Lee Keegan and GPS

Replying To Spoddgy:  "A lot of people have been writing us off the last couple of years but we been close, really I think we should have managed to win one of the last two all Ireland my opinion 2016 was the one. We have heard it said over the last few years that we will never win one in some people's eyes those types of statements really annoys me, none of us really know what could happen in the future. As they say the future is yet unwritten."
It's actually laughable seeing the daily smearing comments from people from counties who don't get within as asses roar of an All Ireland final bleeting that Mayo will never win an All Ireland...

At least we are determined to keep at it. Until we win it the mockery will be there but when we do eventually win it oh what a day that will be.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 21/12/2017 09:41:37    2065749

Replying To greenflag2000:  "I think he let himself down badly and in all my years its right up there as one of the most unsporting moments in an all Ireland final that Ive personally seen. throwing an object at a player to put them off kicking such a vital score, ive never seen that one before and itll follow him long after he retires and so it should"
ffs, does everyone have to over-react nowadays? Non-incident - it was kind of funny; a small, and original, gesture of frustration. Keegan is a superb player; people need to get off their high horses. love to see him getting an AI medal.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 21/12/2017 09:54:46    2065752

Is it a non incident because Rock scored the free. I could only imagine what the media reaction would have been if Dublin lost.

Foley91 (Meath) - Posts: 418 - 21/12/2017 10:27:38    2065757

I dunno, if Dublin don't win the All-Ireland next year then who else but Mayo will?

Kerry maybe at a push but Mayo are a better side than Kerry in my opinion.

Dublin, Mayo and then Kerry. Don't see anyone else capable at all next year.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 21/12/2017 10:56:23    2065760

Replying To Foley91:  "Is it a non incident because Rock scored the free. I could only imagine what the media reaction would have been if Dublin lost."
You're just a beacon of positivity. Anyways Foley. Happy Christmas to you and yours.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 21/12/2017 11:09:18    2065763

It's a non incident, game over, time to start a new year

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 21/12/2017 12:58:44    2065773

Replying To yew_tree:  "Nothing wrong with you disliking a few Mayo players...the feeling is mutual. When you lash so often in such big games animosity is always going to happen between players and fans although it goes to far on social media between fans for my liking and it's still going to this day"
Amen to this. Facebook and Twitter are cesspits near big match days. You rarely, if ever, see that kind of bile in real life. Muppets with keyboards.

Merry Christmas to your lot YT. See you in Castlebar on Feb. 24th.

Jaden (Dublin) - Posts: 139 - 21/12/2017 13:05:22    2065776

Replying To Jaden:  "Amen to this. Facebook and Twitter are cesspits near big match days. You rarely, if ever, see that kind of bile in real life. Muppets with keyboards.

Merry Christmas to your lot YT. See you in Castlebar on Feb. 24th."
Same to Jaden...roll on 2018 and the quest begins again.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 21/12/2017 20:21:18    2065809

Said it after the game in September and ill say it again 3 months on.

Ive no issue with what LK did. These fellas put their lives on hold for 7,8,9,10 months of the year to have themselves at their peak level to try and achieve their sporting dreams. LK has lost, 4 (?) All Ireland finals by the kick of a ball, Some of his team mates have lost more. The county of Mayo and its people are DESPERATE to finally get across the line after a really long hard wait and so much heart-break, LK himself done absolutely everything he could have done in that game to win it fairly for his team including keeping Ciaran Kilkenny possession-less for most of the game and scoring a wonderful goal. And yet with one of the last kicks of the game, He sees his opponent with a chance to win it again and take his dreams away while watching fellas who been there, done that, going for 3 in a row destroys his hopes and everything he and his teammates fought so hard for throughout another grueling year...frustration/desperation/will to win makes you do some mad things. He threw the GPS in what was probably a split second and in the end it didn't work cause Rocky hit the free between the posts.

He likely doesn't give a rats about sportsmanship at this stage. Nobody does when its your own team. Dublin did it themselves after the free. I didn't care. I didn't feel disappointment towards the Dublin lads for acting the maggot after Rock converted the free. Infact I would have been fuming if Dublin let Mayo get the ball out quickly and attack us and give them a sniff. Feck that. And if people want to take the moral high-ground and pretend their team would be saints or that they would be ashamed or embarrassed if their done what Dublin done, or their player done what LK done then you are deluding yourself from your armchair. People say sport is all about having fun and enjoying yourself. I agree to an extent when you are a kid/teenager, But if you are playing for a team or as an individual, And you are at the top or close to the top of that sport, the fun and enjoyment is in winning. Collecting medals and lifting trophies above your head and anything else is irrelevant. For Mayo, all that matters to them is winning the all Ireland. They will take no solace in being an entertaining team that always came back and fought adversity if they don't win sam. That's what matters and LK tried to get himself, his team mates, his county an advantage. It didn't work. For those thinking he should go to confession, get huge bans or show sportsmanship, well, you live in a fantasy world. And maybe top level sport isn't for you

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/12/2017 11:28:45    2065862

Maybe it's time to do with this issue the same as Keegan did with the GPS unit and throw it away! It's very old ground at this stage!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 22/12/2017 18:16:29    2065888

I have no doubt if he missed it would have been retaken anyway as ref was indicating as much. It doesn't matter because it didn't matter and the only discussion around it is what if! Its gone and done, just I will be letting people remember that flawed characters are part and parcel of the game whether they wear Mayo or Dublin shirts, in the white heat of battle. However you hope and expect the only cool head is the ref and officials which in 2017 they managed to effectively ruin some high profile games and a different set of rules seem to be applied by CCCC etc I wonder what those clowns would have made of the GPS incident if it had struck Rock.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 31/12/2017 17:13:17    2066386