Confess Your Really Unpopular View/Opinion

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "Why would/should the Mayo fans receive prefrenetial treatment? It's bad enough that Dublin already get favoured in every way possible (nobody in here has disputed that they would never be made play on one their few away matches at 4 on a Sunday long way from Home)

So is just Mayo ahead of us or are there others more equal than us?"
Because the Mayo have a big travelling support and Kerry do not for league games.

The match being at 4 o'clock will make little or no difference to the crowd that will travel from Kerry.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 06/03/2018 14:50:23    2082218

Clear to see you have no idea what it is like to have to travel 5.6 hours and not get home until the middle of the night with work the next day. If we had every game at home and had a million and a half people I'm sure we'd have 'big' crowds but we don't

There is no justification for putting the game on at 4 o'clock considering the huge distance and the fact that the County League is starting this Sunday which means all club people won't be in a position to travel - I repeat it wouldn't happen in a million years to the golden child of the GAA

37thHeaven (Kerry) - Posts: 102 - 06/03/2018 15:59:51    2082237

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "Why would/should the Mayo fans receive prefrenetial treatment? It's bad enough that Dublin already get favoured in every way possible (nobody in here has disputed that they would never be made play on one their few away matches at 4 on a Sunday long way from Home)

So is just Mayo ahead of us or are there others more equal than us?"
Just us and Dublin. Tyrone and Donegal sometimes. Probably Monaghan, Kildare and Galway too. It's a conspiracy. We tried to keep it quiet but it looks like we've been rumbled.......

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 06/03/2018 16:06:57    2082239

oh don't worry Green ye aren't anywhere near in 'importance' to the GAA hierarchy than Dublin, that is clear for everyone to see..............

37thHeaven (Kerry) - Posts: 102 - 06/03/2018 16:23:10    2082245

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "Clear to see you have no idea what it is like to have to travel 5.6 hours and not get home until the middle of the night with work the next day. If we had every game at home and had a million and a half people I'm sure we'd have 'big' crowds but we don't

There is no justification for putting the game on at 4 o'clock considering the huge distance and the fact that the County League is starting this Sunday which means all club people won't be in a position to travel - I repeat it wouldn't happen in a million years to the golden child of the GAA"
What's your problem?

Like you said, Kerry is a far away from Dublin and yous have club matches on Sunday so the Kerry crowd was always going to be tiny no matter what time throw in was put at.

It was the Gardaí that insisted that the game be played on Sunday.

I too, as mad as it sounds, have taken journeys that have taken 5/6 hours and still retain the mental faculties to recall those journeys.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 06/03/2018 16:32:57    2082252

What is stopping the game be played at 2 o'clock?

All the other games are, so why do we get the screwjob?

Also our players have to go to work the next day so they are done over as well

37thHeaven (Kerry) - Posts: 102 - 06/03/2018 18:12:53    2082278

You're man was on holiday and is back posting under a different name.Same oul bitter rubbish and not able to hide.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/03/2018 18:22:19    2082282

Replying To 37thHeaven:  "What is stopping the game be played at 2 o'clock?

All the other games are, so why do we get the screwjob?

Also our players have to go to work the next day so they are done over as well"
Sure don't we all have work in the morning.

I'm sure the Kerry lads will be grand in the morning to go out and plough the fields or whatever. 2 hours are hardly going to kill them.

2pm or 4pm whatever. It'll make no difference to the Kerry players in anyways. They'll be well up for it.

The couple of fans travelling will get be okay I think.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 06/03/2018 20:20:06    2082306

Here Kerry whinge..
grow a pair!!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 06/03/2018 20:36:17    2082311

Replying To MesAmis:  "Because the Mayo have a big travelling support and Kerry do not for league games.

The match being at 4 o'clock will make little or no difference to the crowd that will travel from Kerry."
Yes it will when the time difference in getting home is so great. A lot of difference in getting home at 7pm or 8pm and 11/12...
Irony of Dubs complaining about travelling support and time getting to games when they play so many games in Dublin and they have best transport links to get home wherever they play

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 06/03/2018 20:49:35    2082317

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Yes it will when the time difference in getting home is so great. A lot of difference in getting home at 7pm or 8pm and 11/12...
Irony of Dubs complaining about travelling support and time getting to games when they play so many games in Dublin and they have best transport links to get home wherever they play"
Dubs don't decide where they play and not complaining about travelling support it's one or two travelling supporters who are complaining.Thought that was fairly obvious.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/03/2018 21:07:42    2082318

Replying To ormondbannerman:  "Yes it will when the time difference in getting home is so great. A lot of difference in getting home at 7pm or 8pm and 11/12...
Irony of Dubs complaining about travelling support and time getting to games when they play so many games in Dublin and they have best transport links to get home wherever they play"
Why is it going to take longer travelling home after a 4pm game as opposed to a 2pm game?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 06/03/2018 21:13:50    2082320

Replying To MesAmis:  "What's your problem?

Like you said, Kerry is a far away from Dublin and yous have club matches on Sunday so the Kerry crowd was always going to be tiny no matter what time throw in was put at.

It was the Gardaí that insisted that the game be played on Sunday.

