Meath V Cork

Replying To royaldunne:  "So leave on a injured player? And get rid of a manager just into second season? How has that worked out for us since sean left?? Thank god you opinion is very very much in minority view"
In fairness RD Tobin wasnt injured when he was taken off and he should not have been subbed. It was a crazy decision Andy made maybe he thought he was injured but he should have known he wasnt. Andy is the man for us but its got to have an effect on the lads how they are been played & i do feel hes making some silly decisions he needs to sort that out but the answer definetly is not to get rid of him.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 26/02/2018 23:55:56    2080806

Replying To royaldunne:  "Who are the players though? Nash is gone, jones was always going, Harnan is studying , por well we all read what he thinks and actually with that attitude I wouldn't let him within a asses roar of a team, . I can only think of one who felt commitments were too much, again he didn't have a problem with management, just didn't want Meath to take up 9 month of his year."
POR doesnt deserve to wear the jersey. He obviously has no pride in his county and zero respect for team mates & if he wants to go out firing scores left right & centre with Skyrne proving a point that hes great out field leave him to it.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 27/02/2018 00:01:55    2080807

Replying To royaldunne:  "Haha. It actually is a compliment, very few of them are genuine Meath fans. I found that out when I once posted the following.
(Best wishes to management and players today, hopefully a good crowd and a Meath win. )
That was all I posted. I noticed it got 6 thumbs down. We have been infiltrated by a few people pretending to be from county but not, there posts are pretty generic, unless we get beat then it's this that and the other, and usually a little tip of hat to their native county.
Anyway as I said the more thumbs down I get the more I like it, I know I'm p...ing them off , so it cheers me up no end , particularly after the last two games."
Thanks for the positivity RoyalDunne. Am a positive supporter myself.

There are negative meath supporters who seems to want us to lose so they can talk crap behind a keyboard . As well as that we have impostors form Louth, Cavan and Dublin talking the talk not that we ever should listen to them

MeathWawa (Meath) - Posts: 61 - 27/02/2018 04:00:52    2080819

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Yeah in Fairness I have to agree with this ! Only other player would be Tobin and I know for a fact he was in the same boat as Paddy and had enough ! The rest was out of Andy's Hands ! Newman not sure if he left himself or was dropped! I honestly don't know how the lads work/Study and still play county football! They do more than any professional player! All credit to them"
as there is not a snowballs chance in hell ( Forgive the pun)of meath/cork going ahead, i assume its ok to continue on about panel, I think this craic about the best players not making themselves available this year has to held up to account, Could some one pls tell me WHO these players are? Daire Rowe is one player was asked and decided not to join panel. He had health problems last year and is also at college. im sure hell be seen in a meath jersey soon, but he is a young lad with potential just like number of the current squad. Donnacha tobin did walk away, but he probably suffered from the utility tag and maybe wasn't given a fair chance but is he a better standard than what they have, maybe/maybe not. Michael Newman to the best of my knowledge has injury problems and look i'm struggling to name more that are not away etc. That's not saying that there are not some others but no really obvious ones. It reminds of an old saying " when your not playing you become a much better player" Maybe we could have a conversation about the way the current structure of the club championship is not helpful in raising the standard but the current squad are not bad and again I would hope that maybe they could be encouraged to play without the fear of making a mistake. I absolutely believe that this management team is the right one at this point in time - but pls stop defending the taking off of Sean Tobin, it was wrong whichever way you spin it, but mistakes are made and you move on - I think we are on the right road and it may well be a long road but we've had great days following meath and you never know , we might have the odd good one again. Either way i'm sure we'll all be there supporting them because its what we do!!

Footnote (Meath) - Posts: 66 - 27/02/2018 09:37:35    2080839

What will the team b this week I say he wait to see who comes to training this week.we are struggling with confidence need someone to get these lads up for task at hand.

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 27/02/2018 11:00:34    2080862

Replying To Reco:  "What will the team b this week I say he wait to see who comes to training this week.we are struggling with confidence need someone to get these lads up for task at hand."
Why would he wait to see who turns up for training??

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 27/02/2018 12:57:08    2080905

Replying To ClonardGael:  "I see your point but is it not also the case that a sojourn in Division One would ultimately mean a vast improvement in the type of football we would need to produce to have any chance of survival? We have become too accustomed to the mediocrity of Division 2 and therefore despite a welcome change in management we have failed to deliver. The tide is changing in relation to the disgusting tactic that is the blanket defence. We have the right kind of footballers to play an attacking game and I agree with anyone in this forum who maintain the shackles should be taken off our players and for god's sake just let them play!"
Yep - I would agree with that - let the lads play and let us see how good they are! I am not sure you could describe Division 2 as mediocre - it is way ahead of Division 3 and obviously Division 4. At this stage staying in 2 is an absolute must! I think for a Division 2 team to do well in Division 1 they should be winning games comfortably in Division2. Galway have done a great job in Division 1 but as Connacht champions for the past 2 years it is probably not surprising!

