Meath v Westmeath O Byrne Cup final

Might as well start a thread for this.
Can't wait, the excitement yesterday was unreal for a obc and with my dear friends and neighbors awaiting in final, it only gets better.
Looking forward to a good game and if can hammer my adopted county it would be a great day :). Only joking. Kind of !!

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/01/2018 17:58:26    2068544

Replying To royaldunne:  "Might as well start a thread for this.
Can't wait, the excitement yesterday was unreal for a obc and with my dear friends and neighbors awaiting in final, it only gets better.
Looking forward to a good game and if can hammer my adopted county it would be a great day :). Only joking. Kind of !!"
Hope ye hammer them.

LooseCannon (Offaly) - Posts: 86 - 15/01/2018 18:19:36    2068547

Absolutely disgraceful fixing this game for Portlaoise at 4pm on Sunday. This combined with the fact that the game's televised will seriously affect the attendance which is a great pity.
Meath to win by 5/6 points

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 15/01/2018 18:33:44    2068550

i dont think yee will hammer us . it is a game that will be close but it should
not be in portlaoise . meath and westmeath officials should have got together
today and toss for venue . once again the gaa are bowing to a t v company

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 15/01/2018 18:46:57    2068552

Replying To royaldunne:  "Might as well start a thread for this.
Looking forward to a good game and if can hammer my adopted county it would be a great day :). Only joking. Kind of !!"
Where's the final at? Toss a coin or Tullamore would be handy for both teams!

saulgael (Down) - Posts: 553 - 15/01/2018 18:53:07    2068554

Former Louth manager and player Colin Kelly just took over Westmeath. He got to O'Byrne Cup final with Louth last year only to be beaten by the Dubs in Drogheda. This should be some match. John Heslin is some footballer. I will go with Westmeath to shade it in extra-time.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 15/01/2018 18:56:55    2068555

ollie i doubt if john heslin will be back for final . he or any st lomans player havent appeared yet
but our young lads like luke loughlin and sam duncan are going well and i think we will win

mickcunningham (Westmeath) - Posts: 1799 - 15/01/2018 19:17:25    2068559

Replying To saulgael:  "Where's the final at? Toss a coin or Tullamore would be handy for both teams!"
It's in portlaoise , silly tbh. Should have been in either mullingar or navan. But gaa hq know better I guess.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/01/2018 19:23:52    2068563

Replying To OLLIE:  "Former Louth manager and player Colin Kelly just took over Westmeath. He got to O'Byrne Cup final with Louth last year only to be beaten by the Dubs in Drogheda. This should be some match. John Heslin is some footballer. I will go with Westmeath to shade it in extra-time."
Don't mention extra time Ollie after yesterday:)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/01/2018 19:26:25    2068564

Game fixed for Portlaoise to accommodate TG4 showing 2 games live
Ghaeltach v Moy curtin raiser

RAHKILL (Westmeath) - Posts: 395 - 15/01/2018 19:55:14    2068572

After Meaths performance in the first half Yesterday I wouldn't be confident of us winning. I reckon WestMeath are a better outfit than Longford. Hopefully I'm wrong

Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 15/01/2018 21:30:57    2068588

Last time Westmeath played Meath in the OBC final it was a packed house in Mullingar! Some atmosphere - sadly we lost

Big pity its down in Portloaise - will have a significant impact on the attendance

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 15/01/2018 21:41:57    2068589

Replying To Ban:  "Last time Westmeath played Meath in the OBC final it was a packed house in Mullingar! Some atmosphere - sadly we lost

Big pity its down in Portloaise - will have a significant impact on the attendance"
I remember it well.
Yes full house and great atmosphere.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/01/2018 22:01:53    2068593

Replying To LooseCannon:  "Hope ye hammer them."
Nothing better in this world than a bitter biffo.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 15/01/2018 22:27:57    2068597

if it was a very dark day there are no lights in mullingar

manfromdelmonte (UK) - Posts: 541 - 16/01/2018 07:42:25    2068615

Replying To manfromdelmonte:  "if it was a very dark day there are no lights in mullingar"
Navan has lights - we had home advantage for the last final between the 2 - not sure if there's an agreements between both counties but I reckon fair play would mean a return fixture.

Unfortunately - Players and supported are only considered after TV. Fixing both games in the one venue is far more desirable for TV Network and crew

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 16/01/2018 12:02:32    2068672

Replying To Ban:  "Navan has lights - we had home advantage for the last final between the 2 - not sure if there's an agreements between both counties but I reckon fair play would mean a return fixture.

Unfortunately - Players and supported are only considered after TV. Fixing both games in the one venue is far more desirable for TV Network and crew"
Sorry Ban we used to have lights but they cane down due to concerns over their foundations and won't be going back up until the redevelopment starts hopefully early next year, but regardless playing this at 4pm in Portlaoise is ridiculous and given the dark evenings and inclement weather it's an even more inconsiderate call

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 16/01/2018 12:47:16    2068678

Replying To Ban:  "Navan has lights - we had home advantage for the last final between the 2 - not sure if there's an agreements between both counties but I reckon fair play would mean a return fixture.

Unfortunately - Players and supported are only considered after TV. Fixing both games in the one venue is far more desirable for TV Network and crew"
In fairness, if it wasn't for TG4 there would be a lot less gaelic games at all levels on television, there's always going to be an element of quid pro quo involved when the media covers your games. Personally, I'd cut them a bit more slack in this sense than the likes of Sky.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 16/01/2018 13:20:51    2068685

Looking at the fixture Navan or Mullingar would be the logical choice.
Reading today's Irish Independent sports section, Leinster Council notified counties on 4th January, without complaint that Portlaoise would host the final. TG4 have first call on January competitions, they asked to cover the final, as they will be filming the IFC semi final between the Kerry and Tyrone champions.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1731 - 16/01/2018 13:28:08    2068687

The game is not on tv either so therefore it should be moved to navan or mullingar

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 16/01/2018 13:40:28    2068691