Confess Your Really Unpopular View/Opinion

Anthem played way too slow at GAA matches and turns into a dirge. Unless its a big game, the anthem is sheepishly murmured at GAA games. Contrast that to the rugby in the Aviva where the anthem is played at tempo and belted out by the crowd even though there are many dodgy Gaels present ( allowed to say unpopular things on this thread ).

facethepuckout (Roscommon) - Posts: 214 - 24/02/2018 16:22:30    2079704

Joe Canning didn't deserve Hurler of the Year and had a poor year, but got it because of his profile.

The GPA are only in existence to promote professionalism. They should be scrapped.

Aidan O'Shea is the most overrated footballer in the country now that Colm Cooper has retired.

Mayo are my least favourite team and I hope they never win the All-Ireland.

Mayo people are bitter about the 1996 final, because they started a fight with Meath they weren't man enough to finish.

Eoin Kelly from Tipp was a better hurler than Henry Shefflin

Declan O'Sullivan is the best footballer Kerry have had since Maurice Fitz.

There are way too many inter-county matches.

Real GAA people play both hurling and football.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2550 - 24/02/2018 16:28:14    2079706

Replying To facethepuckout:  "Anthem played way too slow at GAA matches and turns into a dirge. Unless its a big game, the anthem is sheepishly murmured at GAA games. Contrast that to the rugby in the Aviva where the anthem is played at tempo and belted out by the crowd even though there are many dodgy Gaels present ( allowed to say unpopular things on this thread )."
How is Ireland's call our national anthem? Anyway there are 50+ thousand at the Rugby match.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 24/02/2018 16:39:12    2079708

Replying To KY4SAM2015:  "Dublin are not such great a team that everyone thinks. Apart from Mayo they have had no decent team to beat in the last number of years.

You can only beat who is in front of you but if this Dublin team were around a decade earlier they wouldn't win anything."
2009 was a disaster but ye scraped by an average enough Dublin team in 2007 and the great Tyrone side needed a replay to beat the same team in 2005, so I don't buy that at all, I'm sure this present team would've sneaked one or two during the noughties.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 24/02/2018 16:41:13    2079709

Replying To why:  "Agree.

Hurling is actually a poor sporting spectacle. Any sport where the main tactic of both teams is to drive it in close to the opposition scoring zone and hope you get a break in there is a very limited sport and not in fact entertaining. Northern hemisphere rugby falls into the same category. Soccer and football are better than both IMO

Also the famed skill required for hurling is only applicable when learning the game. Once this has been done, scoring in hurling is actually far easier than football, and the basic skills are easier than football."
100% agree. And it's a terrrible spectacle to watch, worse than rugby even. The ball is almost constantly out of play and you can score from anywhere outside your 21 yard line. On top of that, hurling folk are worse than rugby crowd for the cringeworthy words they use in describing everyone as ferocious animalistic and phenomenal...read any Christy O Connor book for example.

Other controversial views:

Intercounty football will be totally dead in 10 years. Already less and less interest in traditional counties like Cork, Meath, Derry etc for example in Meath, players have left en masse and that's with a very reputable management team in place...if this managent team goes this season, and they may well Go as they aren't getting the required response of interest , then I can see even further drop outs and we won't even have top 30 players in the county interested in playing.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 24/02/2018 17:27:39    2079717

Replying To Crinigan:  "100% agree. And it's a terrrible spectacle to watch, worse than rugby even. The ball is almost constantly out of play and you can score from anywhere outside your 21 yard line. On top of that, hurling folk are worse than rugby crowd for the cringeworthy words they use in describing everyone as ferocious animalistic and phenomenal...read any Christy O Connor book for example.

