Meath v Cavan

Two of the greats face each other this weekend. This has the potential to be the start of a series of battles between two teams on the rise. I can see us meeting in croke park in the late summer.

Hopefully the new bypass of kells will save the windows of the cars from being targeting by the Stone throwers this weekend - No doubt ye have planned otherwise.

After our performance last weekend I am calling a 4 point breffni win.

foxes_denn (Cavan) - Posts: 129 - 07/02/2018 19:37:02    2074882

Replying To fredflint:  "I'm interested to understand on what basis and evidence do you think Meath players are pound for pound better than Cavan. Ye might win Saturday or we might, league is hard to judge. However if we met in the qualifiers in summer i'd expect cavan to win.

Also, a superb running game? Bit early to make an assertion like that?"
I don't want to put too much pressure on players but I feel both McGill and lavin in backs would be better than Cavans , midfield about even although maybe Cavan shade it, forward Reilly on his day is superb, I'd also rate mckeever as top notch along with mcenetee. Look I have said I know very little about Cavan these days, and only going on what I've seen on to (not much) and what I've read/heard we just about shade it. Actually in a twist I don't think I would be one bit worried about a championship meeting, the pace and speed of this Meath team is built for summer football, my worry is that we have the running game (that's been evident in every game we played this year) but on a wet Saturday night in Cavan our main drawback could be that won't work against a big strong physical side.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/02/2018 19:37:59    2074884

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "I dont like watching Meath under lights. I think we play better in daylight. It might just be me. Never really liked going to Navan on Saturday night."
No I feel the same, actually was a upside to the whole floodlights fiasco. No more Saturday night games lol. Thought it was only me

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/02/2018 19:39:23    2074885

Replying To Furlong1949:  "I have been qouted above.

When I was talking about Meaths record recently in league football, I was trying to show that Meaths recent lack of sucess was because of Meath not playing divsion 1 football. But it must be then said if Meath return to Division 1 soon. All the evidence would suggest a young and coming team that is top of division 2 at the moment and finished 3rd 3 times in the last 4 years like Meath, would be stronger and more sucessful after playing divsion 1 football

Hawkeye you are wrong when you say meath dont belong in divsion 1. Why?. Well because Meath are one of the most successful counties in the county in national league football. Only Kerry Dublin Mayo and Cork have won more national league Division 1 titles then Meath. Meath have won national league Division 1 titles in the 1930s 40s 50s 70s 80s and 90s. Meath have reached the national league division 1 final in the 30s 40s 50s 70s 80s 90s and 00s. Meath have basically spent near 80 years in division 1. In terms of longevity in division 1 , only kerry and Dublin have spent longer in the national division league 1 then Meath.

Mayo are another county with a great league tradition and our the longest team in div 1 at the moment with 20 years there and they won multiple league titles in the 30s. But they didnt win Connacht title in the 70s and did not reach an All Ireland for 30 years. So they would have been absent from Division 1 for many periods in the above timescale. Overall Kerry Dublin and Meath have spent the longest time in divsion 1 over the last 100 years.

And in league football the number of winners and spread of winners are even lesser then the spread of winners in the All Ireland championship. Many counties have only recently tasted sucess in league football. Donegal late 00s , Tyrone early 00s, Armagh mid 00s and Offaly 1998 have only won their first and only national league division 1 title in recent years. While kildare have never won a national league division 1 title. Meaths haul of 7 national league division 1 titles from the 30s to the noughties is one of the best records at league football sucess in the country.

Meath league sucess has been the foundation for future All Ireland sucess. Sucess in divsion 1 football has always led to sucess in championship football in the past for Meath and all counties. This thread has cont'd in modern football. Monaghan Donegal Roscomon have all spent multiple years in divsion 1 recently. They all had provicial sucess afterwards. Its linked. Reach divsion 1 and stay there and sucess will follow. So that was my point. Meath are so close to being promoted in recent years. With one of the youngest teams in the country , reaching div 1 is not impossible. And staying there is difficult ,but Meath have always and even recently always up their game v top counties. All the evidence would suggest that this would lead to a stronger Meath, division 1 football would lead to a stronger Meath.

