/02/2018 21:55:49    2080761

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Galway have not been favourites in the league yet to win any game. Monaghan content with 6 points? You speak for the entire county? You decided to bench McManus? lol"
Yeah & the whole county would support me on that ......unity the secret of our success !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 26/02/2018 23:31:52    2080802

This should be a cracking game two physical teams in good shape and going well. I had heard that Monaghan werent taking the league seriously this year and were trying out a lot of new players and it seems to be working a treat so far. We really should have beaten Mayo the first day and have won all games since. Obviously we should be safe now and it gives Malachy a great chance to experiment now for the last three games. Tyrone in May is a massive test for us and we really need to be trying to Win Ulster again and try progress from there, but in saying that getting to a Division one league final would also be massive for this Monaghan team. Looking forward to a weekend away in Galway and hopefully two more points come sunday evening. Also fair play to all the supportes that are turning out in huge numbers this year yet again. Hon the Farney!!!

Muineachain76 (Monaghan) - Posts: 180 - 27/02/2018 09:42:56    2080840

I'll pick Galway by 2 points at home.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2119 - 27/02/2018 18:06:55    2081027

We would know more about Monaghan than them about us. Mind you we have better underage pedigree over the last few years. Not saying that is critical as Monaghan are very seasoned but we are going well given that we are missing 3 if not more definite championship starters with the Corofin contingent and Michael Daly not due back for a few weeks. KW is not staying on for no reason and obviously believes the squad will be at the business end of the championship in the coming seasons. Sunday will be close as I think Monaghan want silverware and probably feel like most teams the league is the only alternative to a provincial title.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 27/02/2018 19:47:29    2081070

Replying To kiloughter:  "We would know more about Monaghan than them about us. Mind you we have better underage pedigree over the last few years. Not saying that is critical as Monaghan are very seasoned but we are going well given that we are missing 3 if not more definite championship starters with the Corofin contingent and Michael Daly not due back for a few weeks. KW is not staying on for no reason and obviously believes the squad will be at the business end of the championship in the coming seasons. Sunday will be close as I think Monaghan want silverware and probably feel like most teams the league is the only alternative to a provincial title."
I see galway have a Tyrone man in helping and you can see this in the way they play. Also I think there seems to be a problem with discipline in the galway team as players been sent of looks like the norm. I think Monaghan are a more seasoned team and will win by 3 or 4 and galway to have a man sent off.

mon07 (Monaghan) - Posts: 139 - 27/02/2018 21:42:45    2081105

The stakes aren't high for either team so hopefully we will see a good open, attacking style of football. Difficult to call but I think Monaghan will just about shade it - although with the home advantage the young bucks could come through unbeaten.

greysoil (Monaghan) - Posts: 965 - 27/02/2018 23:35:50    2081140

Replying To Shelbourne:  "Yeah & the whole county would support me on that ......unity the secret of our success !"
I agree with Shelbourne. I'd be surprised if McManus even travels.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 28/02/2018 06:54:45    2081149

Replying To mon07:  "I see galway have a Tyrone man in helping and you can see this in the way they play. Also I think there seems to be a problem with discipline in the galway team as players been sent of looks like the norm. I think Monaghan are a more seasoned team and will win by 3 or 4 and galway to have a man sent off."
mysterious black cards the last day, Colm O Rourke was saying what you are saying too but he did not back it up with examples. Galway seem tougher but did Colm already forget the great Meath heroes like Mick Lyons, Colm Coyle and Colm O Rourke himself, all mighty tough Meath men, and great footballers. Galway not as scrappy as most div 1 teams. We have good forwards.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 28/02/2018 10:33:37    2081171

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "mysterious black cards the last day, Colm O Rourke was saying what you are saying too but he did not back it up with examples. Galway seem tougher but did Colm already forget the great Meath heroes like Mick Lyons, Colm Coyle and Colm O Rourke himself, all mighty tough Meath men, and great footballers. Galway not as scrappy as most div 1 teams. We have good forwards."
O Rourke is the last man that should be talking about discipline. I just think that Galway are going through the same phase Monaghan went through a few years ago and it took a couple of years to get the cuteness to avoid it or not get caught doing it. I hope the game goes ahead but it doesn't look good at the minute.

mon07 (Monaghan) - Posts: 139 - 28/02/2018 19:57:30    2081327

Replying To mon07:  "O Rourke is the last man that should be talking about discipline. I just think that Galway are going through the same phase Monaghan went through a few years ago and it took a couple of years to get the cuteness to avoid it or not get caught doing it. I hope the game goes ahead but it doesn't look good at the minute."
Wouldn't overtly worry about some of the older pundits views. From listening to them they seem to be going on the highlights reel rather than watching the game.

Ciaran Whelan etc seem to be putting a bit more work into analysing games.

Even though the black cards at weekend were mysterious I would agree that we seem to be getting a lot of cards.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 28/02/2018 22:45:33    2081353

i think this is a massive game for Galway win this and league final against the Dubs is a cert, which should bring them on no bounds they have been looking sharp in the league ( unlike other teams who will be a lot stronger come championship ) a league final will be a good test for them against the best, fully expect dubs to beat kerry so league final could be wrapped up this weekend.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 704 - 01/03/2018 00:18:38    2081367

Replying To Yourjoking:  "i think this is a massive game for Galway win this and league final against the Dubs is a cert, which should bring them on no bounds they have been looking sharp in the league ( unlike other teams who will be a lot stronger come championship ) a league final will be a good test for them against the best, fully expect dubs to beat kerry so league final could be wrapped up this weekend."
Ur right. Win this and u play the Dubs twice. That can only bring u on and show the squad what the level is that we are aiming for.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1829 - 01/03/2018 14:33:34    2081440