Monaghan V Kerry

Replying To Shelbourne:  "Good idea ! Hope the pure Monaghan air agrees with you !"
Congratulations shelbourne and all from Monaghan better team by a mile, now if I could just get out of inniskeen , I'm telling ye next year we're going to drag ye down to dingle for our league meeting :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/02/2018 17:02:05    2077960

A good win for monaghan .well done

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 18/02/2018 18:58:59    2078025

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Congratulations shelbourne and all from Monaghan better team by a mile, now if I could just get out of inniskeen , I'm telling ye next year we're going to drag ye down to dingle for our league meeting :-)"
Would love to share a pint KingdomBoy in lovely Dingle...know it well. Hopefully we meet again at the business end of the season. I think your younger players will have learned a lot there today.........some lovely footballers coming through. I hope our young no 4 learns his lesson. That's his 2nd red card this season in only 3 league matches & he got red in between those for his college. Safe journey home !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 18/02/2018 19:00:21    2078026

Replying To Shelbourne:  "Would love to share a pint KingdomBoy in lovely Dingle...know it well. Hopefully we meet again at the business end of the season. I think your younger players will have learned a lot there today.........some lovely footballers coming through. I hope our young no 4 learns his lesson. That's his 2nd red card this season in only 3 league matches & he got red in between those for his college. Safe journey home !"
I suggest you watch the coverage of "our young number 4" sending off incident.
Joke of a decision

northmonman (Monaghan) - Posts: 59 - 18/02/2018 19:36:32    2078050

Replying To northmonman:  "I suggest you watch the coverage of "our young number 4" sending off incident.
Joke of a decision"
I agree no evidence to support that particular red. But can he be that unlucky in 3 of his last 4 games ? Don't get involved Barry in future...stick to football ...you're good at it !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 18/02/2018 20:04:26    2078068

Good win, typical league performance from our lads. Mc Manus showed glimpses but is still well off the pace. Defensively very composed in the last 15 minutes after dubious sending off. I like the cut of Kerr regardless, he just needs to be a bit cuter (learn not to get caught), would get in the Dublin team if he did (no offence). Also Kearns at mid field and Boyle at FB, moving Drew out to CHB looked good.
Kerry were sub standard for DIv 1 in the first half, Ok in the second but showed a bit of naivety when an extra man up. They took their eye off the ball, sort of speak in those last 10 minutes which was testament to our lads doggedness.

Kept one eye on Clifford when he came on. The going didn't suit him, but he certainly has the stomach for a battle and the physical side of the game. Definitely one for the future and we're lucky he stayed as he could easily have made it below.
This match should stand to us next week when we face Tyrone. Blaney will be rocking

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 18/02/2018 21:56:39    2078132

Replying To northmonman:  "I suggest you watch the coverage of "our young number 4" sending off incident.
Joke of a decision"
What the cameras didnt pick up was the box in the jaw that Clifford got in that i incident.
I was directly across from it.
Straight red all day.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 18/02/2018 21:57:27    2078133

Proud monaghan man and will defend our boys until the cows come home but I can't defend the indefensible.

What Barry Kerr done today was nothing short of a disgrace and I truly hope he gets what he deserves for it. No place for that in the GAA whatsoever.

If Connolly had done that it would be front page news. Kerr has the potential to be an excellent player but will go nowhere with that carry on in his locker.

Monaghansclown (Monaghan) - Posts: 174 - 18/02/2018 22:54:00    2078168

Joke of a decision"
Was it not for eye gouging or attempted eye gouging that he was sent off? that's what it looked like on tv anyway,I'm not sure though.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 18/02/2018 23:35:17    2078182

Looked like an attempt to eye gouge, not good to see that kind of stuff. Should be a ban of suitable time, it's just not acceptable.
A really good win for Monaghan otherwise, I would question that penalty though I thought it was a great flick away from the keeper? Refs sometimes make their minds up a little too quick for big decisions.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 19/02/2018 09:05:09    2078217

Replying To Shelbourne:  "Would love to share a pint KingdomBoy in lovely Dingle...know it well. Hopefully we meet again at the business end of the season. I think your younger players will have learned a lot there today.........some lovely footballers coming through. I hope our young no 4 learns his lesson. That's his 2nd red card this season in only 3 league matches & he got red in between those for his college. Safe journey home !"
Sound man shelbourne we might have to settle for a scoop in Killarney or Tralee though instead :-)

Jays it took us about 40/50 minutes to get past Kelly's bar going home yesterday but at least we got to see Patrick kavanagh country as we wandered lonely as a cloud,

I felt awful frustrated after the game as I thought we could have got something out of it even though we didn't deserve anything from it , but all the mistakes fouling the ball and silly pushes in the backs, jays we badly need to learn lessons from yesterday's game.

As for yer number 4 , he's a fine footballer but he just needs to calm himself as he's no good to ye on the sidelines but o'Rourke will sort him out I'm sure.