So in conclusion maybe saying Meath belong in divsion 1 might be a bit elitist. But if ur saying Meath dont belong in divsion 1 , then you would have to then say after Kerry and Dublin, very few would then belong in divsion 1. But to say that Meath dont belong in divsion 1 would be like saying Arsenal dont belong in the premiership or AC Milan dont belong in Serie A. It would only be said by supporters from neighbouring counties who would be happy to hear only bad things about Meath and enjoy Meaths defeats. And who want and need Meath not be sucessful.

For in the past everytime Meath played divsion 1 football every Meath team since the 1920s defeated the Dubs in the championship. A record better then any other county in the country. And on 5 occasions Meath knocked from their perch and became the dominant force in leinster football as the Dubs where set packing to the football wilderness. Meath have been in worst positions many many times in the past and the Dubs have been in stronger positions. And Meath have toppled the Dubs. The history of leinster football since the 1920s has been Dublin go up a level and our unbeatable. Meath are completely written off. They then come from nowhere and topple the Dubs. This has happened generation after generation after generation, decade after decade.

What gives me hope was when I saw young Meath footballers 17 year olds hammering the Dubs 2 years ago at minor level and last year 16 year old Meath footballers comprehensively beat the Dubs in the under 17 leinster final last year. The tradition goes on. Meath are not as bad as people want or need them to be. In my view Meath are 12 to 24 months away from doing what Galway are doing in divsion 1 now. Walsh is in his 4th year, McEntee is in his 2nd year. McEntee has completely overhauled the Meath panel and the team this year with a possible 6 new players on the first 15 that did not play v kildare last year. It will take time.

For people who want Meath to be unsucessful this year . It will probaly be good viewing for them. As I expect these new players and this young team will take a while to gel. But when they do we will be stronger. How strong? . Time will tell. But playing divsion 1 football would change everything for Meath or any county that plays Division 1 football.
You can qoute me on any of the above Hawkeye but I get the feeling you wouldnt. There is to much good things and positively written about Meath."
Wow your bringing a lot of history in to this now ... I don't think the Meath teams of then can do you justice for the past few years can they ???

My point is you need to earn your way to the top you don't just belong there like what was said going on the past few years ....can you agree that Meath belong there ?

If you want to go down the historic route there are some teams in division 3 that would argue that they belong there too !!!

hawkeye1 (Dublin) - Posts: 13 - 07/02/2018 19:51:56    2074889

Replying To royaldunne:  "No I feel the same, actually was a upside to the whole floodlights fiasco. No more Saturday night games lol. Thought it was only me"
Yes, I generally prefer going to Navan for a game on a crisp February / March Sunday afternoon. Never a lover of the Saturday evening games myself.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 07/02/2018 20:54:52    2074902

Replying To Barney123:  "I may have worded it wrong, even when players were leaving the panel and at the end of last season I have been 100% behind Andy and his backroom team. If he leaves there is not a chance of us getting a better manager and his progress to date has been very good in my opinion.

What I meant to say is that tactic he has at the minute of being defensive in the first half and then going attacking in the 2nd half won't work against the better teams.

If a manager of a team in division one sees that we are only scoring 6 in the first half and then scoring 15 in the second half and they are doing it consistently than that manager will come up with a way to stop it.

I'm not a county manager but If I was managing a team that was going to play against this current Meath side I would go all out attack in the first half, get as many scores as possible and then go ultra defensive in the second half and look to get the odd score on the counter attack. We all know Meath struggle against 15 men behind the ball so they probably wouldn't get many scores in the first half because they are playing defensively and wouldn't get many scores in the second half because the opposition are playing defensively."
Agree with you sorry if i picked you up wromg on your other comment. Sure we can all see the pattern thats occurinf here with 2nf half flat to the mat playing and im sure every other county manager has seen it too. We need to be doing alot more than leaving ourselves wide opening for a thrashing in the 1st half which any better team will hammer us with us giving them the opportunity to do it. We will be spending the whole 2nd half trying to play catch up and we have a habit of doing that, leveling scores then either get beaten or drawing the game. We need to be playing at least full 50 minutes if not 70.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 07/02/2018 21:02:28    2074904

Replying To foxes_denn:  "Two of the greats face each other this weekend. This has the potential to be the start of a series of battles between two teams on the rise. I can see us meeting in croke park in the late summer.

