Londonderry - will they ever learn?

I for one have really enjoyed the new Channel 4 series Londonderry Girls.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 30/01/2018 15:25:52    2072436

Replying To Ulsterman:  "The fact that you refer to a conflict where nearly 4000 people died as a 'bunfight' really DOES show your ignorance."
I never thought the day would come when I would be lost for words on HS but you have managed it Ulsterman.
1. The "conflict" as you put it is over.
2. To equate the deaths if thousands of people with a mispronunciation is mind boggling.
3 It is your narrow minded little post that I was referring to as a bun fight.

Get over it Ulsterman. Nobody gives a toss what some BBC nobody called Derry. It doesn't matter. You haven't much to be worrying about if this nonsense is what gets you into a lather.
It nearly makes me sympathetic to the unionists but then I remember they have their share of planks as well.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 30/01/2018 15:49:18    2072445

Replying To Ulsterman:  "On Sunday night while reading out the sports news at 6.00pm a BBC NI presenter referred to DERRY as Londonderry GAA. It obviously caused a bit of stir up here and a quick apology was issued to Derry. However it once again highlights and raises the issue that Gaelic Games in the North are more or less ignored by large parts of media here which instead remains focused on motorbikes, snooker and hockey."
I'm horribly confused.

BBC NI read out the sports news and included the GAA but this "highlights and raises the issue that Gaelic Games in the North are more or less ignored by large parts of media here"???

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 30/01/2018 17:14:27    2072486

Replying To Wally:  "Offside_Rule and Ulsterman

You talk about narrow mindless yet you cant see the hypocrisy of your statements.

People like you are so stuck in your own little world of hate. Always ready to be offended by the slightest little comment.

It is actually embarrassing that a topic like this is getting so much traction, primarily due to the comments from you two.

I am very comfortable in my own skin, I am a Nationalist Irish man but I work with and am friends with loads of unionists and it doesn't bother me in the slightest if they refer to the northern state as 'Northern Ireland' or if they refer to Derry as 'Londonderry'. These are only words. It doesn't bother them if I discuss Gaelic football or general nationalist life in the work environment and I can speak openly about being from the 'north of Ireland'.

Only once we get rid of blinkered dinosaurs like you from both sides of our community will we finally evolve into a mature and proper functioning society."
Yep - I was kind before but you are a clueless Wally if you deduce all that from my two comments.

Fact of the case is - written report given to presenter by BBC had Derry. Presenter decides that she will replace with Londonderry. Go figure!

I've no problem with anyone calling it whatever they wish for the record nor am I bothered by it. But you somehow seem to have me profiled based on 2 posts. 1 saying someone as narrow minded as her who goes to this length should he pitied not hated. And 2 pointing out that it is naive to think this was a slip of the tongue. But hey, you knock yourself out.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 30/01/2018 17:25:38    2072488

The fact of the matter is that anybody saying Londonderry is making a political point.I can't imagine a unionist farmer living outside the city saying I'm going in to Londonderry for paper.As I say it is only used to make a point.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1055 - 30/01/2018 17:37:47    2072495

Replying To Htaem:  "First world problems ULSTERMAN."
totally agree.

mountain and molehill come to mind

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 30/01/2018 17:48:51    2072499

Replying To gunman:  "The fact of the matter is that anybody saying Londonderry is making a political point.I can't imagine a unionist farmer living outside the city saying I'm going in to Londonderry for paper.As I say it is only used to make a point."
Fair enough gunman, but so what?

Rise above it, in fact have a laugh at the cheeky wee mare for having the balls to do it.

She was trying to get a rise & succeeded big time with a few people who should know better.

Fair play to her!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 30/01/2018 18:05:10    2072503

She should get the sack she new what she was doing!

Tyronecelt (Tyrone) - Posts: 31 - 30/01/2018 18:30:13    2072517

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "For those who think it was a slip of the tongue though - how naive."
Not really the issue though is it, I mean it's laughable to think that people can be this easily offended, especially when you consider all the real problems people face day to day. This is school yard tripe, just move along.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/01/2018 18:41:59    2072519

Insulting, but I forgive their apology.

