Meath V Cork

We can't dwell on what has happened in two previous games, calls for this that or the other won't help, we need a huge crowd in navan. Promotion is unfortunately gone, but we must end run in on a strong note going into championship,
They will have two weeks to iron out what has gone wrong (as if half of what is forecast comes no games will be played next Sunday)
Full faith in Andy the sideline and the players to put this right.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/02/2018 14:17:37    2079987

Replying To royaldunne:  "We can't dwell on what has happened in two previous games, calls for this that or the other won't help, we need a huge crowd in navan. Promotion is unfortunately gone, but we must end run in on a strong note going into championship,
They will have two weeks to iron out what has gone wrong (as if half of what is forecast comes no games will be played next Sunday)
Hon the royal"
Agreed RD. Cork are pretty hapless at present and certainly won't fancy a trip to Navan. I'm hoping confidence is low down south and we put in a performance that merits the work being g out in behind closed doors.

ClonardGael (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 25/02/2018 16:03:20    2080018

Replying To ClonardGael:  "Agreed RD. Cork are pretty hapless at present and certainly won't fancy a trip to Navan. I'm hoping confidence is low down south and we put in a performance that merits the work being g out in behind closed doors."
Exactly. Both counties are in similar positions, we must refocus. No excuses.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/02/2018 17:05:37    2080066

Replying To royaldunne:  "We can't dwell on what has happened in two previous games, calls for this that or the other won't help, we need a huge crowd in navan. Promotion is unfortunately gone, but we must end run in on a strong note going into championship,
Hon the royal"
we are well able to win the next three games we must start believing in ourselves again but the way the weather is looking the game may not be on next weekend

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 25/02/2018 17:13:28    2080074

Replying To meath1977:  "we are well able to win the next three games we must start believing in ourselves again but the way the weather is looking the game may not be on next weekend"
Can't see any ball kicked in anger next weekend to be honest, maybe out west, but with day time temps not to go above 0 during day, regardless of how much snow falls, nobody can play on a frozen pitch.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/02/2018 17:29:23    2080097

Replying To meath1977:  "we are well able to win the next three games we must start believing in ourselves again but the way the weather is looking the game may not be on next weekend"
Know its starting to look doubtful but hopefully the match against Cork goes ahead. A delay will mean we may face a much stronger side when game is played.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2142 - 25/02/2018 17:53:20    2080117

Replying To seadog54:  "Know its starting to look doubtful but hopefully the match against Cork goes ahead. A delay will mean we may face a much stronger side when game is played."
that's a good point their club lads will be back after paddys day

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 25/02/2018 17:58:46    2080119

Fair play to those of ye who can be positive, no point in blaming mcEntee or anyone else,, we need to smell the reality here we are fighting to stay in this division and its been that way from the start ,,

otherlad (Meath) - Posts: 137 - 25/02/2018 18:12:14    2080131

Fair play to those of ye who can be positive, no point in blaming mcEntee or anyone else,, we need to smell the reality here we are fighting to stay in this division and its been that way from the start ,,

otherlad (Meath) - Posts: 137 - 25/02/2018 18:12:20    2080132

If we could win our remaining games things would look a little brighter again. Yes promotion is certainly gone and we need to accept that were no where near ready for it yet. From what I've seen of the last two games there's nothing to suggest we will win our remaining matches. In fact we look more likely to lose them but cork are not in a great place themselves and if we could get a win it would give the team a boost we desperately need after the last two games.

Royalace (Meath) - Posts: 121 - 25/02/2018 20:50:33    2080223

I was really hopeful about this year.. I thought Andy did a fine job with the squad he picked after losing a couple of players but its been a terrible 2 games. When are Meath going to learn to play away from home its becoming a serious problem! There's also q
A lot of chopping and changing which is never the best sign..

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 25/02/2018 23:05:14    2080279

Navan is a fantastic playing surface so I think there's a decent chance of it going ahead as long as the snow melts by then.
Huge game whenever it's played. My guess is whomever is beaten here will go down. Cork are is disarray at the moment, likley saying the same about Meath. Andy sounded like a beaten man on LMFM after the game. Exasperated answers and at a loss to explain why we were so bad, worrying, if not surprising.
Hopefully a decent sized crowd in Navan will make the difference.

Sidenote why all the tumbsdown for royaldunne? Alot of his posts seem pretty non confrontational but get a negative reaction. Seems a little unnecessary.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 26/02/2018 01:35:20    2080308

When are Meath going to learn to play away from home ? When are Meath going to learn to play full stop !! This is no better than the mick o dowd era ,if ur going to play with six forwards then at least demand that at least 4 of them play as forwards and when going forward we might have someone to kick it into.id sooner be bet every weekend trying to play football than the type of crap Andy has them trying to play .sideways back ways sideways backways ,no ambition whatsoever then Rd comes on here defending Andy mcentee?? Cop on he is ruining good young players trying to play what is alien to them . How he could take off Sean Tobin last Saturday night the one lad who actually stayed forward and done what a forward is meant to do is undefendable. How you can defend this type of crap RD week in week out is beyond me especially someone who says he has followed Meath as long as he has !!!

royalwarrior (Meath) - Posts: 33 - 26/02/2018 09:48:16    2080345

Not as bad as we have looked the last two games. Unfortunately it has cost us promotion. I see us winning the next 3 games

