Meath v Cavan

Replying To blueman1903:  "Well god help you, people have houses flooded and farm yards and your livid!!yes Cavan should be able to organize the weather."
The game wasn't due to be played in someone's house or in a farmyard, so using someone else's misfortune to respond to a valid critique of your county pitch is quite distasteful.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 10/02/2018 21:33:58    2075540

Cant see it played tomorrow. Serious rain this evening/night. I hope im wrong but see a backlog of fixtures mounting up.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 10/02/2018 23:13:01    2075579

If its not played tomorrow. When could the match be rescheduled . We are playing evey week for the next few weeks. Probaly at the end of the league. When can it be played?

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 10/02/2018 23:40:39    2075588

Seriously lads its not going to be played tomorrow. O Byrne cup will be postponed again.....watch this space

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 11/02/2018 01:39:41    2075612

Replying To Jinxie:  "The game wasn't due to be played in someone's house or in a farmyard, so using someone else's misfortune to respond to a valid critique of your county pitch is quite distasteful."
It's a game of football that was called off , not the end of the world if you are still livid about that maybe you need help,.a football match isn't that important in the grand scale of things.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 881 - 11/02/2018 07:27:54    2075624

Replying To David:  "Cant see it played tomorrow. Serious rain this evening/night. I hope im wrong but see a backlog of fixtures mounting up."
Right there's no way that sponge will have dried up during a night of rain and snow, so what's the story on a decision being made, or will it be dragged out all over the morning then they say it's too late to move it

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 11/02/2018 07:53:35    2075626

Replying To Jinxie:  "The game wasn't due to be played in someone's house or in a farmyard, so using someone else's misfortune to respond to a valid critique of your county pitch is quite distasteful."
Ye are right, proper drainage should be put in, neighbouring counties so not so far for most of ye but from Ashbourne it's a long journey for nothing I even see one guy drove from Donegal, people have a right to be annoyed when a game is called off last min while they onrute, gaa have made a virtue of leaving April free for clubs, but they didn't bother to ensure all grounds would be able to hold games regardless of adverse weather

joeblogs10 (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 11/02/2018 08:10:43    2075627

I was one of the misfortuned and for you to say can cavan not organize anything, I didn't know that level of rain was coming and couldn't control it, breffni Park didn't know or couldn't control it, so you being livid is quite distasteful.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 881 - 11/02/2018 08:33:50    2075632

Replying To Furlong1949:  "If its not played tomorrow. When could the match be rescheduled . We are playing evey week for the next few weeks. Probaly at the end of the league. When can it be played?"
next weekend

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 11/02/2018 09:04:40    2075636

Replying To blueman1903:  "I was one of the misfortuned and for you to say can cavan not organize anything, I didn't know that level of rain was coming and couldn't control it, breffni Park didn't know or couldn't control it, so you being livid is quite distasteful."
Please show me a post where I mentioned anything about Cavan organising anything?

I think you need to go back and start at the beginning again sir

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 11/02/2018 09:06:51    2075637

Replying To Furlong1949:  "If its not played tomorrow. When could the match be rescheduled . We are playing evey week for the next few weeks. Probaly at the end of the league. When can it be played?"
next weekend

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 11/02/2018 09:07:37    2075638

Replying To blueman1903:  "It's a game of football that was called off , not the end of the world if you are still livid about that maybe you need help,.a football match isn't that important in the grand scale of things."
Where did I say I was livid.
That's twice you be gotten that one wrong. Read back on the posts, different poster.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 11/02/2018 09:09:10    2075639

Replying To blueman1903:  "It's a game of football that was called off , not the end of the world if you are still livid about that maybe you need help,.a football match isn't that important in the grand scale of things."
If ye travel a good distance probably with pre bought tickets, maybe get a babysitter in, and to arrive and no match on it is a big deal to have to turn around and go home lot of expenses for nothing, I thought been a cavan man ye above anyone wouldn't like wasting money for nothing

joeblogs10 (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 11/02/2018 09:13:50    2075640

I see paddy o rourke has been taking to twitter again
"In my un-educated opinion the #Gaa chiefs should have grown a set and moved the @CavanCoBoardGaa V @MeathGAA game to Navan 2moro. If a pitch is unplayable at 7pm it wont be playable 19hours later with zero drying. Both teams deserve decent pitch conditions."

There is no precedent and no justification under any gaa rules for moving the game out of Cavan. You can moan and whinge all you like about the late postponement of the match, and you would have some justification. But the Cavan county board didn't cause the weather conditions yesterday, and the cavan team can hardly be punished for it by having a home game changed to an away game.
We live in Ireland - these things happen from time to time ffs.
Just switch the game to next weekend and move on.

anfearbeag (Meath) - Posts: 1134 - 11/02/2018 09:17:31    2075641

Game off

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 11/02/2018 09:22:32    2075642

It will have to be next weekend or between rounds 5 & 6 as it wont be left until after league. All final round matches need to be played simultaneously as too much will be at stake in such a tight division.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 11/02/2018 09:26:22    2075643

As expected game off

joeblogs10 (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 11/02/2018 09:27:46    2075644

DL may get some game time against Cavan yet!

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 11/02/2018 09:29:29    2075645

Replying To anfearbeag:  "I see paddy o rourke has been taking to twitter again
"In my un-educated opinion the #Gaa chiefs should have grown a set and moved the @CavanCoBoardGaa V @MeathGAA game to Navan 2moro. If a pitch is unplayable at 7pm it wont be playable 19hours later with zero drying. Both teams deserve decent pitch conditions."

There is no precedent and no justification under any gaa rules for moving the game out of Cavan. You can moan and whinge all you like about the late postponement of the match, and you would have some justification. But the Cavan county board didn't cause the weather conditions yesterday, and the cavan team can hardly be punished for it by having a home game changed to an away game.
We live in Ireland - these things happen from time to time ffs.
Just switch the game to next weekend and move on."
I think you'll find that there is precedent for games being moved.
Most counties with have an alternative pitch put forward, like roscommon used kiltoom, Jonathan use iniskeen and so on. And in the past games have been moved outside the county, like roscommon moving their home game to longford.

This is no b league football where we shove it in midweek when championship is over, a bit of proper planning is all that's being asked for. That pitch has been frozen all week, yet nothing is done until 90 mins before throw in. Total amatuerism at it's best .

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 11/02/2018 09:32:02    2075646

Replying To Jinxie:  "I think you'll find that there is precedent for games being moved.
Most counties with have an alternative pitch put forward, like roscommon used kiltoom, Jonathan use iniskeen and so on. And in the past games have been moved outside the county, like roscommon moving their home game to longford.

This is no b league football where we shove it in midweek when championship is over, a bit of proper planning is all that's being asked for. That pitch has been frozen all week, yet nothing is done until 90 mins before throw in. Total amatuerism at it's best ."
That pitch was unplayable at 3pm yesterday. Of course the weather isnt the referees or Cavans fault but the ridiculously late postponement and the lack of a viable alternative planned is.....as said before this isn't a b league match....if ya have to move to a neutral venue so be it and if a call was made when it should have been yesyerday afternoon there would have been loads of time to organise

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 11/02/2018 09:46:22    2075651