The pinnacle of cute Kerry h***r*sm

Replying To TheHermit:  "The usual insults, the usual collective shout-downs for anyone who questions anything to do with Dublin. But hey everyone loves an echo chamber right??

Kerry do well out of grants etc, no question. But its in proportion to what schemes they have submitted for consideration, which any other county can and has done. We have decent sponsorship too, but we still have to fund-raise the hell out of things to try and keep above water and ensure our facilities are as much a match as they can be with what the capital enjoys.

As for Dublin: A backroom team the size of a small army, funded by multiple major sponsorships, in addition the funding for player development from Croke Park out of all proportion to the number of GAA players actually in the City, grants given by the Sports Council on top of that just to make it more even more egregious and state of the art facilities like DCU for ye to avail of for nothing or as near as.

But no, sure ye actually don't use DCU at all, sure if ye did ye would be paying loads to use it, sure ye have nowhere but the side of a road to train on most weeks!"
In fairness all I've been doing is agreeing with you that it is literally unbelievable that Dublin are allowed to have all the facilities in DCU completely free of charge and completely exclusively so that no other people except for the Dublin Senior footballers are allowed to enter.

That seemed to be the tenet of your argument and I thought it was unbelievable.

It really is unbelievable that Kerry tax payers have had to fund the Dublin Senior Footballers private training facilities.

It's definitely not right in anyways!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 18/01/2018 12:29:43    2069065

I'm not sure that this is true: Bohemians trained at DCU when I was a student there, about a decade ago, and Tennis Ireland also had a Centre of Excellence on campus. I also knew a lot of scholarship athletes who had use of the same elite gym facilities that the Dubs have. DCU's Sigerson team definitely use the same pitches.

Gleebo (Mayo) - 18/01/2018

Admittedly sarcasm doesn't come across well in text format but that's the point I was trying to make.

Tennis Ireland are still there and Cricket Ireland use the gym facilities on a fairly regular basis - as do some other governing bodies and their development squads / athletes.

If I was a Dub fan though I'd be questioning why expenditure on 'Maintenance and Upkeep of Grounds' rose from €415,431 in 2015 to €469,783 in 2016. Sure aren't they meant to be using DCU for free? That's only going off the annual accounts for 2016 though, it may have dropped to €0 in 2017 of course...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 18/01/2018 13:03:51    2069068

Replying To Damothedub:  "My fella in last four years has trained in Abbottstown, DCU,UCD, Alfie Byrne Clontarf, innisfails, Cuala, craobh Ciarans,basically where ever was available, marches have been played at all those venues including Parnell Park and DIT grangegorman , nomads for four years constantly waiting for the text never knowing where your training one week to another, yet Kermit would have you think differently, yet in our travels we have played in some fantastic and some not so fantastic centers of excellence as well as being hosted by limerick IT , Waterford IT , Kermit hasn't a clue but opinions are like you know what and everyone has one , as to the function go don't go it's a free world."
Damothedub is spot on........I have taken teams to play various different Dublin development squads in hurling and almost always it's been a different pitch St Brigid, Craobh Ciaran, Na Fianna, Abbottstown etc etc so this nonsense about DCU being used exclusively by Dublin is exactly that nonsense (same for Abbottstown - book the pitch and you can use it as we have several times).......... I tell you one thing about the Dubs, certainly in hurling anyway......ask them for a game and they will always try facilitate you despite their massive improvement over past 10 yrs they have never forgotten their peers from former years and always willing to help teams out on the rung below them.........the Dub bashing threads really are getting tiresome......the biggest change in the past 15 yrs in Dublin is not money but organisation, which they are great at.......money without good adminsatration gets you no where

PaudieSull1 (Down) - Posts: 738 - 18/01/2018 13:18:03    2069075

Replying To TheHermit:  "The usual insults, the usual collective shout-downs for anyone who questions anything to do with Dublin. But hey everyone loves an echo chamber right??

