Meath 2018

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Because no one Really knows what the full story is at the end of the day...If and when I see him in a meath jersey then I will believe it...
Simple as!!"
I just told you.. He is coming back to Ireland In a few weeks 100%, and hopefully he re-joins the squad

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 01/11/2017 21:16:45    2059638

Replying To ziggy320001:  "I just told you.. He is coming back to Ireland In a few weeks 100%, and hopefully he re-joins the squad"
Because he is coming home confirms nothing!! Now I hope your right and when it's confirmed that he is back with Meath then great! Personally whether he plays or not this team will struggle massively so watch this space I suppose

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 01/11/2017 22:24:27    2059658

Replying To southmeathgael:  "We have one quality player and that's keoghan. Them 3 lads are decent at best. Yes they'll be missed but it's not a disaster or anything close to it."
He had a couple of good years. But last 2 he was a absentee

joeblogs10 (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 02/11/2017 08:09:04    2059676

So not the exodus some predicted .
Jones was known for long time.
Rory was known for last couple of months.
Both on studies.
Some of ye lot need to cop on. And get behind yere team.

joeblogs10 (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 02/11/2017 08:14:40    2059678

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Because he is coming home confirms nothing!! Now I hope your right and when it's confirmed that he is back with Meath then great! Personally whether he plays or not this team will struggle massively so watch this space I suppose"
Well he wasn't coming home that would be the end of that..
Like I said possible good news..

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 02/11/2017 08:43:17    2059680

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Because he is coming home confirms nothing!! Now I hope your right and when it's confirmed that he is back with Meath then great! Personally whether he plays or not this team will struggle massively so watch this space I suppose"
I disagree about this Meath team struggling next year,the mass exodus of players leaving the panel has been greatly exaggerated by a couple of negative posters here, it appears it's just
Harnan of the regular starters that's gone for the full year and we've gained Rooney, another year under mcentee should bring this youngish Meath team on allot in my opinion, looking forward to 2018 hon the royals

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 02/11/2017 09:57:13    2059695

Replying To joeblogs10:  "He had a couple of good years. But last 2 he was a absentee"
That's complete rubbish.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 02/11/2017 10:06:48    2059697

What role should Graham Reilly play in the set up next year?

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 02/11/2017 12:22:15    2059740

Replying To bert09:  "What role should Graham Reilly play in the set up next year?"
I don't think he should play any role at all nowhere near good enough on the big day, he will kick scores all day against poor sides but come a big day he goes hiding. WATER HEN

HOME_TRUTHS (Meath) - Posts: 1 - 02/11/2017 12:46:42    2059747

Replying To bert09:  "What role should Graham Reilly play in the set up next year?"
probably similar to last years role

leftandwide (Meath) - Posts: 91 - 02/11/2017 13:02:18    2059752

I would play a 3 man half forward line with players who will work off the ball and win around midfield.The likes of Forde and James McEntee,these lads can also play a bit..
For me then play a 2 man forward line (guys who can win a 50/50. Possibly Newman and Lenihan.
Leaving one man to play in between the lines and that has to be Reilly or O'Sullivan. This player won't have to track back as much and will look to link up with the inside line.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 02/11/2017 13:21:44    2059760

Replying To HOME_TRUTHS:  "I don't think he should play any role at all nowhere near good enough on the big day, he will kick scores all day against poor sides but come a big day he goes hiding. WATER HEN"
Agree with home truths here, never performs on the bigger days, was easily the worst player on the field against Kildare, just not good enough from one of our more experienced players and captain, time to plan without biggy.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 02/11/2017 13:58:04    2059773

Replying To HOME_TRUTHS:  "I don't think he should play any role at all nowhere near good enough on the big day, he will kick scores all day against poor sides but come a big day he goes hiding. WATER HEN"
Agree with home truths here, never performs on the bigger days, was easily the worst player on the field against Kildare, just not good enough from one of our more experienced players and captain, time to plan without biggy.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 02/11/2017 14:27:58    2059784

