Meath 2018

Replying To pauk123:  "
Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Like he said lads like James McEntee (23), Thomas O'Reilly and Brían Conlon (21), Cillian O'Sullivan (23) coming off his rookie county season basically and Conor McGill (24). You'd expect all of them all lads to improve with their age profiles. Podge McKeever club player of the year committing to the team also helps. You'd expect David Toner to make the leap up from the junior team after a good year with Curraha. Also Rooney would be a massive addition if back. Now if we look at the lads we lost. 1. Jones is a very good prospect and played well against Louth but was completely dominated by Kildare and then got injured against Sligo, didn't play a minute of the league (ditto to Conlon and O'Reilly) imo he will end up a great county number 10 not midfield. 2. Newman, didn't play a minute of the league and never made a championship start last year. Hasn't looked the same since 2013. Would have been nice to have but isn't a net negative from last year as he wasn't there. 3. Toher, another lad who played well against Louth but was found out against Kildare. I don't think he is that much of a loss at all really. 4. O'Coilean, people calling him an impact sub. He made an impact against Kildare in a game when we were 9 points down when he came on. He was a good football and an attacking half forward which is the one thing we actually have. 5 This brings me to the last 2 lads Harnan and Paddy who I actually do think are losses. Harnan while not being a world beater is a very solid defender and we haven't many of them, when he came back for the league last year he did improve things. And Paddy the biggest loss of all, when people called for his head last year and admittedly some of the mistakes were terrible I kept saying we have nobody else. I am hearing he'll go with McDermott who was a great keeper at minor in 2016 and a brilliant shot stopper but he can not kick the ball to the 65, which with our midfield struggles might actually suit us.

This brings me to the team for next year, something like 1. McDermott, 2. Burke, 3. McGill, 4. Keoghan, 5. Power, 6. Conlon 7. Shane McEntee, 8. Menton, 9. Rooney, 10. James McEntee, 11. Cillian O'Sullivan, 12. Graham Reilly, 13. McKeever, 14. Thomas O'Reilly, 15. Donal Lenihan.

Is it a perfect team ? no it isn't. Is it worse than last year ? If McDermott can prove he is a county standard keeper I think it's actually better."
I think you are missing the point entirely here LeitrimRoyal99. It's very much a squad game. What Meath need is the best available players in the county fighting tooth and nail to get into the team in every training session. There's no motivation like a direct competitor for your position sprinting out ahead of you in training.
All the great teams like the current Dubs or the Kilkenny team from a few years back have stories about legendary training games, better than anything they play in the early rounds of the Championship and how much competition there is for places etc. Anthony Moyles wrote a great article about it in the Chronicle a few years back.
With all of the absenteeism and call offs the quality of the squad is bound to diminish. This causes Meath to be weaker overall.
Andy's stated goal for this year, all of his focus, is getting into D1. We'll know soon if he's made a team that's up to the task but the omens aren't looking good."
If some players are not willing to put in the commitment required, then we are better off without. At least we will have a panel of players now willing to do what needs to be required.
Bigger picture needs to be looked at, influx of quality youngsters will be joining in the next few years, who are used to training and having a facility like Dunganny. Bright times ahead.

ziggy320001 (Meath) - Posts: 2432 - 15/12/2017 19:02:07    2065286

Replying To ziggy320001:  "
Replying To pauk123:  "[quote=LeitrimRoyal99:  "Like he said lads like James McEntee (23), Thomas O'Reilly and Brían Conlon (21), Cillian O'Sullivan (23) coming off his rookie county season basically and Conor McGill (24). You'd expect all of them all lads to improve with their age profiles. Podge McKeever club player of the year committing to the team also helps. You'd expect David Toner to make the leap up from the junior team after a good year with Curraha. Also Rooney would be a massive addition if back. Now if we look at the lads we lost. 1. Jones is a very good prospect and played well against Louth but was completely dominated by Kildare and then got injured against Sligo, didn't play a minute of the league (ditto to Conlon and O'Reilly) imo he will end up a great county number 10 not midfield. 2. Newman, didn't play a minute of the league and never made a championship start last year. Hasn't looked the same since 2013. Would have been nice to have but isn't a net negative from last year as he wasn't there. 3. Toher, another lad who played well against Louth but was found out against Kildare. I don't think he is that much of a loss at all really. 4. O'Coilean, people calling him an impact sub. He made an impact against Kildare in a game when we were 9 points down when he came on. He was a good football and an attacking half forward which is the one thing we actually have. 5 This brings me to the last 2 lads Harnan and Paddy who I actually do think are losses. Harnan while not being a world beater is a very solid defender and we haven't many of them, when he came back for the league last year he did improve things. And Paddy the biggest loss of all, when people called for his head last year and admittedly some of the mistakes were terrible I kept saying we have nobody else. I am hearing he'll go with McDermott who was a great keeper at minor in 2016 and a brilliant shot stopper but he can not kick the ball to the 65, which with our midfield struggles might actually suit us.

