Mayo vs Kerry

A bloody shambles of a performance. Kerry outfought and bullied us off the ball. Yes it's only February and no need to panic but a serious reaction is needed the next day.

Some
Fans can complain About Kerry being cynical which they were but they were the better team
By far. We wouldn't have beaten any team in division 1 (maybe even 2) with that performance.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 04/02/2018 08:15:18    2073750

Replying To neverright:  "It's hard to see anybody being able to live with those young Kerry kids now. Another League title must be a near certainty. Well done."
Dublin?

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 04/02/2018 10:13:22    2073773

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "No I didn't give him a lift llaw as I was heading West and he was going south:-) but the Kerry supporters surely threw him on the bus :-)

And il give you that, that ye weren't at full strength but we'll take a win from castlebar any time we can get it .

At the end of the day this game will matter little come the summer if fitzmaurice goes back to the old guard which he probably will.

Where to next for Mayo llaw?"
I have seen worse displays from Mayo at this time of year and it's understandable that they are a little bit sluggish. Kerry had a team of talented young lads wanting to impress and they would go through a brick wall on the night. I don't know what's going on behind the scenes with injuries and so on but I do think that Rochford is wrong not to throw in three or four of that good u21 team of two years ago. We have sixteen lads who can hold their own with any team but it's when we need reinforcements that we run into bother. There are lads on the fringe of the team who just aren't quite good enough and I thought management would use the league to find better replacements. Young O Donoghue at corner back doesn't look out of place and there are a few others I could name who would only benefit from an extended run. Fitzmaurice has been criticised for being too conservative for sticking with the old guns but fair play to him for giving the young lads a go all at the one time. If he gets two or three in the team come championship it will have been a successful league. On a separate note I thought he was slow in not taking the number seven off before he was sent off. He could have got a red for the first tackle and should have got a yellow for the second. That was the time to take to call him ashore. I suppose the league is the time for learning lessons.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 04/02/2018 10:47:16    2073787

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "No I didn't give him a lift llaw as I was heading West and he was going south:-) but the Kerry supporters surely threw him on the bus :-)

And il give you that, that ye weren't at full strength but we'll take a win from castlebar any time we can get it .

At the end of the day this game will matter little come the summer if fitzmaurice goes back to the old guard which he probably will.

Where to next for Mayo llaw?"
No chance of Fitzmaurice putting the old lads back in. Yes you will have David Moran and Walsh and whoever coming back but I think that O'Beaglaoich, Barry, Foley and O'Shea are in the championship team barring injury. It's up to Crowley, Burns, Clifford, Barry & Tom O'Sullivan etc to make the jersey their own for the rest of the league and in training and keep the older lads out.

We have some really hard away fixtures coming up so I hope they can hold this form. I wouldn't expect to win all the away games but a hammering could undo a lot of the good work to date.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 04/02/2018 11:27:24    2073792

Great win for Kerry's young guns up in Castlebar.

Down to 13 players shows some character too. Well done.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 04/02/2018 11:27:49    2073793

Results from league games in February are irrelevant....teams like Mayo and Kerry are only looking to find 1 or 2 new players for the championship. They don't want to get relegated but not the end of the World either if it happened.

Mayo nearly got relegated last year and were 5 mins from the All Ireland.

Kerry won the league and lost an All Ireland semi final after a replay and the year was classified as a disaster for them.

You can take these results at this time of the year between the top teams with a pinch of salt, no matter who wins.

The Championship is the only show that matters.

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 04/02/2018 11:47:00    2073801

Scoreline flattered Mayo, should have been 10 or 15 points. Just goes to show we are not going to be unearthing any new players from midfield up. Gibbons was never good enough at county level and Barry Moran is just not mobile enough, the 2 boys got destroyed at midfield and couldn't get loose for kickouts which is where all the problems started. And almost tired of looking at Regan at this stage, even before he went off. Douglas not physical enough either. Nothing to panic about but we don't have much in reserve.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 04/02/2018 11:47:04    2073802

Replying To MesAmis:  "Great win for Kerry's young guns up in Castlebar.

Down to 13 players shows some character too. Well done."
Yeah hats off

Mayo should be looking at themselves though

Up by 2 players and go so long without scoring..

