"There Are Signs Of An Agenda Against Tyrone"

Replying To Whammo86:  "Yeah, I think they're capable of. They wouldn't be favourites but they'd have a very good chance. I'd be surprised if they'd be much more than 2 to 1 to win against either Mayo or Kerry.

Against Dublin they should be very long odds. Rightly so, I think they've next to no chance of beating Dublin."
Fair enough, I just haven't seen anything that would indicate they'd be capable of beating Kerry, Mayo, or Dublin,

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 17/02/2018 16:01:23    2077687

Replying To Ulsterman:  "When they were winning All Ireland's i think there was a deeply hostile agenda towards Tyrone from many within the GAA and Southern media BUT i don't know if it is still there now. They have been off the pace for so long that maybe Tyrone are over egging their own self importance and relevance within the football elite now.
Undoubtedly Tyrone got some very unfair press. They challenged the established order in Kerry, put it up to Dublin and did so in a way that shocked the football snobs. There was also a hostile, partitionist element to the coverage of Tyrone. There was a resentment because they came from Ulster and were Nordies who wouldn't lie down and know their place, particularly against Kerry.
The Southern media, especially RTE, should acknowledge their very unfair treatment of Tyrone. They should apologise and Tyrone should accept it and move on; it has become a distraction now."
So partition has worked and created an 'us' and 'them' in your view. That amazes me coming from a GAA poster.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 17/02/2018 16:44:49    2077695

have yous checked out mickey hartes post match interview after mc kenna cup final? its on bbc website.

southtyronegael (Tyrone) - Posts: 19 - 18/02/2018 09:17:48    2077831

Replying To southtyronegael:  "have yous checked out mickey hartes post match interview after mc kenna cup final? its on bbc website."
Saw the transcript of it. Every criticism reverts back to the Dublin game, every game prior to that is ignored.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 18/02/2018 11:34:56    2077863

yeah but the dublin game was always goin to be judement day. are we to judge them in games against div 2 and 3 teams? croke park on the big days is when every team is judged.

southtyronegael (Tyrone) - Posts: 19 - 18/02/2018 12:06:22    2077872

Tyrone just have not got the forwards at the minute McCurry, O'Neill, McAliskey etc are all good forwards but maybe not top level. Midfield is a bit the same cleaned out last night against a good Donegal team. Avoiding relegation is a big ask at the moment.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 18/02/2018 12:35:47    2077880

Replying To Byanthon:  "Tyrone just have not got the forwards at the minute McCurry, O'Neill, McAliskey etc are all good forwards but maybe not top level. Midfield is a bit the same cleaned out last night against a good Donegal team. Avoiding relegation is a big ask at the moment."
Tyrone do have two of the best young forwards in the game in Lee Brennan and David Mulgrew but they might need a few years at senior level to become those top class forwards. I don't think there is much wrong with the way Tyrone are playing, they just aren't converting a high enough percentage of the chances they are creating. If Brennan and Mulgrew can develop into top class forwards in the next few years then Tyrone could ve in business.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1873 - 18/02/2018 13:48:35    2077894

Replying To ziggy320001:  "Mickey Harte sounds like Jose Mourinho tbh.."
I thought the exact same reading his comments at the start of this thread.

Coaches like Harte who are used to winning trophies and being champions get cranky when it doesn't happen as easily as it didn't in the past.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 18/02/2018 14:09:58    2077897

I think that if Stephen O Neill can pass some of his talents on to the midfield and the forwards and he's allowed to express his ideas then Tyrone won't be far away in July at the super 8s.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 18/02/2018 21:39:29    2078120

Replying To border Gael:  "I think that if Stephen O Neill can pass some of his talents on to the midfield and the forwards and he's allowed to express his ideas then Tyrone won't be far away in July at the super 8s."
What do you base that on? Solely on the fact he was a good player? Just because he was a good player it doesn't mean his ideas will mean anything.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 18/02/2018 21:53:38    2078129

stephen o neill hasnt coached a team in his life. still playing for club last year. pure window dressing from harte gettin him in. o neill will have no say whatsoever.

southtyronegael (Tyrone) - Posts: 19 - 18/02/2018 22:32:54    2078161

Replying To southtyronegael:  "have yous checked out mickey hartes post match interview after mc kenna cup final? its on bbc website."
I saw the quotes and if i read correctly he has no intention of changing his style and as the media ramps up about this discussion the more likely mickey will be more stubborn about it. He compares his tactics with the rest of the teams - has he actually watched the Dubs, Kerry, Mayo???? Especially the former where at first hand he watched his brand of defensive football get totally ripped apart in front of his own eyes.