Other controversial views:

Intercounty football will be totally dead in 10 years. Already less and less interest in traditional counties like Cork, Meath, Derry etc for example in Meath, players have left en masse and that's with a very reputable management team in place...if this managent team goes this season, and they may well Go as they aren't getting the required response of interest , then I can see even further drop outs and we won't even have top 30 players in the county interested in playing."
In Cork, hurling is no.1, if Meath had any good players you'd soon regain your interest, all it would take is one victory over the Dubs, so don't give it all that. Or are Meath fans the 'only sing when you're winning' kind? We waited 16 years and our fans stuck with it.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 24/02/2018 17:45:53    2079724

Replying To realdub:  "In Cork, hurling is no.1, if Meath had any good players you'd soon regain your interest, all it would take is one victory over the Dubs, so don't give it all that. Or are Meath fans the 'only sing when you're winning' kind? We waited 16 years and our fans stuck with it."
Here here!!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/02/2018 18:08:31    2079727

1 kilkenny wouldnt win an All Ireland for 10 year or more when Cody leaves. Look at how Meath and kerry delined after Dywer and Boylan left. Look at Utd after Ferguson left.

2 Maurice Fitzgerald is overated. Sheedy and Cooper were greater forwards. So where Peter Cavanan Padraig Joyce and Matt Connor better then Maurice Fitzgerald.

3 Kerrys best player in the last 20 years was not Cooper Sullivan O Se. It was Seamus Moyihan.

4 Cyril Farrell is one the greatest manager ever. 3 All Irelands. A double All Ireland. And ended a 60 year famine. Farrell was a better manager then loughnane. And in the top 3 hurling.

5 Tipp hurlers are masssive underachievers. 1 All Ireland in the 70s, 1 All Ireland in the 80s, 1 All Ireland on 90s and 1 All Ireland in the 00s. Compare to kilkennys 13 wins I think in the same period ( might have Cats number wrong).

6 Offaly winning 7 All Irelands in hurling and football in 70s 80s 90s is the greatest achievement of modern gaa . A county Offaly size and stature some achievement.

7 Galway are seen a football superpower. Up to 60s they were. Since then record is poor. No win in Croker in championship in the last 17 years. They didnt win in Croker between 1984 and 1998 also. Havent beaten kerry in 53 years and Dublin in nearly 100 years.

8 Mayo were not good enough to win in 96 or 97. If they won in 96 it would have been worst set of forwards ever to win All Ireland compared to Meath 6 All star winning forwards eg Geraghty Giles O Murphy B Murphy E Kelly T Dowd v Casey Fiinnery Horan.

9 Dublin have never won a hurling All Ireland. Only 2 men born and reared in Dublin have winner medals. 7 wins with country lads from outside Dublin. 14 of their football wins r the same.

10 Jim Galvin is overcriticed and underated. Who cares if he doesnt show emotion. He is the nost sucessful Dublin manager ever.

11 Tyrone were the team of the noughties. 3 wins v kerry OOs.

12 Boylan was let go to soon. He wanted 3 years in 2006. If he stayed he would have won his 5th All Ireland in 2010. Meath had the forwards eg Geraghty Two Brays P Byrne . Young forwards eg Reilly O Rourke Sheridan Farrell C Ward.

13 Mick lyons was a better full back then Darren Fay. Two of the greatest full backs but Lyons was better.

14 Meath team of 96 is the greatest young team of last 35 years with 7 under 21 winning Sam . Only second to kerry 1975 young winning team as the best young team ever.

15 DJ Carey was overated. Eddie keher was better.

16 Tony Doran of Wexford the greatest full forward in hurling history.

17 kerry have never won a handy All Ireland . Only in 1 year they did. In 97 they beat Clare Cavan and Mayo. Only handy All Ireland kerry have won.

18 Rubgy is doing serious damage to GAA. Losing players to rugby by the trunkload.

19 This is a poor era for football. Compared 90s and 00s when you had great Meath Cork Down Derry Donegal Galway kildare Mayo Tyrone and Armagh Dublin teams. Now you have Dublin Donegal and Mayo.

20 It was good for the GAA Dublin won in 2011. 16 years without reaching a final for the Dubs not good for Dublin and the GAA.

