Meath 2018

The bottom line is if this team losses to Longford Andy and his whole management team have to go. Any true Meath geal has all fingers & toes crossed as well as the Rosary Beads that it doesn't happen.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 05/05/2018 00:21:05    2096759

Lads, we're not a bad team, just to let ya know. We haven't got the numbers, but steller work at underage, as had us punching above our weight at this grade, for many years. We have a few player that would get on any team in the country, and now added to that, we have these talented younger players beginning to come through.

However we're under no illusions here. A poor meath team to ye, is still a good team. Tradition in meath, demands leinster and all Ireland success. But any team, outside of a county that has 1.2 million to pick from, are going to have dips.

I wasn't joking in my earlier posts, about knowing colm. We had many a chat about football, meath, etc. However, he told me that when he was going to watch meath in the 70s, early 80s, they would be beaten regularly. This was after successful teams, and before the most successful period of all for meath. Hence, every team and it's dip.

Unfortunately our dip, has lasted since 1968!! Personally, especially in Longford, I think it'll be close. Some of our lads are young, so we need slot of factors to go for us, like them not being overawed for a start.

I met Andy once or twice when he was with donaghmore/ashbourne. I don't know much about his management style etc. I do think it's a bit harsh however, to say if he looses away to longford, he's gone. As I say, we're not that bad.

Enjoy the scoops in Longford!!

Longfordbaz (Longford) - Posts: 145 - 05/05/2018 10:28:03    2096778

Replying To Longfordbaz:  "Lads, we're not a bad team, just to let ya know. We haven't got the numbers, but steller work at underage, as had us punching above our weight at this grade, for many years. We have a few player that would get on any team in the country, and now added to that, we have these talented younger players beginning to come through.

However we're under no illusions here. A poor meath team to ye, is still a good team. Tradition in meath, demands leinster and all Ireland success. But any team, outside of a county that has 1.2 million to pick from, are going to have dips.

I wasn't joking in my earlier posts, about knowing colm. We had many a chat about football, meath, etc. However, he told me that when he was going to watch meath in the 70s, early 80s, they would be beaten regularly. This was after successful teams, and before the most successful period of all for meath. Hence, every team and it's dip.

Unfortunately our dip, has lasted since 1968!! Personally, especially in Longford, I think it'll be close. Some of our lads are young, so we need slot of factors to go for us, like them not being overawed for a start.

I met Andy once or twice when he was with donaghmore/ashbourne. I don't know much about his management style etc. I do think it's a bit harsh however, to say if he looses away to longford, he's gone. As I say, we're not that bad.

Enjoy the scoops in Longford!!"
Ah we know it's going to be a huge battle up in Pearse Park at the end of May. However, I expect Meath to win by a few points after a right good battle.
As a matter of interest who are the few Longford players that would get onto any team in the country?

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 05/05/2018 11:28:49    2096787

Longfordbaz (Longford) - Posts: 53 - I'm not sure how accurate the comments about the 70' and 80's are, its about how people view facts and distorts them-bit like history (there were quite a few close matches in those years where the winners went on to win AI's). Most teams do get regularly beaten thru the decades including the Dubs, although the appear unbeatable at present (I would predict that they are gone past their peak with the Broghans and Connolly gone?). In the 70's and 80's Meath were regularly beaten (as they were in the successful period of the 90's as well. Some posters here get carried away making claims which are not based on facts as can be seen by recent posts. Longford are a decent team as seen in Navan, and on their day can be a match for most teams.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 05/05/2018 11:29:11    2096788

Replying To browncows:  "Longfordbaz (Longford) - Posts: 53 - I'm not sure how accurate the comments about the 70' and 80's are, its about how people view facts and distorts them-bit like history (there were quite a few close matches in those years where the winners went on to win AI's). Most teams do get regularly beaten thru the decades including the Dubs, although the appear unbeatable at present (I would predict that they are gone past their peak with the Broghans and Connolly gone?). In the 70's and 80's Meath were regularly beaten (as they were in the successful period of the 90's as well. Some posters here get carried away making claims which are not based on facts as can be seen by recent posts. Longford are a decent team as seen in Navan, and on their day can be a match for most teams."
I recall longford beating us in championship in 82 I think, I'm open to correction on the year. It was played in cusack park Mullingar, jj McCormack was our capt that year, there was mcentee , cassells, Fay O'Rourke?? Etc on that team. Jj was from walterstown club, but was originally a bracks man. Jody gunning was the ref that day. And to say he didn't favor Meath that day would be the understatement of the century.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/05/2018 16:31:12    2096816

Any Meath posters any info on a recent challenge game between Galway and Meath,Jesus no info given out on any match anymore.

