Mayo vs Kerry

Replying To Donegalman:  "I actually fancy mayo to win this game. They will be looking at getting 4 points in the bag so as not to be struggling in fixtures later on. I also think that Kerry flattered a bit last week. yes they are a very young side, but the Donegal team that they played were a younger team than they are. Their inexperience could be shown up here but I would expect them to take a lot from the game. Mayo by about 4 or 5."
I'd agree with all of that Donegalman and mayo like Donegal have have 3/4 games played already whereas we're only playing our second game tonight, what I loved about last Sunday's performance was when we looked dead and buried seanie Shea kicked a monster free from the 50 to level it and daithi s superb point to win it, there was a time our heads would have dropped after a goal like that but these young Kerry lads are special.

So all in all I'd say Mayo to win by 4/5 points.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/02/2018 15:29:40    2073612

RTE RADIO COMMENTARY OM MAYO KERRY MAYO IS BRUTAL

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 03/02/2018 19:33:59    2073659

Kerry following an Irish rugby team tactic.....control pocesssion and ample opportunities yet just ahead. Will it come down to an injury time kick?

commander (Kildare) - Posts: 225 - 03/02/2018 19:40:15    2073661

Mayo were brutal. 2 extra men for the last 20+ minutes and they had absolutely no clue what to do with them. Dreadful stuff. Fair play to Kerry. They were by far the better team all through.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 03/02/2018 20:41:47    2073673

Mayo how did you not win that game? No score from play for over 20 mins against 13 men. Mayo start slow in the league usually but that game was there for the taking. Well done Kerry, great fighting displaying.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 03/02/2018 20:50:43    2073678

Great stuff from the young boys again, but the discipline needs to improve. Well worry about that tomorrow, some day of sporting drama - An Riocht Abu

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/02/2018 20:59:21    2073682

the Kerry Boys too strong for Mayo old men , not a clue how to play football by Mayo and then change their free taker when the man taking them had scored all that came his way

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 03/02/2018 21:02:20    2073686

Hard luck mayo. I didn't expect this result with these young bucks against nearly a full strength mayo team and only our second game of the year, well we're 2 points closer to safety.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/02/2018 21:03:03    2073687

Very good win for Kerry here.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8591 - 03/02/2018 21:16:01    2073692

Great win for the young lads. Will hopefully give them a huge boost to know that they can mix it with the big teams. And being away from home too. They bullied Mayo for most parts of that game

aidan64 (Kerry) - Posts: 665 - 03/02/2018 21:51:55    2073703

Enjoyable game, Kerry very impressive, Mayo were terrible for most of the second half, on a side Cillian again trying to ref the game , cynical diving and feigning injury, the guy is a very dislikeable chatacter..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 03/02/2018 21:58:27    2073706

No complaints from this end. Kerry looked faster, fitter and more determined. Their forwards were out in front of their markers and most of our defenders got roasted. Don't know how we went in at half time only a point down. Think Cillian needs to take a step back from the free taking as his confidence seems to be gone at the minute. Would rather see a few new faces as we seem to be persisting with some fringe players who just aren't up to the standard required. Vocal enough Kerry support.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 03/02/2018 22:46:28    2073714

Replying To Belclare1:  "Enjoyable game, Kerry very impressive, Mayo were terrible for most of the second half, on a side Cillian again trying to ref the game , cynical diving and feigning injury, the guy is a very dislikeable chatacter.."
We're quite fond of him down here but that might change if his free taking doesn't improve!

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 03/02/2018 22:49:37    2073715

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Hard luck mayo. I didn't expect this result with these young bucks against nearly a full strength mayo team and only our second game of the year, well we're 2 points closer to safety."
Nearly full strength Kingdomboy. I nearly spilled me cocoa when I read that. We started with one defender from last years final and neither of the midfielders. An impressive display from your fellas nevertheless. Are you giving that lad a lift back to Kenmare?.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 03/02/2018 23:00:17    2073717

Good win for kerry. Some decent youngsters on that team.but the state of that new away jersey

GGdub (Dublin) - Posts: 260 - 03/02/2018 23:11:38    2073719

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Hard luck mayo. I didn't expect this result with these young bucks against nearly a full strength mayo team and only our second game of the year, well we're 2 points closer to safety."
It's hard to see anybody being able to live with those young Kerry kids now. Another League title must be a near certainty. Well done.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 03/02/2018 23:21:17    2073721

3 things about the game
1 Mayo were brutal, an absolute shambles, looked like pensioners trying to chase young kids, Kerry were miles better.
2 Kerry are a very cynical team, never mind talking about the Ulster teams, the kingdom are far the worse, 2 reds and a black card today tells its own story.
3 Our referees and his team haven't a clue, again a poor performance, after the first cynical foul he should have flashed yellow and call both captains aside and tell them that I will send off players for constant fouling, he lost control of the game and by the time the 1st Kerry player saw the line the dice has already been played, what good is a yellow card or a ticking when a player is bearing down on goal and fouled, he get a free but at least a goal wasn't given away, there is no advantage in that case, it's about time refs and other officials ref the games properly, if the supporters can see fouls how come the match officials can't, it's enough for any team to be playing against 15 players never mind playing against the ref as well.
PS Mayo co board are a joke, gates on the western side of the pitch locked after the game and supporters had to go around the grounds then walk down a number of stairs in the dark to get out, if somebody tripped in the dark and fell and hurt on those stairs MacHale Park would be closed forever with the compo they would have to pay out

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 03/02/2018 23:37:25    2073727

Replying To Belclare1:  "Enjoyable game, Kerry very impressive, Mayo were terrible for most of the second half, on a side Cillian again trying to ref the game , cynical diving and feigning injury, the guy is a very dislikeable chatacter.."
I'm glad someone else has picked up on this. Cillian and his brother are notorious for this diving and feining injury carry on.For all their footballing talent, their behaviour on the pitch is just another form of cheating. It's seems they are training some of their teammates on the best diving techniques also. that the bloody refs are so gullable to this is the worst part.

Scaramanga (Cork) - Posts: 14 - 04/02/2018 00:21:59    2073735

Replying To Llaw_Gyffes:  "Nearly full strength Kingdomboy. I nearly spilled me cocoa when I read that. We started with one defender from last years final and neither of the midfielders. An impressive display from your fellas nevertheless. Are you giving that lad a lift back to Kenmare?."
No I didn't give him a lift llaw as I was heading West and he was going south:-) but the Kerry supporters surely threw him on the bus :-)

And il give you that, that ye weren't at full strength but we'll take a win from castlebar any time we can get it .

At the end of the day this game will matter little come the summer if fitzmaurice goes back to the old guard which he probably will.

Where to next for Mayo llaw?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/02/2018 01:05:49    2073740

I don't think Fitzmaurice will go back to the old guard, not entirely anyway. Im sure there must be politics a plenty down there, but ultimately, if you have a young team who are hungry and keen and in the habit of winning, you would be mad to change the team. I would say that Kerry will call on experience when they need to, but they wont be raiding out the nest either.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 04/02/2018 04:47:15    2073747