Meath V Cork

Replying To MeathWawa:  "Again am unlike a lot of posters here who actually root for meath to be beat. They were two bad performances. She has meath ever dominated a league schedule - 88 , 94 99
We always look awful in the league but that is not a valid excuse anymore.
Despite the huge over reaction and wishing meath to do bad I see Meath winning on Sunday by 5/6 points"
Good man Nostradamus. Serious insight.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 11/03/2018 18:37:13    2083499

Replying To Barney123:  "Think there will be at least 2 or 3 changes to that team and I will predict Royaldunne will be a happy man when the changes are made before throw in ;)"
Good call. But fact that you knew this (players leaking the team) is a sad reflection of the current state of affairs.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 11/03/2018 18:38:40    2083500

I admit I was wrong. I saw meath winning today by 5/6 - will take the abuse if you want to tell me what a fool I was.
However something is badly wrong in ththe camp. Maybe MCentee has lost the dressing room. Those players are not as bad as they showing. If you believe that then we have problems.
I always believe the players are there in meath but this team is playing like one of the worse meath teams ever,
We look worse now than at any other point under MOD.
We should beat Louth and then Down will be a 50/50 game. Down have some handy forwards which worries me and we seem to be conceding very easily.
If anyone knows what the problem is let me know as we playing like a division 3 mid table team. Could not see us winning division 3 based on last 3 games

MeathWawa (Meath) - Posts: 61 - 11/03/2018 18:39:11    2083502

Replying To meath1977:  "if you have to hope for results you are better off in division 3 that's all we are good for"
Will take any help that comes our way in order to avoid division 3

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 11/03/2018 18:39:31    2083505

Replying To MillerX:  "I am in agreement, we just are not at the races presently. Just a small stat, the only starting forward who has scored a goal in this campaign is Cillian O'Sullivan in first round v Roscommon. And by coincidence he is our best forward. All other goals have been scored by defenders, midfielders or subs. I have grave reservations about the quality of many of the players but the above stat might be a reflection on the management as well.

Teams like Fermanagh, Monaghan Westmeath etc can get more out of their teams that the combined talent of the players, it is called team spirit. We lack it presently."
Well yes Monaghan are doing very well. But I dont see how Fermanagh and Westmeath are doing great things. Fermanagh were relegated to divsion 3 last year. And Westmeath have spent the last few seasons in div 3 or division 4. I dont see how that is some sort of massive achievement Meath should be aiming for. Yes Westmeath got to leinster finals. But we have got to 4 leinster final to their 2 recently. And Fermanagh have reached no provicial finals recently. Monaghan yes are doing great things. Westmeath and Fermanagh nope.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 11/03/2018 18:54:16    2083514

Meath v Down, Pairc Tailteann, 3pm
Clare v Louth, Cusack Park, 3pm

Fixtures for the bottom 4 ....technically if we don't beat Down in the next match we are gone,because Louth won't beat Clare at home and that will leave Down and Clare with six points each if they win and that leaves Meath with 3 points with a game in hand...so the louth match could well be a Dolly Parton look alike competition for all i care !

Next game its all or nothing ...the way we are set up to play won't beat down.

If we but David Gallagher full forward and hoof the ball into him from 100ft away we would have a better chance of winning sadly !

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 11/03/2018 18:55:32    2083516

Replying To MeathWawa:  "I admit I was wrong. I saw meath winning today by 5/6 - will take the abuse if you want to tell me what a fool I was.
However something is badly wrong in ththe camp. Maybe MCentee has lost the dressing room. Those players are not as bad as they showing. If you believe that then we have problems.
I always believe the players are there in meath but this team is playing like one of the worse meath teams ever,
We should beat Louth and then Down will be a 50/50 game. Down have some handy forwards which worries me and we seem to be conceding very easily.
If anyone knows what the problem is let me know as we playing like a division 3 mid table team. Could not see us winning division 3 based on last 3 games"
I thought we would scrape a win today, lot of talk of how fit we are and putting everything into getting promoted. Cork were missing at least five of their championship side, so a win was to be hoped for, however as you said something is not right in current setup.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 11/03/2018 18:58:02    2083520

Replying To seadog54:  "Will take any help that comes our way in order to avoid division 3"
basically if we don't beat Louth we are gone

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 11/03/2018 19:07:08    2083526

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "I agree, today demonstrated that Reilly is our best player. He worked his socks off today and took some nice scores. Cillian o' Sullivan also stepped up to the mark in the second half.

For me the game was lost in the 10 minues before and after half time when we lost possession on nearly every kickout. Then about halfway through the second half it was as if a switch went on in the players heads and they fought like tigers for everything but Cork's movement was a lot better.

Also, our movement was very lethargic for a lot of the game, players not showing for passes and players making backward passes.

