Division 2 2018

Presume you mean Paddy O'Rourke.. Yeah look Paddy gave great service and deserves nothing but credit.. Yeah I think that it's a new era that Paddy won't be part of but best of luck to him With Skryne and personally

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 15/02/2018 21:25:22    2077260

Replying To royaldunne:  "Just to finish the whole pot thing, he has made it absolutely clear he has no interest in playing again for Meath."
Unless there is a skryne man in charge......

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 16/02/2018 08:17:10    2077313

Very honest assessment from POR. Realistically the players have to dedicate their entire lives to playing county football. If they are not serious contenders for major honors, it's incredibly demoralizing to put in all of that effort with no tangible reward.
I've always been against professionalism however POR and other guys like him are having their lives and careers negatively impacted something has to give. If the status quo remains it'll either turn into a sport played by students or increasingly the few counties, with a realistic prospect of winning, will get stronger and the rest will get weaker making it even more lopsided. Jesus, that's depressing for a Friday!

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 16/02/2018 17:03:53    2077453

See Alan Douglas has left panel to join up with hurlers

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2136 - 16/02/2018 19:05:21    2077482

Replying To pauk123:  "Very honest assessment from POR. Realistically the players have to dedicate their entire lives to playing county football. If they are not serious contenders for major honors, it's incredibly demoralizing to put in all of that effort with no tangible reward.
I've always been against professionalism however POR and other guys like him are having their lives and careers negatively impacted something has to give. If the status quo remains it'll either turn into a sport played by students or increasingly the few counties, with a realistic prospect of winning, will get stronger and the rest will get weaker making it even more lopsided. Jesus, that's depressing for a Friday!"
Yeah if paddys heart not in it he is better off out of it. But at least with meath there is alway a chance of winning something even if it remote theses days. But since meath recent poor form ie the past 7 or 8 years I have new found respect for the so called weaker teams ie the teams that always finish bottom of div 4 fair play too them for putting the effort in and supporters following them knowing its not really realistic to win much or anything. But your point that standards are too high is true.It's gone totally ridiculous. Dublin have raised stanards so high no one can really complete. ( and i am not knocking dublin fair if they are able to do it ) but if I hear it's not that bad and mayo got within a point of them one more time I think i will scream yes they did and fair play to them too.But are people happy that Dublin just get one tough game a year now???? When meath where winning all Ireland's we got a minimum of 4 tough games 2 Leinster semi final the final. Even Kerry at the peak got 3
One munster s/f and final.
It's not good for the game it's gone so professional but it's hard to know it's it can be fixed.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 16/02/2018 19:53:28    2077492

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Yeah if paddys heart not in it he is better off out of it. But at least with meath there is alway a chance of winning something even if it remote theses days. But since meath recent poor form ie the past 7 or 8 years I have new found respect for the so called weaker teams ie the teams that always finish bottom of div 4 fair play too them for putting the effort in and supporters following them knowing its not really realistic to win much or anything. But your point that standards are too high is true.It's gone totally ridiculous. Dublin have raised stanards so high no one can really complete. ( and i am not knocking dublin fair if they are able to do it ) but if I hear it's not that bad and mayo got within a point of them one more time I think i will scream yes they did and fair play to them too.But are people happy that Dublin just get one tough game a year now???? When meath where winning all Ireland's we got a minimum of 4 tough games 2 Leinster semi final the final. Even Kerry at the peak got 3
One munster s/f and final.
It's not good for the game it's gone so professional but it's hard to know it's it can be fixed."
Pay players. I would always have been dead against it but the demands are so high the players are professional in all but payment. Dublin have a number of players so work essentially part-time and are more or less living the life of a professional athlete.

Anyway let's hope Paddy is wrong and we're on the cusp of getting back to the top, starting with putting Cavan to the sword on Sunday.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 16/02/2018 22:26:56    2077522

Replying To pauk123:  "Pay players. I would always have been dead against it but the demands are so high the players are professional in all but payment. Dublin have a number of players so work essentially part-time and are more or less living the life of a professional athlete.

Anyway let's hope Paddy is wrong and we're on the cusp of getting back to the top, starting with putting Cavan to the sword on Sunday."
What would you pay them! Does all players revive the same amount?? So many questions..