21 Mayo will win an All Ireland in the next ten years. I think its inevitable. Some celebrations in Castlebar when they do.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 24/02/2018 18:20:25    2079731

Replying To realdub:  "In Cork, hurling is no.1, if Meath had any good players you'd soon regain your interest, all it would take is one victory over the Dubs, so don't give it all that. Or are Meath fans the 'only sing when you're winning' kind? We waited 16 years and our fans stuck with it."
Meath have had their worst decade since 20s. Meath at lowest since emerged in 30s with record defeat to Dublin. First losses ever to Westmeath Tyrone and Armgh. Permanentdiv 2 residence.
This is also Galway worst decade since independence the 1920s. Havent won in Croker in championship in 17 years. If they both Meath and Galway dont reach finals in next 2 years first time since independence.
Down are having worst decade since probaly the 50s. No ulster titles in 24 years.
Derry and Armagh are having their worst decade since 60s. Armagh have been 3 of the last 4 years in div 3 when did that ladt happen
Cork are uncompetive v kerry in div 2 and beaten by Tippearey in championship. That has not happened since 1950s.
Laois are in div 4. Worst decade since 1970s.
Offaly have been in div 3 and div 4 for twenty years after years of sucess in 60s 70s 80s and 90s.
Kildare have had record defeats to kerry and Dublin. And cannot win Croker. Probaly their worst decade since Dwyer probaly their worst since the 20s along with 80s.

1 question why are so many counties at all time low. All together and going on and on with little improvement . I have never seen a period or can think of a period when Meath Down Cork Galway kildare Derry Armagh laois and Offaly all strong football counties have had such a bad period. Its very worrying. If it continues and other counties like Mayo and Donegal decline also who will we have to beat kerry or Dublin.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 24/02/2018 18:36:15    2079734

'Cyril Farrell is one the greatest manager ever'

Would that really be an unpopular opinion Furlong ? I would thoroughly agree with you that Cyril is one of the greatest & would be amazed if anyone disagreed.

(and having met the man, he is an absolute gent as well)

KildareKelly (Kildare) - Posts: 593 - 24/02/2018 19:38:14    2079744

Replying To Furlong1949:  "Meath have had their worst decade since 20s. Meath at lowest since emerged in 30s with record defeat to Dublin. First losses ever to Westmeath Tyrone and Armgh. Permanentdiv 2 residence.
This is also Galway worst decade since independence the 1920s. Havent won in Croker in championship in 17 years. If they both Meath and Galway dont reach finals in next 2 years first time since independence.
Down are having worst decade since probaly the 50s. No ulster titles in 24 years.
Derry and Armagh are having their worst decade since 60s. Armagh have been 3 of the last 4 years in div 3 when did that ladt happen
Cork are uncompetive v kerry in div 2 and beaten by Tippearey in championship. That has not happened since 1950s.
Laois are in div 4. Worst decade since 1970s.
Offaly have been in div 3 and div 4 for twenty years after years of sucess in 60s 70s 80s and 90s.
Kildare have had record defeats to kerry and Dublin. And cannot win Croker. Probaly their worst decade since Dwyer probaly their worst since the 20s along with 80s.

1 question why are so many counties at all time low. All together and going on and on with little improvement . I have never seen a period or can think of a period when Meath Down Cork Galway kildare Derry Armagh laois and Offaly all strong football counties have had such a bad period. Its very worrying. If it continues and other counties like Mayo and Donegal decline also who will we have to beat kerry or Dublin."
You have to look at the set-up and grass roots commitment in these counties. Galway are showing, as are Donegal despite their losses. Kildare are improving. Mayo are always there. Cork won't be as bad as they are for too long . Nothing has changed that much, where were these counties when Dublin and Kerry ruled the 70s?

