The positive Sligo GAA thread

GOOD LUCK EASKEY

westsligoawakes (Sligo) - Posts: 74 - 07/02/2019 15:21:17    2163238

Sligo Hurlers are flying it in the league - 3 wins from 3. Young side with some more experienced lads mixed in, and nearly all are home grown. League final practically assured. Great to see!

sligohead (Sligo) - Posts: 9 - 20/02/2019 09:13:45    2166501

*crickets*

letsgosligo (Sligo) - Posts: 98 - 24/02/2019 15:54:24    2167520

Hard to be positive

westsligoawakes (Sligo) - Posts: 74 - 26/02/2019 09:38:47    2168249

Great set of results at the weekend, we all badly needed a boost.

The minors always had that in them, its a very good even side with good management and we all know alot of work has gone in there but need to push on now, outscoring mayo 16 to 12 and 15 to 5 last 3/4 is quite something, thats our first minor win over them since 68 I think. The u17s have in them to win Connacht, but need to follow up now and beat Leitrim and Roscommon. That last game will be like championship with both team likely having to win to gain a top 3 space. We are at home so would be great to see Sligofans turn out in big numbers.

The u20s are into the Philly McGuinness cup final, we played a fair bit of the match with 14 and still beat longford. Final will be toughest test against Tyrone who beat Mayo 3-9 to 0-11. Good to see Curry get a county match. Not sure where final is.

Last but not least the Hurlers, we are showing very well in the Nicky Rackard, we had a big lead but showed guts to hang in there late on and salvage the draw against Mayo. Mayo have been a few notches ahead last few years so for us to get this result and get into semi final is great progress. Fair play to all. I think our semi final is soon v Warwickshire.

Well done all, keep it up.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1637 - 03/06/2019 20:07:15    2190302

Great win for the hurlers today.

ChasingShadows (Sligo) - Posts: 54 - 09/06/2019 17:31:00    2192242

Away to Offaly. Not ideal but not a lot can be done about it. No player has left the panel. Gaughan after opting out of the panel to go to America iis available again.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1652 - 10/06/2019 15:06:39    2192964

Replying To eoinog:  "Away to Offaly. Not ideal but not a lot can be done about it. No player has left the panel. Gaughan after opting out of the panel to go to America iis available again."
No he is not.

NewSligofan (Sligo) - Posts: 258 - 10/06/2019 16:34:12    2193031

Replying To eoinog:  "Away to Offaly. Not ideal but not a lot can be done about it. No player has left the panel. Gaughan after opting out of the panel to go to America iis available again."
This draw is as good as Sligo could have hoped for apart from it being away . Yet I have no confidence that we can win it - sums up where we are at the moment. Does anyone know where one could get a few hurleys cheap.

Maggiepie (Sligo) - Posts: 230 - 10/06/2019 16:41:26    2193039

Are you sure it's definitely away? how is the draw done for home or away when both teams were in same division?

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 442 - 10/06/2019 16:46:22    2193047

Replying To muscles:  "Are you sure it's definitely away? how is the draw done for home or away when both teams were in same division?"
Gaughan is around. Doubtful if he will be brought back to panel at this stage. He never left the country through no fault of his own.. With the hurlers playing on Saturday this game will probably be on Sunday, thought last year hurlers played on Sat and the football game was in the evening. We have 2 dual players this year.Not sure what system was used to decide home and away but we have to travel.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1652 - 10/06/2019 17:03:24    2193065

The Sligo v Leitrim game is live on Ocean fm tonight 7.30 if anyone can't make the game in Pairc Sean. Must win. Best of luck lads.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1637 - 14/06/2019 17:53:05    2194956

Sligo 1-11 to Leitrim 1-4 at half time, leitrim got a early goal but since then Sligo dominating. Hopefully keep it lit second half.

Mayo and Galway level at HT 4-4 a piece.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1637 - 14/06/2019 20:12:18    2195030

Sligo 1-20 Leitrim 1-9 FT, Sligo play Roscommon next week in Markievicz. Great win.