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 30/01/2018 19:47:46    2072538

Replying To Offside_Rule:  "Yep - I was kind before but you are a clueless Wally if you deduce all that from my two comments.

Fact of the case is - written report given to presenter by BBC had Derry. Presenter decides that she will replace with Londonderry. Go figure!

I've no problem with anyone calling it whatever they wish for the record nor am I bothered by it. But you somehow seem to have me profiled based on 2 posts. 1 saying someone as narrow minded as her who goes to this length should he pitied not hated. And 2 pointing out that it is naive to think this was a slip of the tongue. But hey, you knock yourself out."
Do you have anything to back up this ''fact''?

Also you say you're not bothered yet here you are ranting about it

why (Kildare) - Posts: 142 - 30/01/2018 20:05:59    2072543

Replying To Htaem:  "Not really the issue though is it, I mean it's laughable to think that people can be this easily offended, especially when you consider all the real problems people face day to day. This is school yard tripe, just move along."
Again your naivety, ignorance and detachment prove you and many in the 26 counties know absolutely NOTHING about the North. Then again you have never had to face gun attacks, bombs, glass on pitches, RUC/British Army harassment etc on the way to games and training. When you have walked behind the coffin of a club member murdered by Loyalists then you will have the right to an opinion on the North, until then say nothing.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9693 - 30/01/2018 20:11:16    2072545

Replying To why:  "Do you have anything to back up this ''fact''?

Also you say you're not bothered yet here you are ranting about it"
"I am responding to your complaint about our 1800 radio bulletin on Sunday 28th January. 

I can confirm that our newsreader accidentally misnamed Derry GAA. Although the title Derry was in the script, due to human error our newsreader made an on air adjustment as she read the name. 

We fully accept that the correct title of the county board is Derry and apologise for the mistake."

That enough for you Thomas?

Also, I am not ranting nor offended. I posted two posts each 1 sentence on the topic. Everything else, and this one included, are in response to people making foolish assertions about me.

What was it Mark Twain said again about arguing with fools? Though have to say I enjoy it.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 30/01/2018 20:34:36    2072554

Calm down lads, it wrong to call the place Lderry but lets have a border poll and move the situation forward democratically. BTW it drives me nuts when folks from the 27 counties call my province "Connaught".

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 30/01/2018 20:39:00    2072556

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Again your naivety, ignorance and detachment prove you and many in the 26 counties know absolutely NOTHING about the North. Then again you have never had to face gun attacks, bombs, glass on pitches, RUC/British Army harassment etc on the way to games and training. When you have walked behind the coffin of a club member murdered by Loyalists then you will have the right to an opinion on the North, until then say nothing."
Well I was born and raised in the north Ulsterman so by your rationale I have enough authority to make a comment?

And as far as I can see you have one serious chip on your shoulder. People like you literally don't want to get over the past.

The troubles victims have absolutely nothing to do with this topic.

One lady simply said Londonderry instead of Derry.

And you still have not answered my question. If the shoe was on the other foot and you were commentating on a unionist sport addressed to unionist people would you use the term Londonderry or Derry?

Wally (Tyrone) - Posts: 912 - 30/01/2018 20:41:38    2072557

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Again your naivety, ignorance and detachment prove you and many in the 26 counties know absolutely NOTHING about the North. Then again you have never had to face gun attacks, bombs, glass on pitches, RUC/British Army harassment etc on the way to games and training. When you have walked behind the coffin of a club member murdered by Loyalists then you will have the right to an opinion on the North, until then say nothing."
Have you actually ever experienced any of that? Of course you're going to say you did because you know you wont have to back it up

why (Kildare) - Posts: 142 - 30/01/2018 20:42:41    2072558

Well said.... let us down shut up

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 30/01/2018 20:45:46    2072561

Well said.... let us down shut up

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 30/01/2018 20:46:10    2072562

Replying To Htaem:  "Ye.....first world problems."
My god you are a sad person..

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 30/01/2018 20:47:10    2072563

Ulsterman, if you want us to say nothing why put up a thread on HS?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 30/01/2018 20:52:10    2072565