Meath v Cavan

1.Colgan - 7/10. Two stray kickouts by my count, but other than that very goodkick outs and a good save in the second half.

2.Keoghan - 7/10. slow start and was caught off his man a few times early in the game. He grew into the game and made a lot of good hits/tackles/runs forward.

3.McGill - 7/10. solid again

4.Lavin - 4/10. Contributed very little to Meath in possession and constantly struggling to keep up with his man.

5.Conlan - 5/10. kept his man quiet enough. Not good on the ball which is not a good trait for a wing back. Did get involved but simply doesn't deliver a good kick pass.

6.Power - 3/10. struggled on his man throughout the game. didn't hold the middle too well and contributed very little to Meath going forward.

7.McEntee - 2/10. Every game I see this man play he gives away countless possessions and literally cannot deliver a good forward kick pass. His man always roams free under no pressure.

8.Flanagan - 3/10. Got his hands around 3/4 kickouts but dropped them. This should be his bread and butter. Hard under them conditions I suppose.

9.Menton - 8/10. Got the better of his man for the whole game. He was always in support going forward and in defense. Chipped in with a couple of points.

10.McEntee - 3/10. Not really involved in the game. Looked to have the job of picking up braking ball, however this did not happen. Not a threat going forward.

11.McKeever - 5/10. Looked energetic throughout the game. Was involved with quite a bit of forward play. Some good points and some bad wides.

12.Reilly - 5/10. Not up to his usual standard(Don't know if we'll ever see that standard again). Defended well and chipped in with 2 scores himself.

13.O'Sullivan - 6.5/10. Never stopped working and making the runs. I thick the best place for him is 10/12 so he can run from deep which is what he's good at. kicked two good scores that I remember and won the penalty. Ran into trouble and lost possession a few times which is a recurring downfall for him

14.McMahon - 5.5/10. Won a lot of good inside possession in the first half. Missed a very bad score though.

15.Eamon Wallace - 7.5/10. Got on loads and loads of ball. Gave a lot of good passes and scored two good points. Unlike most of this team his instinct is to get his head up and look for a pass rather than turn around and hand pass it backwards.

17.Lenihan - 3/10. He's a corner forward with little fight in him. Can only win easy ball and is only interested in scoring, which he usually struggles to do in games like this.

pat_custard (Meath) - Posts: 125 - 19/02/2018 12:56:49    2078327

Replying To brian:  "OK folks, a wee bit of perspective here.

Three games played. A win at home v Clare should be expected. However a point from two away games against teams who were relegated from Division one last year isn't a terrible return. Both team should be at a higher base level than us right now.

We've four games left. Tipp next who've blown hot and cold and its essential we get two points on the board. Then we can see where we go with the last three games v Cork, Down and Louth.. Teams in this division will take points off each other so nothing can or should be taken for granted.

Not convinced by the forwards we're putting out at all. Effectively yesterday we started with 5 half forwards (McMahon is a natural corner forward) and no Conor McManus type killer inside forward. This only happened when Lenihan came in. Our forward play and going 20 plus minutes in games without scoring is not acceptable at and we don't seem to have 2 or three forwards each game chipping in 3-5 scores which is essential."
i don't think anyone is too concerned about the results like that 1 point from too tricky games is positive, its more the style of play we're playing. there doesnt seem to be an end game to it they slowly get the ball to around the 21 and nobody takes on a shot. Cavan played a good style of football yesterday with quick ball into the forward line. now im not sure of what the system is but there was no men dropping back time and again covering the space. there look at times as if there was a plan b in the 2nd hald as there was men kept forward but again the inside forwards drifted out leavin nobody inside

srgt_slaughter (Meath) - Posts: 462 - 19/02/2018 12:57:31    2078328

I see the mid league meltdown is well underway around here. Every year without fail....
The game yesterday has told us exactly where we stand. Promotion is not going to happen, won't get relegated either.
Why can't we win on the road? When was the last time we won a crunch match away in the league? I can't recall. Tipp will be no different. They will be up for this is in a big way while we can't seem to drum up the intensity to match teams like them.

edd (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 19/02/2018 13:04:12    2078332

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Royaldunne your a hoganstand celebrity.."
Haha he's entertaining to say the least. I agree with him on nothing, he usually has me pulling my hair out if we are talking about politics, football, sky, anything really but I have to say I enjoy his posts and have to admire his passion & love for Meath.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 19/02/2018 13:15:49    2078333

Another disappointing performance unfortunately, we got off to a terrible start and while we recovered a bit, it was too late, the damage was already done. But anyway, promotion is not lost yet, we have to knuckle down and stick to the task at hand, hopefully the lads are up for it.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/02/2018 13:38:40    2078344