I can't help feel there is something not quiet right somewhere. I am a big fan of Andy McEntee and still think he is the right man for the job. But when I look at Tyrone and Monaghan in partiular you would wonder why we can't compete with these teams!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 473 - 27/02/2018 13:14:23    2080914

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Why would he wait to see who turns up for training??"
Ahh shar injuries ,exams ,disillusioned etc

Reco (Meath) - Posts: 419 - 27/02/2018 13:56:05    2080927

Here are some stats:

16 out of last year's panel of 39 were not named on this year's panel - that's 41%. Huge percentage to lose from the panel.

19 out of this year's panel of 41 were not involved last year - over 46%. So almost half of this year's panel are having their first experience of senior inter-county football and have had just a few months to get up to speed with current management.

I think the above explains a lot. The question that has to be answered is why has this happened? Injuries, retirements, form, exams, work commitments etc. do not explain the huge turnover in players. If a company had that rate of turnover in its workforce, it would be in serious bother.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 27/02/2018 14:06:05    2080934

Replying To Royalblufill:  "Yep - I would agree with that - let the lads play and let us see how good they are! I am not sure you could describe Division 2 as mediocre - it is way ahead of Division 3 and obviously Division 4. At this stage staying in 2 is an absolute must! I think for a Division 2 team to do well in Division 1 they should be winning games comfortably in Division2. Galway have done a great job in Division 1 but as Connacht champions for the past 2 years it is probably not surprising!

I can't help feel there is something not quiet right somewhere. I am a big fan of Andy McEntee and still think he is the right man for the job. But when I look at Tyrone and Monaghan in partiular you would wonder why we can't compete with these teams!"
Galway are not connacht champions last two years. You obviously missed it bit we hammered them by 9 points in last year final

Cuckoosinging (Roscommon) - Posts: 992 - 27/02/2018 14:32:31    2080940

Replying To gwanyagudthing:  "Here are some stats:

16 out of last year's panel of 39 were not named on this year's panel - that's 41%. Huge percentage to lose from the panel.

19 out of this year's panel of 41 were not involved last year - over 46%. So almost half of this year's panel are having their first experience of senior inter-county football and have had just a few months to get up to speed with current management.

I think the above explains a lot. The question that has to be answered is why has this happened? Injuries, retirements, form, exams, work commitments etc. do not explain the huge turnover in players. If a company had that rate of turnover in its workforce, it would be in serious bother."
Most of the 16 were sitting in the stands for most of the year! O'Byrne cup players they were ! Only 3/4 starters are gone..Loads of them not good enough and were dropped! To be honest plenty of them this year shouldn't be there either ! Some haven't been in the panel since the O'Byrne cup ! Panel is far to big at 41..No need for it ! 30 -33 would be plenty

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 27/02/2018 14:54:16    2080949

Replying To Cuckoosinging:  "Galway are not connacht champions last two years. You obviously missed it bit we hammered them by 9 points in last year final"
Indeed! A great performance and another county that must be doing something right in their structures - I know you have had some good under age success so it would be interesting to get your view on what has worked for you? Or is it just McStay??

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 473 - 27/02/2018 15:07:10    2080953

Replying To gwanyagudthing:  "Here are some stats:

I think the above explains a lot. The question that has to be answered is why has this happened? Injuries, retirements, form, exams, work commitments etc. do not explain the huge turnover in players. If a company had that rate of turnover in its workforce, it would be in serious bother."
They are very interesting stats and worth a closer look! Who are the guys that have gone of the panel and why?

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 473 - 27/02/2018 15:09:19    2080954

Andy tactically did play a more expansive game of football this time last year..he beat what now looks like a very good Galway side, that said he did have a work horse in defence who cover a lot of ground ..he put in the big hits..got turn over ball that he turned into attack ..relentlessly work his socks of until he got injured (Alan forde)

But after the kildare game Andy retreated into his shell and went more defensive ...were as he should have kept playing his expansive game until he perfected it !

The footballers he has to disposal right now are very average in carrying out a defensive game type...were as expansive game type the players are very good at playing this game type !

We can talk about Andy doesn't have the player...or we could talk about Andy doesn't have the game type to suit the players !

If he wants a defensive game type why isn't Donnacha tobin on the panel ...horses for race courses and all that

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 27/02/2018 15:43:59    2080972

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "Andy tactically did play a more expansive game of football this time last year..he beat what now looks like a very good Galway side, that said he did have a work horse in defence who cover a lot of ground ..he put in the big hits..got turn over ball that he turned into attack ..relentlessly work his socks of until he got injured (Alan forde)

But after the kildare game Andy retreated into his shell and went more defensive ...were as he should have kept playing his expansive game until he perfected it !

The footballers he has to disposal right now are very average in carrying out a defensive game type...were as expansive game type the players are very good at playing this game type !

We can talk about Andy doesn't have the player...or we could talk about Andy doesn't have the game type to suit the players !