Hopefully the new bypass of kells will save the windows of the cars from being targeting by the Stone throwers this weekend - No doubt ye have planned otherwise.

After our performance last weekend I am calling a 4 point breffni win."
Crawl back into your denn

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 07/02/2018 21:07:00    2074907

Replying To hawkeye1:  "Wow your bringing a lot of history in to this now ... I don't think the Meath teams of then can do you justice for the past few years can they ???

My point is you need to earn your way to the top you don't just belong there like what was said going on the past few years ....can you agree that Meath belong there ?

If you want to go down the historic route there are some teams in division 3 that would argue that they belong there too !!!"
What teams in div 3 belong in div 1? Armagh have only 1 league title div 1 in 2005 . Armagh emerged on the national stage in late 70s. Even though they had a very good team in early 50s. Offaly only have 1 league title div 1 in 1998 . Offaly where only a top football division 1 team for 20 year 1960 to 1982. Since 1983 Offaly have been in div 3 or 4. Prior to 1960 Offaly was a div 4 county. Westmeath and Fermanagh have never won league div 1 title. Derry emerged in the 90s with a couple of league wins into 00s. But prior to the 90s Derry where in the low divsions.

My point is Meath have a great sucess rate in league football for near 80 or so years. Sucess in the 30s 40s 50s 60s 70s 80s 90s and 00s. Only Kerry and Dublin have such consistency and longevity in div 1. The number of counties that have had league div 1 sucess is much less then counties that have had All Ireland sucess. Meath have a long tradition in league football. Navan is a tough place to beat Meath. Even in current times I d say our sucess rate in Navan is 90 %. In the past Navan was a fortress. Dublin could not beat Meath in Navan in the league. The battles between kevin Heffernan and Paddy O Brien in Navan are legendary. Kildare couldnt beat Meath in Navan for 75 years . First victory over Meath in Navan in the league in early 00s. Even today Galway havent beaten Meath in Navan in 35 years.
Meath have a proud sucessful tradition in league football. Theres nothing wrong in having that tradition. Is it not better to have that tradition then not have it.

I don't say Meath belong anywhere. Im just saying this is what happened. Its factual. You cannot change facts. And my main point is that Meaths sucess in the past was built on staying and been sucessful in div 1. The last 15 years we have spent 1 year in div 1. That year we drew with Dublin defeated Galway and the great Tyrone team of the 00s and reached a an All Ireland semi final
Only 1 year in divsion 1 and look.at the sucess that followed. Meaths lack of recent sucess is based on no div 1 football. So if Meath go up and stay there sucess will follow. Roscommon Monaghan Mayo Donegal have all proved that all recently.

Meath have been very very close to promotion in recent years. If we go up this year or next. Our players will be physically more able to deal.with div 1 football. Also there are allot of counties in transtion eg Kerry Donegal. And others have allot of mileage Mayo Dublin Monaghan.

But this is where tradition comes in and past sucess is a help. Why are Galway winning in div 1 this year not kildare. Kildare record v top team recently and in the past is poor. Kildare have no belief in themselves when they play the top counties. Galway have loads of belief in themselves when they play the top counties Galways record is good. Galway when they are strong have no inferior complex and are full.of confidence because of past sucess. Meath also always up their game v the top teams. It always happened and is still happening. For look at games v Tyrone Donegal Galway in last few years and Roscommon this year. Many counties are beaten mentally in their heads before they play kerry Dublin Mayo.

Meath and Galway footballers and Cork hurlers have an inner believe in themselves. It doesnt alway lead to sucess. When they are weak it is a problem. But when Galway and Meath footballers and Cork hutlers are strong their past sucess is another weapon in their Asrenal . Is it not better to have a tradition then not.

