Meath v Cavan

A lot of poor Meath fans very upset today, but lads honestly I don't think ye have anything to worry about, I'm almost certain ye won't be relegated ;)

IamADragon (Cavan) - Posts: 303 - 18/02/2018 21:28:14    2078113

Todays performance sadly confirms what Paddy ORourke spoke about this week to be true .
We are a middle of the road team in a game that has lost its identity and the gaa can take full blame for this .
Natural gaa footballers cannot express their skills anymore they are been stymied by systems and negative coaching and the game is suffering badly and more so in divisions 2,3,4
I feel sorry for the likes of Graham Reilly having to play the game the way it is now .
Paddy ORourke is only one of many but he spoke out , Gaa is in a sad state in a lot of countries including Meath and the Gaa have buried their heads in the sand .

mmc (Meath) - Posts: 266 - 18/02/2018 21:51:45    2078127

Replying To IamADragon:  "A lot of poor Meath fans very upset today, but lads honestly I don't think ye have anything to worry about, I'm almost certain ye won't be relegated ;)"
I hope you're not a fully grown adult going on to another county forum to be childish.

I thought Meath by three or four because Cavan have their best players only back about a month training. A lot of talk about Meath adapting a running game. From observation today are your players not too big and physical and in some cases overweight for such a policy? Why not use the pace getting working off the kick pass and use that physicality?

doratheexplorer (Cavan) - Posts: 1467 - 18/02/2018 21:55:36    2078131

Surprised by the result and came on to this forum to see the fallout (mainly RD, no offence but its always a bit of light entertainment watching you after meath lose buddy.)

Hadn't intended on posting but was there something thrown on to the pitch? That grabbed my attention. Meath or Cavan man? Why did they throw it?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 18/02/2018 22:11:17    2078152

I was not too far from the Meath dugout today they looked shocked and were very slow to make moves no plan b which is worrying. I think we read too much into the draw with roscommon they should had us dead and buried and it may have been more about how indifferent roscommon are then about how good we were that day. the fact is we have lost 7 players from last year which is too much.

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 18/02/2018 22:27:24    2078158

Replying To gotmilk:  "Surprised by the result and came on to this forum to see the fallout (mainly RD, no offence but its always a bit of light entertainment watching you after meath lose buddy.)

Hadn't intended on posting but was there something thrown on to the pitch? That grabbed my attention. Meath or Cavan man? Why did they throw it?"
Royaldunne your a hoganstand celebrity..

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 18/02/2018 22:31:06    2078159

Commiserations on today's result lads, I remember the same thing happening us some years ago. Hammered Roscommon in the first game and went into the Antrim game with our tails up thinking we were on the up and were beaten well in Breffni.

I've seen numerous Meath posters say better team "on the day". Is this just a turn of phrase or do Meath folk think they're a better team than Cavan?

Inactive x5 (Cavan) - Posts: 1452 - 18/02/2018 22:33:02    2078162

Replying To gotmilk:  "Surprised by the result and came on to this forum to see the fallout (mainly RD, no offence but its always a bit of light entertainment watching you after meath lose buddy.)

Hadn't intended on posting but was there something thrown on to the pitch? That grabbed my attention. Meath or Cavan man? Why did they throw it?"
A Meath supporter was escorted out of the ground by Gardai for throwing a bottle. Why did he throw it? Ask yourself what sort of person throws a bottle onto a pitch in front of kids and you will realise the answer.

fredflint (Cavan) - Posts: 1483 - 18/02/2018 22:37:35    2078163

A bottle of water was thrown by a meath supporter. Cillian O'Sullivan and his marker were running for breakong ball when O'Sullivan shoulder (fairly in shoulder) Cavan lad. Referee gave free to Cavan. Crazy stuff.

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 18/02/2018 23:30:32    2078180

Yeah there was a bottle hurled in the general direction of the linesman from the stand. Unfortunately it was a Meath "fan" who threw it, no place for that in the game regardless of what is happening on the pitch. Overall the officials today did a grand job.