Meathmen (Meath) - Posts: 73 - 26/02/2018 10:53:12    2080377

Replying To royalwarrior:  "When are Meath going to learn to play away from home ? When are Meath going to learn to play full stop !! This is no better than the mick o dowd era ,if ur going to play with six forwards then at least demand that at least 4 of them play as forwards and when going forward we might have someone to kick it into.id sooner be bet every weekend trying to play football than the type of crap Andy has them trying to play .sideways back ways sideways backways ,no ambition whatsoever then Rd comes on here defending Andy mcentee?? Cop on he is ruining good young players trying to play what is alien to them . How he could take off Sean Tobin last Saturday night the one lad who actually stayed forward and done what a forward is meant to do is undefendable. How you can defend this type of crap RD week in week out is beyond me especially someone who says he has followed Meath as long as he has !!!"
McEntee said Tobin went down injured twice and wasn't entertaining any confusion, so the reason he was taking off was because he was injured..
As for your other comments, yes let's get rid of a manager only barely into a second season, taking a group of players who were at a low level from the past number of years. It's unlikely there is a better manager in the county. Has he get everything right? No, but he needs to stay here for a few years at least. The last thing we need now is to chop and change managers, because that won't achieve a thing.
I also agree with Ritchie's exellent post.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 26/02/2018 10:54:25    2080379

Replying To royalwarrior:  "When are Meath going to learn to play away from home ? When are Meath going to learn to play full stop !! This is no better than the mick o dowd era ,if ur going to play with six forwards then at least demand that at least 4 of them play as forwards and when going forward we might have someone to kick it into.id sooner be bet every weekend trying to play football than the type of crap Andy has them trying to play .sideways back ways sideways backways ,no ambition whatsoever then Rd comes on here defending Andy mcentee?? Cop on he is ruining good young players trying to play what is alien to them . How he could take off Sean Tobin last Saturday night the one lad who actually stayed forward and done what a forward is meant to do is undefendable. How you can defend this type of crap RD week in week out is beyond me especially someone who says he has followed Meath as long as he has !!!"
Very interested so see a response to this..While I am a fan of Mcentee I agree with a lot of Royal warrior's points.If this was under Mick O`Dowd Royaldunne you wouldn't be happy what so ever ! Now I don't want to see Andy going any where because I do think he's the man to get us out of division 2 but its not good at the minute..not good at all..Meath cannot win away from Navan in the crunch games.. They just seem to have a mental block ! Big match next but because its in Navan I expect us to win it but its going to be a struggle! We need a response and the lads to show their abilities because they can do it . I know they can

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 26/02/2018 11:13:03    2080399

Replying To ziggy320001:  "McEntee said Tobin went down injured twice and wasn't entertaining any confusion, so the reason he was taking off was because he was injured..
As for your other comments, yes let's get rid of a manager only barely into a second season, taking a group of players who were at a low level from the past number of years. It's unlikely there is a better manager in the county. Has he get everything right? No, but he needs to stay here for a few years at least. The last thing we need now is to chop and change managers, because that won't achieve a thing.
I also agree with Ritchie's exellent post."
Andy McEntee may have though Tobin was injured but in fact he was not.He was fine when taken off.
I think its just ridiculous this silly carry on, campaign to get rid of McEntee. Give the man a chance, my god we were an utter mess before he came on the scene. Some might argue we haven't gotten any better but people must remember this is a new team with alot of in-experienced lads. We need to keep Andy here, i don't believe there is another man in the county that can manage us...maybe im wrong!!

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 26/02/2018 11:49:54    2080414

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Andy McEntee may have though Tobin was injured but in fact he was not.He was fine when taken off.
I think its just ridiculous this silly carry on, campaign to get rid of McEntee. Give the man a chance, my god we were an utter mess before he came on the scene. Some might argue we haven't gotten any better but people must remember this is a new team with alot of in-experienced lads. We need to keep Andy here, i don't believe there is another man in the county that can manage us...maybe im wrong!!"
So Andy thought Sean Tobin was injured even though he wasn't, what does that say. I have been saying for the last few weeks that communication seems to be a big problem between the management and the players on the field.
1. Sean Tobin taken off as being injured yet he wasn't.
2. The whole first half v Clare was a nonperformance which was apparently corrected at halftime. Why could whatever was said at halftime not have been communicated to the players during breaks in play during the first half, it is allowed.
Now I am not looking for the Management''s heads but they need to take on board the above.

MillerX (Meath) - Posts: 1062 - 26/02/2018 13:07:01    2080456

Folks - people keep talking about getting out of Division 2 - I know that is an ambition and an aim! But let's be honest - we are struggling in Division 2 so life in Division 1 would be short lived. Just look at Kildare!

We were well beaten by Cavan and Tipperary and outplayed in both games - the focus has to be on winning two more games at least so as to avoid a drop to division 3. The way things are shaping up, 9 of the leinster teams could be playing in Division 3 and 4 next year!!!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 474 - 26/02/2018 13:42:15    2080480

Replying To MillerX:  "So Andy thought Sean Tobin was injured even though he wasn't, what does that say. I have been saying for the last few weeks that communication seems to be a big problem between the management and the players on the field.
1. Sean Tobin taken off as being injured yet he wasn't.
2. The whole first half v Clare was a nonperformance which was apparently corrected at halftime. Why could whatever was said at halftime not have been communicated to the players during breaks in play during the first half, it is allowed.
Now I am not looking for the Management''s heads but they need to take on board the above."
If we dont have Andy to manage us im not sure who else can do the job. I had extremely high expectations of him & Gerry taking us over and you hit the nail on the head with communication and i think this is a major factor in what is the problem is. You would start to wonder what Andy is thinking as he obviously didnt give the roasting to they that they got during that Clare game.....why?? Does he accept that type of play? And why is he letting the lads play this way? Its so infuriating. Beggers belief.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 26/02/2018 13:45:19    2080485