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 24/02/2018 19:38:55    2079745

Replying To lilywhite1:  "Unpopular in Meath Ollie, but popular in the rest of the country. You did win a Leinster championship in 2010 even though the official record doesn't acknowledge it."
Lillywhite I am still waiting to hold the Delaney cup in the Bull until I don't Louth are not Champions.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 24/02/2018 19:41:15    2079746

Replying To Htaem:  "I don't like the way the Gaa plays Amhran na bhfiann before every inter-county game, completely dilutes it, they should save the anthem for finals.

Ps, I don't like our national anthem either, it's dull and lifeless, which is a shame considering our rich history of music in this country."
Htaem I love the national anthem. I love it been played before every GAA match. I love the tri colour. Our national anthem is not dull. Sing it loud and sing it proud.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 24/02/2018 19:46:16    2079748

Replying To Htaem:  "Do carry round a shillelagh, watch Ros na Run, drink Guinness by the barrel full and love a feed of cabbage and bacon aswell?"
Haha Hteam that is me down to a T. Actually the fleadh is coming to my home of Drogheda this year for the very first time. I am looking forward to it. You should come up to it. I will bring you to the Bull.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 24/02/2018 19:50:04    2079749

Replying To KildareKelly:  "'Cyril Farrell is one the greatest manager ever'

Would that really be an unpopular opinion Furlong ? I would thoroughly agree with you that Cyril is one of the greatest & would be amazed if anyone disagreed.

(and having met the man, he is an absolute gent as well)"
The Galway team in 80s were hated. The rivalry between Galway v Tipp was the nastiest of the modern era. The semi final in 89 is the nastiest big game of hurling I ever saw. Farrell says in his biography at the end of game a supporter ran onto the field and roared at him " I hate you Farrell ". The Galway played a short ball hand passing running game that the traditionals didnt like. Yet when Cork won in 00s with an even more running game with O Connor brothers they were seen as revolutionising hurling in 00s.
Yes we all love Cyril now. Back in the day it was a different story. But he is never mentioned when people talk about great managers. But he was better then Jimmy McGuiness or Jimmy Barry Murphy to name a few. Galway have won 5 All Irelands. 3 of them were under Farrell. And with loughnane he is the only man to end a 40 year plus famine in gaa when Galway won in 1980, their first win since 20s. Farrell is a legend. Of the greatest teams managers ever.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 24/02/2018 19:50:25    2079750

Slaughtneill being a dual club has cost them an All-Ireland in football this year and last year.

M Lyster (Antrim) - Posts: 461 - 24/02/2018 20:54:24    2079778

Sometimes im embarrassed by the hill , it's lost it's soul

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 24/02/2018 21:07:56    2079792

Ladies Football is a joke. Camogie grand.

christy sting (Derry) - Posts: 262 - 24/02/2018 21:15:24    2079796

Replying To realdub:  "You have to look at the set-up and grass roots commitment in these counties. Galway are showing, as are Donegal despite their losses. Kildare are improving. Mayo are always there. Cork won't be as bad as they are for too long . Nothing has changed that much, where were these counties when Dublin and Kerry ruled the 70s?"
In the 70s Galway played in 3 All Ireland finals. They could have won in 74 if Cullen didnt save peno from Sammon. Galway havent played in an All Ireland semi final since 2001. Galway were much stronger in the 70s then now.

In the 70s Cork won an All Ireland in 1973 with swashbuckling brillant football. One of the stylish winners. Cork were very strong throughout 70s and many considered them to be the third best team in the country and had to face the greatest team ever in Munster final year after year. Now Cork are in div 2 uncompetitive v kerry. In the last 50 years Cork were always in the top 5 or 6 best teams in the country. I cannot think of a year in the 70s 80s 90s 00s Cork were not in div 1. Cork at lowest since 50s. Cork were much stronger in the 70s then now.

In the 70s Donegal won their first Ulster title ever under McEniff in 1972.