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Royaldunne your a hoganstand celebrity.."
Ahh sure this place would be very boring if i retired :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/02/2018 14:03:07    2078349

Replying To gotmilk:  "Haha he's entertaining to say the least. I agree with him on nothing, he usually has me pulling my hair out if we are talking about politics, football, sky, anything really but I have to say I enjoy his posts and have to admire his passion & love for Meath."
We used to disagree on everything too but at the end of the day hes a good guy..Loves his Meath football like me so were both aiming for the same thing.. Yeah his posts are biased and a little out there but at least he is true to himself! This forum should be a bit of craic at the end of the day.

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 19/02/2018 14:18:48    2078358

Replying To grahamc9897:  "We used to disagree on everything too but at the end of the day hes a good guy..Loves his Meath football like me so were both aiming for the same thing.. Yeah his posts are biased and a little out there but at least he is true to himself! This forum should be a bit of craic at the end of the day."
In fairness if you go on to any other county forum you will never get the debates and banter you get on this...mostly thanks to RD. Completely biased, gets everyone fired up, he brings out the passion in everyone whether its agreements or mostly disagreements, wouldn't be the same without him! Hail to RD :-)

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 19/02/2018 14:36:35    2078368

Replying To Htaem:  "Another disappointing performance unfortunately, we got off to a terrible start and while we recovered a bit, it was too late, the damage was already done. But anyway, promotion is not lost yet, we have to knuckle down and stick to the task at hand, hopefully the lads are up for it."
Disappointing to put it mildly......But unfortunately that has become the norm almost now . We are mentally weak no doubt about it .THAT IS THE PROBLEM AREA ! for the last few years......Physical fitness no problem thanks to Andy. We have to get up to speed on mental preparation also. Mentally fragile examples Fear of doing the wrong thing, not taking responsibility for having a go when feasible. FAR too much lateral passing and going nowhere. etc. etc. etc..
Boylan had the natural ability to coach for mental toughness. The gap he left in this department has never been filled.Not surprising as it is not every coaches cup of tea to deal to the extent required now in this critical area. Dublin bring in specialists to coach this area. Why cant we do the same ? As we are now without trying to fill this gap in training we will just stagnate at best..

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 19/02/2018 14:37:47    2078369

Replying To nobull456:  "Disappointing to put it mildly......But unfortunately that has become the norm almost now . We are mentally weak no doubt about it .THAT IS THE PROBLEM AREA ! for the last few years......Physical fitness no problem thanks to Andy. We have to get up to speed on mental preparation also. Mentally fragile examples Fear of doing the wrong thing, not taking responsibility for having a go when feasible. FAR too much lateral passing and going nowhere. etc. etc. etc..
Boylan had the natural ability to coach for mental toughness. The gap he left in this department has never been filled.Not surprising as it is not every coaches cup of tea to deal to the extent required now in this critical area. Dublin bring in specialists to coach this area. Why cant we do the same ? As we are now without trying to fill this gap in training we will just stagnate at best.."
To days independent match report quote from Andy Q. Why were the lads so flat ? A . Andy " i'd like to know...no reason no excuses." '" iF YOU ARE NOT IN THE RIGHT FRAME OF MIND " you get beaten. Honest and accurate i suggest.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 19/02/2018 14:56:21    2078377

Replying To nobull456:  "Disappointing to put it mildly......But unfortunately that has become the norm almost now . We are mentally weak no doubt about it .THAT IS THE PROBLEM AREA ! for the last few years......Physical fitness no problem thanks to Andy. We have to get up to speed on mental preparation also. Mentally fragile examples Fear of doing the wrong thing, not taking responsibility for having a go when feasible. FAR too much lateral passing and going nowhere. etc. etc. etc..
Boylan had the natural ability to coach for mental toughness. The gap he left in this department has never been filled.Not surprising as it is not every coaches cup of tea to deal to the extent required now in this critical area. Dublin bring in specialists to coach this area. Why cant we do the same ? As we are now without trying to fill this gap in training we will just stagnate at best.."
I agree, I think we're badly lacking in the mental department and it's going to take time to correct this, how much time, I don't know. We suffered some devastating collapse defeats in recent years and that has to be still on the minds of some of our players.

Back in the glory days when things weren't going well in a game, there was any number of players who could produce magic out of knowhere and all of a sudden we had the opposition sweating buckets. I know Boylan played a large part in that but those days are long gone, unfortunately now when we're in trouble, everybody seems to be looking around for a Geraghty, Giles, Fay etc nobody seems to have the belief in themselves to be the leader.