This brings me to the team for next year, something like 1. McDermott, 2. Burke, 3. McGill, 4. Keoghan, 5. Power, 6. Conlon 7. Shane McEntee, 8. Menton, 9. Rooney, 10. James McEntee, 11. Cillian O'Sullivan, 12. Graham Reilly, 13. McKeever, 14. Thomas O'Reilly, 15. Donal Lenihan.

Is it a perfect team ? no it isn't. Is it worse than last year ? If McDermott can prove he is a county standard keeper I think it's actually better."
I think you are missing the point entirely here LeitrimRoyal99. It's very much a squad game. What Meath need is the best available players in the county fighting tooth and nail to get into the team in every training session. There's no motivation like a direct competitor for your position sprinting out ahead of you in training.
All the great teams like the current Dubs or the Kilkenny team from a few years back have stories about legendary training games, better than anything they play in the early rounds of the Championship and how much competition there is for places etc. Anthony Moyles wrote a great article about it in the Chronicle a few years back.
With all of the absenteeism and call offs the quality of the squad is bound to diminish. This causes Meath to be weaker overall.
Andy's stated goal for this year, all of his focus, is getting into D1. We'll know soon if he's made a team that's up to the task but the omens aren't looking good."
If some players are not willing to put in the commitment required, then we are better off without. At least we will have a panel of players now willing to do what needs to be required.
Bigger picture needs to be looked at, influx of quality youngsters will be joining in the next few years, who are used to training and having a facility like Dunganny. Bright times ahead."]Not having a go ziggy320001 but how do you know that the lads leaving are being asked to put in too much commitment? I simply cannot believe that all of these players suddenly found to commitment too much. It's not as if Micko had them doing a couple of laps with a kick around twice a week.
Andy and his team have very exacting standards. Some would day that's how you get the best. Other would argue it's being constantly overly negative and critical. Some players are voting with their feet.

pauk123 (USA) - Posts: 189 - 15/12/2017 19:57:40    2065292

Replying To ziggy320001:  "
Replying To pauk123:  "[quote=LeitrimRoyal99:  "Like he said lads like James McEntee (23), Thomas O'Reilly and Brían Conlon (21), Cillian O'Sullivan (23) coming off his rookie county season basically and Conor McGill (24). You'd expect all of them all lads to improve with their age profiles. Podge McKeever club player of the year committing to the team also helps. You'd expect David Toner to make the leap up from the junior team after a good year with Curraha. Also Rooney would be a massive addition if back. Now if we look at the lads we lost. 1. Jones is a very good prospect and played well against Louth but was completely dominated by Kildare and then got injured against Sligo, didn't play a minute of the league (ditto to Conlon and O'Reilly) imo he will end up a great county number 10 not midfield. 2. Newman, didn't play a minute of the league and never made a championship start last year. Hasn't looked the same since 2013. Would have been nice to have but isn't a net negative from last year as he wasn't there. 3. Toher, another lad who played well against Louth but was found out against Kildare. I don't think he is that much of a loss at all really. 4. O'Coilean, people calling him an impact sub. He made an impact against Kildare in a game when we were 9 points down when he came on. He was a good football and an attacking half forward which is the one thing we actually have. 5 This brings me to the last 2 lads Harnan and Paddy who I actually do think are losses. Harnan while not being a world beater is a very solid defender and we haven't many of them, when he came back for the league last year he did improve things. And Paddy the biggest loss of all, when people called for his head last year and admittedly some of the mistakes were terrible I kept saying we have nobody else. I am hearing he'll go with McDermott who was a great keeper at minor in 2016 and a brilliant shot stopper but he can not kick the ball to the 65, which with our midfield struggles might actually suit us.