Kildare in 70s had a good team in early 70s . Backboned by 2 sucessful underage teams, the kildares only under 21 All Ireland final win and kildare only minor team final appearance ever . Kildare pushed Offaly all the way in leinster finals in the 70s and beat Dublin and reached leinster finals. kildare havent beaten Dublin in 17 years and have only played in 1 leinster final this decade compared to three in 70s. They were close to winning leinster in 70s. They havent been nearly close in this decade. Kildare were stronger in the 70s then now.

In the west in the 70s you had one of the greatest teams never to win an All Ireland led by the greatest player never to win an All Ireland in Dermot Earley jnr. Roscommon were similar to Mayo now. Dominated Connacht for years and won a national league div 1 title and were very unlucky not to beat kerry the greatest team ever in 1980 All Ireland final.

In leinster in 70s Dublin had to face a couple of top div 1 teams like Meath and Offaly. Dublin have not had to face top division 1 opposition in leinster since early 00s.

Offaly are in div 3 now. In 70s they had their greatest team winning a two in a row and beating kerry in an All Ireland final by 8 or 9 points. Kerrys worst defeat ever in a final. Offaly were much stronger then in 70s.

Meath won a national league division 1 title in 1975 . The only team along with kerry to beat the great Dublin team of 70s in a national final. Meath could have beaten Dublin in final 74, should have beaten Dublin in 76 final and how they didnt beat them in 77 is a mysterry. Meath were in the top 3 or 4 teams in the country in mid 70s. With players like Mattie kerrigan Jack Quinn Colm O Rourke Joe Cassells Gerry McEntee and ken Rennicks. And in any other era this team would have won an All Ireland. Meath havent played in an All Ireland semi final in 9 years. In the 70s Meath pushed Dublin to their limits. In this decade Dublin win in 2014 is the worst defeat for Meath v Dublin since 1920s. Meath were much stronger in the 70s.

While Ulster football was weak in the 70s,that was down to the troubles in the north. Still they had good Derry and Armagh teams. You also had a good Sligo team with the great Mickey Kearns.

Overall as a whole the 70s was much stronger then now. Leinster football had 4 top div 1 teams in the 70s. Now we only have 1 top div 1 team in leinster for over 12 or 13 years maybe longer.

Roscommon in 70s where similar to Mayo now. Galway were much stronger in the 70s with three All Ireland final appearances , they havent been in a final in 70s.
While Cork where much stronger in the 70s then now .

Overall the 70s was more competitive in that you had more teams stronger then now. Yes Kerry and Dublin gave big beatings to teams in 70s. But Meath Cork Galway Offaly kildare were all much stronger in the 70s then now.

Yes Galway and kildare have potential. But we still dont know. Hopefully we see kildare and Galway make the breakthrough for leinster needs a strong kildare. And the GAA need a strong Galway. But Kildare have lost their last 8 matchs since the hammering of Meath in semi final last summer. So if they have improved its not with that losing streak.
While Galway seem to have turned the corner. Roscommon showed in 2016 a sucessful start in div 1 can be misleading. Until the summer we will then have a better understanding of both teams. They both need to start winning in Croker as neither can win in Croke park, Galway havent won in Croker in the championship in near two decades. While kildare have lost 6 match in Croker in 2 years and havent won a big match in Croker in 8 years. If they start both start winning in Croker then we can say they are really improving. Both have potential but overall both Galway and kildare have had one of their worst decades in their history along with Meath Down and Cork.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 24/02/2018 21:37:06    2079804

Replying To Furlong1949:  "In the 70s Galway played in 3 All Ireland finals. They could have won in 74 if Cullen didnt save peno from Sammon. Galway havent played in an All Ireland semi final since 2001. Galway were much stronger in the 70s then now.

In the 70s Cork won an All Ireland in 1973 with swashbuckling brillant football. One of the stylish winners. Cork were very strong throughout 70s and many considered them to be the third best team in the country and had to face the greatest team ever in Munster final year after year. Now Cork are in div 2 uncompetitive v kerry. In the last 50 years Cork were always in the top 5 or 6 best teams in the country. I cannot think of a year in the 70s 80s 90s 00s Cork were not in div 1. Cork at lowest since 50s. Cork were much stronger in the 70s then now.

