The Kerry way!

Replying To ke40:  "Kerry way got Offaly a good draw tonight, fair play"
Still only a second string dubs team.
We still have a number of key players to return from injury. I'm not a betting man, but Offaly to win/get promoted to division 2 would be decent odds.

LooseCannon (Offaly) - Posts: 86 - 03/01/2018 22:27:17    2066702

Replying To greatpoint:  "The Kerry way for most of the last decade has involved being utterly dominated by Dublin even whilst plumbing the depths of defensive and cynical football in attempts to stay relevant.

I guess then we can expect absolutely nothing from Offaly for the season going ahead?"
New year but same WUM posters all around.

Ah well, looking forward to seeing Kerry back on the field in 3 weeks. It's going to be an interesting year!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 03/01/2018 23:47:04    2066714

Replying To greatpoint:  "The Kerry way for most of the last decade has involved being utterly dominated by Dublin even whilst plumbing the depths of defensive and cynical football in attempts to stay relevant.

I guess then we can expect absolutely nothing from Offaly for the season going ahead?"
And where would greatpoint be from?

LooseCannon (Offaly) - Posts: 86 - 04/01/2018 00:00:02    2066716

Replying To TheHermit:  "New year but same WUM posters all around.

Ah well, looking forward to seeing Kerry back on the field in 3 weeks. It's going to be an interesting year!"
Yep you can almost taste the bitterness reading some of the posts. The whole thread is just a way to have a pop at Kerry.

Looking fwd to the league in a couple of weeks and hopefully getting a look at some of the new generation.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 04/01/2018 00:52:03    2066719

Replying To LooseCannon:  "And where would greatpoint be from?"
USA, it says it in parenthesis next to my username.

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 04/01/2018 01:01:11    2066721

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "The Kerry way traditionally has been attractive kick passing football with good forwards inside like Mikey Sheehy, Maurice Fitzgerald, Gooch etc. kicking nice scores. I'm not saying that every game has always been pretty, but Kerry mostly tried to play good football.

There is no doubt that Kerry have changed their style, this has been particularly evident since 2014. The reason is down mainly to the limitations of our players. This is the weakest Kerry playing panel since the dark days of the early 90's, and the fact that we have remained relatively competitive in recent years would seem to justify the approach. Kerry even won an All Ireland in 2014 when they really had no right to by playing safety first football in a final where nobody gave them a chance.

Our recent underage teams have played some lovely stuff so I hope we will see a more attractive style when some of these lads get in to the team down the road and we hopefully build a new (and better) panel."
Excellent post

Such honesty would do well to rub off on the usual cheer leaders

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/01/2018 09:02:43    2066729

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "The Kerry way traditionally has been attractive kick passing football with good forwards inside like Mikey Sheehy, Maurice Fitzgerald, Gooch etc. kicking nice scores. I'm not saying that every game has always been pretty, but Kerry mostly tried to play good football.

There is no doubt that Kerry have changed their style, this has been particularly evident since 2014. The reason is down mainly to the limitations of our players. This is the weakest Kerry playing panel since the dark days of the early 90's, and the fact that we have remained relatively competitive in recent years would seem to justify the approach. Kerry even won an All Ireland in 2014 when they really had no right to by playing safety first football in a final where nobody gave them a chance.

Our recent underage teams have played some lovely stuff so I hope we will see a more attractive style when some of these lads get in to the team down the road and we hopefully build a new (and better) panel."
Thing is, regarding playing style, this would more or less describe every county in Ireland. Difference is Kerry have produced a ridiculous amount of all-time great players.

There has been occasional tactical shifts over the years by various counties but ultimately the distinction of playing styles is influenced by begrudgery.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12118 - 04/01/2018 10:38:47    2066743

Replying To greatpoint:  "USA, it says it in parenthesis next to my username."
A real footballing stronghold.

LooseCannon (Offaly) - Posts: 86 - 04/01/2018 10:55:34    2066745

Great post.

The thing that annoyed me most about the 2014 AI Final apart from the crushing disappointment, was Spillane's "cream rising to the top" comment after it. It was the most un-Kerry like performance I've ever seen. Credit to them, they did what they had to win and took advantage of some uncharacteristic mistakes by us, using fair and foul means along the way. So for Spillane to come out afterwards and suggest that it was something akin to a traditional Kerry masterclass that beat us was galling to say the least.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9133 - 04/01/2018 11:29:18    2066756

Replying To Breffni39:  "Thing is, regarding playing style, this would more or less describe every county in Ireland. Difference is Kerry have produced a ridiculous amount of all-time great players.

