Meath v Longford

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "Surely Joey Wallace deserves to start theses OBC games ? Am I the only only one that taught he was really unlucky not to get more game time last year ? For Joey and others it must be hard to look at the likes of Biggy and Donal Leinhan starting OBC games and not getting starting place ? For me the result it not important at all really, finding new talent and given lads game time is what matters."
Agree Bob. Would love to see more of Joey this year.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 08/01/2018 12:05:40    2067319

Team I would like to see, bit of a mix between new players and experienced. Despite what other people say I believe winning this tournament with nearly all your league/championship team is no benefit to the team.

Colgan
Gallagher Moran Glynn
Lavin Conlon Power
Menton Rooney
J McEntee Brennan Joey Wallace
McMahon O'Reilly Lenihan.

If McKeever was fit i would start him in place of Lenihan. This will be our first real test of the year so I am looking forward to it.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 08/01/2018 16:52:56    2067371

Replying To Barney123:  "Team I would like to see, bit of a mix between new players and experienced. Despite what other people say I believe winning this tournament with nearly all your league/championship team is no benefit to the team.

Colgan
Gallagher Moran Glynn
Lavin Conlon Power
Menton Rooney

If McKeever was fit i would start him in place of Lenihan. This will be our first real test of the year so I am looking forward to it."
Have to have Ben in. Also can't see a team without the capt starting.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 08/01/2018 18:23:50    2067385

Replying To Barney123:  "Team I would like to see, bit of a mix between new players and experienced. Despite what other people say I believe winning this tournament with nearly all your league/championship team is no benefit to the team.

Colgan
Gallagher Moran Glynn
Lavin Conlon Power
Menton Rooney

If McKeever was fit i would start him in place of Lenihan. This will be our first real test of the year so I am looking forward to it."
Looking forward to it aswell but im glad youre not picking the team for Sunday. Wheres Biggy? Also Ben Brennan is a huge benefit to team especially as new comer. No Tobin either??

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 08/01/2018 20:37:06    2067406

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Looking forward to it aswell but im glad youre not picking the team for Sunday. Wheres Biggy? Also Ben Brennan is a huge benefit to team especially as new comer. No Tobin either??"
To be fair I think it's a experimental team he picked there loyalroyal

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 08/01/2018 21:57:15    2067421

Replying To royaldunne:  "Have to have Ben in. Also can't see a team without the capt starting."
Jaysus Royaldunne your Colmcilles Biased opionion Knows no end..If your obsession with Graham Reilly wasnt enough your just as bad with Ben by the looks of it..Ben has no Right to start he has to earn it,He Certainly is no automatic starter just because he Played a Half Decent Game against Carlow in the O"Byrne Cup..

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 08/01/2018 22:03:53    2067423

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "Looking forward to it aswell but im glad youre not picking the team for Sunday. Wheres Biggy? Also Ben Brennan is a huge benefit to team especially as new comer. No Tobin either??"
As I said I don't see why we have to play our strongest team, no harm to not play some of the well known names, they will play every other game this year provided they are available I would presume. I don't name Keogan and nobody seems to have a problem, a player who has definitely contributed more to Meath over the last number of years imo.

I have named Ben Brennan as centre half forward, but lets not get carried away yet. Plenty of players play well in January only to be never seen again. I'd say we know at least 9-10 who will definitely start the league so lets give the others a chances to impress. And I think for league and championship we have better forwards then Tobin, that's having seen him at club and county over the last few years.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 08/01/2018 22:55:10    2067427

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Jaysus Royaldunne your Colmcilles Biased opionion Knows no end..If your obsession with Graham Reilly wasnt enough your just as bad with Ben by the looks of it..Ben has no Right to start he has to earn it,He Certainly is no automatic starter just because he Played a Half Decent Game against Carlow in the O"Byrne Cup.."
Turn it in, stop picking a fight for the sake of it. And RD the team you quoted on, Brennan was in it.

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 08/01/2018 23:11:17    2067432

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "Turn it in, stop picking a fight for the sake of it. And RD the team you quoted on, Brennan was in it."
I can and will give my honest opinion..As a poster just said plenty of players played well in January never to be seen again! ! The lad does seem to be a decent prospect but let him play a few games against better opposition to see how he gets on!! Stop talking him up saying that he has to start!! Simple answer he doesn't But he certainly is in with a good chance of making a name for himself over time !! It takes a lot more than playing against carlow to earn your stripes in a county jersey

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 08/01/2018 23:35:13    2067438

Replying To Barney123:  "As I said I don't see why we have to play our strongest team, no harm to not play some of the well known names, they will play every other game this year provided they are available I would presume. I don't name Keogan and nobody seems to have a problem, a player who has definitely contributed more to Meath over the last number of years imo.

