Meath v Clare

Replying To thelutch:  "i'm a realist"
I think I'm somewhere in between the 2 of yous !! In all seriousness I expected us to win pretty easily and I think we will know more after next week

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 04/02/2018 19:19:10    2073994

Replying To thelutch:  "lads ,we beat clare,a hurling county, relax everyone,we still just about 3rd best in leinster,JUST"
We have demolished a side who had a very good season last time out.

ClonardGael (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 04/02/2018 19:35:44    2074009

First off delighted for graham, he was up full forward one minute then dispossesing clare player in full back position the next, also leading the lads to tighten up and giving directions. Great to see the biggy we all know and admire back today. Very impressed with O'Neill when he came on, and has perhaps given himself a serious claim to start next week, McGill was outstanding again and is turning into a real top drawer fb, mckeever did excellent, McMahon was good today too. Midfield was good without been brilliant but it's turning into a good partnership, all in all quite happy, but harder opponents await us.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/02/2018 20:29:05    2074041

Clare were absolutely dreadful so I don't have many takeaway's from that game apart from eamon Wallace has me excited about watching him play again, 3 fabulous scores when he came on, 1 with his left foot and 2 with his right, think he should start next week, he looked like a player deprived of confidence the last few years but was a joy to watch today, his talent is undeniable would love to see him have a good year

redser123 (Meath) - Posts: 402 - 04/02/2018 20:29:42    2074044

Replying To Reco:  "This petty stuff on biggy has to stop lads he can be frustrating and brilliant.from what I've seen of the man when teams put a runner or someone who can match his pace he seems to b on the fringes.
there always is the question can he do it again the kildare dubs tyrones.time will tell this year early days good win move on Cavan step up for us."
Just to be clear he has been very good in games v dubs (3 points last meeting) Kildare remember 2012? When he destroyed them,? Tyrone also gave them nightmares in 13, our best player v Kildare in league last year. Not having a pop, just don't like these incorrect cliches that's always trotted out against graham

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 04/02/2018 20:36:10    2074046

Very good performance today. New players that Andy has brought onto the first 15 eg Colgan Lavin Conlon Flanagan J Wallace and Mckeever have all played well since the start of the year. Lavin has improved the full back line. Conlon has improved the half back line. And Flanagan has formed an effective midfield partnership with Menton. When Lenihan returns himself and McKeever will form a strong inside line. We look very fit and at times the football in the second half looked like a div 1 team.

Some people are saying Clare are poor. Clare are not a top div 1 team. But Clare drew with Cavan and knocked Cork out of the Byrne Cup this year. We made them look poor today. We were much the better team. But again we made them look poor.

A worry I would have is the conditions were very good today. We have a team that is built for the hard ground. This team will play well in the summer on a dry day in Croker. I can see us destroying a top division 1 team in Croker (like we did v Tyrone in 2007 and Dublin 2010 ) in the coming years. This team is a small fast pacy skilful team which is built for summer football in good conditions. But I would worry on a wet rainy day how we will play. Rain and wet conditions suits big physical teams. We are not physical team, we have a small team in comparison to other counties. This is something we will need to adapt to, a more physical game.

We play Cavan on Saturday night. We had a similar game last year. We played Down on a Saturday night away from home and we lost. Saturdays game will be away from home to another Ulster team. It will be interesting to see how we deal with Cavan in comparison to how we dealt with Down last year. A wet windy evening might not suit us. We need to show we can grind out results. This will come with experience. But I do think a dry summers day does suit our team. But we need to learn how to win in every condition. This will come with more experience.

This is a very tricky game. Whenever Cavan kildare louth play Meath and especially kildare and Cavan they throw the kitchen sink at us. They hate Meath football with a passion. When they play us they can play like men possessed, they play like kerry when they see the green and gold of Meath. Cavan will be tough opposition. If we beat Cavan in this local derby, it will be more evidence we are making strong progess. This game will be tougher then people outside both counties.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 04/02/2018 21:20:45    2074074

Replying To redser123:  "Clare were absolutely dreadful so I don't have many takeaway's from that game apart from eamon Wallace has me excited about watching him play again, 3 fabulous scores when he came on, 1 with his left foot and 2 with his right, think he should start next week, he looked like a player deprived of confidence the last few years but was a joy to watch today, his talent is undeniable would love to see him have a good year"
Forgive me for making comparisons to the foreign game but Wally reminds me of Aidan McGeady. Full of endeavour but all too often no end product. I am happy that he had a solid game today. He needed it.

ClonardGael (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 04/02/2018 21:31:22    2074080

Good win against a relegation candidate. We kicked too many short in the first half. Should have been at least 4 or 5 up at half time.

