Meath v Carlow 3 Jan 2018

Replying To browncows:  "I now see where the 'real supporters' appear to think that Carlow will win! I thought they were still in Div 4. Where is all the confidence gone? The team lined out is pretty much a full team except for a few places. Wish all concerned the best and hope that there are no injuries - ground conditions may not be that good."
Ah browncows, I haven't been around here for a while, happy new year, have a good one lad.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 03/01/2018 15:39:10    2066630

Replying To browncows:  "I now see where the 'real supporters' appear to think that Carlow will win! I thought they were still in Div 4. Where is all the confidence gone? The team lined out is pretty much a full team except for a few places. Wish all concerned the best and hope that there are no injuries - ground conditions may not be that good."
Carlow are a Division 4 team but much improved since our last encounter and won three championship games in a single season for the first time in quite a while last season. Their manager is on record saying that getting out of Division 4 is their main priority for 2018 and so I think they will be really going for it. They have a formidable midfield pairing in the two Murphys and Paul Broderick and strong defenders like Redmond and St Ledger. Our team for tonight is not near being our 'full team' but an experimental one with lots of fresh faces.

Toney (Meath) - Posts: 298 - 03/01/2018 16:04:29    2066633

If the supporters cant have confidence in the team how can the lads have any confidence in themselves.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 03/01/2018 16:19:55    2066637

Horrible night for a game ball...hopefully we will get the win and find a couple of good lads over the next few weeks that will help us going forward !

i hate everyone :)

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 03/01/2018 17:09:25    2066647

Replying To WhyTheLongFace:  "Horrible night for a game ball...hopefully we will get the win and find a couple of good lads over the next few weeks that will help us going forward !

i hate everyone :)"
I hate you too

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 03/01/2018 17:27:30    2066651

Replying To Htaem:  "Ah browncows, I haven't been around here for a while, happy new year, have a good one lad."
I wish we could have a ignore button

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/01/2018 18:32:57    2066656

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "If the supporters cant have confidence in the team how can the lads have any confidence in themselves."
Ahh I do. I just don't rate this competition, I think we need to see who clicks where and for that i think this comp is important, but winning it? Nah. Believe it or not I actually think we will win, I came down early to get my snack box in :). I just want to see how the new lads can play.
That been said if they click I think We will win.
So , the way i view it is performance from certain players trumps winning, but I still think we will win. Just maybe not as comfortable as in previous meetings. Remember Carlow have imo one of the top 3 players in country and he would be a multiple all star if he was with Kerry dubs Tyrone mayo.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/01/2018 18:46:11    2066661

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh I do. I just don't rate this competition, I think we need to see who clicks where and for that i think this comp is important, but winning it? Nah. Believe it or not I actually think we will win, I came down early to get my snack box in :). I just want to see how the new lads can play.
So , the way i view it is performance from certain players trumps winning, but I still think we will win. Just maybe not as comfortable as in previous meetings. Remember Carlow have imo one of the top 3 players in country and he would be a multiple all star if he was with Kerry dubs Tyrone mayo."
Getting the all important snack box in is a good omen RD! Enjoy the game, hon the Royals, always!

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 03/01/2018 19:05:35    2066665

C'mon the Royal. Here's to a successful 2018. The O'Byrne Cup is not too important in the grand scheme of things but still it's very useful to try out new players. The biggest game of Andy's reign is away to Roscommon in less than four weeks.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 03/01/2018 19:43:52    2066673

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh I do. I just don't rate this competition, I think we need to see who clicks where and for that i think this comp is important, but winning it? Nah. Believe it or not I actually think we will win, I came down early to get my snack box in :). I just want to see how the new lads can play.
So , the way i view it is performance from certain players trumps winning, but I still think we will win. Just maybe not as comfortable as in previous meetings. Remember Carlow have imo one of the top 3 players in country and he would be a multiple all star if he was with Kerry dubs Tyrone mayo."
Good man RD wouldnt be the same without the snack box ha. I Have to settle for twitter updates

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 03/01/2018 20:45:36    2066679

A win is a win is a win. Anybody there want to give a report. Heard it was a park the bus stalemate but that is just what somebody told me. Probably hard to judge anything off that although Lenihan back from the injury with 3 from play is good and Brennan scoring a few is helpful

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1456 - 03/01/2018 21:48:07    2066691

Ouch, my eyes are sore. Not pretty, some misfired. Some including Ben played well. Think we have found a good keeper in colgan. Graham had so so game, great point probably should have had two goals.
But Carlow didn't come to play football, we still find it hard to break down blanket defending and that's probably the main negative from tonight. Anyway I have a long enough journey home. So I'll post tomorrow when I get time. Looking forward to Sunday.
Well done to all, fitness levels were very high for this time of year.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/01/2018 21:51:44    2066692

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ouch, my eyes are sore. Not pretty, some misfired. Some including Ben played well. Think we have found a good keeper in colgan. Graham had so so game, great point probably should have had two goals.
But Carlow didn't come to play football, we still find it hard to break down blanket defending and that's probably the main negative from tonight. Anyway I have a long enough journey home. So I'll post tomorrow when I get time. Looking forward to Sunday.
Hon the royal"
Fair play to ye RD, don't imagine it was a great night weatherwise!

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 03/01/2018 22:02:59    2066694

Fit for a beating RD, good to hear looking forward to thd rumble end of month.
Joking aside should be interesting i think were unfitter than last 2 years but lads getting cuter to whats required to get by and leave a bit at this level
Itll be a 6 pointer as they say

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 03/01/2018 22:12:04    2066699

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ouch, my eyes are sore. Not pretty, some misfired. Some including Ben played well. Think we have found a good keeper in colgan. Graham had so so game, great point probably should have had two goals.
Hon the royal"
At least we got a win..Looking forward to Sunday!! Would have liked to get to tonight's game but couldnt make it,,

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 03/01/2018 22:15:21    2066701

How did the young/new lads do?

ClashofTheAsh13 (Meath) - Posts: 31 - 03/01/2018 22:32:34    2066704

Said it earlier Ben Brennan is the one to watch 4pts 3 from play. A win is a win and hopefully we will get the win again Sunday.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 03/01/2018 22:41:40    2066705

How did the young/new lads do?

ClashofTheAsh13 (Meath) - Posts: 31 - 03/01/2018 22:46:49    2066706

Just my thoughts on the game this evening.
3 changes to original line up - 1. Burke replaced by O' Neill (Lavin started corner back O'Neill wing back). 2 Tobin replaced by Lenihan. 3 McKeever replaced by Garry.
Player of the match - Ben Brennan. Showed some lovely glimpses of skill ended up with 4 points I think . Left footed player with lovely balance similar style to Cillian O Sullivan so might be another option at 11 this year.
Best newcomer - Can't give it to Brennan again so will give Lavin the nod. He defended well for the evening took over marking the tricky number 13 after Gallagher went off injured with what looked like hamstring injury.

Westtip (Meath) - Posts: 24 - 04/01/2018 00:59:02    2066720

Okay...Thomas O'Reilly probably the best of the few on show, Rob Garry and Dan O'Neill both worked hard but didn't get on that much ball! Thought Gallagher was doing well until he had to depart with what looks like a hamstring injury.

Meathmaster (Meath) - Posts: 251 - 04/01/2018 01:04:08    2066722