Meath 2018

Replying To southmeathgael:  "I would argue....infact it's quiet obvious...the standard of player in the county has gone backwards......way way backwards , and at the minute whoever is in charge would not make much difference one way or the other. For 15 years, almost every year half of our team were up there with the best in that possition nationwide......Now, bar donal keoghan, we havnt got a player that would make a division 1 team. People need to realise,, we had an illustrious past, doesn't mean it anytging anymore.....are players are middle of the road division 2 standard.....so the performances they are putting in and the manager is getting out of them should be judged as such."
Too sensible SMG, surely it's better to bin a manager after two leagues and a championship?

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 28/04/2018 12:30:27    2095453

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Agree with what Royaldunne... Its OK that Andy has done nothing in 2 league's and 1 championship..soon to do nothing in 2 championship's because we haven't a prayer this year!! Losing players left right and centre ! Rome wasn't built in a day but at the end of this year we will have gone back !! How many years do you give him before you admit he has done nothing ! He's a good manager that has had success but hes done a poor job to date..what's success this years in your eyes Royaldunne??"
Again you offer criticism but ZERO solutions. How would YOU approach things? Who would YOU prefer as manager? How would YOU address the need for greater professionalism at the risk of losing panellists? How would YOU restructure things so the balance between club and county is more harmonious? You ask many questions but provide next to no answers.

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 28/04/2018 12:34:07    2095455

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "Again you offer criticism but ZERO solutions. How would YOU approach things? Who would YOU prefer as manager? How would YOU address the need for greater professionalism at the risk of losing panellists? How would YOU restructure things so the balance between club and county is more harmonious? You ask many questions but provide next to no answers."
In fairness Andy is the man in the job at the moment so he should be providing answers to all your questions and at present, whether you like to admit it or not, he's failing to succeed.
He's previously outlined his number one target at the start of '18 was to get promotion to D1 and look how that panned out, we were dangerously close to getting relegated to D3.

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 28/04/2018 13:13:23    2095463

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Agree with what Royaldunne... Its OK that Andy has done nothing in 2 league's and 1 championship..soon to do nothing in 2 championship's because we haven't a prayer this year!! Losing players left right and centre ! Rome wasn't built in a day but at the end of this year we will have gone back !! How many years do you give him before you admit he has done nothing ! He's a good manager that has had success but hes done a poor job to date..what's success this years in your eyes Royaldunne??"
Success? Well the performances against Louth and particularly Down when the backs were against the wall. Showed heart and desire from players who have not walked away (with exception maybe of Tobin) look at Kennelly. Listen if a guy doesn't want to put in the effort that is required in modern football no one can force them too, if they want to be in county team They have to be prepared for the intensity of that, 24/7 it's not everyone's cup of tea, especially when there is a high chance you don't get anything from it. Lads like graham Reilly , micky burke will not get another Leinster medal, but at least they have one. However if we stick with the right man (Andy) the younger ones will. X

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/04/2018 13:48:44    2095466

Replying To royaldunne:  "Success? Well the performances against Louth and particularly Down when the backs were against the wall. Showed heart and desire from players who have not walked away (with exception maybe of Tobin) look at Kennelly. Listen if a guy doesn't want to put in the effort that is required in modern football no one can force them too, if they want to be in county team They have to be prepared for the intensity of that, 24/7 it's not everyone's cup of tea, especially when there is a high chance you don't get anything from it. Lads like graham Reilly , micky burke will not get another Leinster medal, but at least they have one. However if we stick with the right man (Andy) the younger ones will. X"
So beating a dreadful Louth team and beating Down at home is now a success ..come on we were only in that position because of the dreadful performances before them...Come on Royaldunne you were on here backing us to get promoted and we nearly got Relegated..We need to Find a way to get the best Players on the pitch and not have them walking away..Give them a more Balanced life with reduced Commitment or whatever..Some of the finest soccer players couldnt train but come saturday they performed at the top level..Im not saying dont train but bend the rules a little and give them a little lee way

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 28/04/2018 14:53:28    2095477

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "Again you offer criticism but ZERO solutions. How would YOU approach things? Who would YOU prefer as manager? How would YOU address the need for greater professionalism at the risk of losing panellists? How would YOU restructure things so the balance between club and county is more harmonious? You ask many questions but provide next to no answers."
I would prefer Andy as manager but im saying that he has not improved the team yet...I can ask all the questions I want and its not my job to answer them..Andy took the Job so its up to him and the county board to provide a competitive team...Plenty of people gave mick odowd plenty of stick while offering nothing..Your just saying im happy with andy and thats it.so what if we get to the end of next year and no futher on do we just give him another 3 years??