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 19/02/2018 09:30:13    2078229

Replying To Ulsterman:  "When they were winning All Ireland's i think there was a deeply hostile agenda towards Tyrone from many within the GAA and Southern media BUT i don't know if it is still there now. They have been off the pace for so long that maybe Tyrone are over egging their own self importance and relevance within the football elite now.
Undoubtedly Tyrone got some very unfair press. They challenged the established order in Kerry, put it up to Dublin and did so in a way that shocked the football snobs. There was also a hostile, partitionist element to the coverage of Tyrone. There was a resentment because they came from Ulster and were Nordies who wouldn't lie down and know their place, particularly against Kerry.
The Southern media, especially RTE, should acknowledge their very unfair treatment of Tyrone. They should apologise and Tyrone should accept it and move on; it has become a distraction now."
The GAA and Southern media appear to have forgotten that Down is in Ulster / NI as they never seemed to give them much of a hard time.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 19/02/2018 11:24:20    2078275

I'm not sure if any more than two players from todays panel would feature on the best decade we ever had team.
Feel sorry for the current crop, they are good decent footballers who try their best but will always be compared to a team that more or less was a complete freak of nature. That team I'm referring to is the team of the noughties, to have so many outstanding individuals in every position was just a complete stroke of luck. Tyrone produced little before then and are struggling to measure up now.

But Harte is right on the men behind the ball vibe that follows Tyrone everywhere. We do it no less or no more than most teams. In fact we do it a lot less this year prob why wer're struggling so to keep hearing about it from media is tedious.
Who doesn't close up space at the back in this day and age, hard to listen to, M,Harte is longing for the day for someone to stand up in media and say hold on a minute lads, doesn't every other team play in a similar way?

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 19/02/2018 11:40:07    2078283

Replying To IrishGael3:  "I saw the quotes and if i read correctly he has no intention of changing his style and as the media ramps up about this discussion the more likely mickey will be more stubborn about it. He compares his tactics with the rest of the teams - has he actually watched the Dubs, Kerry, Mayo???? Especially the former where at first hand he watched his brand of defensive football get totally ripped apart in front of his own eyes."
Have you ever watched the four teams play football? It's all a very similar style.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 19/02/2018 12:23:32    2078302

Replying To gotmilk:  "Have you ever watched the four teams play football? It's all a very similar style."
Yes I have and the difference is Mickey plays the smallest player upfront on his own and expects him to win every ball played into him - the others play with more than 1 and they are big men who can handle themselves. Was at the Dub v Tyrone and kerry v Mayo replay last year and Tyrone's style was by far the least effective!!!!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 23/02/2018 18:49:24    2079547

Replying To cacsmckilly:  "I'm not sure if any more than two players from todays panel would feature on the best decade we ever had team.
Feel sorry for the current crop, they are good decent footballers who try their best but will always be compared to a team that more or less was a complete freak of nature. That team I'm referring to is the team of the noughties, to have so many outstanding individuals in every position was just a complete stroke of luck. Tyrone produced little before then and are struggling to measure up now.

But Harte is right on the men behind the ball vibe that follows Tyrone everywhere. We do it no less or no more than most teams. In fact we do it a lot less this year prob why wer're struggling so to keep hearing about it from media is tedious.
Who doesn't close up space at the back in this day and age, hard to listen to, M,Harte is longing for the day for someone to stand up in media and say hold on a minute lads, doesn't every other team play in a similar way?"
Ye not think maybe its cos tyrone started it and perfected it in 02 03 if your a zebra all your life and then you want to be called a pony well its difficult

prideof85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 851 - 23/02/2018 20:00:00    2079568

I wouldn't blame the GAA if there was we need rid of that dictator in the side line.

MODEU (None) - Posts: 108 - 23/02/2018 21:32:27    2079594

I always like to see northern teams do well, but Tyrone for years have displayed an unpleasant degree of cynicism Feigning injury was something new in football, but from getting Marsden sent off to lying down when your hair is ruffled , Tyrone really specialize in this

befair (Down) - Posts: 237 - 24/02/2018 13:51:57    2079682

Replying To befair:  "I always like to see northern teams do well, but Tyrone for years have displayed an unpleasant degree of cynicism Feigning injury was something new in football, but from getting Marsden sent off to lying down when your hair is ruffled , Tyrone really specialize in this"
No harm to you - you're judging Tyrone by something that happened a long time ago to your county and some Down people don't seem to get over it. The problem with this team is their style and if anything they lack cynicism - the game against the Dubs last year needed someone to upset the blues - a cynical tackle or brawl - but don't think they have it in them. So don't take this unrelated biased view of Tyrone to start this broad brush labelling of this current set up - it's lazy commentary!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 24/02/2018 14:15:41    2079686