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 16/02/2018 23:09:22    2077532

Replying To grahamc9897:  "What would you pay them! Does all players revive the same amount?? So many questions.."
If I was going down that route I would give a basic allowance of say 20O pw to everyone on the panel, and maybe appearance fee if you like to call it that of additional 50 /100 for match day players. It's not a huge amount, it would have to be tax free, but it gives a little back to players who miss out on so much.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/02/2018 08:09:52    2077555

Replying To royaldunne:  "If I was going down that route I would give a basic allowance of say 20O pw to everyone on the panel, and maybe appearance fee if you like to call it that of additional 50 /100 for match day players. It's not a huge amount, it would have to be tax free, but it gives a little back to players who miss out on so much."
Cant see it happening that's millions per year between hurling and football ! At the end of the day it would get competitive and the bigger players would expect more money! I imagine it would turn into players just trying to play games just to get paid ! Personally I'm against it..

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 17/02/2018 10:42:19    2077587

Replying To royaldunne:  "If I was going down that route I would give a basic allowance of say 20O pw to everyone on the panel, and maybe appearance fee if you like to call it that of additional 50 /100 for match day players. It's not a huge amount, it would have to be tax free, but it gives a little back to players who miss out on so much."
I think paddy would have stayed on if we were improving but sadly we are not. Last year we had a good league after the 1st kildare game hammering we received at navan. We then got hammered by them in championship which was simply awful. I really thought we would go onto play the dubs but not one player could say they had a good game that day. We then struggled to beat a weak sligo team. I am not saying we are bad but we are simply not improving . Kildare have not won a single game in championship obryne cup or league since they beat us in tullamore last year and they are supposed to be the closest to the dubs in leinster. The commitment is unreal with these bunch of players they give up so much to play for the county and its hard to play this defensive game mcentee has set up for us. We simply do not have the players to reach the dubs level

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 17/02/2018 10:50:04    2077591

Replying To SheridansTry:  "I think paddy would have stayed on if we were improving but sadly we are not. Last year we had a good league after the 1st kildare game hammering we received at navan. We then got hammered by them in championship which was simply awful. I really thought we would go onto play the dubs but not one player could say they had a good game that day. We then struggled to beat a weak sligo team. I am not saying we are bad but we are simply not improving . Kildare have not won a single game in championship obryne cup or league since they beat us in tullamore last year and they are supposed to be the closest to the dubs in leinster. The commitment is unreal with these bunch of players they give up so much to play for the county and its hard to play this defensive game mcentee has set up for us. We simply do not have the players to reach the dubs level"
Can't agree with not improving last year, we came 3 in division, previous year we narrowly beat current division 4 side Laois Just stay in div 2 , won first game in qualifiers for many a year, lost a close game to Donegal, (ironically helped by a poor kick out by por) no second half collapses that had become our trademark over past couple of years. Rome wasn't built in a day as they say, Andy had a lot to deal with last year, including what seems to have been a very defeatist attitude from some players, all in all it was a improvement but there is a long road ahead . Andy is the man to lead us on that road

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/02/2018 11:45:16    2077600

Replying To SheridansTry:  "I think paddy would have stayed on if we were improving but sadly we are not. Last year we had a good league after the 1st kildare game hammering we received at navan. We then got hammered by them in championship which was simply awful. I really thought we would go onto play the dubs but not one player could say they had a good game that day. We then struggled to beat a weak sligo team. I am not saying we are bad but we are simply not improving . Kildare have not won a single game in championship obryne cup or league since they beat us in tullamore last year and they are supposed to be the closest to the dubs in leinster. The commitment is unreal with these bunch of players they give up so much to play for the county and its hard to play this defensive game mcentee has set up for us. We simply do not have the players to reach the dubs level"
Yes, I tend to agree with your last statement "We simply do not have the players to reach the dubs level " Maybe we could beat them. But even if we do get a team good enough to challenge Dublin. I couldn't see us keeping it going for ten years or so. maybe 2 or 3. Then player burn out would,come in play. We would not be able to rotate our squad during the league the way Dublin do. I heard that Killian O'conor played every minute of every league for Mayo last year. Dublin are not having do do this with there Top Players. People are saying Mayo are poor this year isnt it any wonder with the level of effort and commitment they have put in over the past 5 or 6 years. Not many teams can keep it going at the top for sustained period.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 17/02/2018 12:33:07    2077619

Not that this is really relevant to a thread about Division 2, how we are discussing Paddy O Rourke?