On a side note there was a really poor crowd in Navan and Cork ordinarily would be a big draw. i think a lot of supporters have given up the ghost on this Meath team."
Work commitments meant I could not go to the game today and funny enough when the fixtures came out this was the one game I was looking forward to as I thought it would show if we were improving and I had'nt seen Cork in quite a while.

In terms of the crowd I would note that the last time I saw Meath play Cork, it was down in Cork and there were less than 2,000 people there. Cork do not bring a big crowd in the league.

As I was'nt there I cannot comment on the performance but the result would suggest we are going backwards and whilst we might stay in the division with another 3 points, we have left ourselves basically needing to win our last two games to ensure safety.

I am not confident that we can do that.

I thought after the first game in Roscommon that there were signs we were going in the right direction. I thought we finished strongly playing against a strong wind and whilst disappointed that we did not hold on for the win I thought there were enough positives to give us hope. We did what we had to against Clare but since then we have struggled and its hard to pinpoint exactly what has gone awry.

I suppose trying to be optimistic if we win our last two games, maybe win the OBC if its refixed and get some momentum going and beat Longford before a game against the Dubs, then maybe the season can be rescued but its hard to see that happening at the moment.

ROYALOPTIMIST (Meath) - Posts: 179 - 11/03/2018 19:12:14    2083529

1 Cork have a team with players with loads of provincial minor and under 21 medals and 3 All Ireland winning Under 21 Titles.
Meath have a team with no underage medals whatsoever at any level
2 Tipperary have a team with players with minor All Ireland medals and were Under 21 All Ireland finalsit. The most talented underage players Tipp have ever produced
Meath have not won leinster minor title in ten years .
3 Cavan have a team full of players who won 5 consecutive Ulster titles in row. Making them most talented and sucessful underage footballers Cavan have produced in half a century.
Meath havent won an leinster under 21 title in 16 years.

Meath last 3 losees are three counties who have had massive unprecedented underage sucess. With tge exception of 2011 minors we have had no sucess. That sucess has meant those Tipp and Cavan players and even Cork players have an inner confidence from these sucesees, we dont. These young Meath players have had bad experiences at underage and senior level in the Meath jersey. It will take time to improve their mentality. it will take years not months.

Get ridding of the manager. Well we tried that before. How did go for us? . We have had 7 managers in 12 years. Changing the manager aint gonna solve any problems. It will take things worse. Keep sacking, keep declining.

And if u believe McEntee should do, If so please name this top class manager inside the county and outside county that will lead us to sucess.( And dont mention Horan or McGuiness they are not coming to Meath). Name 1 candidate, any candidate, just 1 thats all.

Also it is noticeable today that Cork looked more an Atletic team then us today. Cork are a big atletic team. We are the smallest team in the country. When we play big atletic teams like Cork Kildare or Dublin we struggle. There is very little Andy can do here. He cannot make the players grow bigger overnight . I believe then our players reach 25 26 27 they will be physically have more know how and the physique to compete better with big powerful teams. We have to be patient. And not go into over the top knee jerk meltdown when we lose.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 11/03/2018 19:15:08    2083532

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "Meath v Down, Pairc Tailteann, 3pm
Clare v Louth, Cusack Park, 3pm

Fixtures for the bottom 4 ....technically if we don't beat Down in the next match we are gone,because Louth won't beat Clare at home and that will leave Down and Clare with six points each if they win and that leaves Meath with 3 points with a game in hand...so the louth match could well be a Dolly Parton look alike competition for all i care !

Next game its all or nothing ...the way we are set up to play won't beat down.

If we but David Gallagher full forward and hoof the ball into him from 100ft away we would have a better chance of winning sadly !"
we are playing Louth next

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 11/03/2018 19:22:06    2083538

Replying To Furlong1949:  "1 Cork have a team with players with loads of provincial minor and under 21 medals and 3 All Ireland winning Under 21 Titles.
2 Tipperary have a team with players with minor All Ireland medals and were Under 21 All Ireland finalsit. The most talented underage players Tipp have ever produced
3 Cavan have a team full of players who won 5 consecutive Ulster titles in row. Making them most talented and sucessful underage footballers Cavan have produced in half a century.

Meath last 3 losees are three counties who have had massive unprecedented underage sucess. With tge exception of 2011 minors we have had no sucess. That sucess has meant those Tipp and Cavan players and even Cork players have an inner confidence from these sucesees, we dont. These young Meath players have had bad experiences at underage and senior level in the Meath jersey. It will take time to improve their mentality. it will take years not months.

Get ridding of the manager. Well we tried that before. How did go for us? . We have had 7 managers in 12 years. Changing the manager aint gonna solve any problems. It will take things worse. Keep sacking, keep declining.

And if u believe McEntee should do, If so please name this top class manager inside the county and outside county that will lead us to sucess.( And dont mention Horan or McGuiness they are not coming to Meath). Name 1 candidate, any candidate, just 1 thats all.