There has been occasional tactical shifts over the years by various counties but ultimately the distinction of playing styles is influenced by begrudgery."
Yes I would agree to a point. There was a very noticeable change in Kerry in 2014 though, particularly in the final and on to 2015-16. I don't remember this stuff being played at any point in the past in Kerry. Yes there was an edge to Kerry teams of yesteryear, but under Micko, Paudi and Jack O'Connor we always (possibly naively) tried to play positive football, and it was usually good to watch.

The recent approach has earned Eamon Fitzmaurice many detractors in the Kingdom, but I honestly believe it was the only way we could have remained competitive in recent years. We simply don't have the caliber of players that we once had to allow us to play the game on our terms.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 04/01/2018 11:40:53    2066760

I think we all know what the man meant. He is not referring to Kerry 2017, he is referring to Kerry traditionally. Credit where it is due, Kerry have always more or less sent out 6 forwards to play in the forwards and six backs to play in the backs.
Sure, at times Kerry (and dublin) have brought themselves down to the levels of inferior opposition to beat them, but more often than not if a team wants to take Kerry on 15 v 15, Kerry will reciprocate.

During the summer when the shit hits the fan and we are in the throws of the championship its very easy to dislike Kerry and their superior arrogance, but, for what it's worth, I think the Offaly manager is speaking sense and I get where he is coming from.

Kerry are the Brazil of football, there is no disputing that.
We are the Argentina, and to be honest, I am ok with that. I always preferred Argentina anyways :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/01/2018 12:28:21    2066773

The Kerry way has changed over the years lol

It was a bit of silly comment of Stephen Wallace behalf but I think his overall point was missed.
Offaly are not going to win Leinster or the AI but you may as well fail, but fail well with players playing enjoyable football.
Offaly may as well go out and their players enjoy their season and lose their first game of the championship by 4/5 points rather than going out playing 14 men behind the ball and lose by a point.

But just to come back to the Kerry way.
Kerry's instinct will always be attacking football. Defensive football doesnt suit them as shown as in the replay against Mayo.
Against the few top teams yes there is some black arts but that is foolish to think any top team can do without that in this age. Mayo, Dublin, Tyrone , Donegal, Kerry etc all the same.

As once off games Kerry does change their style (2014 final for example) but if that sort of stuff was to become the norm there would be a massie outcry.
Kerry have lost to Dublin many a time in the last 5/6 years but have left with their heads held high after given their all.It's when they produce rubbish such as in the 2015 AI Final and the replay against Mayo that is when
we call for EF's head!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 04/01/2018 13:39:39    2066790

The biggest compliment you can pay a Kerry supporter is how much of a delight it is to see your own county beating them!

They are the team you want to beat and thankfully this Dublin team have claimed plenty of silverware at Kerry's direct expense. Which has made it all the sweeter!

Again.. that's the biggest compliment going!

Dublin's dominance over Kerry won't last forever but hopefully there's another couple of painful loses coming Kerry's way left in this Dublin setup..

The 4 in a row if accomplished would be very hard for Kerry GAA to swallow..

Which again.. would make it all the sweeter!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/01/2018 14:07:53    2066799

Replying To jimbodub:  "The biggest compliment you can pay a Kerry supporter is how much of a delight it is to see your own county beating them!

They are the team you want to beat and thankfully this Dublin team have claimed plenty of silverware at Kerry's direct expense. Which has made it all the sweeter!

Again.. that's the biggest compliment going!

Dublin's dominance over Kerry won't last forever but hopefully there's another couple of painful loses coming Kerry's way left in this Dublin setup..

The 4 in a row if accomplished would be very hard for Kerry GAA to swallow..

Which again.. would make it all the sweeter!"
I agree with you jimbodub. We in Kerry will take the 4 in a row personally and be sickened if ye do it. can't even contemplate ye doing the 5 in a row !
But I will love it if we manage to stop ye in your tracks!!
But that is what makes sport and GAA football so enjoyable... the rivalry.
Just like I love to see my club beat their closest rivals.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 04/01/2018 18:16:41    2066833

Odd one , no matter what way you go your going to upset someone , the Kerry way IMO is to win , they did that for donkeys years playing fantastic football with some very hard dirty nasty feckers, more recently they have shown they are like any county prepared to do Whatever it takes ,any county that can produce Tadhg Kennelly can't boast just about the beautiful game , equally they will always produce quality like young Clifford, in a nutshell they like to be seen as purists which they aren't , but they are still the county you measure your self against , the draw you fear the most , and the county that man for man woman for woman produce the best players in most decades.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/01/2018 18:45:24    2066840