But let's not be too morbid, yes we're still in a slump but I firmly believe that management and players are doing their utmost to turn things around. This is not an overnight project, they need time and support to have any chance of improving so lets afford afford them that.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/02/2018 15:02:59    2078382

You can't coach mental toughness.....either ya have it or ya don't. Unfortunately these lads dont

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 888 - 19/02/2018 15:07:03    2078385

Physical fitness was never the problem. Do you think the collapse against Westmeath under MOD was because the players were tired in the 2nd half? If only it was that easy!
We have a weak mentality. Andy was supposed to be a master of man management but I see very little in the way of improvement. Instead of second half collapses we are not showing up for the first half, either way we're still losing. This is not a knee jerk reaction to a poor defeat but a consistent vein of poor form. Even against Clare we were pretty poor in the first half.
If we have any designs on promotion nevermind Super 8's he need to sort it out ASAP. This division is very tight another couple of losses and we could well be looking a life in division 3 and I think a new manager if that happens.
It's still all very much to play for let's hope this is an issue that can be sorted, quickly.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 19/02/2018 15:07:10    2078386

Replying To gotmilk:  "Haha he's entertaining to say the least. I agree with him on nothing, he usually has me pulling my hair out if we are talking about politics, football, sky, anything really but I have to say I enjoy his posts and have to admire his passion & love for Meath."
I think we might have agreed once, about two years ago :).

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/02/2018 15:09:45    2078388

Replying To grahamc9897:  "We used to disagree on everything too but at the end of the day hes a good guy..Loves his Meath football like me so were both aiming for the same thing.. Yeah his posts are biased and a little out there but at least he is true to himself! This forum should be a bit of craic at the end of the day."
I'm blushing. Stop.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/02/2018 15:10:57    2078389

Ah royaldunne is a sound aul skin, brilliant at winding other posters up and if he thinks he's got you agitated then you're in big trouble! But I have to say I genuinely admire his positive attitude towards Meath football, some people criticize him for it but hey, if our players were that perpetually positive and optimistic I'd say we'd be in a far better position.

Long live royaldunne!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/02/2018 15:11:36    2078390

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "In fairness if you go on to any other county forum you will never get the debates and banter you get on this...mostly thanks to RD. Completely biased, gets everyone fired up, he brings out the passion in everyone whether its agreements or mostly disagreements, wouldn't be the same without him! Hail to RD :-)"
Ahh jees , stop it now. I'm embarrassed lol

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/02/2018 15:12:15    2078391

Replying To southmeathgael:  "You can't coach mental toughness.....either ya have it or ya don't. Unfortunately these lads dont"
I completely disagree of course you can coach mental toughness. i happened to see Boylan in action at close quarters on this on several occasions.....ask any of his players. Yes we have a small number who will have it .and agreed the majority don't at present

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 19/02/2018 15:20:25    2078393

Replying To pauk123:  "Physical fitness was never the problem. Do you think the collapse against Westmeath under MOD was because the players were tired in the 2nd half? If only it was that easy!
We have a weak mentality. Andy was supposed to be a master of man management but I see very little in the way of improvement. Instead of second half collapses we are not showing up for the first half, either way we're still losing. This is not a knee jerk reaction to a poor defeat but a consistent vein of poor form. Even against Clare we were pretty poor in the first half.
If we have any designs on promotion nevermind Super 8's he need to sort it out ASAP. This division is very tight another couple of losses and we could well be looking a life in division 3 and I think a new manager if that happens.
It's still all very much to play for let's hope this is an issue that can be sorted, quickly."
Yesterday we still had energy in added on time , v westmeath, Cavan, Derry , Dublin under mod, lads were out on their feet. The physical fitness levels have increased massively, but like others have said the mental fitness is still missing.
I have got a theory, I could be completely wrong, but this mental thing (while always has a habit of been there) is far more prevalent against Ulster teams, don't ask me to explain it, it just seems as it happens to a more effect when we play Ulster teams. No matter who they are.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/02/2018 15:21:28    2078394

Replying To Htaem:  "Ah royaldunne is a sound aul skin, brilliant at winding other posters up and if he thinks he's got you agitated then you're in big trouble! But I have to say I genuinely admire his positive attitude towards Meath football, some people criticize him for it but hey, if our players were that perpetually positive and optimistic I'd say we'd be in a far better position.

Long live royaldunne!"
Cheers me auld friend. Get Andy to give me a ring. I'll have them lads taking the dressing room door with them as they head to the field. :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/02/2018 15:24:09    2078395