If he wants a defensive game type why isn't Donnacha tobin on the panel ...horses for race courses and all that"
Donnacha Tobin left the panel, and no harm to him but I dont think that would have made much of a difference to where we are now.
Agree that we do not seem able to pay the containing game that we seem to be trying to. We are far to easy to score against, they last couple of weeks show numerous examples of us getting loads of players back in a defensive area but only marking space. we are allowing forwards 6 or 7 yards of space allowing team to turn and kick scores easily. I personally think that when numbers are back, players tend to switch off. I'm not saying that we should go all gung ho on it but we seem very unsure as to what we are doing.

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 27/02/2018 16:09:35    2080979

Replying To Royalblufill:  "They are very interesting stats and worth a closer look! Who are the guys that have gone of the panel and why?"
1. Paddy O'Rourke
2. Mickey Newman
3. Dan Queeney
4. Ronan Jones
5. Bobby O'Brien
6. David McQullan
7. Donncha Tobin
8. Willie Carry
9. Seamus Mattimoe
10. Jack Hannigan
11. Padraic Harnan
12. Conor Downey
13. Joe Sheridan
14. Ruairi O'Coilean
15. James Toher
16. Kevin Ross

Plenty of panel/OBC guys there but also 7/8 that would have been involved in the league this year if they stayed on the panel.

gwanyagudthing (Meath) - Posts: 88 - 27/02/2018 16:17:59    2080983

Replying To gwanyagudthing:  "1. Paddy O'Rourke
2. Mickey Newman
3. Dan Queeney
4. Ronan Jones
5. Bobby O'Brien
6. David McQullan
7. Donncha Tobin
8. Willie Carry
9. Seamus Mattimoe
10. Jack Hannigan
11. Padraic Harnan
12. Conor Downey
13. Joe Sheridan
14. Ruairi O'Coilean
15. James Toher
16. Kevin Ross

Plenty of panel/OBC guys there but also 7/8 that would have been involved in the league this year if they stayed on the panel."
You Forgot Brian Sheridan..

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 27/02/2018 16:39:36    2080987

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "Andy tactically did play a more expansive game of football this time last year..he beat what now looks like a very good Galway side, that said he did have a work horse in defence who cover a lot of ground ..he put in the big hits..got turn over ball that he turned into attack ..relentlessly work his socks of until he got injured (Alan forde)

If he wants a defensive game type why isn't Donnacha tobin on the panel ...horses for race courses and all that"
You're definitely onto something there.

We were flying up until the Kildare championship match last year. Ok, we had defeats v Kildare and Down in league but we beat the likes of Galway away and gave a good Clare team a trimming when the pressure was on.

But management have totally changed our approach since that Kildare game and I think its been to the great detriment of the team. We lost to Kildare for three reasons : 1) the warm up for 45 minutes in the heat was frankly ridiculous and the players were jacked before the game even started. 2) we had no plan off attack to combat Kildare's defensive system and they just waited for us to run down blind alleys and stripped us time after time (just like Cavan and Tipp in past two weekends) and 3) management got their matchups in defense totally wrong against Kildare.

We should have honed what was working for us in the league instead of ripping up the playbook and bringing us to what we have now - a system that nobody can make head nor tail of and where the players play like they are playing a handpassing drill with no goalposts in training.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 27/02/2018 16:41:45    2080989

Replying To gwanyagudthing:  "1. Paddy O'Rourke
2. Mickey Newman
3. Dan Queeney
4. Ronan Jones
5. Bobby O'Brien
6. David McQullan
7. Donncha Tobin
8. Willie Carry
9. Seamus Mattimoe
10. Jack Hannigan
11. Padraic Harnan
12. Conor Downey
13. Joe Sheridan
14. Ruairi O'Coilean
15. James Toher
16. Kevin Ross

Plenty of panel/OBC guys there but also 7/8 that would have been involved in the league this year if they stayed on the panel."
Add Fiachra Ward, Sean Curran, Cian O Brien (injured or where is he?), Andrew Tormey, Alan Douglas, Nicky Judge, D Smyth and J Reilly.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 27/02/2018 16:50:15    2080993

Replying To longroadback:  "Donnacha Tobin left the panel, and no harm to him but I dont think that would have made much of a difference to where we are now.
Agree that we do not seem able to pay the containing game that we seem to be trying to. We are far to easy to score against, they last couple of weeks show numerous examples of us getting loads of players back in a defensive area but only marking space. we are allowing forwards 6 or 7 yards of space allowing team to turn and kick scores easily. I personally think that when numbers are back, players tend to switch off. I'm not saying that we should go all gung ho on it but we seem very unsure as to what we are doing."
Personally as a player i would turn off to if i had to play that kind of football !

We have very good underage footballers coming through ...the truth is they are not going to implement this defensive game type or going to make things better !

Take Tipperary last Saturday for example ....excellent forwards, Put does excellent Tipperary forwards in a Meath jersey they are going to look average under the same defensive game type

But we can't play like Dublin because we don't have the players everybody keeps sayings !...but i have some really bad news also we don't have the footballers for defensive football either ...so why we keep playing it ?

i have no problem going gung ho....its better than wearing a skirt :)

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 875 - 27/02/2018 17:03:38    2081002