Replying To oakleafersir:  "Kerry are the Tyrone of Munster.
Defensive Football.
Kerry's football is not appealing to the eye like Tyrones, they will not win another all-Ireland with their style of football and with Fitzmaurice as Manager. Even if they have Geany and Clifford (two great players).
Puke Football!!!"
Hahahaha,words can't describe that comment

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 04/01/2018 21:06:05    2066857

All this hyperbole about certain teams 'way' is daft. Kerry are the most successful team in Ireland, that cannot be denied, did they win all of their titles playing champagne football, absolutely not. Billy Morgan I think it was, said they were the most cynical team he ever encountered, but at the end of the day they were very successful and history tends to remember the act of winning rather than the means of getting there, chuck in some nostalgia with a bit of the old rose tint and you have 'the kerry way'.

Every team in Ireland, including Dublin play defensively and get bodies back when the opposition has the ball, not exactly purist stuff, the difference is they know how to attack at speed and commit bodies forward as well and that is where a lot of the lesser teams fall down, trying to maintain possession rather than trying to score.

The game has moved on, and if a team played 'the kerry way' assuming this refers back to the 70's/80's teams they would get hockeyed, the days of lumping it into a fast corner forward or a big full forward are gone. Ultimately every team goes onto a pitch to try and win, historically some have been better at doing that than others, that doesn't give rise to 'a way' it just means some teams have been better than others.

You could have 32 counties playing 'the kerry way' only one will lift Sam and that is what is remembered.

duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts: 175 - 05/01/2018 09:46:16    2066890

The Kerry Way is to win at all costs, no matter what.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 05/01/2018 10:34:58    2066898

TBH I think this "Kerry way" stuff is overstated. The great strength of Kerry football, as referenced by Tomás
Ó Sé for example, is that they have always been able to react to the prevailing trends in football by altering their style (when necessary) and come back within a few years to keep winning All-Irelands.

It happened in 1960s when the great Down side revolutionised football, in the 1970s when Kerry went out of it for a few years with the likes of Offaly, Cork and Dublin dominating, the trend repeated itself in the 2000s when Kerry had to adapt to meet the challenge of the successful Ulster sides, and its happening again now, albeit less successfully, given the strength of the current Dublin set-up.

Remember that the great Kerry sides of the 70s and 80s were lambasted in some quarters for engaging in too much hand passing, with some commentators likening their style to basketball. In the modern era, many have observed that Kerry have abandoned their traditional man-on-man style for a denser defensive formation, in keeping with the successful sides of the era.

In a few years, Kerry will be back winning Sam, given the depth of young talent that they have coming through. What's sure as day, though, is that it won't be catch and kick, 15 on 15 that will win it for them.

Now that I think of it, perhaps the "Kerry Way" is simply a commitment to making sure their footballers execute the basic skills well, and they're not so fussed what formation or playing style they need to win Sam. You rarely see a Kerry side who can't footpass well, for instance.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 05/01/2018 11:18:29    2066907

Mayo are interesting one, what is the Mayo way, or is there one?

TheUsername (Dublin) - 03/01/2018 20:24:07

At the risk of attracting some smart a**e comments (it's inevitable, Mayo are an easy target, and people love easy targets) I would summarise the Mayo style (historically) as the following:

- A short handpassing style;

-Athletic players who tend to be on the smallish side;

-Quick use of the ball;

-A rather cavalier approach to the game (" we'll score more than the opposition"/ aversion to packing the defence when leading).

-A reluctance to adapt tactically to the opposition's style.

I would also, lamentably, add a tendency to kick scorable wides and lose seemingly unassailable leads to the list.

I think that the reason that Mayo became so much more competitive in the last decade or so is that Horan identified a lot of these trends, saw the way that football had gone and identified players who could adapt to a more physically intense, defensively-minded game. Players who were incapable or unwilling to adapt to this new way of playing (e.g. Conor Mortimer) were jettisoned.

It must also be said that some of the naivety associated with Mayo sides of the past was also ditched: the present Mayo team will not be pushed around physically by anyone, which is a most welcome development from my POV.

Under Rochford, Mayo certainly adopt individual, tailored game plans more than they used to (this is probably one area where James Horan fell down a bit, as did others before him).

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 05/01/2018 11:41:07    2066915