Cornetto2 (Galway) - Posts: 165 - 05/05/2018 19:18:59    2096833

Replying To Cornetto2:  "Any Meath posters any info on a recent challenge game between Galway and Meath,Jesus no info given out on any match anymore."
Have checked the various Twitter,Facebook pages and local papers from both counties and can find no mention of game

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2136 - 05/05/2018 19:42:13    2096839

Firstly Thanks for the kind words MeathWawa, Ollie, Glasgowroyal, Bert09, Grahamc9897, Longfordbaz and a special thanks to Royaldunne.

Ollie the player name I got mixed up according to Dundalk local newspaper its Patrick Reilly who left the louth panel recently.

Another little stat of the 10 players called up to Cork and Galway teams from Clubs finalist Nemo and Corofin. Only 4 of the 10 players from both clubs accepted to play for Cork and Galway senior panels this year. It says allot when only 4 out of 10 of the best club footballers in the country wouldnt accept the invitation to play inter county this year for traditional superpowers like Galway and Cork.

For me , Sorry again for taking over the thread, I just wanted to say, I personally would rather be a daily observer of the forum then a participate. The forum works best for myself when I write now and again rather then continually. Its not because of some negative comments. Definatly no issue with that. Its more I start of with some decent contributions but then Im answering everyone and probaly my messages r a little all over the gaff and becomes less enjoyable for myself to write . But I just havent really got to grips with internet forums whatsoever and the best way for myself is to contribute the odd time when I believe there is something worthwhile to say. I hope that makes senses and sorry for being a bit self absorbed and talking about myself.

You see this forum its senior football , ur playing senior hurling when you put urs boots on to play here . And while Im capable of the odd flashs and moments of good play, Im not cut out for the rough and tumble of senior hurling yet. To inconsistent, I blow to hot and cold. So if I get a couple months hard training I might be able to step up to senior some day. So for now I will contribute now and again but watch and read daily. I cannot go day without a read up on the lastest chat and talk gossip from the Hogan Stand Meath community.
Anyway Im sure that is clear as mud. Thanks again for the nice comments guys, I really appreciate it , your all gentleman.

Keep the faith, I believe we r 24 months away from were we want to be. We just have to stick with it, through the bad and good performances and the current mangement and players like Keoghan McGill the McEntee the Wallaces Menton Rooney Sullivan kennelly Flanagan Reilly lenihan Mckeever McMahon and players from our current and recent U17 minor and U20 teams have years of football left in them. If we dont suceed we dont. The train will leave the station every year , the championship happens every year for decades to come. And then its up to the next generation of young Meath footballers to stand up and knock the Dubs from their perch. It will happen again, its what we do better then anything else , knocking Dublin from their perch. It defines who we are and what we stand for and where we came from and where we are going

So it is not the end , this is the beginning. We have extraordinary ability as a county to reinvent ourselves and have a long long tradition, history of being in really bad places and Dublin being superstrong and then suddenly miraculously coming from nowhere and knocking them from perch. If this generation can tap into that belief system and true hardcore values of Meath football and just believe in themselves more, we could do it again. There is serious lack of believe in young Meath footballers at the moment but if they can just find that old Meath self confidence , self belief, swagger , touch of arrogance, Im not scared of any county Dublin or Kerry or anyone atitude . If they can just find the passion, the never say die passion and the believe displayed in the 1991 4 games or the 1970 leinster final or the breakthrough years of 1947 1964 1986 and 1996 or the swashbuckling semi finals of 1966 and 96 and 2001 and the great national wins of 1949 67 75 88 and 99. If we could just tap into that again, we will have on our hands the most difficult opponent in gaelic football, for the most difficult opponent in gaelic football is a Meath footballer with a never say die spirit, buckets of passion and fire in their bellys and a fierce drive hunger and determination that would knock a nation of opponent players right off their feet. Its happened before, surely it can happen again.

Meath leinster Football Champions 2021.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 05/05/2018 19:50:29    2096842

Replying To Longfordbaz:  "Lads, we're not a bad team, just to let ya know. We haven't got the numbers, but steller work at underage, as had us punching above our weight at this grade, for many years. We have a few player that would get on any team in the country, and now added to that, we have these talented younger players beginning to come through.

