Meath v Carlow 3 Jan 2018

Replying To nobull456:  "Think that was generally accepted Micko was" too nice" for the job. However, finding the right balance must be the objective. Man management being critical to instill confidence ,commitment,belief and all the things Meath had in abundance in the past. Andy as a novice at this level deserves the time to develop himself into the job. I am sure it can be easy to fall into the trap of believing shouting and roaring is the most effective method to coach/manage. I give him total support in taking us from where we are now. Of course like anyone else he will make mistakes. The real mistake or shortcoming would be if he does not learn from those mistakes."
Why wouldn't he want the setup to be more professional?
I was told by a player that the setup compared to Mick O Dowds is lightyears ahead in terms of preparation etc. Isn't that what we want?
Do we want to join the elite or get left behind?

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 30/12/2017 13:07:41    2066252

I will add that the players on the current panel are clearly 100% behind the setup, so fair play to all of those and they will be supported in their efforts. I know some of them and they are proud to be playing for Meath.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 30/12/2017 13:15:13    2066253

Replying To ziggy320001:  "Young McGowan for Ratoath? Campion can play there too. I'm sure I am missing someone..
Swain perhaps?"
Conlon (Colmcilles)
Murphy, Joyce, Moriarity (Curraha)
McGowan and Ahearn (Ratoath)
2 O Reilly's (Caranaross)
O Neill, O Kelly Lynch, O Fionnagáin (Wolfe Tones)
2 Devines (Na Fianna)
Campion and Clarke (Skryne)
Scully (Oldcastle)
McDerrmot (Dunshaughlin)
Reilly (Moylagh)
Frayne (Summerhill)

Not a bad bunch of u20's there if they all commit.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 30/12/2017 13:28:27    2066256

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "Conlon (Colmcilles)
Murphy, Joyce, Moriarity (Curraha)
McGowan and Ahearn (Ratoath)
2 O Reilly's (Caranaross)
O Neill, O Kelly Lynch, O Fionnagáin (Wolfe Tones)
2 Devines (Na Fianna)
Campion and Clarke (Skryne)
Scully (Oldcastle)
McDerrmot (Dunshaughlin)
Reilly (Moylagh)
Frayne (Summerhill)

Not a bad bunch of u20's there if they all commit."
Indeed..

Liam Byrne,Smullen and Ryan from the younger lads too.
McDermott with senior

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 30/12/2017 13:34:42    2066257

Replying To ziggy320001:  "I'm in my mid 30s maybe my generation is different, but if you play gaa from a young age and play for your club right through and the underage at Meath. Shouldn't the pinnacle to play for the seniors? Has that pride gone from some players?
If some of them left because they don't see the point in training hard for no success isnt that the wrong attitude to have? Isn't there a bigger picture? Help young lads coming through etc? Lining out in the Meath jersey?Who knows success might come in the future too."
Yes of course if you dont see its a massive honour to wear the county jersey you do not deserve it anyway. Some players want good results as long as the effort is not too much etc. etc. Work ethic ??? whats that? Whats in it for me ?
In my view good coaching/management sets the tone ,sets the standard for players to work towards and aspire to.
The greatest compliment i ever heard was from listening to 3 former Meath great players. They agreed playing under Sean Boylan was highly beneficial personally .It was personal development at its best. Confidence building and skills aquired were easily transferred into other areas of life such as employment etc.
To say a player gets nothing back where there is good coaching is simply not true. However, i do think in Meath we are poor at improving awareness of the value of good coaching . I know Colm O Rourke is fully in tune with the values to be gained in sport and coaching generally. However ,on and up from here.

nobull456 (Meath) - Posts: 1224 - 30/12/2017 13:48:35    2066258

Gonna make a stab at a team.
Bearing in mind it's roll on roll of subs and we're tryna get a look at new lads.
Gk-McDermott(dunshauglin)
Gallagher(simonstown)
McGill(ratoath)
Lavin(dunboyne)
Toner(curraha)
Conlon(simonstown)
Douglas(trim)
Rooney(skyrne)
O'Brien(ratoath)
Mcentee(curraha)
Brennan(cilles)
O'Sullivan(moynalvey)
Mckeever(simonstown)
Dardis(summerhill)
Lenihan(dunboyne)

Meathmaverick (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 30/12/2017 14:01:53    2066260

Replying To ziggy320001:  "Indeed..

McDermott with senior"
If McDermott is not first choice keeper then he should be made available to the u20s.