Who was the last team to hammer Dublin at underage ?Meath
Who was last team at underage level in leinster final to beat Dublin? Meath

Why did our minors hammer Dublin 2 years ago and.why did our under 17 beat Dublin in a leinster final last, the first time in years Dublin where beaten in underage leinster final. Why did a kildare underage team or Westmeath team not hammer the Dubs. It had something to do with great work done at underage level in Meath. Yes. But Meaths tradition had a role. The same way why Galway where the team to beat Mayo not Roscommon or Sligo in the west in the last 2 years. Or it was Tippearey that stopped kilkenny five in a row not Waterford. It was because of many things. But tradtion is there and has happenned. Sure tradition is not bad thing. Its better to have it then not have it.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 07/02/2018 21:42:14    2074915

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Yes, I generally prefer going to Navan for a game on a crisp February / March Sunday afternoon. Never a lover of the Saturday evening games myself."
Jasus we should form a club lol. I always thought I was the only one.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/02/2018 23:30:08    2074942

With respect Furlong1949 I think that is some load of nonsense

- Donegal, Derry, Armagh, Tyrone won All Irelands since 1990 with zero tradition of doing so.
- Meath didn't win an All Ireland until 1949 I think so before that also had no tradition.

There is nothing "quantifiable" in this notion of tradition and if there were any basis to it quite a few counties I have mention above would have quit trying and never won Sam. If you ever want to beat Dublin it will be based on the work your county put in at underage and at club level and zero to do with what you did decades ago.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 08/02/2018 12:34:55    2074987

Replying To fredflint:  "With respect Furlong1949 I think that is some load of nonsense

- Donegal, Derry, Armagh, Tyrone won All Irelands since 1990 with zero tradition of doing so.
- Meath didn't win an All Ireland until 1949 I think so before that also had no tradition.

There is nothing "quantifiable" in this notion of tradition and if there were any basis to it quite a few counties I have mention above would have quit trying and never won Sam. If you ever want to beat Dublin it will be based on the work your county put in at underage and at club level and zero to do with what you did decades ago."
Of course it will be, but tradition plays it's part too.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/02/2018 13:25:59    2075000

Replying To fredflint:  "With respect Furlong1949 I think that is some load of nonsense

There is nothing "quantifiable" in this notion of tradition and if there were any basis to it quite a few counties I have mention above would have quit trying and never won Sam. If you ever want to beat Dublin it will be based on the work your county put in at underage and at club level and zero to do with what you did decades ago."
I think its hilarious they people start a comments "with respect" and they say things like "that is some load of nonsense"

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 08/02/2018 13:26:55    2075001

I agree to an extent but lots of counties but great work into underage and it just doesn't translate. Laois is the perfect example. Won 6 Leinster minors between 1996-2007. competed in 4 AI minors in that period winning in 96,97 and 03. In that period they also won 3 Leinster under 21's. Losing the AI final in 98 and 07. For all of this underage success. they only won 1 Leinster senior and never even got to an All Ireland semi and their 1 Leinster was under Mick O'Dwyer who gave them the belief. If Meath had this underage success I'd expect it to translate the senior far better. The underage success is a great help to senior success but tradition does matter. Tradition doesn't make you entitled to success, but it does give you belief which is a help. Underage success in necessary when briding a gap but unless you have an incredible manager (Mickey Harte for Tyrone 03-08, Kernan for Armagh, Micko for Laois and Kildare) or you have tradition it is very difficult for it to translate the senior.

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1458 - 08/02/2018 13:27:30    2075002

Replying To foxes_denn:  "Two of the greats face each other this weekend. This has the potential to be the start of a series of battles between two teams on the rise. I can see us meeting in croke park in the late summer.

After our performance last weekend I am calling a 4 point breffni win."
Games in Breffni fella, you need to be a little smart to make smartarse comments

leftandwide (Meath) - Posts: 91 - 08/02/2018 13:41:56    2075005

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "I agree to an extent but lots of counties but great work into underage and it just doesn't translate. Laois is the perfect example. Won 6 Leinster minors between 1996-2007. competed in 4 AI minors in that period winning in 96,97 and 03. In that period they also won 3 Leinster under 21's. Losing the AI final in 98 and 07. For all of this underage success. they only won 1 Leinster senior and never even got to an All Ireland semi and their 1 Leinster was under Mick O'Dwyer who gave them the belief. If Meath had this underage success I'd expect it to translate the senior far better. The underage success is a great help to senior success but tradition does matter. Tradition doesn't make you entitled to success, but it does give you belief which is a help. Underage success in necessary when briding a gap but unless you have an incredible manager (Mickey Harte for Tyrone 03-08, Kernan for Armagh, Micko for Laois and Kildare) or you have tradition it is very difficult for it to translate the senior."
I would argue that that Armagh team of the late 90s early 2000s actually under achieved, 1 All Ireland. Maybe backs up the point, took such a mental toll on them they couldnt quite get another, admittedly they ran into a couple of decent teams in their way