Also it is noticeable today that Cork looked more an Atletic team then us today. Cork are a big atletic team. We are the smallest team in the country. When we play big atletic teams like Cork Kildare or Dublin we struggle. There is very little Andy can do here. He cannot make the players grow bigger overnight . I believe then our players reach 25 26 27 they will be physically have more know how and the physique to compete better with big powerful teams. We have to be patient. And not go into over the top knee jerk meltdown when we lose."
Andy has brought us back... if this was Mick o he would be slated

In_da_ditch (UK) - Posts: 165 - 11/03/2018 19:26:13    2083542

Replying To meath1977:  "why should Tobin bother when no matter what the mcentees do they start and if you were at the last two games before today both mcentees were bad, two many players not making themselves available who is that down to Mr Andy. if this was Micko you would be jumping up and down"
I was at both games and Shane was good in both of them. Anyone can say that who saw last two matches. Btw who is better than him on panel ? Conlon?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/03/2018 19:29:39    2083544

Wouldn't excuse the performance but might explain the changes before game but someone mentioned to me before game that a virus had gone round panel during week. Can't say if true and is not an excuse for result.

leftandwide (Meath) - Posts: 91 - 11/03/2018 19:30:02    2083546

Replying To MeathWawa:  "I admit I was wrong. I saw meath winning today by 5/6 - will take the abuse if you want to tell me what a fool I was.
If anyone knows what the problem is let me know as we playing like a division 3 mid table team. Could not see us winning division 3 based on last 3 games"
Fair play to ye, I was only slagging.

What's wrong? Well, imo, think of the gk position. Go back to start of this management and then trace all the decisions that have led us to now having 40 year David Gallagher in goals (doesn't play gk for dunboyne and hasn't for many years). How many Gk are there in Meath? And how many were disillusioned when Joe Sheridan was picked as the no.16 and now have no interest.

Now take this situation, it's logic and it's consequences and multiply it by numerous positions across the field.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 11/03/2018 19:31:46    2083549

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Well yes Monaghan are doing very well. But I dont see how Fermanagh and Westmeath are doing great things. Fermanagh were relegated to divsion 3 last year. And Westmeath have spent the last few seasons in div 3 or division 4. I dont see how that is some sort of massive achievement Meath should be aiming for. Yes Westmeath got to leinster finals. But we have got to 4 leinster final to their 2 recently. And Fermanagh have reached no provicial finals recently. Monaghan yes are doing great things. Westmeath and Fermanagh nope."
Listen here when we lost to Westmeath and they got hockeyed by Dublin next time out Fermanagh gave Dublin a game, they were not going to win it but 'they died with their boots on'. Remember Sean Quigley!!! Fermanagh have only about 18 clubs in total. Westmeath have the Indian sign on us in underage and club fare over the last few years.

Time to get our underage house in order. The great men of the past can only inspire our youth. The people who will actually dig us out now are the youth and those charged with mentoring them.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1063 - 11/03/2018 19:32:39    2083553

Replying To Furlong1949:  "1 Cork have a team with players with loads of provincial minor and under 21 medals and 3 All Ireland winning Under 21 Titles.

Also it is noticeable today that Cork looked more an Atletic team then us today. Cork are a big atletic team. We are the smallest team in the country. When we play big atletic teams like Cork Kildare or Dublin we struggle. There is very little Andy can do here. He cannot make the players grow bigger overnight . I believe then our players reach 25 26 27 they will be physically have more know how and the physique to compete better with big powerful teams. We have to be patient. And not go into over the top knee jerk meltdown when we lose."
We had powerful players in the 25-28 bracket but they weren't given the respect they deserved and left the panel. Now we have to wait another 5/6 years just like we did when Cian Ward, Brian Farrell and Peadar Byrne were jettisoned in their late 20s to make way for the Wallaces and Dalton McDonagh. That worked out well, didn't it?

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 11/03/2018 19:36:53    2083558

Replying To meath1977:  "very true about the crowd but can you blame them"
No I cant blame them, felt like not going myself.

I daren't think about how many will go to Drogheda.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 11/03/2018 19:38:10    2083559

Replying To royaldunne:  "I was at both games and Shane was good in both of them. Anyone can say that who saw last two matches. Btw who is better than him on panel ? Conlon?"
for example Adam Flanagan had one bad game and he has not seen any action since not much good for the future as he is the future

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 11/03/2018 19:39:29    2083561

Id agree furlong re the manager. If the players arent there what can be done?

If the players are not or cannot compete at u16 minor and 20's its futile to expect them to produce the goods when they turn senior.

In Kildare we have put and emphasis on developing our underage structures and this is slowly begining to pay off.

Meath really need to do the same. Thats where things need to change. It'll take 10 years.

Andy McEntee cannot make a silk purse from a sows ear.

We havent won yet in div1 and will be relegated. We have given Tyrone Monaghan and Donegal a real rattle. But lads i wouldnt take 1 Meath player at the moment.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 11/03/2018 19:40:09    2083562