Ya hopefully we might meet come the summer it's been a while since our teams met in the championship was 07/08 when ye nearly toppled us .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/02/2018 09:25:51    2078225

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Was it not for eye gouging or attempted eye gouging that he was sent off? that's what it looked like on tv anyway,I'm not sure though."
I believe the sending off was for a strike on Clifford by the number 4.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 19/02/2018 11:55:49    2078289

Replying To jonno:  "Looked like an attempt to eye gouge, not good to see that kind of stuff. Should be a ban of suitable time, it's just not acceptable.
A really good win for Monaghan otherwise, I would question that penalty though I thought it was a great flick away from the keeper? Refs sometimes make their minds up a little too quick for big decisions."
In fairness tis hard to blame the ref. First impressions was that it was a stonewall penalty.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 19/02/2018 12:10:48    2078297

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Sound man shelbourne we might have to settle for a scoop in Killarney or Tralee though instead :-)

Jays it took us about 40/50 minutes to get past Kelly's bar going home yesterday but at least we got to see Patrick kavanagh country as we wandered lonely as a cloud,

I felt awful frustrated after the game as I thought we could have got something out of it even though we didn't deserve anything from it , but all the mistakes fouling the ball and silly pushes in the backs, jays we badly need to learn lessons from yesterday's game.

As for yer number 4 , he's a fine footballer but he just needs to calm himself as he's no good to ye on the sidelines but o'Rourke will sort him out I'm sure.

Ya hopefully we might meet come the summer it's been a while since our teams met in the championship was 07/08 when ye nearly toppled us ."
I know the frustration well KingdomBoy...........we lost to Mayo by a point when we should have won that game. You mentioned 07/08 ...well that was mighty frustration for us ...we should have toppled you. As our poet once said "it often occurs to me that we love most what makes us miserable".

But the league is just a dress rehearsal and Kerry have added some potentially top players...hopefully we have added a few too this year.

By the way Inniskeen is a handier venue for you guys as Clones is over 30 miles further north .........so at least off the pitch we were facilitating you !

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 19/02/2018 12:12:14    2078300

Replying To jonno:  "Looked like an attempt to eye gouge, not good to see that kind of stuff. Should be a ban of suitable time, it's just not acceptable.
A really good win for Monaghan otherwise, I would question that penalty though I thought it was a great flick away from the keeper? Refs sometimes make their minds up a little too quick for big decisions."
No eye gouging from that clip on tv.......westkerry (Kerry) says was another incident which he himself saw....so as an honest kerryman will have to take his word. Anyway Kerr only has himself to blame ...young and foolish...he will learn hopefully.

Shelbourne (Monaghan) - Posts: 567 - 19/02/2018 13:33:53    2078340

Replying To Shelbourne:  "I know the frustration well KingdomBoy...........we lost to Mayo by a point when we should have won that game. You mentioned 07/08 ...well that was mighty frustration for us ...we should have toppled you. As our poet once said "it often occurs to me that we love most what makes us miserable".

But the league is just a dress rehearsal and Kerry have added some potentially top players...hopefully we have added a few too this year.

By the way Inniskeen is a handier venue for you guys as Clones is over 30 miles further north .........so at least off the pitch we were facilitating you !"
I appreciated not having to travel the further 60 mile round trip from clones as we used a full tank of diesel up and down, and I think yer poet was spot on about loving things that make us miserable but the good days are worth the lows.

We were very early yesterday and we got talking to a lot of sound Monaghan people working at grattan park and I got to meet banty and big joe kernan as well two of the nicest fellas you'd ever meet.

On the red card for the number 4 it's was definitely for a punch on Clifford not the eye gouge as I didn't see that till I played it back last night.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/02/2018 14:19:22    2078360

Well done to Monaghan. Looks like another year almost secured in div 1. Probably the best example in the country of a county doing the very best with the resources it has. Tough team to get the better of.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 19/02/2018 21:54:48    2078567

Replying To kildare73:  "Well done to Monaghan. Looks like another year almost secured in div 1. Probably the best example in the country of a county doing the very best with the resources it has. Tough team to get the better of."
Absolutely and Rory beggan is some goalie, the saves he pulled off yesterday were excellent and his kickouts sublime plus he like to wander out around his half back line which is something you don't see everyday.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/02/2018 00:33:18    2078603

Lucky to get the win but showed great resilience. Have we learnt much from last year? Not sure yet. At one stage we had 13 behind the ball before the sending off . Played great football in the first half. We need to be more attack minded. Don't want a repeat of the debacle of a game against Dublin last year in croke park. If we get one more win/draw I the league I would be resting McManus and putting out inexperienced teams for the rest of the league campaign to blood new players. We need to peak in the summer time and no earlier.

montheman (Monaghan) - Posts: 28 - 20/02/2018 09:05:01    2078629

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Absolutely and Rory beggan is some goalie, the saves he pulled off yesterday were excellent and his kickouts sublime plus he like to wander out around his half back line which is something you don't see everyday."
Yeah I think it was on the GAA Hour podcast where they were talking about Beggan being a great outlet for the defence if they're under pressure. He doesn't mind drifting out to the wing and offering another option for a pass. The only thing is that it can be risky enough, and you need a goalie very comfortable on the ball. Beggan would be fairly comfortable out the field though, he actually scored a point from play in a club league game last year, and he wasn't playing outfield!

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 20/02/2018 14:18:42    2078737