Best team won and we just have to get ready for Tipp next weekend.

royalfan4life (Meath) - Posts: 76 - 19/02/2018 00:49:00    2078195

Replying To latouche25:  "Never mind promotion. Relegation could be on the cards yet. Things really have to improve big time and soon or we are in big trouble. Paddy O'Rourke is probably right that we are not heading in the right direction and indeed skipping slowly backwards."
Agree. you are right. Tipp are a bit like Cavan young fast forwards that can damage us. We were terrible yesterday and just like the Roscommon game the 1st half wides and gameplay was just embarrassing. Cavan kicked a lot of ball into the forward line which is always nice to see. I am not sure if Tobin is fully fit but he has looked like one of our best forwards this league but only got a small run out. Hand passing the ball sideways on the Cavan 20 metre line with no one willing to take a shot is simply not good enough for promotion and is happening to often, I don't see any improvement in the last few years. I think we will just stay up but if Tipp beat us a tough relegation battle later on vs Louth could be on the cards again. Meath are playing a bit better in the second halves except for late on in OBC vs Longford and Rossies game however not performing in the first half kind of cancels this out.

SheridansTry (Meath) - Posts: 180 - 19/02/2018 07:34:18    2078205

OK folks, a wee bit of perspective here.

Three games played. A win at home v Clare should be expected. However a point from two away games against teams who were relegated from Division one last year isn't a terrible return. Both team should be at a higher base level than us right now.

We've four games left. Tipp next who've blown hot and cold and its essential we get two points on the board. Then we can see where we go with the last three games v Cork, Down and Louth.. Teams in this division will take points off each other so nothing can or should be taken for granted.

Not convinced by the forwards we're putting out at all. Effectively yesterday we started with 5 half forwards (McMahon is a natural corner forward) and no Conor McManus type killer inside forward. This only happened when Lenihan came in. Our forward play and going 20 plus minutes in games without scoring is not acceptable at and we don't seem to have 2 or three forwards each game chipping in 3-5 scores which is essential.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 19/02/2018 07:44:08    2078206

What a disappointment. Cavan should have won this by alot more than 5 points. Looking at that game yesterday we dont seem to have made any progress. We just arent consistent enough. Have seen a couple of lads on here calling for Biggys head again, get a grip will yiz, when we lose he needs to be benched when we win hes the best thing since sliced bread. He wasn't the only one who wasnt great yesterday. If we dont get the 2 points Saturday i fear the absolute worst for us. Andy would have been fuming at that performance yesterday. But you have to question what way is he telling them lads to play! Every single game we have played we played the same way 1st half....terrible. Making the exact same errors. I cant believe this stupid handpassing is still going on. When a lad gets the ball hes trying to do it solo because as per usual there is not one single person to help him, Cillian, great example of this yesterday, only saving grace is that hes fast!The only progress i can see in us is our fitness levels and most of the lads have a full 70+ mins in them. Whats the story with Tobin named to start again and them change of plan before game to sub??

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 19/02/2018 09:24:51    2078224

Replying To brian:  "OK folks, a wee bit of perspective here.

Three games played. A win at home v Clare should be expected. However a point from two away games against teams who were relegated from Division one last year isn't a terrible return. Both team should be at a higher base level than us right now.

We've four games left. Tipp next who've blown hot and cold and its essential we get two points on the board. Then we can see where we go with the last three games v Cork, Down and Louth.. Teams in this division will take points off each other so nothing can or should be taken for granted.

Not convinced by the forwards we're putting out at all. Effectively yesterday we started with 5 half forwards (McMahon is a natural corner forward) and no Conor McManus type killer inside forward. This only happened when Lenihan came in. Our forward play and going 20 plus minutes in games without scoring is not acceptable at and we don't seem to have 2 or three forwards each game chipping in 3-5 scores which is essential."
That's the biggest issue right now as well for me, we need to get the balance right in the forwards. I feel at this stage a target man wouldn't go a miss, all the best teams have one: Murphy, O Shea, Donaghy, O Gara for us the only people that come to mind is Paddy or Shane O Rourke.
At some stage I would like to see a a forward line of : O Sullivan, McKeever, Wallace, Lenihan, Reilly and McMahon.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 354 - 19/02/2018 09:49:07    2078238

Looking at the game from high up in the stands you really could see the contrast in styles of the two teams. Id say possession wise it was 50/50 so it could of been a close game. Cavan played the whole game with a 2 or 3 player full forward line which were fed with direct ball when space opened up for them. They were really good quick forwards which gave our backline a torrid time. Meath on the other hand were looking to make scores from their half forward line. It was painful to watch the over and back hand passing along the 45m mark and on regular occasions not one Meath forward was inside the 20m line even when we were down by 10 points. I think Andy Mc is fully responsible for these tactics as its happened in every match this year. Perhaps he feels the likes of Biggy, Mckeever and Wallace are best suited to this way of playing-bursting through and making chances. We seen yesterday it doesn't work against a well organised defence. Hopefully our management team will learn from this as we should have been bet by a far bigger score.

