Meath v Carlow 3 Jan 2018

Replying To Blackbog:  "Should be a good game tonight and a stern test for us despite the fact it is only January and experimentation is in vogue
The last time i saw Meath they put 7 goals in against. We have moved on from those days.
It is an important game in the context of both counties aspirations for the league. Meath desparate to retrun to Div1 and Carlow to finally escape Div 4. The competitive games the better

Should be a fair turn out in NCP tonight"
Should be indeed. Really looking forward to it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/01/2018 08:56:22    2066551

Ahh the feeling of morning of a game. Can't beat it. Delighted that Ben is included.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/01/2018 09:06:52    2066554

Andrew Colgan (Donaghmore/Ashbourne),
Mickey Burke (Longwood),
Conor McGill (Ratoath),
Shane Gallagher, (Simonstown Gaels),
Seamus Lavin (St. Peter's, Dunboyne),
Brian Power (Ratoath),
Shane McEntee (St. Peter's, Dunboyne),
Bryan Menton (Donaghmore/Ashbourne),
Adam Flanagan, (Clonard),
James McEntee (Curraha),
Ben Brennan (St. Colmcille's),
Graham Reilly (St Colmcille's),
Thomas O'Reilly (Wolfe Tones),
Seán Tobin (Simonstown Gaels),
Padraig McKeever (Simonstown Gaels).
Subs: Adam McDermott (Dunshaughlin), Donal Lenihan (St. Peter's, Dunboyne), Paddy Kennelly (Dunderry), Mark McCabe (Simonstown Gaels), Shane Glynn (Wolfe Tones), Brían Conlon (Simonstown Gaels), Robert Garry (Rathkenny), Daragh Griffin (Clann na nGael), Luke Moran (Trim), Daniel O'Neill (Wolfe Tones)
Well this is it,

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 03/01/2018 09:09:31    2066555

Good amount of players seemed to be announced for tonight's game, looks like they turning up after all. Lol

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/01/2018 09:11:06    2066556

Replying To Blackbog:  "Should be a good game tonight and a stern test for us despite the fact it is only January and experimentation is in vogue
The last time i saw Meath they put 7 goals in against. We have moved on from those days.
It is an important game in the context of both counties aspirations for the league. Meath desparate to retrun to Div1 and Carlow to finally escape Div 4. The competitive games the better

Should be a fair turn out in NCP tonight"
Agree with you to certain extent, Meath are far from desperate to return to Div 1. If we can stay in Div 2 for now we should be happy with that. Should be a good one alright.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 03/01/2018 09:15:59    2066557

Replying To royaldunne:  "Good amount of players seemed to be announced for tonight's game, looks like they turning up after all. Lol"
Lets hope they turn up mentally tonight!

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 03/01/2018 09:25:45    2066559

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh the feeling of morning of a game. Can't beat it. Delighted that Ben is included."
There's no way I don't think he could have not started Ben. Would have been a sin if he was left on the bench tonight. If he can keep his cool, his head down and play as well as he can I reckon he will be a massive difference to the team tonight. Bit of competition for Biggy to prove himself alongside his pal Ben...ya cant bate it!

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 03/01/2018 09:36:21    2066563

Ah the ball season is back, bin a long wait since Donegal put an end to us in cracking sunshine last July.

Nice mix in the team Andy's picked, hopefully some of the new lads can stake a claim but priority this time of year though I think is to get lads fighting fit for the league.

Carlow are a solid outfit, they proved that last year and I wouldn't be surprised to see them turn us over tonight but given the time of year I don't think that should go down as a disaster.

Anyway, all the best to all involved tonight.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 03/01/2018 11:54:09    2066584

Which players from last year's Junior team made the panel? Flanagan, Kennelly, Brennan, Moran and Toner just?

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 03/01/2018 12:23:26    2066587

Replying To Htaem:  "Ah the ball season is back, bin a long wait since Donegal put an end to us in cracking sunshine last July.

Nice mix in the team Andy's picked, hopefully some of the new lads can stake a claim but priority this time of year though I think is to get lads fighting fit for the league.

Carlow are a solid outfit, they proved that last year and I wouldn't be surprised to see them turn us over tonight but given the time of year I don't think that should go down as a disaster.

Anyway, all the best to all involved tonight."
Wash your mouth out with soap htaem :).
Lol
I do know what you mean. Funny thing I read in some paper over festive season that Dublin thought apart from mayo Carlow gave the biggest questions last season.
There has been a huge effort in Carlow in recent years and it's starting to bear fruit. I expect them to easily get out of division 4 which is their goal. So I wouldn't be too shocked if they turned us over in dcp tonight. But hopefully not.
Anyway happy new year to you me old friend.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/01/2018 13:23:25    2066600

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "There's no way I don't think he could have not started Ben. Would have been a sin if he was left on the bench tonight. If he can keep his cool, his head down and play as well as he can I reckon he will be a massive difference to the team tonight. Bit of competition for Biggy to prove himself alongside his pal Ben...ya cant bate it!"
Ahh so true. They should combine very well. Battle of the seaside lol.
For awhile now I've been of the opinion Ben could be that rough diamond Meath have been looking for, once he keeps his cool and just remain focused I really think he can push for a definite starting place. Here's hoping.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/01/2018 13:29:48    2066602

