Stephen Cluxton.

Clondalkindub - you say Clarke was Brutal when Mayo played Dublin in the league earlier this year. Strange then he was voted Mayo Motm in the mayogaablog after the game. I'm sure you remember his treble save from a penalty that night. Misplaced kick outs on the night had more to do with players out field than they had to Clarke.
Also player of the year is picked by fellow players. I don't know how this could be done any fairer. 700-800 players playing at highest level get to pick who they think was best player. Yet 2 years in a row people are complaining about the hurling and football winners.

Mfs (Mayo) - Posts: 251 - 04/11/2017 00:08:21    2060323

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Congratulations to the all stars and the players and young players of the year I think it's hard to argue against any of the players picked in fairness."
I don't know about that. Mick Fitz is lucky enough and there is no way Dean Rock was one of the best half forwards in the country!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 04/11/2017 01:58:08    2060340

Can anyone tell me what Niall Morgan done wrong this year?

Personally I would have had Cluxton ahead of Clarke because of some of the goals conceded were unClarke like against Derry and Roscommon as well as his kick outs v Kerry and obviously Dublin in the final. In saying that he made some great saves too but I think Morgan had probably the best year of the three of we're all honest.

Maybe I'm missing things from some of his games but I thought his kick outs were excellent and his goals conceded weren't his fault.

I really don't see how he was overlooked for Clarke but when you see that the judges thought Dean Rock was one of the three best half forwards in the country things become clearer!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 04/11/2017 02:10:16    2060341

Replying To Cully:  "Yep. All bought & paid for by CP/central coffers."
Explain!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 04/11/2017 04:40:41    2060347

Replying To realdub:  "I concur"
Totally agree ,

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 04/11/2017 07:31:01    2060353

Replying To Mfs:  "Clondalkindub - you say Clarke was Brutal when Mayo played Dublin in the league earlier this year. Strange then he was voted Mayo Motm in the mayogaablog after the game. I'm sure you remember his treble save from a penalty that night. Misplaced kick outs on the night had more to do with players out field than they had to Clarke.
Also player of the year is picked by fellow players. I don't know how this could be done any fairer. 700-800 players playing at highest level get to pick who they think was best player. Yet 2 years in a row people are complaining about the hurling and football winners."
When you think about it, it actually isn't a fair way of picking it. It's well flagged that a lot of counties don't like seeing Dublin win anything and they've a huge number of rivalries. Personally I love seeing them win but there's a lot of begrudgerry.
The last two rounds of players of the years have been a joke. Firstly the nominations are crazy and secondly the lads that are getting picked are very media friendly and very used to being in the media which brings into question who is actually picking them. I've yet to see a breakdown of the votes

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 04/11/2017 07:59:47    2060358

Replying To 37sowhat:  "Where was 'Con' 68 mins of final? Donnacha Walsh, a forward not renowned for proficiency in the scoring stakes, scored 6 pts against Tyrone!!so for me Cons big game was devalued by the poverty of this present Tyrone bunch I saw them in Killarney in the league they were pitiful Ulster football is weak 6 mediocre teams and 3 who don't enter calculations not even Brolly could make a case for the province just look at the Derry minors who won the Ulster minor title."
A tad harsh i think mate but i have had the privlage at watching him all year in all grades, he scored a goal in the All Ireland final and played very well in his first year of his senior football, i suppose you look at our bench and look at the forwards he is keeping out of the team. Kerry know better then anyone how difficult a feat that is against Mayo. He has had an excellent year as his first in senior football and scarily will only get better. Cumulatively he scored something like 2-25 or so.

All the more remarkable, is he also won the Al Ireland U21, he was the winning captain on the team that beat an excellent Galway team out the gate who had destroyed one of the Kerry minor winnng teams a couple of weeks before. A lovely touch by Con was the respectful way he pointed the penatly as opposed to slotting it as a mark of respect to Galway in the final. Very fitting for the young player of the year.

He also brought the first club hurling all Ireland title back to his club and South County Dublin has been in no way a hurling stronghold over the years.

As good a player as young Cliffard may/will be he will probably never experience a year as successful as that in diverse codes and age groups, certainly he didnt in the year just gone. Dont get me wrong he and Kerry should be proud of their achievements in the minor division.

