Meath 2018

Replying To RoylerKing:  "Meath won by six points tonight, 2-17 to 1-14. Laois were experimental and used 29 players.
Our scorers and starting team are listed below.
Meath: Donal Lenihan 0-6, Cillian O'Sullivan 1-4, Cian O'Brien 1-0, Bryan Menton 0-4, Shane McEntee 0-1, Bryan McMahon 0-1, Sean Curran 0-1.
MEATH: David Gallagher; Conor Dempsey, Conor McGill, Seamus Lavin; Mickey Burke, Donal Keogan, Shane McEntee; Bryan Menton, Paddy Kennelly; Cian O'Brien, Cilliian O'Sullivan, Liam Ferguson; Bryan McMahon, Donal Lenihan, Luke Martyn."
Pretty experimental ourselves too by looks of things. Anyone play well. How did the fringe players play?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 24/04/2018 23:23:10    2094874

Replying To RoylerKing:  "Meath won by six points tonight, 2-17 to 1-14. Laois were experimental and used 29 players.
Our scorers and starting team are listed below.
Meath: Donal Lenihan 0-6, Cillian O'Sullivan 1-4, Cian O'Brien 1-0, Bryan Menton 0-4, Shane McEntee 0-1, Bryan McMahon 0-1, Sean Curran 0-1.
MEATH: David Gallagher; Conor Dempsey, Conor McGill, Seamus Lavin; Mickey Burke, Donal Keogan, Shane McEntee; Bryan Menton, Paddy Kennelly; Cian O'Brien, Cilliian O'Sullivan, Liam Ferguson; Bryan McMahon, Donal Lenihan, Luke Martyn."
Thank you royaler King

MeathWawa (Meath) - Posts: 61 - 24/04/2018 23:47:51    2094879

Replying To grahamc9897:  "I dont remember Mcentee playing under micko...anyways I have given up all hope with this county ! Never been so demoralised about our county team ! How can so many players walk away its a huge problem !! This team ain't going anywhere"
Shane was involved in the O'Byrne cup and early stages of league squad in 2016. He was however chosen by Sean Barry to be U21 Captain in 2015 and was a regular during the 2014 U21 campaign which Meath got to the Leinster final and probably should have beaten Dublin had they not missed a penalty and eight or nine great point scoring opportunities in the first half and were in the game right up until the last whistle. Shane had a very good game that night scoring a great point from wing back and that Dublin U21 team had a huge number of there present Senior squad involved namely David Byrne, John Small, Jack McCaffrey, Niall Scully, Eric Lowndes, Cormac Costello, Conor McHugh and Paul Mannion all starting and a injured Ciaran Kilkenny and a unknown at the time Brian Fenton also involved!

BigJoe14 (Meath) - Posts: 934 - 25/04/2018 08:46:25    2094893

Replying To royaldunne:  "Pretty experimental ourselves too by looks of things. Anyone play well. How did the fringe players play?"
Is it really that experimental? 10 or 11 starters anyway - plus with defections there aren't that many too come back in.

3 starters from an average Dunderry intermediate team is overkill

Belt (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 25/04/2018 09:55:43    2094900

Replying To Belt:  "Is it really that experimental? 10 or 11 starters anyway - plus with defections there aren't that many too come back in.

3 starters from an average Dunderry intermediate team is overkill"
I never understand how people compare individuals to their team. So what if the 3 lads play for an average team? If lee keegan, brian fenton and andy moran all played for Dunderry they would probably still be intermediate, doesnt mean the 3 arent good players

TakeYourPoints6 (Meath) - Posts: 230 - 25/04/2018 11:11:01    2094917

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "I never understand how people compare individuals to their team. So what if the 3 lads play for an average team? If lee keegan, brian fenton and andy moran all played for Dunderry they would probably still be intermediate, doesnt mean the 3 arent good players"
I know.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/04/2018 12:06:09    2094933

Replying To royaldunne:  "I know."
only the bare 15 traveled to Graigcullen last night for a fund raising match v Laoise

gardentree (Meath) - Posts: 194 - 25/04/2018 14:18:26    2094963

Replying To gardentree:  "only the bare 15 traveled to Graigcullen last night for a fund raising match v Laoise"
That's a lie.
1,David Gallagher;2 Conor Dempsey, 3Conor McGill, 4Seamus Lavin;5 Mickey Burke, 6 Donal Keogan, 7 Shane McEntee; 8 Bryan Menton, 9 Paddy Kennelly; 10 Cian O'Brien, 11 Cilliian O'Sullivan,12 Liam Ferguson; 13 Bryan McMahon, 14 Donal Lenihan, 15 Luke Martyn. Subs: 16 Andrew Colgan, 17 Seán Curran,18 Darragh Griffin, 19 Luke Moran,20 Gaibhin Mac Aodha

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/04/2018 14:58:41    2094976

Replying To TakeYourPoints6:  "I never understand how people compare individuals to their team. So what if the 3 lads play for an average team? If lee keegan, brian fenton and andy moran all played for Dunderry they would probably still be intermediate, doesnt mean the 3 arent good players"
Dunderry could be the new Ratoath.......

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 25/04/2018 17:46:00    2094996

Replying To gardentree:  "only the bare 15 traveled to Graigcullen last night for a fund raising match v Laoise"
Why would you bother comIng on here spouting stuff like that, just wondering?