We got the win and decent margin of victory to put us top of the table but disappointed that we didn't score goals. We need to, to give ourselves the best chance of promotion.

The Cavan game is a big test and if we win 5 points after 3 games will put us in a great position to go up. The question is can the likes of Wallace or Reilly be as effective against the tougher teams, also how good our midfield are compared to the top 3teams in this division.

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 452 - 04/02/2018 21:49:59    2074092

Division 2 could be tougher next year. Tyrone and Donegal Monaghan or kildare could be back in the division. This year hopefully we will get out this year of div 2. But next year could be a tougher divsion.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 04/02/2018 22:56:17    2074114

Was Donal Lenihan on the bench yesterday ? I know he was named on it. Or was in involved in the warm up ?
Also anyone know what the story is with Harry Rooney ? How come he did'nt get a run yesterday ?

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 05/02/2018 10:25:06    2074180

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Was Donal Lenihan on the bench yesterday ? I know he was named on it. Or was in involved in the warm up ?
Also anyone know what the story is with Harry Rooney ? How come he did'nt get a run yesterday ?"
Yeah surely Harry should have got a run yesterday!!

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 05/02/2018 10:36:50    2074184

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Was Donal Lenihan on the bench yesterday ? I know he was named on it. Or was in involved in the warm up ?
Also anyone know what the story is with Harry Rooney ? How come he did'nt get a run yesterday ?"
Lenihan was sitting in the stand yesterday, must have an injury of some kind

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 05/02/2018 10:40:52    2074187

Good performance yesterday, dominant all over the field, McGuill was outstanding, forwards looked dangerous, should have been a bit further ahead at half time, was calling for Biggy to be given a rest yesterday but in fairness he was very sharp, full of energy and drive, we need him like that. bigger tests ahead but very positive , the whole team look in very good shape and as full of running in the last minute as the first.

longroadback (Meath) - Posts: 324 - 05/02/2018 10:50:28    2074190

Just on Harry Rooney, he was playing last week with Skyrne. Are they all still playing club during this league?

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 05/02/2018 11:43:49    2074214

First half was one of the worst that I ever seen, 7 balls dropped into goalie's hands.Big improvement in the second half,But Clare were dreadful,taught Flanagan was poor and has little pace and will be found wanting against the stronger counties.

jake1 (Meath) - Posts: 268 - 05/02/2018 11:48:00    2074216

A case of job done. A slow start but finished the job emphatically against a weak opposition. Next three matches against Cavan, Tipp and Cork will give us a much clearer idea of where we really are. Minimum of two wins needed from the three to even be able to think of promotion.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 05/02/2018 11:50:31    2074218

If that second half performance can be replicated against a strong team and in both halves then there would be great potential in this team. A lot will be revealed on Saturday and hopefully we will be more clinical in the first half. Mc Keever has surely claimed a starting place.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 05/02/2018 12:09:03    2074228

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Just on Harry Rooney, he was playing last week with Skyrne. Are they all still playing club during this league?"
The players who aren't starting regularly for Meath play some league !! I presume they are getting permission to play ! Rooney needs football one way or the other !! Its funny when he was away everyone was saying how bad it was and now that he's back he can't get a game ! But still he's pushing for a place which can only be good

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 05/02/2018 12:23:16    2074231

Replying To grahamc9897:  "The players who aren't starting regularly for Meath play some league !! I presume they are getting permission to play ! Rooney needs football one way or the other !! Its funny when he was away everyone was saying how bad it was and now that he's back he can't get a game ! But still he's pushing for a place which can only be good"
Never thought of it like that, i was surprised to see he was playing club last week. Have been to few different club games over past couple weeks and he is the only one i noticed playing. I'm also presuming he is getting permission. Always the fear of injury. Yeah its funny that everyone had been anticipating his return but hes been left on the bench. Glad to see that he has at least got that spot.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 05/02/2018 12:42:30    2074242

Not withstanding the quality of the opposition yesterday, I was impressed with the way we pushed up on Clare for their Kick-outs and also the tackling of our forwards. Might not be as efficient against a stronger team but I believe its the right thing to do. When we moved the ball quickly we were effective but when we slow it down we cause ourselves more problems. I have also noticed a bit of a shift in football in general since the start of the league. Dublin went man on man v Kildare in the 2nd half, Kerry likewise on Mayo and Galway on Donegal. Hopefully this all-out defensive track-back and allowing the opposition easy passage up to the halfway line is over. Maybe that wishful thinking.

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 05/02/2018 12:59:11    2074252