Meath V Cork

Replying To Crinigan:  "You're definitely onto something there.

We were flying up until the Kildare championship match last year. Ok, we had defeats v Kildare and Down in league but we beat the likes of Galway away and gave a good Clare team a trimming when the pressure was on.

But management have totally changed our approach since that Kildare game and I think its been to the great detriment of the team. We lost to Kildare for three reasons : 1) the warm up for 45 minutes in the heat was frankly ridiculous and the players were jacked before the game even started. 2) we had no plan off attack to combat Kildare's defensive system and they just waited for us to run down blind alleys and stripped us time after time (just like Cavan and Tipp in past two weekends) and 3) management got their matchups in defense totally wrong against Kildare.

We should have honed what was working for us in the league instead of ripping up the playbook and bringing us to what we have now - a system that nobody can make head nor tail of and where the players play like they are playing a handpassing drill with no goalposts in training."
I thought Andys system of play last year during the league was excellent ! It had real promise ! All he had to do was perfect it..

Galway actually plays Andy last year system now...they most have learned a lot from last years loss .

live and learn

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 27/02/2018 17:20:00    2081010

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "I thought Andys system of play last year during the league was excellent ! It had real promise ! All he had to do was perfect it..

Galway actually plays Andy last year system now...they most have learned a lot from last years loss .

live and learn"
What was that System

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 27/02/2018 17:54:14    2081023

Replying To MeathWawa:  "Thanks for the positivity RoyalDunne. Am a positive supporter myself.

There are negative meath supporters who seems to want us to lose so they can talk crap behind a keyboard . As well as that we have impostors form Louth, Cavan and Dublin talking the talk not that we ever should listen to them"
Agreed, look I am up for a debate as much as the next person, has Andy mcenetee got everything right? Absolutely not, he has made some bizarre decisions tbh, I'll give two prime examples, the 50 min warm up on hottest day of year in tullamore was crazy. Taking off Tobin last Saturday on the belief he was injured, (I have no doubt he thought he was protecting him) but upon seeing at ht he was ok, he should have put him back on.
That been said every manager makes mistakes sean made a fair few in his time.
Andy is the best available and he needs to be assured that not only will he be Meath manager next year but following one as well, there is no quick fixes to our problem, we have a extremely young team, one that will make errors, but we have basically had to tear down and start again last year. So while I will always be optimistic at every game, I am been realistic too. It will take time , but management must be given that time, it was 1986 before we won Leinster under sean. All good things take time. Andy will make mistakes in future but once he learns from them is all that matter

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/02/2018 18:33:45    2081039

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Yeah in Fairness I have to agree with this ! Only other player would be Tobin and I know for a fact he was in the same boat as Paddy and had enough ! The rest was out of Andy's Hands ! Newman not sure if he left himself or was dropped! I honestly don't know how the lads work/Study and still play county football! They do more than any professional player! All credit to them"
Well you are right, the player I was referring to was Tobin, who while having similar issues as por. Had the decency and decorum to keep away from media (even though por mentioned him in article) ,
As for the rest ? Totally out of andys hands

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/02/2018 18:41:39    2081043

Replying To Footnote:  "as there is not a snowballs chance in hell ( Forgive the pun)of meath/cork going ahead, i assume its ok to continue on about panel, I think this craic about the best players not making themselves available this year has to held up to account, Could some one pls tell me WHO these players are? Daire Rowe is one player was asked and decided not to join panel. He had health problems last year and is also at college. im sure hell be seen in a meath jersey soon, but he is a young lad with potential just like number of the current squad. Donnacha tobin did walk away, but he probably suffered from the utility tag and maybe wasn't given a fair chance but is he a better standard than what they have, maybe/maybe not. Michael Newman to the best of my knowledge has injury problems and look i'm struggling to name more that are not away etc. That's not saying that there are not some others but no really obvious ones. It reminds of an old saying " when your not playing you become a much better player" Maybe we could have a conversation about the way the current structure of the club championship is not helpful in raising the standard but the current squad are not bad and again I would hope that maybe they could be encouraged to play without the fear of making a mistake. I absolutely believe that this management team is the right one at this point in time - but pls stop defending the taking off of Sean Tobin, it was wrong whichever way you spin it, but mistakes are made and you move on - I think we are on the right road and it may well be a long road but we've had great days following meath and you never know , we might have the odd good one again. Either way i'm sure we'll all be there supporting them because its what we do!!"
All I want to know is like you who are these players too?? What you mention is absolutely correct, I don't know of any others.
And btw I agree about Tobin, what I was trying to say if I didn't make it quite clear was management thought he was injured so took him off, fair enough, however at ht when they must have realised they made a mistake, why not put him back on??? That is what they (Andy) has to answer, I've no problem taking off a player if you believe he is carrying a knock, what I have a problem with is when you realise, oh got that wrong why not rectify it?? That's only issue I have.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/02/2018 18:48:38    2081047

Replying To Reco:  "What will the team b this week I say he wait to see who comes to training this week.we are struggling with confidence need someone to get these lads up for task at hand."
Wait see who turns up? Oh this was put out before by one of 'our" supporters. So lads not turning up to training now?? Name them.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/02/2018 18:50:34    2081049

Replying To grahamc9897:  "What was that System"
percolating system :)

It was a balanced expansive game ...we didn't have everyone back to a ultra defensive ...were last year it was more balance in committing numbers forward and back ,were we positioned our selves for the turnover ball and counter attack...were as we commit everyone to defend rather than counter now ..so in return by not countering direct we don't move direct as we did last year but a lateral laborious game type were it seems players are shackled in hitting a 30 meter foot pass ,its more now safety cautious game type risk free with no creativity ...a slow work ethic into a scoring position ! Down side it's just not working !