In the 70s Donegal won their first Ulster title ever under McEniff in 1972.

Kildare in 70s had a good team in early 70s . Backboned by 2 sucessful underage teams, the kildares only under 21 All Ireland final win and kildare only minor team final appearance ever . Kildare pushed Offaly all the way in leinster finals in the 70s and beat Dublin and reached leinster finals. kildare havent beaten Dublin in 17 years and have only played in 1 leinster final this decade compared to three in 70s. They were close to winning leinster in 70s. They havent been nearly close in this decade. Kildare were stronger in the 70s then now.

In the west in the 70s you had one of the greatest teams never to win an All Ireland led by the greatest player never to win an All Ireland in Dermot Earley jnr. Roscommon were similar to Mayo now. Dominated Connacht for years and won a national league div 1 title and were very unlucky not to beat kerry the greatest team ever in 1980 All Ireland final.

In leinster in 70s Dublin had to face a couple of top div 1 teams like Meath and Offaly. Dublin have not had to face top division 1 opposition in leinster since early 00s.

Offaly are in div 3 now. In 70s they had their greatest team winning a two in a row and beating kerry in an All Ireland final by 8 or 9 points. Kerrys worst defeat ever in a final. Offaly were much stronger then in 70s.

Meath won a national league division 1 title in 1975 . The only team along with kerry to beat the great Dublin team of 70s in a national final. Meath could have beaten Dublin in final 74, should have beaten Dublin in 76 final and how they didnt beat them in 77 is a mysterry. Meath were in the top 3 or 4 teams in the country in mid 70s. With players like Mattie kerrigan Jack Quinn Colm O Rourke Joe Cassells Gerry McEntee and ken Rennicks. And in any other era this team would have won an All Ireland. Meath havent played in an All Ireland semi final in 9 years. In the 70s Meath pushed Dublin to their limits. In this decade Dublin win in 2014 is the worst defeat for Meath v Dublin since 1920s. Meath were much stronger in the 70s.

While Ulster football was weak in the 70s,that was down to the troubles in the north. Still they had good Derry and Armagh teams. You also had a good Sligo team with the great Mickey Kearns.

Overall as a whole the 70s was much stronger then now. Leinster football had 4 top div 1 teams in the 70s. Now we only have 1 top div 1 team in leinster for over 12 or 13 years maybe longer.

Roscommon in 70s where similar to Mayo now. Galway were much stronger in the 70s with three All Ireland final appearances , they havent been in a final in 70s.
While Cork where much stronger in the 70s then now .

Overall the 70s was more competitive in that you had more teams stronger then now. Yes Kerry and Dublin gave big beatings to teams in 70s. But Meath Cork Galway Offaly kildare were all much stronger in the 70s then now.

Yes Galway and kildare have potential. But we still dont know. Hopefully we see kildare and Galway make the breakthrough for leinster needs a strong kildare. And the GAA need a strong Galway. But Kildare have lost their last 8 matchs since the hammering of Meath in semi final last summer. So if they have improved its not with that losing streak.
While Galway seem to have turned the corner. Roscommon showed in 2016 a sucessful start in div 1 can be misleading. Until the summer we will then have a better understanding of both teams. They both need to start winning in Croker as neither can win in Croke park, Galway havent won in Croker in the championship in near two decades. While kildare have lost 6 match in Croker in 2 years and havent won a big match in Croker in 8 years. If they start both start winning in Croker then we can say they are really improving. Both have potential but overall both Galway and kildare have had one of their worst decades in their history along with Meath Down and Cork."
Yes I am aware of all of that, I am aware that we had to struggle past meath in the 70s and early 80s too. I'm not sure where you're going with all this but I still maintain that I think this Dublin side would have won one or 2 in the 00s.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 24/02/2018 21:45:02    2079809