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Agree with home truths here, never performs on the bigger days, was easily the worst player on the field against Kildare, just not good enough from one of our more experienced players and captain, time to plan without biggy."
I think that's a little harsh on the lad. He's a good loose ball player and exploits space well when he get's it. The best teams just don't allow that space. He'd be a great man to spring off the bench when defenders legs are getting a little tired, ala Jody Devine in years past. Unfortunately we don't have many better players than him to start games so I suppose it'll be a similar role to last year but without the captaincy.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 02/11/2017 15:28:59    2059798

Replying To pauk123:  "I think that's a little harsh on the lad. He's a good loose ball player and exploits space well when he get's it. The best teams just don't allow that space. He'd be a great man to spring off the bench when defenders legs are getting a little tired, ala Jody Devine in years past. Unfortunately we don't have many better players than him to start games so I suppose it'll be a similar role to last year but without the captaincy."
Would start him or O'Sullivan. One on the bench to come on as they could do damage coming on against tired legs. Same goes for Wallace and McMahon imo.Could be deadly from the bench later on.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 02/11/2017 16:08:33    2059805

Replying To Royal.Legend:  "Agree with home truths here, never performs on the bigger days, was easily the worst player on the field against Kildare, just not good enough from one of our more experienced players and captain, time to plan without biggy."
Silly statement,There is and must be a place for Graham Reilly in the team this year..Im not his biggest fan and While I do agree that he struggles against the big teams most of this meath team do also..Hes a decent player with the potential to be better at times..Maybe play him inside the full forward line and concentrate on scoring and take the pressure of defending off him..If graham isnt picked on this meath squad then the majority of them wouldn't either

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 02/11/2017 17:00:10    2059817

Replying To ziggy320001:  "Would start him or O'Sullivan. One on the bench to come on as they could do damage coming on against tired legs. Same goes for Wallace and McMahon imo.Could be deadly from the bench later on."
What about Paraic Mckeever if he comes into the squad? Would you play him?

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 02/11/2017 17:06:42    2059818

Ouch Royaldunne will not be impressed by this

Although tbf its a very very valid point.

But to balance it out Biggy is easily put out of games as he's the sole attention of most top teams when playing Meath. If we had 3/4 top class forwards Biggy wouldn't have as much attention drawn to him so would have a bit more space.

I'd love to see biggy kick 1-2/3 or 4/5 points in a tight close game against one of the top teams this upcoming summer and we can put this to bed.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 02/11/2017 17:36:11    2059827

Replying To ziggy320001:  "Would start him or O'Sullivan. One on the bench to come on as they could do damage coming on against tired legs. Same goes for Wallace and McMahon imo.Could be deadly from the bench later on."
No way would I have o Sullivan on the bench. Very important player for us in my opinion and a class act. Needs some refinement but raw materials are there.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 02/11/2017 19:03:23    2059847

Replying To brian:  "Ouch Royaldunne will not be impressed by this

Although tbf its a very very valid point.

But to balance it out Biggy is easily put out of games as he's the sole attention of most top teams when playing Meath. If we had 3/4 top class forwards Biggy wouldn't have as much attention drawn to him so would have a bit more space.

I'd love to see biggy kick 1-2/3 or 4/5 points in a tight close game against one of the top teams this upcoming summer and we can put this to bed."
It was a very silly and uneducated comment to begin with.
However I will respond to yours as it's a valid one.
Any egit can see the lesser teams can't handle graham, that's why he has a field day against them. Kildare double marked him as did Donegal, no other player was double up on from Meath in either game, now should he be better prepared for this type of treatment at this stage? Yes.
But then how do you loose a extra marker more efficiently? Have someone else who is just as dangerous with the ball. Newman showed previous he could be, lenihane has potential, O'Sullivan was my real disappointment last year, but must be given another shout ,
Re the captaincy, graham will remain as captain if he wants it, that goes without question, Andy is a stickler for consistency and will not change unless he has to.
Plus who would replace him? The only obvious one is Micky burke, is stoney a 70 minute man in 18?
Before anyone says Donal, he doesn't want it and has said so on record.
Only other option is Brian menton.
In short if graham wants another year as captain he will get it, and rightfully so
Ps you will have to remind me as I won't google it but did he not score 2 v Donegal?? In a tight match. Could be totally wrong. If I am apology in advance :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/11/2017 20:52:14    2059870