Enjoy the scoops in Longford!!"
If we carry our league form into this game then Longford have a right good shout, the days are long gone when Meath can expect to beat any team. There would appear to be little between sides so calling for managers head if we loose suggest some posters still live in distant past. A drawn game with Meath to scrape replay.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2136 - 05/05/2018 19:55:03    2096843

Replying To Cornetto2:  "Any Meath posters any info on a recent challenge game between Galway and Meath,Jesus no info given out on any match anymore."
Not a word heard about it I'm afraid. Very disappointed

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/05/2018 19:55:23    2096844

Replying To Analyst:  "See Jim Gavins comments re April club month. He says his players are re invigorated after spending a month with their clubs. I can understand that fully.

John" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/2018/0503/960094-the-door-will-always-be-open-for-diarmuid-connolly/"
John Heslin

Personally, I think it was a bit of a waste of time considering what goes into inter-county preparations. To take a break during it just ahead of the main championship campaign doesn't make any sense.

"You go to any sport in the world and you pitch that strategy, they'd laugh. Imagine telling an NBA or NFL team or an AFL team - any of these professional sports teams - that we're going to take a month break and go back to your clubs or wherever you originated from, and play for a month and come back into the inter-county campaign.

Well said john.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 05/05/2018 19:56:18    2096845

Replying To royaldunne:  "John Heslin

Personally, I think it was a bit of a waste of time considering what goes into inter-county preparations. To take a break during it just ahead of the main championship campaign doesn't make any sense.

"You go to any sport in the world and you pitch that strategy, they'd laugh. Imagine telling an NBA or NFL team or an AFL team - any of these professional sports teams - that we're going to take a month break and go back to your clubs or wherever you originated from, and play for a month and come back into the inter-county campaign.

Well said john."
What do you want the players training like crazy 9 Months a year..If i was a player I would enjoy the little break before Championship.These lads deserve a life away from gaa and maybe more players would be willing to commit if it wasn't so intense..Honestly some of the rubbish said on here baffles me..What do you want Royaldunne then?? This is not a Pro sport whatever people say..The Players need to enjoy it and thats the main priority..Give them a break for gods sake

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 05/05/2018 22:18:50    2096859

Replying To royaldunne:  "John Heslin

Well said john."
We will see who has the better championship campaign, Jim Gavin or john Heslin.

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 06/05/2018 08:48:21    2096874

Replying To grahamc9897:  "What do you want the players training like crazy 9 Months a year..If i was a player I would enjoy the little break before Championship.These lads deserve a life away from gaa and maybe more players would be willing to commit if it wasn't so intense..Honestly some of the rubbish said on here baffles me..What do you want Royaldunne then?? This is not a Pro sport whatever people say..The Players need to enjoy it and thats the main priority..Give them a break for gods sake"
By all means give them a break, but not month before championship. Totally stupid, and the players are not in favor of it. I'll take the players views ahead of anything.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/05/2018 13:38:15    2096897

Replying To Analyst:  "We will see who has the better championship campaign, Jim Gavin or john Heslin."
That is such a nonsensical comment.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/05/2018 13:39:51    2096898

Replying To royaldunne:  "That is such a nonsensical comment."
Well they are your speciality.....

Analyst (Meath) - Posts: 1467 - 06/05/2018 14:10:56    2096903

Brian menton been very open about what Meath are hoping for this year. Curran and O'Brien back excellent news. Seems very focused on longford, then what happens will happen. One step at a time. But the super 8s is the goal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 06/05/2018 14:17:26    2096906

Replying To royaldunne:  "By all means give them a break, but not month before championship. Totally stupid, and the players are not in favor of it. I'll take the players views ahead of anything."
Players Views??? This is a view by a westmeath has been...Come on Royaldunne..The break does no Harm

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 06/05/2018 16:02:19    2096912

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Players Views??? This is a view by a westmeath has been...Come on Royaldunne..The break does no Harm"
Westmeath has been??? Christ....

leftandwide (Meath) - Posts: 91 - 06/05/2018 16:08:14    2096915

Replying To royaldunne:  "Brian menton been very open about what Meath are hoping for this year. Curran and O'Brien back excellent news. Seems very focused on longford, then what happens will happen. One step at a time. But the super 8s is the goal."
I always Liked obrien but not sure what curran will bring to be honest.

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 06/05/2018 16:11:00    2096916