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 25/04/2018 17:47:02    2094997

Replying To BigJoe14:  "Shane was involved in the O'Byrne cup and early stages of league squad in 2016. He was however chosen by Sean Barry to be U21 Captain in 2015 and was a regular during the 2014 U21 campaign which Meath got to the Leinster final and probably should have beaten Dublin had they not missed a penalty and eight or nine great point scoring opportunities in the first half and were in the game right up until the last whistle. Shane had a very good game that night scoring a great point from wing back and that Dublin U21 team had a huge number of there present Senior squad involved namely David Byrne, John Small, Jack McCaffrey, Niall Scully, Eric Lowndes, Cormac Costello, Conor McHugh and Paul Mannion all starting and a injured Ciaran Kilkenny and a unknown at the time Brian Fenton also involved!"
Oh OK fair enough !! Wasn't aware of that

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 25/04/2018 18:33:44    2095002

Replying To Richieq:  "Why would you bother comIng on here spouting stuff like that, just wondering?"
Unbelievable isn't it?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/04/2018 20:16:25    2095009

Replying To Richieq:  "Dunderry could be the new Ratoath......."
Lol.
Anyway excitement building in my house. Have a huge day planned for the 13th. Yes it's a meaningless final. But it kick starts the championship feeling, lot of people from around where I am who never go to obc games going. So Meath need to bring a good crowd. It'll be a bit of craic. Before the big game v longford.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/04/2018 20:20:49    2095010

Replying To royaldunne:  "Lol.
Anyway excitement building in my house. Have a huge day planned for the 13th. Yes it's a meaningless final. But it kick starts the championship feeling, lot of people from around where I am who never go to obc games going. So Meath need to bring a good crowd. It'll be a bit of craic. Before the big game v longford."
I just can't get exited about this year with all the player upheaval... We Haven't a hope of doing anything this year ..such high turnover is not good at all.. Usually I cant wait for championship but its lost its appeal for many

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 25/04/2018 21:36:07    2095021

Replying To grahamc9897:  "I just can't get exited about this year with all the player upheaval... We Haven't a hope of doing anything this year ..such high turnover is not good at all.. Usually I cant wait for championship but its lost its appeal for many"
Majority are fringe players who have left or dropped. Conlon was a great prospect and still is but this year it just wasn't working out for him, Rooney hasn't been same since he returned, the only real loss is Tobin that could play a major part. The others wouldn't have featured except maybe as a very late sub. The main players are all still there. It's not like a keoghan Reilly O'Sullivan menton lenihane burke or McGill is gone. And I'm honestly not been harsh on those lads. But we must be realistic, as I said apart from
Tobin I can't see any of the others featuring in championship, every year there is departures, I'm sure next year they will get their chance again.
I haven't looked forward to a championship as much in a long time. They are super fit and a pretty settled team.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/04/2018 22:00:03    2095022

your always trying to get a bright side out of everything regards this Meath team fair play for that but it don't mean your right unfortunately

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 25/04/2018 22:19:09    2095025

Replying To royaldunne:  "Majority are fringe players who have left or dropped. Conlon was a great prospect and still is but this year it just wasn't working out for him, Rooney hasn't been same since he returned, the only real loss is Tobin that could play a major part. The others wouldn't have featured except maybe as a very late sub. The main players are all still there. It's not like a keoghan Reilly O'Sullivan menton lenihane burke or McGill is gone. And I'm honestly not been harsh on those lads. But we must be realistic, as I said apart from
Tobin I can't see any of the others featuring in championship, every year there is departures, I'm sure next year they will get their chance again.
I haven't looked forward to a championship as much in a long time. They are super fit and a pretty settled team."
Mckeever???

Aloblack (Meath) - Posts: 265 - 25/04/2018 23:04:15    2095029

Replying To royaldunne:  "Majority are fringe players who have left or dropped. Conlon was a great prospect and still is but this year it just wasn't working out for him, Rooney hasn't been same since he returned, the only real loss is Tobin that could play a major part. The others wouldn't have featured except maybe as a very late sub. The main players are all still there. It's not like a keoghan Reilly O'Sullivan menton lenihane burke or McGill is gone. And I'm honestly not been harsh on those lads. But we must be realistic, as I said apart from
I haven't looked forward to a championship as much in a long time. They are super fit and a pretty settled team."
Big teams with ambitions will always talk about football been a 21 man game...what gets a lot of these teams over the line is the impact or experience coming from bench ! My personal opinion was we didn't have a great league campaign but Andy Mac was still building his squad nicely and given the likes of Tobin,Conlon and Ronney game time coming of the bench....so in other words he was building his 21 players for championship....You say "we must be realistic" But i really don't think you see the bigger picture Andy Mac had in mind ! You seem to think and talk about football still being a 15 man game in your comment ! They weren't fringe players because they were sitting on the bench and coming on with 10 or 15 minutes left on the clock ...they were as i would see it a important part of the 21 match day squad Andy Mac was trying to build.

WhyTheLongFace (Meath) - Posts: 876 - 25/04/2018 23:21:53    2095032

I would like to have ur optimism but super fit got us no where in the league...Rooney was talked up big time when he was away and everyone was raving when he came back and now ur saying he is not really a loss ..With regards to Conlan I had massive hopes for him this year and to lose him too is so disappointing..Sean Tobin is another good option gone ...Paddy O'Rourke ,Donnacha Tobin, podge McKeever another great prospect ..And others who were called up and declined.. Royaldunne you were saying the same stuff before the league and it was a disaster ..any decent team will beat us unfortunately and that's the long and short of it..call me what u want but that's my 10 cents worth ..I have no clue where we go from here..

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 25/04/2018 23:38:03    2095033

Of course they wouldn't still be intermediate. That's my point - a club with 3 inter county standard players would not be stuck playing intermediate football in the current Meath club scene

Belt (Meath) - Posts: 253 - 26/04/2018 07:33:23    2095039