But look that's just my opinion

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 27/02/2018 18:53:01    2081053

Replying To Royalblufill:  "Indeed! A great performance and another county that must be doing something right in their structures - I know you have had some good under age success so it would be interesting to get your view on what has worked for you? Or is it just McStay??"
So if you gabby with mcstay in Roscommon then you must be delighted with and here? As we should have beat them but still drew wit them in hyde

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/02/2018 19:01:51    2081055

Replying To royaldunne:  "Wait see who turns up? Oh this was put out before by one of 'our" supporters. So lads not turning up to training now?? Name them."
Your a great man for the naming them statement the team I witnessed last sat night were deflated beaten no confidence and very unprepared for any resemblance of playing a team the totally opposite.well coached organised with a pep in there step.
Why did he not name his team before game that is the question you should look to find answer to.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 27/02/2018 20:02:10    2081075

Replying To Reco:  "Your a great man for the naming them statement the team I witnessed last sat night were deflated beaten no confidence and very unprepared for any resemblance of playing a team the totally opposite.well coached organised with a pep in there step.
Why did he not name his team before game that is the question you should look to find answer to."
You still haven't named them reco

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 27/02/2018 21:10:22    2081092

At present, we seem to be relying on runners from deep, running at pace and linking up. Sometimes we aren't doing that, but that's the general idea.
That's fine, but you surely have to have a focal point or two inside. Then mix it up depending on how the game is going at certain points. Personally if fit and available, I would play McKeever and Lenihan inside, and tell them not to come deep(unless their man moves up the field when opposition have the ball), so we have options to play a ball inside to the two lads and an option for a running game. It surely doesn't have to be one or the other?
We have lads who can move with pace from deep and gets scores like Biggy, Wally and O Sullivan and indeed Menton from midfield. But many of our kick passes go astray because there is a hesitancy which is understandable when there are no options inside. When we played Derry for example in the league last year, look at the difference it made when Brian Sheridan was inside. McKeever and Lenihan can do that job, and are better players.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 27/02/2018 21:20:49    2081093

Replying To Reco:  "Your a great man for the naming them statement the team I witnessed last sat night were deflated beaten no confidence and very unprepared for any resemblance of playing a team the totally opposite.well coached organised with a pep in there step.
Why did he not name his team before game that is the question you should look to find answer to."
Still waiting on these names. When are you going to post them?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/02/2018 21:41:32    2081102

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "You still haven't named them reco"
Nor will he. Cause only place they not turning up is in his imagination.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/02/2018 21:45:09    2081107

Replying To royaldunne:  "Nor will he. Cause only place they not turning up is in his imagination."
Royaldunne your worse for getting involved in that conversation.. Think you need to ignore it !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 27/02/2018 21:58:16    2081112

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Royaldunne your worse for getting involved in that conversation.. Think you need to ignore it !"
I just hate these blatant lies to try to create uncertainty around team and management. As a Meath man it makes me sick. And I call it out for what it is. Bs.
Now maybe I should just ignore it. I don't know.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 27/02/2018 22:26:52    2081125

Replying To royaldunne:  "I just hate these blatant lies to try to create uncertainty around team and management. As a Meath man it makes me sick. And I call it out for what it is. Bs.
Now maybe I should just ignore it. I don't know."
Its obviously lies..Just trying to wind you up!

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 27/02/2018 22:37:09    2081128

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Its obviously lies..Just trying to wind you up!"
Exactly pure wind up merchant. Resisting myself taking the bait. I met team as i stated previously in the hotel we ate in after game and i can say that the lads were no means not positive! Bit forlorned but to be expected. Attitude was positive for the Cork game. I didnt pick up any bad vibes or attitudes that fellas didnt care and hadnt any intentions of not even going to training. So we should just ignore this fool.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 28/02/2018 00:25:09    2081143

i'm reliably informed that there was a full attendance at training last night , including all those not on match day panel. god we have enough outsiders having a go at meath at the minute, without our own turning on them !!!!

Footnote (Meath) - Posts: 66 - 28/02/2018 08:53:46    2081157

Replying To royaldunne:  "Nor will he. Cause only place they not turning up is in his imagination."
Firstly where did I specify names or individuals. But my source reliably informed me Sean Tobin Liam Ferguson mcabe simonstown not returning treated badly so where will it stop.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 28/02/2018 12:22:23    2081200

Replying To Reco:  "Firstly where did I specify names or individuals. But my source reliably informed me Sean Tobin Liam Ferguson mcabe simonstown not returning treated badly so where will it stop."
Grand so are you saying they left the panel? Find it very hard to believe Sean Tobin has left because of an error made on Saturday. I dont think your sources are as reliable as you may think they are seen as everyone turned up for training last night?

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 28/02/2018 12:59:11    2081207