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 08/02/2018 14:44:54    2075021

Of course Im not saying it has all to do with tradition. There are 20 or 30 reasons are more why a county is sucessful. But tradition is one of the reasons that can play a role. To deny that would be nonsense. Of course teams can have sucess with no tradition. Everyone starts off with no tradition. We have had 4 new All Ireland winners in the last 25 years. Were are they from Ulster eg Derry Donegal Armagh abd Tyrone.

Why Ulster? . Ulster have had the best players best managers best tactics. But now they have created a winning tradition. The reasons why Tyrone and Armagh made the breakthrough in 02 and 03 was because they had great players and great managers. But also they could look to the sucess of neighbours like Derry and Donegal and this also helped. Why didnt Laois make the breakthrough and Armagh did. Armagh had better players and a better manager. They also come from provience that now has a winning tradition. Tyrone Donegal players dont fear Dublin or Kerry. Why should they when they saw Ulster teams like Derry Down and Donegal all beat Dublin in the 90s.

Regards Meath appearing on the scene in 1949. It didnt happen over night. It took 15 years for Meath to build to 1949. Meath were resurgent in the 30s. Meath won national league div 1 title in 1933. And narrowly lost an All Ireland senior final to kerry by 2 points in 1939. They won leinster titles in 1939 1940 and 1947. And they also won the national league div 1 title in the early 1940s. So Meath did not appear overnight. They were building from the 1930s onwards. Meath where a top division 1 team from the early 1930s onwards. That was not an overnight sucess.

Of course to beat Dublin you need top players great underage and work and an investment in time and money. It depends on the standard of player and manager you have. These are the single most important things. But you need belief also. And this is where tradition can help. Tradition can give you belief. Look at Mayo. Clearly Mayo are good enough to win Sam. They should have won the last two years. But the weight of history to close that gap since 51 is a massive weight. No team in gaelic football has won an All Ireland after a 40 year gap. When you dont win for generations the weight of history becomes a massive issue. Look how it took the golden generation of Irish rugby players to win the grand slam after 60 year gap. We had better players then Wales. But Wales won more. The weight of history was an issue. In soccer only Chelsea have won the league after a 50 year gap. Even in pro sport it has a role. And in Gaa why did Galway beat Mayo not Roscommon recently. I think the tradition of Galway football had a role.

Howcome I believe that Meath will win a leinster title in the next few years. And I meet many people in Meath at all different ages from young to old who think the same. When I meet kildare supporters very few have any sort of believe that kildare will beat Dublin in the coming years. They hope but they lack belief. I hope but I also believe and expect like many of my fellow Royals that we wil. Maybe of the below facts and stats will explain what give us this belief. A long winning tradition v the Dubs. Is it not better to have it then dont have it. Its not the main thing for sucess. But it can help.

Who was the last team to beat Dublin at underage in leinster ? Meath
Who was the last team to hammer Dublin at underage in leinster? Meath
Who was the last team to get close to Dublin in leinster? Meath in 2013
Who was the last team to beat Dublin at senior level in leinster? Meath
Who was the last team to hammer Dublin at senior kevel in leinster? Meath
Who was the last team to draw with Dublin in leinster at senior level ? Meath
Who was the last team to beat Dublin in a senior leinster final? Meath
Who was the last team to beat Dublin to beat Dublin two years in a row in leinster at senior level? Meath
Who was the last team to beat Dublin three years in a row in leinster? Meath

So who has the best tradition and best record v Dublin in the country? Meath

Stats
Kildare have beaten Dublin twice in leinster in 45 years
Offaly have not beaten Dublin in 35 years in leinster
Louth have not beaten Dublin in over 40 years in leinster
Longford have not beaten Dublin in 50 years in leinster
Westmeath have only beaten Dublin 1 time in over 70 years in leinster
Laois have only beaten Dublin 1 time in the last 35 years in leinster. And twice in the last 60 years in leinster.
Wexford have not beaten Dublin in over 70 years in leinster.
Wicklow have not beaten Dublin in over 70 years in leinster
Carlow have not beaten Dublin in over 70 years in leinster

Meath have beaten Dublin 10 times and had 4 draws v Dublin in the last 35 years in leinster. Only kerry come close with 5 wins. The two teams with best winning tradition v the Dubs.