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 28/04/2018 14:57:57    2095481

Replying To grahamc9897:  "So beating a dreadful Louth team and beating Down at home is now a success ..come on we were only in that position because of the dreadful performances before them...Come on Royaldunne you were on here backing us to get promoted and we nearly got Relegated..We need to Find a way to get the best Players on the pitch and not have them walking away..Give them a more Balanced life with reduced Commitment or whatever..Some of the finest soccer players couldnt train but come saturday they performed at the top level..Im not saying dont train but bend the rules a little and give them a little lee way"
Just wondering if you could name these finest soccer players who couldn't train but performed at a top level? Is this recently or 40 years ago because you would have to agree things have moved on.

I don't think reducing training will help the county team, the players might be happier but they are not going to do much. Even teams in Division 4 were doing the same amount of training as us, that is what is expected of any inter county team that wants to do well.

Obviously this training has not done us any good so far but I don't think things would improve if we didn't train as much.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 28/04/2018 15:04:36    2095483

Replying To Barney123:  "Just wondering if you could name these finest soccer players who couldn't train but performed at a top level? Is this recently or 40 years ago because you would have to agree things have moved on.

I don't think reducing training will help the county team, the players might be happier but they are not going to do much. Even teams in Division 4 were doing the same amount of training as us, that is what is expected of any inter county team that wants to do well.

Obviously this training has not done us any good so far but I don't think things would improve if we didn't train as much."
Its sounds like your happy at how were performing at the minute..Are you honestly saying that andys methods shouldn't be questioned..This team aint going no where except downhill and thats a fact..I like andy but it seems that he has caused a number of players to walk away for whatever reason..as i said before if this does not improve next year does he stay???

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 28/04/2018 15:58:13    2095493

Replying To royaldunne:  "Success? Well the performances against Louth and particularly Down when the backs were against the wall. Showed heart and desire from players who have not walked away (with exception maybe of Tobin) look at Kennelly. Listen if a guy doesn't want to put in the effort that is required in modern football no one can force them too, if they want to be in county team They have to be prepared for the intensity of that, 24/7 it's not everyone's cup of tea, especially when there is a high chance you don't get anything from it. Lads like graham Reilly , micky burke will not get another Leinster medal, but at least they have one. However if we stick with the right man (Andy) the younger ones will. X"
Don't ever but a kiss at the end of a post again. ;-)

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 28/04/2018 16:16:21    2095496

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Its sounds like your happy at how were performing at the minute..Are you honestly saying that andys methods shouldn't be questioned..This team aint going no where except downhill and thats a fact..I like andy but it seems that he has caused a number of players to walk away for whatever reason..as i said before if this does not improve next year does he stay???"
Not sure how my post gives you the idea that I am happy with the current situation, I was just pointing out that your solution of the players training less would somehow make them better.

I like Andy too but with so many players walking away there is a problem somewhere. But I never heard a reason for these departures, I think some of the simonstown players might have trained with their club when they weren't supposed so why did the other players leave?

I don't think it was because the amount of training.

Barney123 (Meath) - Posts: 676 - 28/04/2018 18:23:41    2095513

Replying To grahamc9897:  "I would prefer Andy as manager but im saying that he has not improved the team yet...I can ask all the questions I want and its not my job to answer them..Andy took the Job so its up to him and the county board to provide a competitive team...Plenty of people gave mick odowd plenty of stick while offering nothing..Your just saying im happy with andy and thats it.so what if we get to the end of next year and no futher on do we just give him another 3 years??"
I'm happy to give him time and not a mere two seasons. Our rebuilding as a team will have ups and downs, players coming in, some leaving and will take time. I'd rather have someone in post for the long haul as opposed to chopping and changing. And I'm sorry but if you're not happy to do that, then you need to suggest alternatives. Otherwise you're simply howling at the moon.

I'm 100% behind Andy and all the lads who freely choose to give their time and energy to represent the county. I've no issue with those who've left but I'd rather focus on those who are there.