Kerry do well out of grants etc, no question. But its in proportion to what schemes they have submitted for consideration, which any other county can and has done. We have decent sponsorship too, but we still have to fund-raise the hell out of things to try and keep above water and ensure our facilities are as much a match as they can be with what the capital enjoys.

As for Dublin: A backroom team the size of a small army, funded by multiple major sponsorships, in addition the funding for player development from Croke Park out of all proportion to the number of GAA players actually in the City, grants given by the Sports Council on top of that just to make it more even more egregious and state of the art facilities like DCU for ye to avail of for nothing or as near as.

But no, sure ye actually don't use DCU at all, sure if ye did ye would be paying loads to use it, sure ye have nowhere but the side of a road to train on most weeks!"
Any chance you'd address my last point or are you going to cry into your coffee for the whole morning you poor thing , you do know the added bonus which no one told us in the barren years that winning Sam would upset Kerry fans like you so much

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 18/01/2018 13:23:04    2069076

Mate why do you present yourself and Kerry as the victim every time? "The usual insults, the usual collective shout-downs for anyone who questions anything to do with Dublin" You insulted most of the forum calling them sycophants in your last post and then present yourself as victim of group think or being bullied because others dont share you opinion. That is in the context of you going of on one about Dublin, when its actually not part of the thread topic. Its quite fascinating this unraveling.

You are right Kerry do very well, annually, but also in terms of grants of grants given by the GAA state agencies, collectively 9 million between the two facilities in Tralee and the COE. To put that in context that is very close to the fabled games development funding Dublin recieve since say 2010. I dont really have a problem with what Kerry get truth to be told and best of luck to them, i wish Dublin got their act together on a COE like Damos post illustrates having first hand experience of the county scene. But lm just putting a pin in the put upon approach or poor us approach to this. Additionally its a matter of public record that Kerry Group put 1mill into the facility as well on top of their sponsorship. There are also over 10 "offical partners" attached to Kerry.

You speak of fundraising, now lets be clear there isnt a gang of flat cap lads outside the church with buckets, there are 5.000 plate dinners and 2000 plate dinners in both New York and London, the former was attended by the Jimmy Dennahan ex-kerry footballer and minister for the Diaspora, who just so happened to be in New York at the time, tax payers money and political intervention indeed.

The reality is Kerry do very well out of central and sports council grants, their own annual funding for games development, grant by the Munster council, Kerry group and other Sponsorship, lavish fundraising. If you tot all that up annually and compare it to Dublins annual games development funding i think you will be surprised.

Dublin have nothing Kerry dont, i think when the new centers come on line, i think Kerry will actually have a competitive edge, more power to them. The only difference between the two counties structurally is that we ave a better team presently. I hope the COE at the spawell site is cutting edge though, its a great opportunity for us, but i believe it wont be good to go for another five years.

One thing i will say is you have a very warped idea of what games development money is used for, why would games need to be developed for players already playing in the association. The money goes toward attracting new players to the association. Its all up online on what the money is used for at junior level in schools and local communities.

Its the victim thing, that i keep coming back to here, why the need t present your county as being put upon and if only we would have won........., Kerry do brilliantly well financially out of the GAA, arguably unfairly so in comparison to counties of a similar make up, i dont really have a problem with Kerry doing well out of funding more power to them, but there isnt any competitive advantage you are missing out on, infact you should be doing frankly better.

The difference between Dublin and Kerry is Dublin just have a better football team at the moment. I would refer to you Whammo who has done some excellent work on the subject in numerous thread to inform and balm yourself. Nothing more, nothing less to be honest.