Galway 2-12 Mayo 0-11 FT

4 teams on 4 pts - its head to head

Sligo are guarnteed a Semi final place now because Mayo can't get beyond 4pts and Sligo have the head to head.

Galway will beat Leitrim so they will be on 6pts next week, if Sligo beat Roscommon, Galway go to Connacht final. If Roscommon beat Sligo they get into Connacht final.

If we beat Roscommon we play Mayo in the Semi final with Galway in final.
If we lose we play Galway in the semi final with Roscommon in final.

We have it in us to beat either mayo or galway in the semis.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1637 - 14/06/2019 21:01:40    2195050

If Sligo and Roscommon draw both teams would play again in Semi final and Galway in Connacht final.

So in conclusion Sligo are in the Semi final no matter what and could play anyone from Mayo, Galway or Roscommon depending on result.

Obviously either way we will go for the win. Keep momentum going key. But considering our Ulster league and CMFC showing this is a very good Sligo side. It is in them to win Connacht.

I am not loving the how close the final league matches are on friday 21st to the semi final but should be ok.

Semi final Wednesday 26th June
Final Friday 5th July

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1637 - 14/06/2019 21:48:26    2195073

Replying To Sligonian:  "Sligo 1-20 Leitrim 1-9 FT, Sligo play Roscommon next week in Markievicz. Great win.

Galway 2-12 Mayo 0-11 FT

4 teams on 4 pts - its head to head

Sligo are guarnteed a Semi final place now because Mayo can't get beyond 4pts and Sligo have the head to head.

Galway will beat Leitrim so they will be on 6pts next week, if Sligo beat Roscommon, Galway go to Connacht final. If Roscommon beat Sligo they get into Connacht final.

If we beat Roscommon we play Mayo in the Semi final with Galway in final.
If we lose we play Galway in the semi final with Roscommon in final.

We have it in us to beat either mayo or galway in the semis."
Only one obvious scenario not covered, if it's a draw then we play Roscommon in semis and Mayo out

Hoping for a draw but we can beat any of them

muscles (Sligo) - Posts: 442 - 14/06/2019 22:01:45    2195082

A draw would be lovely.

NewSligofan (Sligo) - Posts: 258 - 15/06/2019 21:34:58    2195486

Sligo 2-15 Roscommon 4-7- great result, Roscommon got 3 1st half goals and were 3-3 to 6 pts up at one stage, Sligo took over then and ros got a late goal to bring it to 2pts.

Mayo v Sligo in semi with Galway waiting in final. I believe we are away to Mayo and if we win the Connacht final could be Markievicz park.

Narrowly losing to Galway (Tuam is tough place to go), beating Mayo, Leitrim and Roscommon is great set of results for us. Looking forward to the knockouts. Clearly a serious Sligo team who don't have in them to panic, have gelled and have the winning habit now.

Semi final date is June 26th this Wednesday

Final is July 5th a Friday

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1637 - 21/06/2019 21:01:07    2198416

There seems to be some confusion over the venues - meeting of the Provincial CCC tomorrow to finalise. We will find out tomorrow.

I remember the Connacht Council made Sligo play Galway 3 times in a row away in the knockout fixture in the early 2010s so anything is possible here.

Sligonian (Sligo) - Posts: 1637 - 21/06/2019 22:43:24    2198446

It's a disgrace what is happening to our minors. After a wonderul round robin campaign (losing only to Galway) and finishing second in the group. They are forced to play their semi-final away to Mayo who finished 3rd on 4 pts. What is worse, when they fixtures were set out in early May it clearly states that the runners up of the group will have home advantage vs the 3rd place finishers. Typical Connacht GAA are suiting themselves and the big counties, one wonders what would have happened if Mayo came 2nd and Sligo 3rd? It's time for our CB and Connnacht delegates to step up, this is unacceptable and not good enough and unfair on our young players! Our CB are well able to be the bully boys in our county when it suits them, let's see them actually do something to help our own county and stand up to the big boys in Connacht.

pointman2007 (Sligo) - Posts: 188 - 25/06/2019 15:07:07    2200658