Bigger picture needs to be looked at, influx of quality youngsters will be joining in the next few years, who are used to training and having a facility like Dunganny. Bright times ahead."]Yes, youngsters used to training (training being a new concept to youngsters in meath and only introduced in recent years) are sure to bring the bright times back. Indeed, the state of the art wind-swept sandy pitches of Dunganny and it's cramped gym will turn our footballers used to winning nothing at underage level into world beaters and will make the Dublin players quake with fear...

But I should not dare question your optimism, presumably based on your on the ground knowledge, lest I be told I am not a real suppporter and want to team to fail. This same logic applies to the players who have left the panel- they left because they simply don't have what it takes, aren't committed etc etc ...yawn

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 15/12/2017 21:58:14    2065308

Replying To pauk123:  "
Replying To ziggy320001:  "[quote=pauk123:  "[quote=LeitrimRoyal99:  "Like he said lads like James McEntee (23), Thomas O'Reilly and Brían Conlon (21), Cillian O'Sullivan (23) coming off his rookie county season basically and Conor McGill (24). You'd expect all of them all lads to improve with their age profiles. Podge McKeever club player of the year committing to the team also helps. You'd expect David Toner to make the leap up from the junior team after a good year with Curraha. Also Rooney would be a massive addition if back. Now if we look at the lads we lost. 1. Jones is a very good prospect and played well against Louth but was completely dominated by Kildare and then got injured against Sligo, didn't play a minute of the league (ditto to Conlon and O'Reilly) imo he will end up a great county number 10 not midfield. 2. Newman, didn't play a minute of the league and never made a championship start last year. Hasn't looked the same since 2013. Would have been nice to have but isn't a net negative from last year as he wasn't there. 3. Toher, another lad who played well against Louth but was found out against Kildare. I don't think he is that much of a loss at all really. 4. O'Coilean, people calling him an impact sub. He made an impact against Kildare in a game when we were 9 points down when he came on. He was a good football and an attacking half forward which is the one thing we actually have. 5 This brings me to the last 2 lads Harnan and Paddy who I actually do think are losses. Harnan while not being a world beater is a very solid defender and we haven't many of them, when he came back for the league last year he did improve things. And Paddy the biggest loss of all, when people called for his head last year and admittedly some of the mistakes were terrible I kept saying we have nobody else. I am hearing he'll go with McDermott who was a great keeper at minor in 2016 and a brilliant shot stopper but he can not kick the ball to the 65, which with our midfield struggles might actually suit us.

Bigger picture needs to be looked at, influx of quality youngsters will be joining in the next few years, who are used to training and having a facility like Dunganny. Bright times ahead."]Not having a go ziggy320001 but how do you know that the lads leaving are being asked to put in too much commitment? I simply cannot believe that all of these players suddenly found to commitment too much. It's not as if Micko had them doing a couple of laps with a kick around twice a week.
Andy and his team have very exacting standards. Some would day that's how you get the best. Other would argue it's being constantly overly negative and critical. Some players are voting with their feet."]Can't imagine the commitment with Meath is any more than it is with any of the other division 1 and 2 teams!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 473 - 15/12/2017 22:02:24    2065309

Replying To ziggy32001:  "I think our priority is midfield for sure ,obviously if you get whipped out there,there is serious pressure on the backs.Conlon and Menton have to be the. two that play there.Not sure how much fielding both players can do,but both are workhorses and are athletic. They will get up and down the field.
But we need to come up with plans to be better around that sector and help both midfielders.Dublin haven't got great fielders as such in the middle of the park for example. Last year we often saw a half forward line of Wallace,O'Sullivan and Reilly,but,for me we need guys we anticipate breaking ball and know when to track their runners. Would be tempted to try O'Sullivan as a corner forward and have the likes of James McEntee and Alan Forde as wing forwards(whenever he is available) Tobin also needs to be wing back this year as he is good at anticipating breaking ball.
If we can get our play at kick outs improved it will help us hugely imo."
Wallace played last year injured - just had an op on his knee - think he will be a lot better this year! Not sure about the cone replacing paddy in midfield though!!!

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 473 - 15/12/2017 22:08:34    2065310

Replying To Royalblufill:  "Wallace played last year injured - just had an op on his knee - think he will be a lot better this year! Not sure about the cone replacing paddy in midfield though!!!"
Story with Joey Wallace? Always thought he was a decent prospect.