This guy left the Meath panel of his own accord and is now going on record to state that the team is going nowhere. In my opinion it is disgraceful.

He clearly does not respect the Meath team or Meath football. He has no right to lend his time to media outlets and bad-mouth the county team - it really shows his outlook and mindset.

I don't deny these guys put considerable amount of their lives to playing sport and may not get the reward of titles and honours. However, it should be honour in itself to put on the jersey of your county and play. If everyone shared his opinion why would we bother having a team or playing?

As he is no longer involved with the set-up he should keep his comments to himself.

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 757 - 17/02/2018 14:36:33    2077657

Replying To Royalio11:  "Not that this is really relevant to a thread about Division 2, how we are discussing Paddy O Rourke?

This guy left the Meath panel of his own accord and is now going on record to state that the team is going nowhere. In my opinion it is disgraceful.

He clearly does not respect the Meath team or Meath football. He has no right to lend his time to media outlets and bad-mouth the county team - it really shows his outlook and mindset.

I don't deny these guys put considerable amount of their lives to playing sport and may not get the reward of titles and honours. However, it should be honour in itself to put on the jersey of your county and play. If everyone shared his opinion why would we bother having a team or playing?

As he is no longer involved with the set-up he should keep his comments to himself."
He's entitled to his opinion and while I do agree with some of you points Paddy HSS put in many years of hard graft and deserves credit! I personally don't want to be discussing him at all because he's walked away and won't be back so its pointless! Even before this interview there was posters commenting that he scored this and that in Mickey mouse league games and he could be brought back to play outfield which I thought was madness!! Anyway I'm done talking about him and you are correct this is a division 2 thread so let's keep it to that ..

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 17/02/2018 14:55:28    2077668

Replying To seadog54:  "See Alan Douglas has left panel to join up with hurlers"
Bit of a pity about Douglas. Got very little opportunity last year, he stuck around and has got very little opportunity this year in spite of playing quite well in the O'Byrne Cup game he played. You cant really blame him as it looks like he was a bit down the pecking order under Andy. His position for the county is wing back and Andy seems fairly certain as to who he wants in there.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 17/02/2018 16:55:41    2077703

Replying To Royalio11:  "Not that this is really relevant to a thread about Division 2, how we are discussing Paddy O Rourke?

As he is no longer involved with the set-up he should keep his comments to himself."
I don't often agree with you. But on this I am in complete agreement. Well said

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/02/2018 17:57:56    2077720

Royalio11 (Meath) - He is entitled to make his comments and he did give good service to the county team over the last number of years.- Now you and a couple of other keyboard warriors may not like what he says, and I may not agree with all he has said. However, his opinion is more important than anything that you or I (or any other poster), may put on this tread.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 17/02/2018 19:58:56    2077744

Replying To browncows:  "Royalio11 (Meath) - He is entitled to make his comments and he did give good service to the county team over the last number of years.- Now you and a couple of other keyboard warriors may not like what he says, and I may not agree with all he has said. However, his opinion is more important than anything that you or I (or any other poster), may put on this tread."
Whys paddys opinion more important then the rest of us ? I don't understand that comment, o rourke is now an spectator just like me and you not God

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 17/02/2018 20:20:42    2077751

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Whys paddys opinion more important then the rest of us ? I don't understand that comment, o rourke is now an spectator just like me and you not God"
Yeah. I don't understand that that either. Actually he was one on giving out that match last week should have been moved to navan on Sunday. He is a supporter now like the rest of us. All our opinions are equal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 17/02/2018 20:30:54    2077758

Replying To browncows:  "Royalio11 (Meath) - He is entitled to make his comments and he did give good service to the county team over the last number of years.- Now you and a couple of other keyboard warriors may not like what he says, and I may not agree with all he has said. However, his opinion is more important than anything that you or I (or any other poster), may put on this tread."
It may be more informed having just left the panel, but how can it be more important? After all an opinion is just that, its not fact.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2136 - 17/02/2018 20:42:27    2077761