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 28/04/2018 18:39:12    2095514

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Its sounds like your happy at how were performing at the minute..Are you honestly saying that andys methods shouldn't be questioned..This team aint going no where except downhill and thats a fact..I like andy but it seems that he has caused a number of players to walk away for whatever reason..as i said before if this does not improve next year does he stay???"
Pure speculation RE players leaving because of the manager. But let's indulge you for a minute. Regardless of who was in charge would there be comings and goings in the panel? Pretty certain you'd come to the same answer as I would.

Also regarding cutting players some slack with regard to training, the flip side of that is that Andy could be accused of having favourites and not treating everyone equally, which I've no doubt you'd jump on too.

I wouldn't blame Andy and some of our players for chucking it, some of our fans are an utter joke. Then all the armchair managers and Junior B players on here can throw their hats in the ring to take us forward.

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 28/04/2018 18:46:14    2095515

Replying To Barney123:  "Just wondering if you could name these finest soccer players who couldn't train but performed at a top level? Is this recently or 40 years ago because you would have to agree things have moved on.

Obviously this training has not done us any good so far but I don't think things would improve if we didn't train as much."
The county team are definitely not training smartly (tactically we are an absolute shambles from kickout to attack) and I would argue for what I've heard that they are training too much. The Dubs train 2/3 times a week together and do their strength and conditioning in their own time...doing S&C together as a county team is laughable I this day and age. Players need to be treated like adults, not children.

Can anybody apart from decent enough fitness levels (not when it counted against Kildare last summer though after a ridiculously intense warmup) , tell me where this 5/6 nights a week of training is evident in the team's displays?

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 28/04/2018 18:57:11    2095518

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "Pure speculation RE players leaving because of the manager. But let's indulge you for a minute. Regardless of who was in charge would there be comings and goings in the panel? Pretty certain you'd come to the same answer as I would.

Also regarding cutting players some slack with regard to training, the flip side of that is that Andy could be accused of having favourites and not treating everyone equally, which I've no doubt you'd jump on too.

I wouldn't blame Andy and some of our players for chucking it, some of our fans are an utter joke. Then all the armchair managers and Junior B players on here can throw their hats in the ring to take us forward."
Jaysus lad it's obvious a lot of players have left due to the manager, that's hardly idle speculation at this stage. Anyone within an arses roar of Meath knows that.

And people aren't unnecessarily slating management on here. If they want to take the approach they are taking, casualties and all, that's fine and let's see where they take Meath in the next 18 months. I'm personally very disappointed with the performance so far and am not overly hopeful. I'd be delighted to be proved wrong. Other people are taking a positive view and fair play to them. We are all Meath men at the end of day.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 28/04/2018 19:02:25    2095519

Replying To GlasgowRoyal:  "Pure speculation RE players leaving because of the manager. But let's indulge you for a minute. Regardless of who was in charge would there be comings and goings in the panel? Pretty certain you'd come to the same answer as I would.

I wouldn't blame Andy and some of our players for chucking it, some of our fans are an utter joke. Then all the armchair managers and Junior B players on here can throw their hats in the ring to take us forward."
I meant don't train as much as a team ! I don't expect players to be treated differently that's clearly not fair ..Andy is open to criticism as Meath manager and he knows that ! I'm not personally attacking him just a criticism of his coaching methods !! This is a forum so I'm going to express how I feel so if that makes me "a joke" then that's ur opinion!! For the record I would stick with him until the end of next year and see where we are then..

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 28/04/2018 19:06:30    2095520

Replying To Jinxie:  "Don't ever but a kiss at the end of a post again. ;-)"
Hahaha. That was a typo. I swear :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/04/2018 19:32:22    2095522

Replying To royaldunne:  "Hahaha. That was a typo. I swear :)"
Yeah yeah heard it all before from lads like you....

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 28/04/2018 20:26:39    2095532

Replying To Jinxie:  "Yeah yeah heard it all before from lads like you...."
HAHA. Xxx

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/04/2018 21:18:53    2095537

See Longford had a good win over Cavan today 3-13 to 0-16

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2141 - 29/04/2018 19:02:31    2095608

Replying To seadog54:  "See Longford had a good win over Cavan today 3-13 to 0-16"
They won't be a push over. We will have to be in top form to come away from longford with a win. But I have total faith in Andy and the team.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/04/2018 19:48:23    2095615