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 16/12/2017 14:11:48    2065342

Replying To ziggy320001:  "Not sure why we are overly pessimistic to be honest..
How many genuine first team or really important players have we lost? Most counties are missing players. Rooney is back, McKeever added,Conlon in from the start. We still have the likes of Keoghan,Menton,McGill,O'Sullivan etc.If Rowe is added he will give us something different.
Then the likes of James McEntee and Thomas O'Reilly are getting better and have had good club seasons.
I actually think we are stronger than last year, but would that suit the agenda?"
Not pessimistic at all. Actually very optimistic.
Mcenetee has set up a vigorous ruthless routine. That some may not feel they can commit to, this is their right and I wish them all well for whatever reason they not on panel must be respected.
That been said I am more interested in those who have committed.
Looking forward to a great year.
Hon the royal

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/12/2017 20:53:16    2065371

Replying To RoylerKing:  "Dan Queeney (Na Fianna) has also in the past week or so dropped himself off the panel."
Was he on it?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/12/2017 21:07:31    2065372

D Tobin has also left the panel

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 17/12/2017 16:11:31    2065431

Replying To southmeathgael:  "D Tobin has also left the panel"
You have to run these things by royaldunne first.
If he hasn't heard about it, it isn't true.
He knows everything about Meath football even tho he isn't living in the county,

I got shot down with a silly comment like it's not on the paper for saying Harnan was leaving.... 1 week later it was out he going and I still never got an apology

SS6 (Meath) - Posts: 149 - 17/12/2017 18:41:32    2065456

Replying To royaldunne:  "Was he on it?"
Ye he was or are you going to try tell me he wasn't?

RoylerKing (Meath) - Posts: 809 - 17/12/2017 18:53:23    2065459

And he's not the only top defender leaving. And still the Comical Ali fans on here will say there is nothing going on...all is well, move along, nothing to see here, McEnteee only wants the truly committed players, they weren't any good anyway, we've great youngster coming through etc etc ...

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 17/12/2017 20:59:56    2065475

When did Tobin leave ? I'm pretty sure he's still on the panel

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 17/12/2017 21:34:12    2065478

Replying To Crinigan:  "And he's not the only top defender leaving. And still the Comical Ali fans on here will say there is nothing going on...all is well, move along, nothing to see here, McEnteee only wants the truly committed players, they weren't any good anyway, we've great youngster coming through etc etc ..."
Tell ye what, since you have all the answers, you tell us what to say? Go on, I'm all ears.

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 17/12/2017 23:37:02    2065485

Thought as much. The truth is somewhere in the middle between constant, mindless negativity and being overly optimistic. Just for the record though, I do think we have some real talents coming through and I'll wholeheartedly back all those on the panel this year (unlike those on here who slaughtered Paddy O'Rourke then wailed and gnashed teeth when he left the panel). That doesn't make me, or anyone else who thinks that way 'Comical Ali.'

Also you can take your cowardly dislikes and stick them where the sun don't shine.

GlasgowRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 293 - 18/12/2017 17:00:33    2065532

Replying To Crinigan:  "And he's not the only top defender leaving. And still the Comical Ali fans on here will say there is nothing going on...all is well, move along, nothing to see here, McEnteee only wants the truly committed players, they weren't any good anyway, we've great youngster coming through etc etc ..."
So what other top class defenders are leaving
Keoghan is going for study reasons, we all know that
Harnan going to Oz for study reasons, again we're all aware of that. He's done it for the last couple of years..

Who else are you referring to as we don't have any toher top class defenders available

As for you calling people comical ali fans thinking there's nothing to see what would you propose be done. You seem to have all the answers...

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 18/12/2017 17:12:45    2065533

Is Donal Keoghan gone too

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 18/12/2017 17:51:00    2065535

Replying To grahamc9897:  "Is Donal Keoghan gone too"
Apparently he be back for the championship, but definitely gone for the league

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 18/12/2017 19:31:35    2065546

Well unless D tobin changes his mind pre league.........but he hasn't come back since they started up again and I don't think he will be.

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 19/12/2017 10:37:19    2065579

And who could blame him. 4 years getting played out of possition and getting fairly destroyed. What should be the prime of his intercounty career being ruined

southmeathgael (Meath) - Posts: 885 - 19/12/2017 10:38:58    2065581