Who will be the team to topple next outside leinster. More then likely Kerry. Who will be the team to topple Dublin in leinster next?. I believe it will be Meath. And Im not the only Meath person that thinks that. We are years behind Dublin. But we will beat them in the coming years. Its not a question of if but a question of when. Probaly in 2020 or 2021. Every generation of Meath footballers have beaten Dublin in every decade since the 20s . We did it in the 30s 40s 50s 60s 70s 80s 90s 00s and this decade. We dominated the Dubs in the 40s 50s 60s 80s and 90s. No teams has had that level of consitent sucess over Dublin. No team has had more sucess over Dublin in the country then Meath. Thats why one of the reasons are under 17 defeated Dublin in leinster final last year. And our minor hammered them two years.l ago. They were good footballers with good management. And good work has been done at underage level. But they were also standing on the shoulders of Meath greats. Our tradition of beating Dublin generation after generation has been taken on by our next generation. Now that is not nonense. That is Meath football. That's what we do. Beat the Dubs.
Is it not better to have the tradition then dont have it. It is not negative thing to have a tradition. Theres no harm in believing is there?

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 08/02/2018 15:35:51    2075037

Well lads. I expect Meath to win Saturday by three or four points. Just for the simple fact Meath are a year further on in development while Cavan are starting again. Our experienced players are not long back training and are nowhere near match fit. Hopefully it's a dry night and good football is played. Foxes den is a wind up merchant better ignored.

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 08/02/2018 17:57:21    2075064

Replying To doratheexplorer:  "Well lads. I expect Meath to win Saturday by three or four points. Just for the simple fact Meath are a year further on in development while Cavan are starting again. Our experienced players are not long back training and are nowhere near match fit. Hopefully it's a dry night and good football is played. Foxes den is a wind up merchant better ignored."
Totally agree Cavan lost half their squad this year. Frankly Cavan are very lucky that D2 is the weakest it's been in years. If we had of finished the job against Roscommon we'd be in fine shape however I still think we'll get promotion. The only game I'd seriously worry about loosing is Tipp in Thurles other than that we should win out.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 08/02/2018 19:04:40    2075080

Replying To pauk123:  "Totally agree Cavan lost half their squad this year. Frankly Cavan are very lucky that D2 is the weakest it's been in years. If we had of finished the job against Roscommon we'd be in fine shape however I still think we'll get promotion. The only game I'd seriously worry about loosing is Tipp in Thurles other than that we should win out."
I don't know. While we certainly won't see the 14 point turnaround like last time we met. I for one wouldn't underestimate Cavan for one second, we are going to lose a game in league, I just hope it's not this weekend, I was a hell of a lot more confident going to Hyde than I am to breffni , the reason is twofold, 1 Cavan are not a one man team unlike rossies and 2 , Cavan have a decent management, unlike the 2 spoofers in Roscommon, massaging each other's inflated ego , probably telling each other all the time how they deserve a all ire medal, anyway for that I think Cavan possesses a more dangerous meeting than we have had this year.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/02/2018 19:54:52    2075096

Huge game for us this weekend. Our performance, win or lose, will show how far we have progressed under Andy. I think we're movin along nicely and was good to see lads giving 100% trying to press clare in their own half when time was up, that comes from Andy. If any team regardless of ability give 100% from start to finish they will be hard to beat and that will also come from Andy. We have a young team which is a plus in that they're more open to being moulded into what Andy wants them to be. It's great to follow Meath around the country and know we're gonna put up a fight, hasn't happened for a while but I think it might be on the way back. I've always liked McGill he's a no nonsense player and he's growing with every game, likewise Flanagan. As other posters have said we now have 3 midfielders fighting for 2 places which can only be good. All in all we've a lot to look forward to but there will be bad days on the way, hopefully saturday night is not one of them.

royal69er (Meath) - Posts: 96 - 08/02/2018 21:05:28    2075112