Same old problems different season

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/02/2018 11:54:07    2073804

Replying To riverboys:  "3 things about the game
1 Mayo were brutal, an absolute shambles, looked like pensioners trying to chase young kids, Kerry were miles better.
2 Kerry are a very cynical team, never mind talking about the Ulster teams, the kingdom are far the worse, 2 reds and a black card today tells its own story.
3 Our referees and his team haven't a clue, again a poor performance, after the first cynical foul he should have flashed yellow and call both captains aside and tell them that I will send off players for constant fouling, he lost control of the game and by the time the 1st Kerry player saw the line the dice has already been played, what good is a yellow card or a ticking when a player is bearing down on goal and fouled, he get a free but at least a goal wasn't given away, there is no advantage in that case, it's about time refs and other officials ref the games properly, if the supporters can see fouls how come the match officials can't, it's enough for any team to be playing against 15 players never mind playing against the ref as well.
PS Mayo co board are a joke, gates on the western side of the pitch locked after the game and supporters had to go around the grounds then walk down a number of stairs in the dark to get out, if somebody tripped in the dark and fell and hurt on those stairs MacHale Park would be closed forever with the compo they would have to pay out"
Take ur beating. Ye were beaten and bullied by a load of kids. Yes our discipline is gone to pot lately but there is no question that ye were played off the park

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 04/02/2018 12:10:47    2073808

Replying To GGdub:  "Good win for kerry. Some decent youngsters on that team.but the state of that new away jersey"
It is a horrible Jersey, when our boys came out for the photo we were all so gob smacked we forgot to cheer , all you could hear in the stadium was the generator running the lights.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/02/2018 12:19:37    2073810

Replying To Donegalman:  "I don't think Fitzmaurice will go back to the old guard, not entirely anyway. Im sure there must be politics a plenty down there, but ultimately, if you have a young team who are hungry and keen and in the habit of winning, you would be mad to change the team. I would say that Kerry will call on experience when they need to, but they wont be raiding out the nest either."
I hope your right Donegalman, we need the donnachas darrans and Mikey's to bail out now, big pressure now on the ould lads who took a winter break.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/02/2018 12:27:15    2073811

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "It is a horrible Jersey, when our boys came out for the photo we were all so gob smacked we forgot to cheer , all you could hear in the stadium was the generator running the lights."
Hah hah it's marmite alright! You can't trust them Lixnaw fellas at all, I was only waiting for something like this to come out of his wardrobe.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 04/02/2018 12:37:09    2073814

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "I have seen worse displays from Mayo at this time of year and it's understandable that they are a little bit sluggish. Kerry had a team of talented young lads wanting to impress and they would go through a brick wall on the night. I don't know what's going on behind the scenes with injuries and so on but I do think that Rochford is wrong not to throw in three or four of that good u21 team of two years ago. We have sixteen lads who can hold their own with any team but it's when we need reinforcements that we run into bother. There are lads on the fringe of the team who just aren't quite good enough and I thought management would use the league to find better replacements. Young O Donoghue at corner back doesn't look out of place and there are a few others I could name who would only benefit from an extended run. Fitzmaurice has been criticised for being too conservative for sticking with the old guns but fair play to him for giving the young lads a go all at the one time. If he gets two or three in the team come championship it will have been a successful league. On a separate note I thought he was slow in not taking the number seven off before he was sent off. He could have got a red for the first tackle and should have got a yellow for the second. That was the time to take to call him ashore. I suppose the league is the time for learning lessons."
Ya llaw our number 7 was ronan Shanahan and ya he got lucky with the first yellow as it was probably a red although I haven't seen it back yet, Shanahan was unlucky though as it was enright man o'reagan I think who got through because enright slipped.

Ya I was surprised we didn't see more of yer U21 team from a few years back and is sharose akram anywhere near the senior panel? He has blistering pace from what I remember from the 2014 minor semifinal and U21 final against Cork.

I think fitz had to turn to youth having been badly let down by the older players over the last few years.

Rochford probably doesn't have as many players to replace at the moment as we do.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/02/2018 12:40:36    2073817

Reasonable performance from Mayo. Seen alot worse at this time of year. An awful lot to improve of course. Kerry lads are flying for early February. Alot involved in Sigerson and it shows. Away ahead in fitness levels. Great movement up front from Kerry. Lovely scores taken but alot of silly wides. No obvious defensive strategy employed by Mayo. With so many of the players outside the county at this time of year Mayo are rarely as organised as they would like. Kerry were by far the better team and deserved their victory.
Happy enough to see the hype around these young lads from Kerry. As I'm sure Jim Gavin is. Kerry still have the same obvious failing. Really struggle when teams run at them. Until they can sort that out they will not beat Dublin. They have everything else needed including bucket loads of cynical and 'tactical' fouling to match the best out there. How times have changed. There was a time when a Kerry man would nod and politely smile in your direction for getting excited about a couple of league victories in January and February....even with kids. They knew the folly of your ways.

Weary (None) - Posts: 249 - 04/02/2018 12:42:11    2073818

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "We're quite fond of him down here but that might change if his free taking doesn't improve!"
Hopefully Rochford will improve the freetaking options. Cillian is a much better footballer than he has been showing the last couple of years. Too cynical at times too to manufacture frees. Not the only one though. We've got a lot of scores from questionable frees but what we need to do is have forwards more confident to take scores from play.