Poormouth (Meath) - Posts: 204 - 19/02/2018 10:12:11    2078248

Replying To Poormouth:  "Looking at the game from high up in the stands you really could see the contrast in styles of the two teams. Id say possession wise it was 50/50 so it could of been a close game. Cavan played the whole game with a 2 or 3 player full forward line which were fed with direct ball when space opened up for them. They were really good quick forwards which gave our backline a torrid time. Meath on the other hand were looking to make scores from their half forward line. It was painful to watch the over and back hand passing along the 45m mark and on regular occasions not one Meath forward was inside the 20m line even when we were down by 10 points. I think Andy Mc is fully responsible for these tactics as its happened in every match this year. Perhaps he feels the likes of Biggy, Mckeever and Wallace are best suited to this way of playing-bursting through and making chances. We seen yesterday it doesn't work against a well organised defence. Hopefully our management team will learn from this as we should have been bet by a far bigger score."
Would like to see Meath get back to where they were under Boylan, I grew up watching those great teams who never knew when they were beaten and had a mentality we've not seen since.

McEntee like Kevin Walsh will bring a bit of professionalism and steel to his county but until better players come along Meath are a fair bit of winning a Leinster Title.

JDF (Galway) - Posts: 322 - 19/02/2018 11:41:37    2078284

Replying To JDF:  "Would like to see Meath get back to where they were under Boylan, I grew up watching those great teams who never knew when they were beaten and had a mentality we've not seen since.

McEntee like Kevin Walsh will bring a bit of professionalism and steel to his county but until better players come along Meath are a fair bit of winning a Leinster Title."
I agree with you to a certain extent. But i personally think we do have some of the best players in Leinster, i feel the lads are been held back from playing to their full ability and to be honest we are not getting the best out of these lads.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 19/02/2018 12:01:28    2078294

COS and Wallace would make good wing forwards on each side. They have the pace to attack, track back (defend) and are also able/not afraid to kick a pass. McKeever looks like our best option at CHF. If we had three pacy/mobile forwards spread out in more attacking positions (instead of just one, most of the time), it would encourage a more direct style and less of this ponderous hand passing game. As of now, by the time they work the ball within scoring range they usually end up trying to run through a crowded defence with a poor return on the scoreboard for all the effort exerted.

GlasagusOr (Meath) - Posts: 1348 - 19/02/2018 12:16:53    2078301

We all know it is not right to throw bottles. I hate littering.

But in fairness the officials were struggling (remember they are still denied TV Match Official back up) and there was a wild inconsistency in decisions. Therefore someone could easily react wrongly in the spur of the moment and regret it later. Doubt if any of us can say we never did so.

Take no card for chopping down cillian 2 yards from goal and the soft black given to rooney. Free for a shoulder and other team getting away with elbows ,kicks to legs, trips, blocks, pulls.

GAA must like this crap and controversy but good behaviour and sportsmanship are left behind.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 19/02/2018 12:29:10    2078307

Replying To Ashrules:  "We all know it is not right to throw bottles. I hate littering.

But in fairness the officials were struggling (remember they are still denied TV Match Official back up) and there was a wild inconsistency in decisions. Therefore someone could easily react wrongly in the spur of the moment and regret it later. Doubt if any of us can say we never did so.

Take no card for chopping down cillian 2 yards from goal and the soft black given to rooney. Free for a shoulder and other team getting away with elbows ,kicks to legs, trips, blocks, pulls.

GAA must like this crap and controversy but good behaviour and sportsmanship are left behind."
Same goes for that scuffle yesterday as well. That came from a build up from bad decisions the ref made where lads got away with drags, pulls etc so obviously lads are going to react and throw few punches themselves seen as ref turns a blind eye. Unfortunately officials are a law onto themselves.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 19/02/2018 12:44:29    2078323