But it would be a misguided man who would say he has had a better year then Con.

Young Cliffards time will come we all hope.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4443 - 04/11/2017 08:50:53    2060365

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Tough on Cluxton. Clarke had a lot more to do this year so probably why he got it. Not the fault of Cluxton. Bit harsh picking one kickout in the final and saying he let them down. Daft comment. Not much in it ."
I find it hard to pick out one thing cluxton done wrong all year !!!
For that matter if it was a close call that kick out alone should surely carry weight in the award process decision making, afterall didn't suppossably five minutes of a match cost cluxton the award last year.
becoming a mayo sympathy/consoling night at this stage as since they changed the footballer of the year award to a popularity contest it's obvious we are never going to get the winner.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/11/2017 09:41:08    2060373

Cluxton got the all ireland medal, Clarke got the all star....who is the winner, Cluxton.

It was a toss of a coin who got it Clarke or Cluxton, Clarke got it so no one cant begrudge him, he deserved it as much as Cluxton.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 04/11/2017 09:47:45    2060374

Replying To TheUsername:  "A tad harsh i think mate but i have had the privlage at watching him all year in all grades, he scored a goal in the All Ireland final and played very well in his first year of his senior football, i suppose you look at our bench and look at the forwards he is keeping out of the team. Kerry know better then anyone how difficult a feat that is against Mayo. He has had an excellent year as his first in senior football and scarily will only get better. Cumulatively he scored something like 2-25 or so.

All the more remarkable, is he also won the Al Ireland U21, he was the winning captain on the team that beat an excellent Galway team out the gate who had destroyed one of the Kerry minor winnng teams a couple of weeks before. A lovely touch by Con was the respectful way he pointed the penatly as opposed to slotting it as a mark of respect to Galway in the final. Very fitting for the young player of the year.

He also brought the first club hurling all Ireland title back to his club and South County Dublin has been in no way a hurling stronghold over the years.

As good a player as young Cliffard may/will be he will probably never experience a year as successful as that in diverse codes and age groups, certainly he didnt in the year just gone. Dont get me wrong he and Kerry should be proud of their achievements in the minor division.

But it would be a misguided man who would say he has had a better year then Con.

Young Cliffards time will come we all hope."
If I recall ye didn't beat Galway out the gate in the u21 final.We hit the post with about 8 minutes to go and that would have brought it back to a two point game.

bud14 (Galway) - Posts: 296 - 04/11/2017 10:14:42    2060381

Replying To bud14:  "If I recall ye didn't beat Galway out the gate in the u21 final.We hit the post with about 8 minutes to go and that would have brought it back to a two point game."
2-13 to 2-07 mate, Dublin also pulled up with 10 mins to go and had the luxury of pointing a penalty as well to keep the score respectable it was a comfortable win.

Probably the wrong choice of words though and no offence intended and apologies, Galway are a fine young team with some terrffic players and had the best performance of the championship in the semi.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4443 - 04/11/2017 10:43:27    2060383

Replying To woops:  "Cluxton got the all ireland medal, Clarke got the all star....who is the winner, Cluxton.

It was a toss of a coin who got it Clarke or Cluxton, Clarke got it so no one cant begrudge him, he deserved it as much as Cluxton."
Well if that's how you pick all stars who are we to argue.ah he won an all ireland so we will give him an all star..cluxton is the best number 1 in the country by a mile and was the best keeper this year so let's be honest and say he should be an all star this year.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1042 - 04/11/2017 10:53:52    2060387

Replying To clondalkindub:  "So good he was dropped twice last year but hey whatever you say."
I agree Cluxton should've got it but he's not the only one Parsons should have also Rock definitely shouldn't have either but I don't think that the 2 finalists should get 13 between them what's your thoughts on that

runnerin (Meath) - Posts: 202 - 04/11/2017 11:14:59    2060392

Nothing different than any other year. I do not pay any attention to All Stars as they are not won but handed out- talking to the media helps. If I was picking a half forward to win a match the first player on my team sheet by a country mile would be Connolly. It appears that there are 28 counties with not one good footballer!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 04/11/2017 11:31:27    2060396