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh so true. They should combine very well. Battle of the seaside lol.
For awhile now I've been of the opinion Ben could be that rough diamond Meath have been looking for, once he keeps his cool and just remain focused I really think he can push for a definite starting place. Here's hoping."
I 100% agree with you on Ben he without a doubt is the rough diamond, great free taker and scorer, major competition for Biggy ha. I have been of that opinion a long time about him. It was only a matter of time before he got a proper chance with us. Heres hoping he doesn't mess it up as you know yourself he can lose the head too easy but hopefully with more experience he will learn to control this. I reckon him & Biggy playing together is going to give a boost to the team as the two of the most energetic on the field...in my opinion. Feeling fairly positive about our new young team!

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 03/01/2018 13:56:27    2066608

Replying To royaldunne:  "Wash your mouth out with soap htaem :).
Lol
I do know what you mean. Funny thing I read in some paper over festive season that Dublin thought apart from mayo Carlow gave the biggest questions last season.
There has been a huge effort in Carlow in recent years and it's starting to bear fruit. I expect them to easily get out of division 4 which is their goal. So I wouldn't be too shocked if they turned us over in dcp tonight. But hopefully not.
Anyway happy new year to you me old friend."
Many happy returns royaldunne.

Ye Carlow to their credit have improved quite a bit under Turlough O'Brien, so it should be a good solid game tonight. Main thing for me is that we get everybody up to speed for the league and stay relatively injury free.......but yes I would take a win aswell :-)

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 03/01/2018 14:52:32    2066612

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "I 100% agree with you on Ben he without a doubt is the rough diamond, great free taker and scorer, major competition for Biggy ha. I have been of that opinion a long time about him. It was only a matter of time before he got a proper chance with us. Heres hoping he doesn't mess it up as you know yourself he can lose the head too easy but hopefully with more experience he will learn to control this. I reckon him & Biggy playing together is going to give a boost to the team as the two of the most energetic on the field...in my opinion. Feeling fairly positive about our new young team!"
If biggy is the most energetic player on the pitch then we will be in major trouble.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 03/01/2018 14:56:41    2066613

Replying To Barney123:  "If biggy is the most energetic player on the pitch then we will be in major trouble."
Since you may have seen him play with Meath he is...

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 03/01/2018 15:04:14    2066615

Replying To Htaem:  "Many happy returns royaldunne.

Ye Carlow to their credit have improved quite a bit under Turlough O'Brien, so it should be a good solid game tonight. Main thing for me is that we get everybody up to speed for the league and stay relatively injury free.......but yes I would take a win aswell :-)"
Ah yeah. I just want a injury free start to the league, and everyone firing on all
Cylinders.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/01/2018 15:12:22    2066619

Replying To Htaem:  "Ah the ball season is back, bin a long wait since Donegal put an end to us in cracking sunshine last July.

Anyway, all the best to all involved tonight."
Agree about the priority for now being the league which is less than four weeks away from now. Carlow fielded their championship team from last year (just one newcomer at wing back) against Wicklow last Saturday. They are clearly putting a big emphasis on the league and getting out of Division 4. They should beat us down there but the result won't matter one bit.

I see an ex Ballinacree player has been named at wing back for Cavan tonight.

Toney (Meath) - Posts: 298 - 03/01/2018 15:13:10    2066621

Replying To Loyalroyal17:  "I 100% agree with you on Ben he without a doubt is the rough diamond, great free taker and scorer, major competition for Biggy ha. I have been of that opinion a long time about him. It was only a matter of time before he got a proper chance with us. Heres hoping he doesn't mess it up as you know yourself he can lose the head too easy but hopefully with more experience he will learn to control this. I reckon him & Biggy playing together is going to give a boost to the team as the two of the most energetic on the field...in my opinion. Feeling fairly positive about our new young team!"
Yep. Same feelings, just need to keep a bit Cool. And use the aggression in a positive way. That been said Meath have been missing edgy players for too long, in Ben they certainly have one. O

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 03/01/2018 15:14:29    2066622

Replying To royaldunne:  "Yep. Same feelings, just need to keep a bit Cool. And use the aggression in a positive way. That been said Meath have been missing edgy players for too long, in Ben they certainly have one. O"
For anyone who hasn't been watching Ben Brennan play especially lately they are going to be wondering where he has come from, he wants that spot on the team & I know he will play his socks off tonight. We need to get our aggression and fight back, who knows this team could be the one to do it.

Loyalroyal17 (Meath) - Posts: 627 - 03/01/2018 15:20:47    2066625

I now see where the 'real supporters' appear to think that Carlow will win! I thought they were still in Div 4. Where is all the confidence gone? The team lined out is pretty much a full team except for a few places. Wish all concerned the best and hope that there are no injuries - ground conditions may not be that good.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 03/01/2018 15:29:17    2066628