I have named Ben Brennan as centre half forward, but lets not get carried away yet. Plenty of players play well in January only to be never seen again. I'd say we know at least 9-10 who will definitely start the league so lets give the others a chances to impress. And I think for league and championship we have better forwards then Tobin, that's having seen him at club and county over the last few years."
At the end of the day regardless of who is starting once they play well and get us a win thats all that counts. Plenty of young capable lads coming up the ranks that i hope get a play but we need couple of our experienced lads to hopefully give a bit of guidance out there and sorry but that includes our captain. Looking forward to see what these fresh lads have to offer us.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 08/01/2018 23:36:49    2067439

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "Turn it in, stop picking a fight for the sake of it. And RD the team you quoted on, Brennan was in it."
Ahh didn't even see that. I need to go to specsavers :). My apologies

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/01/2018 08:05:26    2067449

Replying To grahamc9897:  "I can and will give my honest opinion..As a poster just said plenty of players played well in January never to be seen again! ! The lad does seem to be a decent prospect but let him play a few games against better opposition to see how he gets on!! Stop talking him up saying that he has to start!! Simple answer he doesn't But he certainly is in with a good chance of making a name for himself over time !! It takes a lot more than playing against carlow to earn your stripes in a county jersey"
I was one of the posters that said Ben was one to watch but as you said some players vanish after January, if he commits himself he will make a difference & like the rest of the new comers we will have to wait and see what happens. Watching him play with the Juniors, for me he has earned him his spot but he needs to earn his strips in a county jersey as you said.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 09/01/2018 09:01:22    2067451

Colgan
Gallagher Moran Glynn
Lavin Conlon Power
Menton Rooney

Gallagher is injured and could miss a few games. Would have S.McEntee ahead of Power he seems to offer more in defence and going forward. Agree with Menton and Rooney being played together as I reckon these will be our best midfield partnership. My 6 forwards would be
Kennelly Brennan Joey
Tobin O'Reilly Lenihan
That gives us the option of bringing Biggy, McMahon and hopefully McKeever is available to play a part in this game

meathforsam09 (Meath) - Posts: 116 - 09/01/2018 09:27:54    2067453

Replying To grahamc9897:  "I can and will give my honest opinion..As a poster just said plenty of players played well in January never to be seen again! ! The lad does seem to be a decent prospect but let him play a few games against better opposition to see how he gets on!! Stop talking him up saying that he has to start!! Simple answer he doesn't But he certainly is in with a good chance of making a name for himself over time !! It takes a lot more than playing against carlow to earn your stripes in a county jersey"
No problem, but as a relative newcomer to the HS Meath Forum it seems at times like whatever RD says gets jumped on and a pack mentality develops, which is unhealthy. As for Brennan, RD isn't the only one that has suggested he gets more game time to see what he can do and where better than in the OBC?

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 09/01/2018 10:06:51    2067456

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "No problem, but as a relative newcomer to the HS Meath Forum it seems at times like whatever RD says gets jumped on and a pack mentality develops, which is unhealthy. As for Brennan, RD isn't the only one that has suggested he gets more game time to see what he can do and where better than in the OBC?"
I agree with you and im one of the posters who has been bigging Brennan up also. I stand by what i say about him, he is what we are missing from our team and he is an aggressive player who hopefully will put that into his game and use it wisely. He fights for every single ball has no fear and he actually has the passion that's majorly lacking from our team. Heres hoping hes not the only new comer with these qualities.
If RD had have posted this he would be attacked!!

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 09/01/2018 10:35:01    2067461

Would love to see Lavin get a couple of runs at corner back, for me he has been the best man marker at senior club level the last couple of years. Had a decent game in Derry in the championship two or three years ago too from what I remember

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 229 - 09/01/2018 11:07:58    2067469

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "No problem, but as a relative newcomer to the HS Meath Forum it seems at times like whatever RD says gets jumped on and a pack mentality develops, which is unhealthy. As for Brennan, RD isn't the only one that has suggested he gets more game time to see what he can do and where better than in the OBC?"
Ah thanks. I guess I'm not just paranoid :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/01/2018 11:23:35    2067470

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "I agree with you and im one of the posters who has been bigging Brennan up also. I stand by what i say about him, he is what we are missing from our team and he is an aggressive player who hopefully will put that into his game and use it wisely. He fights for every single ball has no fear and he actually has the passion that's majorly lacking from our team. Heres hoping hes not the only new comer with these qualities.
If RD had have posted this he would be attacked!!"
I'll take off the tinfoil hat. Now that other posters see it too. Lol

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/01/2018 11:24:25    2067471

Yeah I want to see what he does in obc, it's a great way for a new player to bed in. With a bit less pressure.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/01/2018 11:25:39    2067474

For me:
Colgan
Gallagher, Moran, Glynn,
Lavin, Power, Magill,
Menton, Rooney,
J Wallace, Brennan, Biggy,
Tobin, O'Reilly, Lenihan

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 09/01/2018 11:54:39    2067479