I hope when our turn comes which it will undoubtedly will to be beaten by Kerry in the all Ireland we conduct ourselves with more dignity.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/01/2018 14:02:47    2069084

Replying To PaudieSull1:  "Damothedub is spot on........I have taken teams to play various different Dublin development squads in hurling and almost always it's been a different pitch St Brigid, Craobh Ciaran, Na Fianna, Abbottstown etc etc so this nonsense about DCU being used exclusively by Dublin is exactly that nonsense (same for Abbottstown - book the pitch and you can use it as we have several times).......... I tell you one thing about the Dubs, certainly in hurling anyway......ask them for a game and they will always try facilitate you despite their massive improvement over past 10 yrs they have never forgotten their peers from former years and always willing to help teams out on the rung below them.........the Dub bashing threads really are getting tiresome......the biggest change in the past 15 yrs in Dublin is not money but organisation, which they are great at.......money without good adminsatration gets you no where"
You're right and Dublin pay 2 million a year on administration, fair play to them.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/01/2018 15:17:17    2069096

Why has this turned into a Dublin v Kerry thing? This has nothing to do with Dublin. There are numerous threads on Dublins finance which I think are unfair, but that is for a different thread. This thread is about one thing, Croke Park are encouraging other counties to fund a center of excellence for one county.

So I would ask Kerry posters to please stop this whatabouttery and look at what is actually happening.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 18/01/2018 15:33:32    2069104

I am sure the Gooch might donate part of his testimonial to Kerry GAA.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1735 - 18/01/2018 17:32:47    2069134

Where has this notion come from that Dublin get access to DCU gym etc for free, it costs them close to €100,000 annually as far as I know.

noel kevitt (Meath) - Posts: 17 - 18/01/2018 17:33:24    2069135

Replying To gotmilk:  "Why has this turned into a Dublin v Kerry thing? This has nothing to do with Dublin. There are numerous threads on Dublins finance which I think are unfair, but that is for a different thread. This thread is about one thing, Croke Park are encouraging other counties to fund a center of excellence for one county.

So I would ask Kerry posters to please stop this whatabouttery and look at what is actually happening."
And what do you want the Kerry posters to do about it?
Why don't you ring the Fermanagh county board and discuss it with them? or ring the GAA and discuss it with them?
I didn't even know about this till yesterday and I think FairPlay to our county board for being proactive.
Again there is nobody holding a gun to anyone's head to go.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/01/2018 17:59:07    2069140

It would be a pity if the wonderful Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh should suffer any backlash from this clumsy interference by Croke Park in a simple fund-raiser.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 18/01/2018 19:32:07    2069161

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "And what do you want the Kerry posters to do about it?
Why don't you ring the Fermanagh county board and discuss it with them? or ring the GAA and discuss it with them?
I didn't even know about this till yesterday and I think FairPlay to our county board for being proactive.
Again there is nobody holding a gun to anyone's head to go."
What do you want Kerry posters to do about it you ask ? how about suck on your soothers , and stop with the Velcro defense that if you throw enough shi7 sooner or later something will stick , you guys seem to think your above criticism and analysis on of all things a debating forum.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 18/01/2018 22:11:56    2069182

Replying To Damothedub:  "What do you want Kerry posters to do about it you ask ? how about suck on your soothers , and stop with the Velcro defense that if you throw enough shi7 sooner or later something will stick , you guys seem to think your above criticism and analysis on of all things a debating forum."
How is Kerry posters sucking on a soother going to help the Fermanagh poster come to terms with Kerry GAA having dinner dance for micháel o'muirehertaigh ?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/01/2018 23:47:49    2069187

Replying To neverright:  "It would be a pity if the wonderful Micheál Ó Muircheartaigh should suffer any backlash from this clumsy interference by Croke Park in a simple fund-raiser."
That's the only thing that would bother me, hes a legend. Best footballers win the prize.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 19/01/2018 00:25:22    2069191

Replying To TheUsername:  "Mate why do you present yourself and Kerry as the victim every time? "The usual insults, the usual collective shout-downs for anyone who questions anything to do with Dublin" You insulted most of the forum calling them sycophants in your last post and then present yourself as victim of group think or being bullied because others dont share you opinion. That is in the context of you going of on one about Dublin, when its actually not part of the thread topic. Its quite fascinating this unraveling.