I agree; the all stars lost their relevance a long time ago because it is a glorified numbers game; give the all ireland winners 7-8 and the runners up 5-6 and thrown in a couple of players from the semi final teams - forget the rest. I don't agree with the criteria for picking what is an individual award but there you go. On the topic of cluxton; I can't fathom why stephen cluxton has not won an all star since 2013; makes no sense to me.

wicklowsupport (Wicklow) - Posts: 1907 - 04/11/2017 11:55:36    2060406

Replying To TheUsername:  "A tad harsh i think mate but i have had the privlage at watching him all year in all grades, he scored a goal in the All Ireland final and played very well in his first year of his senior football, i suppose you look at our bench and look at the forwards he is keeping out of the team. Kerry know better then anyone how difficult a feat that is against Mayo. He has had an excellent year as his first in senior football and scarily will only get better. Cumulatively he scored something like 2-25 or so.

Young Cliffards time will come we all hope."
I think you may be overstating how excellent that Galway team was Username, I didn't fancy them at all in the final. They 'destroyed' Kerry for 10 minutes in the semi until Kerry put their house in order, how Jack left it so long before making some really obvious changes around the middle boggles the mind, and I won't even get in to some of the bizarre team selections. We were ten points down at that stage but controlled the rest of the game until a needless Kerry sending during the second half finished any hope of turning it around. We lost by four points if I recall correctly, and if the game was replayed Galway wouldn't get that start ever again and we would beat them comfortably in my opinion. I wouldn't expect anybody from Galway to agree with me of course.

I think Con deserved his award btw, he was certainly one of the top forwards in the championship, and easily the best young player. These award are a bit of a circus though, some really strange inclusions and omissions every year, It's not worth anybody getting upset over (not saying you are getting upset, I see lots of other posters getting offended that their teams player(s) weren't included).

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 04/11/2017 12:01:32    2060408

Replying To runnerin:  "I agree Cluxton should've got it but he's not the only one Parsons should have also Rock definitely shouldn't have either but I don't think that the 2 finalists should get 13 between them what's your thoughts on that"
I've said numerous times now that Parsons should of got an all star that was wrong, ah Rock won us the final kicking 4 from play against the meanest defense in the game he had to get in. Andy Moran had a great year and deserves his poty, but Cluxton was near perfect this year watch back in every league n champo game he's outstanding; Leinster final 6 up Flynn try on goal Cluxton pulls off a great one on one save that goes in and we could of had a different result , Tyrone semi final his ball to Scully is said to be the greatest kick out of all time then he saves a peno the man was robbed this year.

Clarke is a great keeper I'm not saying he isn't but no one could of matched Cluxton this year he was unbelievable.

I'll say no more we'll done to all the All stars and poty on both teams.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/11/2017 12:08:30    2060412

Replying To dave1988:  "Well if that's how you pick all stars who are we to argue.ah he won an all ireland so we will give him an all star..cluxton is the best number 1 in the country by a mile and was the best keeper this year so let's be honest and say he should be an all star this year."
Clrake was as good as Cluxton. Both were named in the top 3 players of the year. So it wasnt exactly like the award went to someone who didnt deserve it.

My point was does Cluxton really care, he won the AI which is invaluable compared to an all star

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 04/11/2017 12:47:17    2060418

Replying To runnerin:  "I agree Cluxton should've got it but he's not the only one Parsons should have also Rock definitely shouldn't have either but I don't think that the 2 finalists should get 13 between them what's your thoughts on that"
How many All Ireland medals has Mikey Sheehy? (8) How many All Star awards? Who cares as a Kerry forward was reputed to have said to a gloating Mayo All Star defender" Would you Swap your All Star for one of my 5 All Ireland medals" !!!!

37sowhat (Sligo) - Posts: 752 - 04/11/2017 14:40:56    2060430

Replying To MesAmis:  "I don't know about that. Mick Fitz is lucky enough and there is no way Dean Rock was one of the best half forwards in the country!"
Even picked for a position he doesn't play in

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4893 - 04/11/2017 16:01:13    2060442