I too, as mad as it sounds, have taken journeys that have taken 5/6 hours and still retain the mental faculties to recall those journeys."
Traffic in Dublin is getting worse by the day, Mes

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 06/03/2018 21:18:27    2082324

Replying To neverright:  "Traffic in Dublin is getting worse by the day, Mes"
Subtle!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 06/03/2018 21:57:10    2082330

Replying To neverright:  "Traffic in Dublin is getting worse by the day, Mes"
Ha! Damn right it is!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 06/03/2018 22:06:45    2082336

Looking at Laochra Gael it brought home what a great player Graham Geragthy was, one of the great talents of the modern era. You hear it now and again but its not a very common held opinion. I remeber a louth manager after Geraghty scoring a wonder goal in injury time to win a championship match v louth in saying afterwards that Geragty was one of the most talented footballers of the last 40 years. He was very talented. When he was wing back he was the best wing back in Ireland ,when he was wing forward he was the best wing forward in Ireland and when he was full forward he was the best full forward. He was all star player in three very different positions and played man of the match performances in leinster final All Ireland semi finals and finals in those 3 different positions. That is quite unique. I cannot think of many footballers who have done that. Ger Power of kerry was a great half back and half foward for kerry. But overall I cannot think of many players to excell in those three positions like Geraghty. Thing was he played most of his career at full forward but he was wasted there as his best position was half back or half forward.

He also got trials with Asrenal played rubgy to high level and was very good at international rules . An incredibly talented athlete. I alway felt if he was from Dublin or kerry he would have got more praise. For young fans the best way to describe Graham Geraghty was when he was wing back he was as good as lee Keegan. When he was half forward he was as good as Diarmaid Connolly and when he was full forward he would have been as good as Andy Moran or Paul Geaney. Definatly one of the most versatile talents to play the game in recent times. But he doesnt get the credit he deserves.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 07/03/2018 22:52:14    2082591

Replying To MesAmis:  "Why is it going to take longer travelling home after a 4pm game as opposed to a 2pm game?"
Why is it going to take longer travelling home after a 4pm game as opposed to a 2pm game?
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 11537 - 06/03/2018 21:13:50
So you cant grasp that there is a difference between getting home at 9pm and midnight?
Really?? Its very obvious and even more so if you wanted to bring kids to the game.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 08/03/2018 02:10:23    2082605

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Looking at Laochra Gael it brought home what a great player Graham Geragthy was, one of the great talents of the modern era. You hear it now and again but its not a very common held opinion. I remeber a louth manager after Geraghty scoring a wonder goal in injury time to win a championship match v louth in saying afterwards that Geragty was one of the most talented footballers of the last 40 years. He was very talented. When he was wing back he was the best wing back in Ireland ,when he was wing forward he was the best wing forward in Ireland and when he was full forward he was the best full forward. He was all star player in three very different positions and played man of the match performances in leinster final All Ireland semi finals and finals in those 3 different positions. That is quite unique. I cannot think of many footballers who have done that. Ger Power of kerry was a great half back and half foward for kerry. But overall I cannot think of many players to excell in those three positions like Geraghty. Thing was he played most of his career at full forward but he was wasted there as his best position was half back or half forward.

He also got trials with Asrenal played rubgy to high level and was very good at international rules . An incredibly talented athlete. I alway felt if he was from Dublin or kerry he would have got more praise. For young fans the best way to describe Graham Geraghty was when he was wing back he was as good as lee Keegan. When he was half forward he was as good as Diarmaid Connolly and when he was full forward he would have been as good as Andy Moran or Paul Geaney. Definatly one of the most versatile talents to play the game in recent times. But he doesnt get the credit he deserves."
What I liked at the show last night is that Geragthy owned his mistake in Australia. None of this, "taken out of context" rubbish that the spindoctors trot out. He was wrong and he admitted it. Thought he came across really well.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 08/03/2018 09:43:52    2082625

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Looking at Laochra Gael it brought home what a great player Graham Geragthy was, one of the great talents of the modern era. You hear it now and again but its not a very common held opinion. I remeber a louth manager after Geraghty scoring a wonder goal in injury time to win a championship match v louth in saying afterwards that Geragty was one of the most talented footballers of the last 40 years. He was very talented. When he was wing back he was the best wing back in Ireland ,when he was wing forward he was the best wing forward in Ireland and when he was full forward he was the best full forward. He was all star player in three very different positions and played man of the match performances in leinster final All Ireland semi finals and finals in those 3 different positions. That is quite unique. I cannot think of many footballers who have done that. Ger Power of kerry was a great half back and half foward for kerry. But overall I cannot think of many players to excell in those three positions like Geraghty. Thing was he played most of his career at full forward but he was wasted there as his best position was half back or half forward.

He also got trials with Asrenal played rubgy to high level and was very good at international rules . An incredibly talented athlete. I alway felt if he was from Dublin or kerry he would have got more praise. For young fans the best way to describe Graham Geraghty was when he was wing back he was as good as lee Keegan. When he was half forward he was as good as Diarmaid Connolly and when he was full forward he would have been as good as Andy Moran or Paul Geaney. Definatly one of the most versatile talents to play the game in recent times. But he doesnt get the credit he deserves."
Disagree he gets plenty of credit from those that saw him play , being of an age where I would have seen him play plenty he was one of the best of his generation by a country mile, the problem for GG was bad PR he divided opinion in his OWN county , I know many a good Meath man that couldn't stand him , when some of your own lot don't like you your at a loss completely, that said he should be judged on ability

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 08/03/2018 09:50:27    2082628

Geraghty was widely regarded as a great player, he had his demons like Connolly or whoever but he certainly got credit, especially here in Dublin.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 08/03/2018 10:11:03    2082630