You are right Kerry do very well, annually, but also in terms of grants of grants given by the GAA state agencies, collectively 9 million between the two facilities in Tralee and the COE. To put that in context that is very close to the fabled games development funding Dublin recieve since say 2010. I dont really have a problem with what Kerry get truth to be told and best of luck to them, i wish Dublin got their act together on a COE like Damos post illustrates having first hand experience of the county scene. But lm just putting a pin in the put upon approach or poor us approach to this. Additionally its a matter of public record that Kerry Group put 1mill into the facility as well on top of their sponsorship. There are also over 10 "offical partners" attached to Kerry.

You speak of fundraising, now lets be clear there isnt a gang of flat cap lads outside the church with buckets, there are 5.000 plate dinners and 2000 plate dinners in both New York and London, the former was attended by the Jimmy Dennahan ex-kerry footballer and minister for the Diaspora, who just so happened to be in New York at the time, tax payers money and political intervention indeed.

The reality is Kerry do very well out of central and sports council grants, their own annual funding for games development, grant by the Munster council, Kerry group and other Sponsorship, lavish fundraising. If you tot all that up annually and compare it to Dublins annual games development funding i think you will be surprised.

Dublin have nothing Kerry dont, i think when the new centers come on line, i think Kerry will actually have a competitive edge, more power to them. The only difference between the two counties structurally is that we ave a better team presently. I hope the COE at the spawell site is cutting edge though, its a great opportunity for us, but i believe it wont be good to go for another five years.

One thing i will say is you have a very warped idea of what games development money is used for, why would games need to be developed for players already playing in the association. The money goes toward attracting new players to the association. Its all up online on what the money is used for at junior level in schools and local communities.

Its the victim thing, that i keep coming back to here, why the need t present your county as being put upon and if only we would have won........., Kerry do brilliantly well financially out of the GAA, arguably unfairly so in comparison to counties of a similar make up, i dont really have a problem with Kerry doing well out of funding more power to them, but there isnt any competitive advantage you are missing out on, infact you should be doing frankly better.

The difference between Dublin and Kerry is Dublin just have a better football team at the moment. I would refer to you Whammo who has done some excellent work on the subject in numerous thread to inform and balm yourself. Nothing more, nothing less to be honest.

I hope when our turn comes which it will undoubtedly will to be beaten by Kerry in the all Ireland we conduct ourselves with more dignity."
Username, when we won the AI in 2014, your fellow county posters on here conducted themselves with as much dignity as Caligulia during his retreats in Naples. Go search the forum from Sept 2014 to see for yourself if you can't remember.

As for my arguments about Dublin, I dare any of the shout you downers to read this and defend what's on public record, in black and white,

https://veryintobloggingveryintonewmedia.wordpress.com/2018/01/01/dublin-gaa-finances-under-the-microscope/

PS, there are plenty of posters on here so desperate to be liked by the herd they'll say anything to get the green tumbs up, sycophants is the only word.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/01/2018 02:06:56    2069192

It's all too familiar from this Kerry brigade.It's. What about this, what about that . Dublin do this , Dublin get that. Look over there.
This is the Kerry way with this lot.
Sour isn't the word. It's plain to see the influence they have inside the GAA and how the nodding and winking is still rampant. I see a certain referee retired recently also. They'll be gutted with his departure.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 19/01/2018 06:17:22    2069195

Kerry GAA get nothing out of this, this is being run by IT Tralee and proceeds go their Center of Excellence.
I still think it's madness though exploiting Mícheál ó Muircheartaigh like this.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 19/01/2018 08:55:04    2069203

Hermit, KingdomBoy et Al

Lads, lads come on you know well the Blue Juggernaut cannot be questioned in any way and perceived advantages such as massive population, funding, sponsorship, home games or refs cannot even be mentioned or the Dublin Media who some say do their bidding again and again

It's a miracle what they are doing and none of the aforementioned things which bitter culchies have been known to bring up give any competitive advantage whatsoever so please stop referring to them as they aren't true and are upsetting others in this thread

37thHeaven (Kerry) - Posts: 102 - 19/01/2018 10:21:40    2069220

Dear oh dear

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/01/2018 10:28:41    2069222

What competitive advantage did Mayo have?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/01/2018 10:29:44    2069223