UsernameInvalid (Meath) - Posts: 355 - 30/12/2017 14:05:24    2066261

Replying To ziggy320001:  "If players weren't turning up to training, MCEntee would walk."
Exactly. We all know that. But the Meath Lilly won't admit that.
Honestly the lies and innuendo about Andy is disgraceful at this stage. I wouldn't blame him if he gave them two fingers and walked away. But he is a real true Meath man and never would.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/12/2017 15:24:06    2066267

Replying To ziggy320001:  "Unhappy how some players are treated?"
This is the guy who said they weren't turning up for training or challenge matches. Pay no heed obviously has issues with Andy from a personal view. Would rather he say this and pretext his comments that he has a axe to grind. Also the way he waxed lyrical about Kildare is unbecoming of any TRUE Meath fan

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/12/2017 15:27:41    2066268

Replying To ziggy320001:  "Why wouldn't he want the setup to be more professional?
I was told by a player that the setup compared to Mick O Dowds is lightyears ahead in terms of preparation etc. Isn't that what we want?
Do we want to join the elite or get left behind?"
It would appear to some that who you vote for in politics is more important that putting in a professional elite set up in Meath football. Me I couldn't care less once county is heading in right direction.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/12/2017 15:31:15    2066269

Replying To ziggy320001:  "Indeed..

McDermott with senior"
Cian Rogers from ratoath

Bear10 (Meath) - Posts: 463 - 30/12/2017 15:33:50    2066270

Replying To St.Conleth: "Brilluant. Will take him a while to figure that one out."
Honestly, though lads

Kildare are the only team in Leinster at the moment who will challenge Dublin and they have a lot of very exciting players. They need to find some belief from somewhere though.

Meath have fallen a long long way and are in a bad place. Our best players have left the panel and those on it aren't even turning up for training or challenge matches in sufficient numbers.
Crinigan (Meath) - 29/12/2017 14:05:15 2066148

I'm sorry I can't let this blatant lie go. Come on crinigan either back this up with facts or withdraw them.
Now I know it was to get kudos from the Kildare lads on main forum at my expense (I'm too long on here to care). But to post such a accusation against our senior team and players and management without even trying to back it up is to say the least disgraceful. I will ask you to either give the players names who aren't bothered to turn up to training or challenge matches that were named in 41 man panel.
Or if as we all know this isn't happening. Retract the unfair and unmeath comments to our lads who are turning up at every training and challenge match that they can.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/12/2017 15:41:35    2066271

Replying To Bear10:  "Cian Rogers from ratoath"
Absolutely watched him twice looks impressive

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 30/12/2017 15:50:27    2066273

Replying To Meathmaverick:  "Gonna make a stab at a team.
Bearing in mind it's roll on roll of subs and we're tryna get a look at new lads.
Gallagher(simonstown)
McGill(ratoath)
Lavin(dunboyne)
Toner(curraha)
Conlon(simonstown)
Douglas(trim)
Rooney(skyrne)
O'Brien(ratoath)
Mcentee(curraha)
Brennan(cilles)
O'Sullivan(moynalvey)
Mckeever(simonstown)
Dardis(summerhill)
Lenihan(dunboyne)"
Would like to see that team. I'd expect either burke or Reilly to start too. As one will be captain. But make way at ht the obc should be about finding new lads, we all know who will play come league we need strength in depth.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/12/2017 15:51:23    2066274

Replying To Meathmaverick:  "Gonna make a stab at a team.
Gallagher(simonstown)
McGill(ratoath)
Lavin(dunboyne)
Toner(curraha)
Conlon(simonstown)
Douglas(trim)
Rooney(skyrne)
O'Brien(ratoath)
Mcentee(curraha)
Brennan(cilles)
O'Sullivan(moynalvey)
Mckeever(simonstown)
Dardis(summerhill)
Lenihan(dunboyne)"
Lenihan is been eased back after an op I think and O Brien injured..

Likely everyone available will get a chance over the two games.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 30/12/2017 15:52:58    2066275

He says our best players have left the panel??

Come on...

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 30/12/2017 15:55:01    2066276

Look I believe we have good players in our panel.
Yes we won't be winning any All-Irelands soon but can see us been top 8 and progressing.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 30/12/2017 16:01:10    2066279

Replying To UsernameInvalid:  "If McDermott is not first choice keeper then he should be made available to the u20s."
Agree with that

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 30/12/2017 16:02:06    2066280

Replying To ziggy320001:  "Look I believe we have good players in our panel.
Yes we won't be winning any All-Irelands soon but can see us been top 8 and progressing."
That's it in a nutshell.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 30/12/2017 17:26:10    2066285

Hopefully all new players get a run out at some stage in the OBC don't really mind if we win it or not it's the league i'd be focusing on. With regards to the league I would like to see us win division 2 and get up to division 1 now that may mean little progress in the Championship as see with a couple of teams but it can lead on to bigger and better things just look at Roscommon for example. As for the team for the first few rounds of league i'm basing it on lads that have been on the panel and preformed for the last number of years plus lads who played well in the championships last year in Meath with the exception of Rooney as he needs as much football as possible:

1.) McDermott (Dunshauglin)
2.) Gallagher (Simonstown)
3.) McGill (Ratoath)
4.) Glynn (Tones)
5.) Toner (Curaha)
6.) Conlon (Simonstown)
7.) Power (Ratoath)
8.) Rooney (Skyrne)
9.) Menton (Ashbourne)
10.) Reilly (St Colmcilles)
11.) Dardis (Summerhill)
12.) O'Sullivan (Moynalvey)