People say we don't have forwards. We do have forwards, we can't judge them if they don't try kicking scores from play. Learn from Andy, miss 3 or 4 kicks but don't let the confidence drop, you'll get the next one. Our forwards quality isn't close to the Dublin or Kerry level but they can't improve if they don't try. We've an over-reliance on scores from defenders and Cillian's frees but I think forwards need to up their contribution from play, even if it's poor from the start, and have a few freetaker alternatives. If it means dropping Cillian, drop him.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 04/02/2018 12:53:27    2073819

Replying To TheHermit:  "Hah hah it's marmite alright! You can't trust them Lixnaw fellas at all, I was only waiting for something like this to come out of his wardrobe."
It could be a generational thing the hermit but please bring back the dodgy blue number we've had over the last number of years.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/02/2018 13:44:57    2073832

Replying To aidan64:  "Take ur beating. Ye were beaten and bullied by a load of kids. Yes our discipline is gone to pot lately but there is no question that ye were played off the park"
I thought he just about covered your response with his first sentence but seemingly not!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 04/02/2018 14:04:43    2073837

Really impressed by Kerry again last night. They showed great composure and control to see out the game 2 players down. They look very fit for this time of year but that is to be expected as I am sure these younger guys are keen to nail down a spot. A shame Clifford had to go off so early but even in small period he was on pitch he showed glimmers of his talent. I am really excited to see how he develops along with O'Shea who has a sweet right foot. In truth this match should have been over at HT. I could not believe that Fitzmaurice did not take off Shanahan after the 2nd foul when already carded. Anybody could see what was going to happen and even though the league that was poor game management but I am sure lesson learned. On the downside again the defending was not great. Mayo got in far too easily in a game where the goals kept them in it when Kerry should have been out of sight. As for Mayo I would not be too overly worried about the result. I think last week was a bonus getting the win against Monaghan as clearly fitness wise Mayo were nowhere near the level of Kerry. The main worry looking forward is seemingly lack of talent coming through. This has to be a big worry looking forward as only so long some of the older legs can go on for. The Kerry cynicism is nothing new in fairness they have the art of getting away with it down to a fine art. But it is part and parcel of all successful teams regardless what u think of it.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2781 - 04/02/2018 14:28:03    2073841

Replying To panamasam:  "Really impressed by Kerry again last night. They showed great composure and control to see out the game 2 players down. They look very fit for this time of year but that is to be expected as I am sure these younger guys are keen to nail down a spot. A shame Clifford had to go off so early but even in small period he was on pitch he showed glimmers of his talent. I am really excited to see how he develops along with O'Shea who has a sweet right foot. In truth this match should have been over at HT. I could not believe that Fitzmaurice did not take off Shanahan after the 2nd foul when already carded. Anybody could see what was going to happen and even though the league that was poor game management but I am sure lesson learned. On the downside again the defending was not great. Mayo got in far too easily in a game where the goals kept them in it when Kerry should have been out of sight. As for Mayo I would not be too overly worried about the result. I think last week was a bonus getting the win against Monaghan as clearly fitness wise Mayo were nowhere near the level of Kerry. The main worry looking forward is seemingly lack of talent coming through. This has to be a big worry looking forward as only so long some of the older legs can go on for. The Kerry cynicism is nothing new in fairness they have the art of getting away with it down to a fine art. But it is part and parcel of all successful teams regardless what u think of it."
All teams are cynical Panama we're just bad at hiding it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/02/2018 14:56:36    2073845

Replying To panamasam:  "Really impressed by Kerry again last night. They showed great composure and control to see out the game 2 players down. They look very fit for this time of year but that is to be expected as I am sure these younger guys are keen to nail down a spot. A shame Clifford had to go off so early but even in small period he was on pitch he showed glimmers of his talent. I am really excited to see how he develops along with O'Shea who has a sweet right foot. In truth this match should have been over at HT. I could not believe that Fitzmaurice did not take off Shanahan after the 2nd foul when already carded. Anybody could see what was going to happen and even though the league that was poor game management but I am sure lesson learned. On the downside again the defending was not great. Mayo got in far too easily in a game where the goals kept them in it when Kerry should have been out of sight. As for Mayo I would not be too overly worried about the result. I think last week was a bonus getting the win against Monaghan as clearly fitness wise Mayo were nowhere near the level of Kerry. The main worry looking forward is seemingly lack of talent coming through. This has to be a big worry looking forward as only so long some of the older legs can go on for. The Kerry cynicism is nothing new in fairness they have the art of getting away with it down to a fine art. But it is part and parcel of all successful teams regardless what u think of it."
Good post.

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 420 - 04/02/2018 15:18:43    2073852